DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed after the mailing date. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 recites “that indicates that indicates” which Examiner believes to be in error and proper correction is required.
Claim 6-7 recites “a part of the DMRS sequence that has failed to be mapped to the DMRS REs” is unclear as the claims have not recited any limitation where the DMRS sequence has failed to be mapped, however this limitation is reciting this term as though it has been included as part of the method previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ly et al. (“Ly”) (US 20180310262 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ly teaches:
A wireless communication method, comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication device from a base station, a Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block [Figure 4, SS/PBCH], the SS/PBCH block comprising Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) Resource Elements (REs) [Figure 4, 400, includes 420 DMRS], wherein a portion of a bandwidth of the SS/PBCH block is outside of a bandwidth of a system bandwidth [Figure 4 portion of PBCH outside of first bandwidth corresponding to “a bandwidth of a system bandwidth”]; determining, by the wireless communication device, a mapping between a DMRS sequence and the DMRS REs [¶0086 UE decodes DMRS, wherein DMRS mapped to REs, figure 4 420, thus determining a mapping]; and determining, by the wireless communication device, a mapping between a Control- Chanel Element (CCE) and a first resource [¶0066, downlink channel multiplexed with control information (corresponding to CCE) and UE obtains control information thus determines mapping].
Regarding claim 2, Ly teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the portion of the bandwidth of the SS/PBCH block that is outside of the bandwidth of the system bandwidth correspond to unavailable DMRS REs [¶0087 some UEs only capable of receiving first bandwidth in Figure 4, thus DMRS 420 outside this bandwidth are unavailable]; and the DMRS REs comprises unavailable DMRS REs and available DMRS REs, wherein the DMRS sequence is mapped to the available REs [¶0087, Figure 4, 420, DMRSs are available within first bandwidth and unavailable if outside, and ¶0092 UEs decode DMRS within first bandwidth].
Regarding claim 8, Ly teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the SS/PBCH block further comprises Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) and Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS) [Figure 4 shows PSS, SSS]; and the mapping between the DMRS sequence and the DMRS REs comprises:
first DMRS REs of the DMRS REs having bandwidth entirely within at least one of a bandwidth of the PSS or a bandwidth of SSS are mapped to a first portion of the DMRS sequence [Figure 4, ¶0085, DMRS sequence 420 includes first portion of DMRS sequence 420 on REs within First bandwidth matching that of PSS / SSS]; and then, second DMRS REs of the DMRS REs having bandwidth entirely outside of the at least one of the bandwidth of the PSS or the bandwidth of SSS are mapped to a second portion of the DMRS sequence [Figure 4, second portion of DMRS sequence includes REs outside of First Bandwidth within Third Bandwidth].
Regarding claim 9, Ly teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein each of elements of the DMRS sequence is mapped to a corresponding one of the DMRS REs according to a chronological order of the elements of the DMRS sequence and frequency of the DMRS REs [Figure 4 DMRS 420 mapped to chronological (ascending in frequency) order of REs].
Regarding claim 17, Ly teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising searching for the SS/PBCH block at a frequency point that is half of a bandwidth of the SS/PBCH block [Figure 4, 430 sync signal frequency is center frequency, ¶0089].
Regarding claim 18, Ly teaches:
A wireless communication device, comprising: at least one processor configured [¶0085-86 UE] to: receive, via a receiver from a base station, a Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block [Figure 4, SS/PBCH received ¶0083-86 from base station], the SS/PBCH block comprising Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) Resource Elements (REs) [Figure 4, 400, includes 420 DMRS], wherein a portion of a bandwidth of the SS/PBCH block is outside of a bandwidth of a system bandwidth [Figure 4 portion of PBCH outside of first bandwidth corresponding to “a bandwidth of a system bandwidth”]; determine a mapping between a DMRS sequence and the DMRS REs [¶0086 UE decodes DMRS, wherein DMRS mapped to REs, figure 4 420, thus determining a mapping]; and determine a mapping between a Control-Chanel Element (CCE) and a first resource [¶0066, downlink channel multiplexed with control information (CCE) and UE obtains control information thus determines mapping, see further ¶0112-113].
