DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 11/10/25 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 18/532638 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: control circuitry in claims (11, 13, 16, 18-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) (1-20) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupont et al. (hereinafter Dupont)(US 2025/0168368 A1)
Re claim 1, Dupont discloses a method comprising: accessing, via a content server, video data comprising a sequence of frames (See fig. 1: 102; ¶ 60, 71 where it teaches input data comprised a plurality of input data; the encoder device (such as a server).); generating a first frame based on averaging pixel attributes of the sequence of frames. (See fig. 1: 102; ¶ 71 where it teaches input data 102 comprises a plurality of input data values. For example, the input data may correspond to an image or video, or to part (e.g., a patch) of one image or video, wherein suggesting that the average was taken.)
But the reference of Dupont fails to explicitly teach determining a sequence level representation based on the first frame; training a neural network model based on the sequence of frames to determine a cross- resolution representation corresponding to the sequence of frames, wherein the training comprises generating a plurality of model parameters for reconstructing the sequence of frames based on the sequence level representation and the cross-resolution representation, wherein the plurality of model parameters comprises neural radiance network parameters; and transmitting, via the content server, bitstreams of the plurality of model parameters, the sequence level representation, and the cross-resolution representation.
However, the reference of Dupont does suggest determining a sequence level representation based on the first frame (See fig. 1: 112; ¶ 72, 75 where it teaches generating synthesis neural network parameters); training a neural network model based on the sequence of frames to determine a cross- resolution representation corresponding to the sequence of frames, wherein the training comprises generating a plurality of model parameters for reconstructing the sequence of frames based on the sequence level representation and the cross-resolution representation, wherein the plurality of model parameters comprises neural radiance network parameters (See fig. 1: 106, 116; ¶ 72, 75-79 where it teaches generating decoder neural network parameters based on the input data.; reconstruction data is generated based on parameters 106 and 112.); and transmitting, via the content server, bitstreams of the plurality of model parameters, the sequence level representation, and the cross-resolution representation. (See fig. 1: 104; ¶ 87 where it teaches transmitting the encoded data (108, 112, 118) to one or more client devices for decoding.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate these features into the system of Dupont, in the manner as claimed, for the benefit of optimize the objective function. (See ¶ 74, 77)
Re claim 2, Dupont discloses wherein the cross-resolution representation comprises latent features corresponding to each frame of the sequence of frames. (See ¶ 28 where it teaches features of the latent values.)
Re claim 3, Dupont discloses generating a bitstream of the cross-resolution representation based on quantization of the latent features. (See ¶ 7 where it teaches quantizing the latent values.)
Re claim 4, Dupont discloses reconstructing the sequence of frames by combining, via a channel transformer, the sequence level representation and the latent features. (See fig. 1: 114; ¶ 79)
Re claim 5, Dupont discloses wherein the sequence level representation comprises first pixel attribute information corresponding to the first frame, wherein the cross- resolution representation comprises second pixel attribute information corresponding to the sequence of frames, and wherein the neural network model is trained to determine pixel attribute information for reconstructing the sequence of frames. (See fig. 1; ¶ 72-79)
Re claim 6, Dupont discloses storing encodings of the plurality of model parameters, the sequence level representation, and the cross-resolution representation. (See ¶ 43)
Re claim 7, Dupont discloses wherein the sequence of frames corresponds to a first resolution, and wherein generating the first frame further comprises downscaling the first frame based on the first resolution. (See ¶ 71 where it teaches a patch of an image, wherein suggesting the image was downscaled and/or ¶ 6 having different resolutions.)
Re claim 8, Dupont discloses wherein the downscaling comprises using a convolutional network model comprising a plurality of residual spatial attention blocks to produce, from first feature channels, expanded feature channels. (See ¶ 28)
Re claim 9, Dupont discloses wherein determining a cross-resolution representation corresponding to the sequence of frames comprises using a convolutional network model comprising a plurality of residual spatial attention blocks to produce, from first feature channels, expanded feature channels. (See ¶ 28)
Re claim 10, Dupont discloses wherein determining the sequence level representation is executed concurrently with training the neural network model based on the sequence of frames. (See fig. 1; ¶ 71-79)
Claims (11-20) is a system claim corresponding to method claims (1-10). Hence, the steps performed in method claims (1-10) would have necessitated the elements in system claims (11-20). Therefore, claims (11-20) have been analyzed and rejected w/r to claims (1-10) respectively.
Contact
/LEON FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676 December 15, 2025