Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 whole page thru page 12 whole page, filed 10/26/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 3 - 4 and 13 - 14 under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Dlala et al. in view of Inoue and further in view of Pawellek et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Claims 1 – 2, 4, 9, and 11 – 14 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dlala et al. in view of Inoue and further in view of Gerstein et al. (US 20220200370 A1).
Claim Objections
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Applicant has made a persuasive argument in that “each rotor” can refer to a single or multiple rotors therefore, objections have been withdrawn.
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Applicant has amended the previous informalities therefore, objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 4, 9, and 11 – 14 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dlala et al. in view of Inoue and further in view of Gerstein et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Dlala et al. discloses an electric motor (Dlala et al. Para [0009] first sentence) comprising:
a stator (101) (Dlala et al. Fig. 1) having a stator core constructed from a ferromagnetic material (Dlala et al. Para [0051] whole paragraph discloses the stator assembly is made of steel,
which is a ferromagnetic material) and having an external stator surface (Dlala et al. Fig. 1);
wherein: the stator core includes a stator core body (Dlala et al. Fig. 1) and a plurality of stator teeth (105) extending therefrom (Dlala et al. Fig. 1);
and the plurality of stator teeth define conductor slots (107) therebetween (Dlala et al. Fig. 1);
and at least one rotor having an external rotor surface and configured to rotate relative to the stator about a rotational axis (Dlala et al. Fig. 2 discloses a cross-sectional view of a rotor having an external surface with a dotted rotational axis),
and a plurality of first cooling channels (103) (Dlala et al. Fig. 1),
each defined entirely by a respective stator tooth (Dlala et al. Fig. 1) and configured to receive and pass therethrough a fluid to cool the corresponding stator tooth (Dlala et al. Para [0045] first sentence).
Dlala et al. does not disclose:
wherein each rotor includes a plurality of magnetic poles;
wherein the stator additionally includes: a plurality of stator conductors arranged within the conductor slots and configured to establish a rotating magnetic field exerting a torque on the at least one rotor via interaction with the magnetic poles;
and a plurality of radial cross-channels arranged within the stator core orthogonally to the plurality of first cooling channels,
and wherein each of the plurality of radial cross-channels is configured to feed the fluid to a respective first cooling channel.
Inoue discloses:
wherein each rotor (rotor core 15) includes a plurality of magnetic poles (formed from a plurality of magnets 19) (Inoue Para [0046] first sentence).
Dlala et al. and Inoue et al. structurally disclose: wherein the stator additionally includes: a plurality of stator conductors arranged within the conductor slots (Dlala et al. Para [0071] last sentence discloses windings are arranged about the stator teeth, which inherently means the windings are within the slots) and configured to establish a rotating magnetic field exerting a torque (Dlala et al. Para [0052] first sentence discloses magnetic flux in the teeth, which is inherently generated by windings to create torque) on the at least one rotor via interaction with the magnetic poles (of Inoue Para [0046] first sentence).
Gerstein et al. discloses:
and a plurality of radial cross-channels (formed from cooling manifold disk 11) arranged within the stator core (1a) orthogonally to the plurality of first cooling channels (12, 13) (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5),
and wherein each of the plurality of radial cross-channels is configured to feed the fluid to a respective first cooling channel (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5).
Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. disclose stators therefore, Inoue and Gerstein et al. constitutes as prior art. Inoue discloses a rotary electric machine comprising a rotor having a plurality of magnetic poles and Gerstein et al. discloses a stator having stator sections with a plurality of cooling ducts. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each rotor includes a plurality of magnetic poles of Inoue, wherein the stator additionally includes: a plurality of stator conductors arranged within the conductor slots and configured to establish a rotating magnetic field exerting a torque on the at least one rotor via interaction with the magnetic poles of structurally disclosed Dlala et al. and Inoue, and a plurality of radial cross-channels arranged within the stator core orthogonally to the plurality of first cooling channels and wherein each of the plurality of radial cross-channels is configured to feed the fluid to a respective first cooling channel of Gerstein et al. for the purpose of 1) maximizing the saturation of magnetic flux of the windings on the teeth to generate a maximization of torque for the electric motor and 2) for the purpose of transporting cooling to respective inner radial surfaces within the stator core.
