DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11, 13, 17, 19, 21, 24-26, 29, 30, 32, 35, 36, 40, and 41 are currently pending and are rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11, 13, 17, 19, 21, 24-26, 29, 30, 32, 35, 36, 40, and 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 12,162,870. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims claim compounds of the formula
which overlaps with the instantly claimed utilized products in the instant method claims, provides preferences towards the instantly claimed utilized products, such as in conflicting claims 2-18, such as conflicting claim 18 which provides Rc as:
. Additionally, conflicting claims 19-21 claim species which are within the formula I of the instantly claimed utilized products, such as the compound
column 1513, conflicting claim 21, which corresponds to instant claims 29 utilized compound
on page 7 of the claim set. Conflicting claim 21 also provides the compound
on column 1550 which corresponds to the compound utilized in instant claim 29, page 7:
Conflicting claim 21 also provides the compound on column 1593:
which corresponds to compounds utilized wherein X is N and Y is CH or X is CH and Y is N, instant claim 17. While the instant claims are method claims drawn to the treatment of a myeloproliferative neoplasm or a myeloproliferative disease or disorder (instant claim 1) with the formula (I) such as with an additional therapy (instant claim 30) such as with a JAK inhibitor such as ruxolitinib (instant claims 32 and 35) such as with a PI3K inhibitor (instant claim 36) wherein the disease is a leukemia (instant claim 40) such as chronic eosinophilic leukemia (instant claim 41). Column 371 of the ‘870 patent provides pharmaceutical compositions with one or more additional pharmaceutically active agents. Columns 371 and 372 provide methods of treatment of cancers, such as myeloproliferative disorders including chronic eosinophilic leukemia and myelofibrosis.
With regard to obviousness-type double patenting of a method claim over a patented composition, the Federal Circuit, in Sun v. Lilly, recounts its own decisions in Geneva and Pfizer,
In both cases, we found claims of a later patent invalid for obviousness-type double patenting where an earlier patent claimed a compound, disclosing its utility in the specification, and a later patent claimed a method of using the compound for a use described in the specification of the earlier patent.
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co., 95 USPQ2d 1797 at 1800 (Fed. Cir. 2010).
In reaffirming its holding in Geneva and Pfizer, the Court finds that a "claim to a method of using a composition is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim to the identical composition in a patent disclosing the identical use.” (Id. at 1801, quoting Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363; Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1385-86. The Court reasserts this notion by stating,
[i]t would shock one's sense of justice if an inventor could receive a patent upon a composition of matter, setting out at length in the specification the useful purposes of such composition, . . .and then prevent the public from making any beneficial use of such product by securing patents upon each of the uses to which it may be adapted. Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363 n.8 (emphases added); Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1386 (quoting In re Byck, 48 F.2d 665, 666 [9 USPQ 205] (CCPA 1931)).
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co., 95 USPQ2d 1797 at 1802 (Fed. Cir. 2010).
Pfizer, 518 F3d 1353 at 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Geneva, 349 F3d at 1386 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
One skilled in the art would thus be motivated to prepare products embraced by the ‘870 patent to arrive at the instant products with the expectation of obtaining additional beneficial products which would treat a myeloproliferative neoplasm or a myeloproliferative disease or disorder. The instant claimed invention would have been suggested to one skilled in the art and therefore, the instant claimed invention would have been obvious to one skilled in the art.
Additionally, in regards to instant claims 32, 35, and 36, it would be obvious to have the additional therapeutic agent be a JAK inhibitor, such as ruxolitinib or a PI3K inhibitor, as seen by Tasian et al. ruxolitinib (JAK inhibitor) and idelalisib (PI4K inhibitor) are useful in the treatment of juvenile myelomonocytic leukemia, see abstract. Additionally, Haifa et al. provides ruxolitinib for the treatment of myelofibrosis, see abstract.
As the ‘870 patent provides for the treatment of cancers, such as myeloproliferative disorders including chronic eosinophilic leukemia and myelofibrosis on columns 371 and 372 and provides for an additional agent, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to administer a combination of applicant’s instantly utilized product with a JAK inhibitor or a PI3K inhibitor. Per MPEP 2144.06, I. “"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted)”.