Regarding claim 19, Ly teaches:
A base station, comprising: at least one processor [¶0080 base station] configured to: map a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sequence to the DMRS REs [Figure 4, DMRS sequence 420 mapped to REs in first and third bandwidth, transmitted and thus mapped by base station ¶0082]; map a Control-Chanel Element (CCE) to a first resource [¶0066, downlink channel multiplexed with control information (CCE) and UE obtains control information thus determines mapping, see further ¶0112-113]; and send, via a transmitter to a wireless communication device, a Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block, the SS/PBCH block comprising DMRS Resource Elements (REs) [Figure 4, SS/PBCH sent ¶0080-86 from base station], wherein a portion of a bandwidth of the SS/PBCH block is outside of a bandwidth of a system bandwidth [Figure 4 portion of PBCH outside of first bandwidth corresponding to “a bandwidth of a system bandwidth”].
Regarding claim 20, see similar rejection for claim 19 which teaches the physical structure performing the steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (“Ly”) (US 20180310262 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (“Zhang”) (US 20200205116 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ly teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein determining that the portion of the bandwidth of the SS/PBCH block is outside of the bandwidth of the system bandwidth comprises receiving, by the wireless communication device from the base station, a first parameter indicating PBCH [¶0188 signaling indicating PBCH portion within bandwidth of PSS/SSS].
Ly teaches signaling but does not specify the number of RBs.
Zhang teaches a first parameter indicating a number of PBCH Resource Blocks (RBs) each having at least a portion that is outside of the bandwidth of the system bandwidth, the portion of the bandwidth of the SS/PBCH block that is outside of the bandwidth of the system bandwidth comprises the number of PBCH RBs [¶0047, higher layer signaling indicating RBs for PSS/SSS corresponding to system bandwidth of 12 RBs, and indicating 24 Bs for PBCH considered to comprise the number of PBCH RBs outside the of the bandwidth of the system bandwidth].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify signaling indicating the number of RBs outside of the bandwidth. Ly teaches signaling indicating the bandwidth portions as in ¶0188 and it would have been obvious to specify the number as in Zhang to avoid performance loss by adding signaling ¶0026.
Regarding claim 4, Ly-Zhang teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the first parameter has a value that is same as the number of the PBCH RBs each having at least the portion that is outside of the bandwidth of the system bandwidth [Zhang ¶0047 number of RBs is same as PBCH RBs 24 having portion outside the bandwidth of 12 RBs see rationale for combination as in claim 3].
Regarding claim 5, Ly-Zhang teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the first parameter has a value that is different as the number of the PBCH RBs each having at least the portion that is outside of the bandwidth of the system bandwidth [Zhang ¶0047 parameter also includes number 12 RBs different from number of PBCH RBs having portion outside the system bandwidth being 24 RBs].
Regarding claim 6, Ly-Zhang teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein a part of the DMRS sequence that has failed to be mapped to the DMRS REs based on a code rate is dropped [Examiner notes the “failed to be mapped” step is not yet recited in the claims and thus is unclear, see claim objections. Ly ¶0087 some UEs only capable of receiving first bandwidth in Figure 4, thus DMRS 420 outside this bandwidth are unavailable i.e. not received and therefore dropped, based on code rate as the claim does not specify this relationship at all, and the SS/PBCH is encoded and rate matched thus using a code rate see LY ¶0088, ¶0098, ¶0102].
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (“Ly”) (US 20180310262 A1) in view of Si et al. (“Si”) (US 20210067298 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ly teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Ly teaches a control channel resource but does not teach the claimed overlapping region.
Si teaches wherein the first resource is an overlapping resource within an overlapping region between a bandwidth of Control Resource Set (CORESET) for Type0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) Common Search Space (CSS) (CORESETO) and a system bandwidth [¶0014, an RB index of CORESET Type0 CSS overlapping with a first RB of the SS/PBCH (SS/PBCH considered within the system bandwidth) see Figure 8 ¶0088 where CORESET 0 and SS/PBCH overlaps in frequency].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the CORESET CSS and system bandwidth as in Si who teaches ¶0102 this allows for the UE determining frequency location of CORESET #0 and offset to the SS/PBCH block ¶0103.
Regarding claim 11, Ly teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Ly teaches a control channel resource but does not teach the claimed overlapping region.
Ly teaches second resource but not the overlapping region of the COREST0.