Regarding Claim 2, Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. disclose the electric motor according to claim 1, wherein:
the stator core includes a plurality of adjacent stator laminations (1300) (Dlala et al. Fig. 13) arranged along the rotational axis (Dlala et al. Fig. 12) ;
each stator tooth is assembled from the plurality of laminations (Dlala et al. Fig. 13);
and each first cooling channel (1303) extends along the rotational axis (Dlala et al. Fig. 12 and Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 4, Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. disclose the electric motor according to claim 1.
Dlala et al. and Inoue do not disclose:
wherein the stator additionally includes at least one second cooling channel defined by the stator core body,
arranged along the rotational axis radially outward with respect to the plurality of first cooling channels,
and in fluid communication with the plurality of radial cross-channels.
Gerstein et al. discloses:
wherein the stator additionally includes at least one second cooling channel (14, 15) defined by the stator core body (stator yoke 2) (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5),
arranged along the rotational axis radially outward with respect to the plurality of first cooling channels (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5),
and in fluid communication with the plurality of radial cross-channels (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the stator additionally includes at least one second cooling channel defined by the stator core body, arranged along the rotational axis radially outward with respect to the plurality of first cooling channels, and in fluid communication with the plurality of radial cross-channels of Gerstein et al. for the purpose of transporting cooling to respective outer radial surfaces within the stator core.
Regarding Claim 9, Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. disclose the electric motor according to claim 1, wherein:
the electric motor has a radial flux construction such that the at least one rotor is a single rotor mounted inside the stator (Dlala et al. Fig. 2);
the external stator surface is a radially inner stator surface (Dlala et al. Fig. 2);
the external rotor surface is a radially outer rotor surface (Dlala et al. Fig. 2);
and an airgap is established between the radially inner stator surface and the radially outer rotor surface (Dlala et al. Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Dlala et al. disclose a motor vehicle (Dlala et al. Para [0042] whole paragraph) comprising:
an electric motor configured to generate torque for propulsion of the motor vehicle (Dlala et al. Para [0042] whole paragraph),
the electric motor including: a stator (101) (Dlala et al. Fig. 1) having a stator core constructed from a ferromagnetic material (Dlala et al. Para [0051] whole paragraph discloses the stator assembly is made of steel, which is a ferromagnetic material) and having an external stator surface (Dlala et al. Fig. 1);
wherein: the stator core includes a stator core body (Dlala et al. Fig. 1) and a plurality of stator teeth (105) extending therefrom (Dlala et al. Fig. 1);
and the plurality of stator teeth define conductor slots (107) therebetween (Dlala et al. Fig. 1);
and at least one rotor having an external rotor surface and configured to rotate relative to the stator about a rotational axis (Dlala et al. Fig. 2 discloses a cross-sectional view of a rotor having an external surface with a dotted rotational axis),
and a plurality of first cooling channels (103) (Dlala et al. Fig. 1),
each defined entirely by a respective stator tooth (Dlala et al. Fig. 1) and configured to receive and pass therethrough a fluid to cool the corresponding stator tooth (Dlala et al. Para [0045] first sentence).
Dlala et al. does not disclose:
wherein each rotor includes a plurality of magnetic poles;
wherein the stator additionally includes: a plurality of stator conductors arranged within the conductor slots and configured to establish a rotating magnetic field exerting a torque on the at least one rotor via interaction with the magnetic poles;
and a plurality of radial cross-channels arranged within the stator core orthogonally to the plurality of first cooling channels,
and wherein each of the plurality of radial cross-channels is configured to feed the fluid to a respective first cooling channel.
Inoue discloses:
wherein each rotor (rotor core 15) includes a plurality of magnetic poles (formed from a plurality of magnets 19) (Inoue Para [0046] first sentence).
Dlala et al. and Inoue et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the stator additionally includes: a plurality of stator conductors arranged within the conductor slots (Dlala et al. Para [0071] last sentence discloses windings are arranged about the stator teeth, which inherently means the windings are within the slots) and configured to establish a rotating magnetic field exerting a torque (Dlala et al. Para [0052] first sentence discloses magnetic flux in the teeth, which is inherently generated by windings to create torque) on the at least one rotor via interaction with the magnetic poles (of Inoue Para [0046] first sentence).