Claim 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11, 13, 17, 19, 21, 24-26, 29, 30, 32, 35, 36, 40, and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-10 of copending Application No. 18/967,139 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because conflicting claim 2 provides the compounds:
which anticipate the utilized compounds in applicant’s instant method claims. Compare instant claim 29 which specifically utilizes the compounds
,
, and
, for example. Additionally, page 205 of the conflicting specification provides pharmaceutical compositions comprising one or more additional pharmaceutically active agents, and pages 205-207 provide the treatment of cancers, such as acute myeloid leukemia, chronic leukemia, chronic eosinophilic leukemia, myeoloproliferative disorders, myelofibrosis, etc.
With regard to obviousness-type double patenting of a method claim over a patented composition, the Federal Circuit, in Sun v. Lilly, recounts its own decisions in Geneva and Pfizer,
In both cases, we found claims of a later patent invalid for obviousness-type double patenting where an earlier patent claimed a compound, disclosing its utility in the specification, and a later patent claimed a method of using the compound for a use described in the specification of the earlier patent.
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co., 95 USPQ2d 1797 at 1800 (Fed. Cir. 2010).
In reaffirming its holding in Geneva and Pfizer, the Court finds that a "claim to a method of using a composition is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim to the identical composition in a patent disclosing the identical use.” (Id. at 1801, quoting Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363; Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1385-86. The Court reasserts this notion by stating,
[i]t would shock one's sense of justice if an inventor could receive a patent upon a composition of matter, setting out at length in the specification the useful purposes of such composition, . . .and then prevent the public from making any beneficial use of such product by securing patents upon each of the uses to which it may be adapted. Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363 n.8 (emphases added); Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1386 (quoting In re Byck, 48 F.2d 665, 666 [9 USPQ 205] (CCPA 1931)).
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co., 95 USPQ2d 1797 at 1802 (Fed. Cir. 2010).
Pfizer, 518 F3d 1353 at 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Geneva, 349 F3d at 1386 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
One skilled in the art would thus be motivated to prepare products embraced by the ‘139 application to arrive at the instant products with the expectation of obtaining additional beneficial products which would treat a myeloproliferative neoplasm or a myeloproliferative disease or disorder. The instant claimed invention would have been suggested to one skilled in the art and therefore, the instant claimed invention would have been obvious to one skilled in the art.
Additionally, in regards to instant claims 32, 35, and 36, it would be obvious to have the additional therapeutic agent be a JAK inhibitor, such as ruxolitinib or a PI3K inhibitor, as seen by Tasian et al. ruxolitinib (JAK inhibitor) and idelalisib (PI4K inhibitor) are useful in the treatment of juvenile myelomonocytic leukemia, see abstract. Additionally, Haifa et al. provides ruxolitinib for the treatment of myelofibrosis, see abstract.
As the ‘139 application provides for the treatment of cancers, such as myeloproliferative disorders including chronic eosinophilic leukemia and myelofibrosis on pages 205-207 and provides for an additional agent, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to administer a combination of applicant’s instantly utilized product with a JAK inhibitor or a PI3K inhibitor. Per MPEP 2144.06, I. “"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted)”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7, 11, 13, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3, 7, 11, 13, and 32 instances of phrases with “e.g.” within parenthesis renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 26 further defines formula (I) of instant claim 1:
to the formula
, however, variable R2 and R3 are not defined in either instant claim 1 or claim 26 which renders claim 26 indefinite as it is unclear what R2 and R3 are.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11, 13, 17, 19, 21, 24-26, 29, 30, 40, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2022/261204.