Si teaches the first resource comprises: an overlapping resource within an overlapping region between a bandwidth of Control Resource Set (CORESET) for Type0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) Common Search Space (CSS) (CORESETO) and a system bandwidth [Si ¶0088 Figure 8 overlapping region, overlaps with second resource being SS/PBCH resource]; and a second resource, wherein the second resource is at least one of the system bandwidth, a minimum system bandwidth, a maximum system bandwidth, a CORESETO bandwidth, a Bandwidth Part (BWP) configured for the wireless communication device, a bandwidth of the SS/PBCH [Figure 8 second resource also includes the overlapping portion of the SS/PBCH bandwidth with CORESET0], and the overlapping resource that is within the overlapping region between the bandwidth of the CORESETO and the system bandwidth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the CORESET CSS and system bandwidth as in Si who teaches ¶0102 this allows for the UE determining frequency location of CORESET #0 and offset to the SS/PBCH block ¶0103.
Regarding claim 12, Ly teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Ly teaches DMRS resources outside the bandwidth but not a MIB.
Si teaches further comprising receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, a Master Information Block (MIB) that indicates that indicates attributes of the first resource [¶0099 offset between ], wherein the attributes comprise one or more of a frequency start point of the first resource, a frequency end point of the first resource, a number of Resource Blocks (RBs) of the first resource [¶0106-108, MIB table 1 indicates BW-CORESET in RBs and offset, see ¶0099 offset indicating offset to lowest RB of CORESET 0 (frequency start point of first resource)], and number of REs of the first resource.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the first resource configuration in MIB as in Si who teaches ¶0102 this allows for the UE determining frequency offset to the lowest RB of CORESET #0 ¶0099.
Regarding claim 13, Ly teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Ly teaches the first resource but not the offset.
Si teaches wherein the first resource is determined based on a first offset and a second bandwidth, and the first resource is the second bandwidth offset by the first offset [Figure 8, frequency domain offset, offsets the second bandwidth (Bandwidth of CORESET #0) by the offset ¶0088-96].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the offset as in Si who teaches ¶0102 this allows for the UE determining frequency offset to the lowest RB of CORESET #0 ¶0099.
Regarding claim 14, Ly-Si teaches:
The method of claim 13.
Ly teaches DMRS resources outside the bandwidth but not a MIB.
Si teaches further comprising receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, a Master Information Block (MIB), wherein the MIB indicates the first offset [Si see ¶0099 offset indicating offset to lowest RB of CORESET 0 (frequency start point of first resource)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the offset as in Si who teaches ¶0102 this allows for the UE determining frequency offset to the lowest RB of CORESET #0 ¶0099.
Regarding claim 15, Ly teaches:
Ly teaches DMRS resources outside the bandwidth but not the bandwidth of the CSS.
Si teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a bandwidth of Control Resource Set (CORESET) for TypeO Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) Common Search Space (CSS)(CORESETO) is the lesser of a number of Resource Blocks (RBs) for CORESETO and a number of RBs for a system Bandwidth Part (BWP) [Figure 8, ¶0105 CORESET0 bandwidth lesser of COREST0 and RBs for system bandwidth part (channel in 800) examiner noting that “a system Bandwidth Part” is not defined and thus may be any arbitrary number of RBs].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the bandwidth of the COREST0 as in Si who teaches ¶0102 this allows for reducing power consumption at the UE in determining PDCCHs ¶0067.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (“Ly”) (US 20180310262 A1) in view of Lin et al. (“Lin”) (WO 2020194240 A1, as cited in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 16, Ly teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Lin teaches wherein a bandwidth of Control Resource Set (CORESET) for TypeO Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) Common Search Space (CSS) (CORESETO) is the bandwidth of the SS/PBCH block minus the portion of the bandwidth of the SS/PBCH block that is outside of the bandwidth of the system bandwidth [Figure 9-10, ¶0104, CORESET#0 with bandwidth including 12 RBs, matching the section of SSB not outside the smaller bandwidth i.e. the SSB of 12 RB see Figure 9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the bandwidth of the CORESET#0 being the same as the reduced SSB not including the RBs outside the reduced bandwidth as in Lin which enables support for UEs with reduced bandwidth ¶0050.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2022067723 A1
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478