Gerstein et al. discloses:
and a plurality of radial cross-channels (formed from cooling manifold disk 11) arranged within the stator core (1a) orthogonally to the plurality of first cooling channels (12, 13) (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5),
and wherein each of the plurality of radial cross-channels is configured to feed the fluid to a respective first cooling channel (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5).
Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. disclose stators therefore, Inoue and Gerstein et al. constitutes as prior art. Inoue discloses a rotary electric machine comprising a rotor having a plurality of magnetic poles and Gerstein et al. discloses a stator having stator sections with a plurality of cooling ducts. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each rotor includes a plurality of magnetic poles of Inoue, wherein the stator additionally includes: a plurality of stator conductors arranged within the conductor slots and configured to establish a rotating magnetic field exerting a torque on the at least one rotor via interaction with the magnetic poles of structurally disclosed Dlala et al. and Inoue, and a plurality of radial cross-channels arranged within the stator core orthogonally to the plurality of first cooling channels and wherein each of the plurality of radial cross-channels is configured to feed the fluid to a respective first cooling channel of Gerstein et al. for the purpose of 1) maximizing the saturation of magnetic flux of the windings on the teeth to generate a maximization of torque for the electric motor and 2) for the purpose of transporting cooling to respective inner radial surfaces within the stator core.
Regarding Claim 12, Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 11, the stator core includes a plurality of adjacent stator laminations (1300) (Dlala et al. Fig. 13) arranged along the rotational axis (Dlala et al. Fig. 12);
each stator tooth is assembled from the plurality of laminations (Dlala et al. Fig. 13);
and each first cooling channel (1303) extends along the rotational axis (Dlala et al. Fig. 12 and Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 14, Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 11.
Dlala et al. and Inoue do not disclose:
wherein the stator additionally includes at least one second cooling channel defined by the stator core body,
arranged along the rotational axis radially outward with respect to the plurality of first cooling channels,
and in fluid communication with the plurality of radial cross-channels.
Gerstein et al. discloses:
wherein the stator additionally includes at least one second cooling channel (14, 15) defined by the stator core body (stator yoke 2) (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5),
arranged along the rotational axis radially outward with respect to the plurality of first cooling channels (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5),
and in fluid communication with the plurality of radial cross-channels (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the stator additionally includes at least one second cooling channel defined by the stator core body, arranged along the rotational axis radially outward with respect to the plurality of first cooling channels, and in fluid communication with the plurality of radial cross-channels of Gerstein et al. for the purpose of transporting cooling to respective outer radial surfaces within the stator core.
Claims 5 – 8 and 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dlala et al. in view of Inoue, Gerstein et al. and further in view of Rahman et al. (US 20100320864 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. disclose the electric motor according to claim 1.
Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. do not disclose:
wherein, in a cross-sectional view, each stator tooth includes a relatively thinner first section projecting directly from the stator core body and a relatively thicker second section extending from the first section,
and wherein each first cooling channel is defined by a respective first section of the corresponding stator tooth.
Rahman et al. discloses:
wherein, in a cross-sectional view, each stator tooth includes a relatively thinner first section projecting directly from the stator core body and a relatively thicker second section extending from the first section (see below in annotated Rahman et al. Fig. 4).
Dlala et al. and Rahman et al. structurally discloses:
and wherein each first cooling channel (of Dlala et al. Fig. 6) is defined by a respective first section of the corresponding stator tooth (see below in annotated Rahman et al. Fig. 4).
Dlala et al., Inoue, Gerstein et al., and Rahman et al. discloses stators with stator tooths therefore, Rahman et al. constitutes as prior art. Rahman et al. discloses a stator with an embodiment of a plurality of stator teeth having a thinner section projecting from the stator body and a thicker section extending from the thinner section. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein, in a cross-sectional view, each stator tooth includes a relatively thinner first section projecting directly from the stator core body and a relatively thicker second section extending from the first section of Rahman et al. and wherein each first cooling channel is defined by a respective first section of the corresponding stator tooth of structurally disclosed Dlala et al. and Rahman et al. for the purpose of 1) enhancing efficiency and performance in the electric motor and 2) having cooling be defined in the thinner portions of the stator tooth.
Regarding Claim 6, Dlala et al., Inoue, Gerstein et al., and Rahman et al. disclose the electric motor according to claim 5.
Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. do not disclose:
wherein each stator conductor arranged within a respective conductor slot between corresponding first sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively larger width and each stator conductor arranged within a respective conductor slot between corresponding second sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively smaller width.
Rahman et al. discloses:
wherein each stator conductor (305A and 305B) arranged within a respective conductor slot (upper portion of slot 402) between corresponding first sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively larger width (Rahman et al. Fig. 4) and each stator conductor (305C and 305D) arranged within a respective conductor slot (lower portion of slot 402) between corresponding second sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively smaller width (Rahman et al. Fig. 4).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each stator conductor arranged within a respective conductor slot between corresponding first sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively larger width and each stator conductor arranged within a respective conductor slot between corresponding second sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively smaller width of Rahman et al. for the purpose of having an improved stator winding design to maximize efficiency in the electric motor.
Regarding Claim 7, Dlala et al., Inoue, Gerstein et al. and Rahman et al. disclose the electric motor according to claim 6.
Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. do not disclose: wherein the stator conductors arranged between the first sections and the stator conductors arranged between the second sections of neighboring stator teeth have different aspect ratios but equivalent cross-sectional areas.
Rahman et al. discloses:
wherein the stator conductors arranged between the first sections and the stator conductors arranged between the second sections of neighboring stator teeth have different aspect ratios but equivalent cross-sectional areas (Rahman et al. Fig. 4).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the stator conductors arranged between the first sections and the stator conductors arranged between the second sections of neighboring stator teeth have different aspect ratios but equivalent cross-sectional areas of Rahman et al. for the purpose of simplifying and maintain optimization of the electric motor.
Regarding Claim 8, Dlala et al., Inoue, Gerstein et al., and Rahman et al. discloses the electric motor according to claim 6.
Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. do not disclose:
wherein the second section of each stator tooth has a T-shaped end configured to retain respective stator conductors within the corresponding conductor slot.
Rahman et al. discloses:
wherein the second section of each stator tooth has a T-shaped end configured to retain respective stator conductors within the corresponding conductor slot (see above in annotated Rahman et al. Fig. 4).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the second section of each stator tooth has a T-shaped end configured to retain respective stator conductors within the corresponding conductor slot of Rahman et al. for the purpose of optimizing windings to enhance the electric motor’s performance.
Regarding Claim 15, Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 11.
Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. do not disclose:
wherein, in a cross-sectional view, each stator tooth includes a relatively thinner first section projecting directly from the stator core body and a relatively thicker second section extending from the first section,
and wherein each first cooling channel is defined by a respective first section of the corresponding stator tooth.
Rahman et al. discloses:
wherein, in a cross-sectional view, each stator tooth includes a relatively thinner first section projecting directly from the stator core body and a relatively thicker second section extending from the first section (see above in annotated Rahman et al. Fig. 4).
Dlala et al. and Rahman et al. structurally discloses:
and wherein each first cooling channel (of Dlala et al. Fig. 6) is defined by a respective first section of the corresponding stator tooth (see above in annotated Rahman et al. Fig. 4).
Dlala et al., Inoue, Gerstein et al., and Rahman et al. discloses stators with stator tooths therefore, Rahman et al. constitutes as prior art. Rahman et al. discloses a stator with an embodiment of a plurality of stator teeth having a thinner section projecting from the stator body and a thicker section extending from the thinner section. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein, in a cross-sectional view, each stator tooth includes a relatively thinner first section projecting directly from the stator core body and a relatively thicker second section extending from the first section of Rahman et al. and wherein each first cooling channel is defined by a respective first section of the corresponding stator tooth of structurally disclosed Dlala et al. and Rahman et al. for the purpose of 1) enhancing efficiency and performance in the electric motor and 2) having cooling be defined in the thinner portions of the stator tooth.
Regarding Claim 16, Dlala et al., Inoue, Gerstein et al., and Rahman et al. disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 15.
Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. do not disclose:
wherein each stator conductor arranged within a respective conductor slot between corresponding first sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively larger width and each stator conductor arranged within a respective conductor slot between corresponding second sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively smaller width.