WO 2022/261204 discloses compounds of the formula (I) on page 2:
. Specific compounds disclosed are, for example,
the compound on page 118:
, page 136:
and page 173:
. WO 2022/261204 discloses pharmaceutical compositions on page 186 which can contain one or more additional pharmaceutically active agents. Pages 186-188 disclose the treatment of certain cancers, such as acute myeloid leukemia along with chronic leukemia, chronic eosinophilic leukemia, myeloproliferative disorders, and myelofibrosis, etc. The compounds of the ‘204 WO correspond to the compounds utilized in the instant methods for example, the compound of page 118 of the ‘204 WO:
corresponds to applicant’s instant formula I:
wherein R1 and Rx are taken together with the intervening atoms to form a substituted heterocycloalkyl ring, heterocycloalkenyl ring, or heteroaryl ring (instant claim 1), such as seen in formula Ia in instant claim 2:
wherein R2 is methyl (instant claim 3); wherein Rc is heterocyclyl (instant claim 5); such as seen in instant claim 6:
, wherein R3 is tertiary butyl (instant claim 7); wherein J is OH (instant claim 9); wherein Rb is F (instant claim 11); wherein p is 0 (instant claim 1 and 21); wherein X is N and Y is CH (instant claim 17); wherein Z is CH (instant claim 25)
The compound on page 136:
and the compound on page 173
of the ‘204 correspond to instant claim 19 wherein X and Y are each CH. The compound on page 173:
provides wherein Z is N (instant claim 24). The compounds on page 136:
and page 173:
are identical to compounds in instant claim 29. Additionally, the ‘204 WO provides on page 128, the compound
which corresponds to instant claim 13 wherein one instance of Ri is methoxy. As page 186 of the ‘204 WO provides pharmaceutical compositions which can contain one or more additional pharmaceutically active agents, instant claim 30 is anticipated. As pages 186-188 of the ‘204 WO disclose the treatment of certain cancers, such as acute myeloid leukemia along with chronic leukemia, chronic eosinophilic leukemia, myeloproliferative disorders, and myelofibrosis, etc., instant claims 40 and 41 are anticipated.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32, 35, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WO 2022/261204 in view of Tasian et al. or Haifa et al.
The applied reference, WO 2022/261204, has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art (See MPEP 2141.01)
WO 2022/261204 discloses compounds of the formula (I) on page 2:
. Specific compounds disclosed are, for example,
the compound on page 118:
, page 136:
and page 173:
. WO 2022/261204 discloses pharmaceutical compositions on page 186 which can contain one or more additional pharmaceutically active agents. Pages 186-188 disclose the treatment of certain cancers, such as acute myeloid leukemia along with chronic leukemia, chronic eosinophilic leukemia, myeloproliferative disorders, and myelofibrosis, etc.
Tasian et. al. provides ruxolitinib (JAK inhibitor) and idelalisib (PI4K inhibitor) are useful in the treatment of juvenile myelomonocytic leukemia, see abstract.
Haifa et al. provides ruxolitinib for the treatment of myelofibrosis, see abstract.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue (See MPEP 2141.02)
While providing pharmaceutical compositions on page 186 which can contain one or more additional pharmaceutically active agents, the ‘204 WO does not teach an explicit embodiment where the compounds of the formula (I) are administered with a JAK inhibitor or a PI3K inhibitor.
Finding of prima facie obviousness---rationale and motivation (See MPEP 2142-2143)
However, in regards to instant claims 32, 35, and 36, it would be obvious to have the additional therapeutic agent be a JAK inhibitor, such as ruxolitinib, or a PI3K inhibitor, as seen by Tasian et al. which provides ruxolitinib (JAK inhibitor) and idelalisib (PI4K inhibitor) useful in the treatment of juvenile myelomonocytic leukemia, see abstract. Additionally, Haifa et al. provides ruxolitinib for the treatment of myelofibrosis, see abstract.
As the ‘204 WO provides for the treatment of cancers, such as myeloproliferative disorders including chronic eosinophilic leukemia and myelofibrosis on pages 186-188 and provides for an additional agent, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to administer a combination of applicant’s instantly utilized product with a JAK inhibitor or a PI3K inhibitor. Per MPEP 2144.06, I. “"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted)”.
Conclusion
/REBECCA L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626 ____________________ 10 June 2026
Rebecca Anderson
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1626, Group 1620
Technology Center 1600