Rahman et al. discloses:
wherein each stator conductor (305A and 305B) arranged within a respective conductor slot (upper portion of slot 402) between corresponding first sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively larger width (Rahman et al. Fig. 4) and each stator conductor (305C and 305D) arranged within a respective conductor slot (lower portion of slot 402) between corresponding second sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively smaller width (Rahman et al. Fig. 4).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each stator conductor arranged within a respective conductor slot between corresponding first sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively larger width and each stator conductor arranged within a respective conductor slot between corresponding second sections of neighboring stator teeth has a relatively smaller width of Rahman et al. for the purpose of having an improved stator winding design to maximize efficiency in the electric motor.
Regarding Claim 17, Dlala et al., Inoue, Gerstein et al. and Rahman et al. disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 16.
Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. do not disclose: wherein the stator conductors arranged between the first sections and the stator conductors arranged between the second sections of neighboring stator teeth have different aspect ratios but equivalent cross-sectional areas.
Rahman et al. discloses:
wherein the stator conductors arranged between the first sections and the stator conductors arranged between the second sections of neighboring stator teeth have different aspect ratios but equivalent cross-sectional areas (Rahman et al. Fig. 4).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the stator conductors arranged between the first sections and the stator conductors arranged between the second sections of neighboring stator teeth have different aspect ratios but equivalent cross-sectional areas of Rahman et al. for the purpose of simplifying and maintain optimization of the electric motor.
Regarding Claim 18, Dlala et al., Inoue, Gerstein et al., and Rahman et al. discloses the motor vehicle according to claim 16.
Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. do not disclose:
wherein the second section of each stator tooth has a T-shaped end configured to retain respective stator conductors within the corresponding conductor slot.
Rahman et al. discloses:
wherein the second section of each stator tooth has a T-shaped end configured to retain respective stator conductors within the corresponding conductor slot (see above in annotated Rahman et al. Fig. 4).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the second section of each stator tooth has a T-shaped end configured to retain respective stator conductors within the corresponding conductor slot of Rahman et al. for the purpose of optimizing windings to enhance the electric motor’s performance.
Claims 10 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dlala et al. in view of Inoue, Gerstein et al., and further in view of Salter et al. (US 20160301286 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. disclose the electric motor according to claim 9.
Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. do not disclose:
further comprising a fluid dam mounted to the radially inner stator surface,
fluidly connected to at least one of the plurality of first cooling channels,
and configured to direct the fluid exiting the at least one of the plurality of first cooling channels away from the airgap.
Salter et al. discloses:
further comprising a fluid dam (22B) mounted to the radially inner stator surface (Salter et al. Fig. 4),
fluidly connected to at least one of the plurality of first cooling channels (34) (Salter et al. Fig. 4),
and configured to direct the fluid exiting the at least one of the plurality of first cooling channels away from the airgap (16) (Salter et al. Fig. 4).
Dlala et al., Inoue, Gerstein et al., and Salter et al. disclose cooling therefore, Salter et al. constitutes prior art. Salter et al. discloses an electric machine comprising a stator with manifold to help direct cooling. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprise a fluid dam mounted to the radially inner stator surface, fluidly connected to at least one of the plurality of first cooling channels, and configured to direct the fluid exiting the at least one of the plurality of first cooling channels away from the airgap of Salter et al. for the purpose of avoiding cooling saturation of the airgap between the stator and the rotor of the electric motor.
Regarding Claim 19, Dlala et al., Inoue, and Gerstein et al. disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 11, wherein:
the electric motor has a radial flux construction such that the at least one rotor is a single rotor mounted inside the stator (Dlala et al. Fig. 2);
the external stator surface is a radially inner stator surface (Dlala et al. Fig. 2);
the external rotor surface is a radially outer rotor surface (Dlala et al. Fig. 2);
and an airgap is established between the radially inner stator surface and the radially outer rotor surface (Dlala et al. Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 20, Dlala et al. discloses a radial flux electric motor (Dlala et al. Fig. 2) comprising:
a stator (101) (Dlala et al. Fig. 1) having a stator core constructed from a ferromagnetic material (Dlala et al. Para [0051] whole paragraph discloses the stator assembly is made of steel, which is a ferromagnetic material) and having an external stator surface (Dlala et al. Fig. 1);
wherein: the stator core includes a stator core body (Dlala et al. Fig. 1) and a plurality of stator teeth (105) extending therefrom (Dlala et al. Fig. 1);
and the plurality of stator teeth define conductor slots (107) therebetween (Dlala et al. Fig. 1);
and wherein an airgap is established between the radially outer rotor surface and the radially inner stator surface (Dlala et al. Fig. 2);
and a rotor mounted inside the stator and having a radially outer rotor surface and configured to rotate relative to the stator about a rotational axis (Dlala et al. Fig. 2),
and a plurality of first cooling channels (103) (Dlala et al. Fig. 1),
each defined entirely by a respective stator tooth (Dlala et al. Fig. 1) and configured to receive and pass therethrough a fluid to cool the corresponding stator tooth (Dlala et al. Para [0045] first sentence).
Dlala et al. does not disclose:
wherein the rotor includes a plurality of magnetic poles,
wherein the stator additionally includes: a plurality of stator conductors arranged within the conductor slots and configured to establish a rotating magnetic field exerting a torque on the at least one rotor via interaction with the magnetic poles;
and a plurality of radial cross-channels arranged within the stator core orthogonally to the plurality of first cooling channels,
and wherein each of the plurality of radial cross-channels is configured to feed the fluid to a respective first cooling channel;
and a fluid dam mounted to the radially inner stator surface,
fluidly connected to the plurality of first cooling channels,
and configured to direct the fluid exiting the plurality of first cooling channels away from the airgap.
Inoue discloses:
wherein the rotor (rotor core 15) includes a plurality of magnetic poles (formed from a plurality of magnets 19) (Inoue Para [0046] first sentence).
Dlala et al. and Inoue et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the stator additionally includes: a plurality of stator conductors arranged within the conductor slots (Dlala et al. Para [0071] last sentence discloses windings are arranged about the stator teeth, which inherently means the windings are within the slots) and configured to establish a rotating magnetic field exerting a torque (Dlala et al. Para [0052] first sentence discloses magnetic flux in the teeth, which is inherently generated by windings to create torque) on the at least one rotor via interaction with the magnetic poles (of Inoue Para [0046] first sentence).
Gerstein et al. discloses:
and a plurality of radial cross-channels (formed from cooling manifold disk 11) arranged within the stator core (1a) orthogonally to the plurality of first cooling channels (12, 13) (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5),
and wherein each of the plurality of radial cross-channels is configured to feed the fluid to a respective first cooling channel (Gerstein et al. Fig. 5).
Salter et al. discloses:
a fluid dam (22B) mounted to the radially inner stator surface (Salter et al. Fig. 4),
fluidly connected to at least one of the plurality of first cooling channels (34) (Salter et al. Fig. 4),
and configured to direct the fluid exiting the at least one of the plurality of first cooling channels away from the airgap (16) (Salter et al. Fig. 4).
Dlala et al., Inoue, Gerstein et al., and Salter et al. disclose cooling therefore, Inoue, Gerstein et al., and Salter et al. constitutes prior art. Inoue discloses a rotary electric machine comprising a rotor having a plurality of magnetic poles, Gerstein et al. discloses a stator having stator sections with a plurality of cooling ducts, and Salter et al. discloses an electric machine comprising a stator with manifold to help direct cooling. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the rotor includes a plurality of magnetic poles of Inoue, wherein the stator additionally includes: a plurality of stator conductors arranged within the conductor slots and configured to establish a rotating magnetic field exerting a torque on the at least one rotor via interaction with the magnetic poles of structurally disclosed Dlala et al. and Inoue, and a plurality of radial cross-channels arranged within the stator core orthogonally to the plurality of first cooling channels and wherein each of the plurality of radial cross-channels is configured to feed the fluid to a respective first cooling channel of Gerstein et al. and a fluid dam mounted to the radially inner stator surface, fluidly connected to the plurality of first cooling channels, and configured to direct the fluid exiting the plurality of first cooling channels away from the airgap of Salter et al. for the purpose of 1) maximizing the saturation of magnetic flux of the windings on the teeth to generate a maximization of torque for the electric motor, 2) for the purpose of transporting cooling to respective inner radial surfaces within the stator core, and 3) avoiding cooling saturation of the airgap between the stator and the rotor of the electric motor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hoerz et al. (US-20200136445-A1) discloses an electrical machine comprising a stator with stator teeth, between which a stator winding and cooling ducts are arranged.
Pal (US-20120242176-A1) discloses motor stator cooling channels configured to flow in between stator teeth and stator windings.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834