DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 6, “the first memory” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 12 -17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 2, the recited “for determining of the state information” lacks proper antecedent basis. What is the determined state information? To further prosecution, the examiner has interpreted the limitation as --for determining of the aging state of the battery-- to remain consistent with claim 1. However, clarification is required.
With respect to claim 12, the recited “wherein the power management integrated circuit is configured to: for the preprocessing of the obtained sensing data, obtain measurement data of a voltage of the battery; for the storing of the preprocessed sensing data, store the measurement data in the first memory; and transmit the measurement data to the processor in response to a transmission period being reached, and the second calculator is configured to, for the determining of the state information, obtain estimation data of the voltage of the battery using the battery model, estimate an aging variation of the battery based on the estimation data and the measurement data, and update an aging parameter of the battery model using the aging variation” is unclear. The limitation recites “the power management integrated circuit” however, this limitation lacks any antecedent basis. The examiner is unsure how the power management integrated circuit is part of the electronic apparatus or how the circuit structurally interacts with the calculators, sensors, memories, and battery model. The examiner was unable to apply art to this portion this claim. Clarification is required.
With respect to claim 16, the recited “to apply, in response to updating an aging parameter of the battery model, the updated aging parameter to the battery model” is unclear. The claimed “in response” indicates an action that was taken based on a previous action. However, in this instance, neither the previous claim 11 or claim 16 define an action of updating an aging parameter. Therefore, the lack of the previous action of updating the model renders the claim unclear. The examiner was unable to apply art to the claim. Clarification is required.
With respect to claim 18, the recited “in response to an update period being reached” is unclear. The claimed “in response” indicates an action that was taken based on a previous action. However, there is no previous action that defines tracking an update period. Therefore, the examiner is unable to apply art, as the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chow et al. (2016/0209472).
With respect to claim 1, Chow teaches in Fig. 2 an electronic apparatus (200) comprising: a battery [0007]; a first calculator (220) configured to obtain sensing data (Chow teaches the data being a voltage of a battery, a current such as the current to and from the battery, or a temperature of the battery sensed from sensor 211; [0058] [0061]) of the battery using a sensor (211), determine first state information [0058] [0061] of the battery using the obtained sensing data (via sensor 211) and a first battery model (i.e. a partial cycle model of the battery; [0048]), and preprocess the obtained sensing data (as Chow teaches converting the obtained data using a processor task within the first calculator; [0120]); and a second calculator (230) configured to receive the preprocessed sensing data from the first calculator (210, as shown in Fig. 2), determine an aging state of the battery using a second battery model (i.e. a Markov process model of the battery; [0077]) and the received sensing data (from sensor 211), update a parameter of the first battery model (220) based on the determined aging state (as Chow teaches adjusting a model parameter of the partial cycle model of the first battery model of the first calculator based on the determined aging state, i.e. remaining useful life, [0078]), and transmit the updated parameter to the first calculator (220), wherein, in response to receiving the updated parameter from the second calculator (230), the first calculator (220) is configured to apply the updated parameter to the first battery model (i.e. the partial cycle model) such that the determined aging state is reflected in the first battery model (as the updated partial cycle model parameter based one the remaining useful life acts as a new constraint or feedback to that model).
The method steps of claim 20 are performed during the operation of the rejected structure of claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, Chow teaches in Fig. 2 the electronic apparatus (200) wherein the first calculator (220) is configured to: for the preprocessing of the obtained sensing data, obtain measurement data of a voltage of the battery (as Chow teaches in [0058] voltage being sensed by sensor 211); for the storing of the preprocessed sensing data (i.e. converted data), store the measurement data (from sensor 212) in the first memory (231) of the first calculator (220; as the storage data is accessible by the first calculator); and transmit the measurement data to the second calculator (230) in response to a transmission period being reached (as Chow teaches using period of time to store and calculate the remaining useful time, thereby requiring the stored data to be transmitted to the calculators at appropriate times for calculations; insofar as how “a transmission period” is defined), and the second calculator (230) is configured to, for the determining of the aging state of the battery (i.e. the remaining useful life determination performed by 230), obtain estimation data of a voltage of the battery using the second battery model (the Markov process model of the battery), estimate an aging variation of the second battery based on the estimation data and the measurement data (via sensor 211), and update an aging parameter of the battery model using the aging variation (as when using a Markov process model for battery remaining useful life (RUL), estimations involves identifying, modeling, and updating aging parameters based on aging variations derived from measurement and estimation data; [0053]).
With respect to claim 3, Chow teaches in Fig. 2 the electronic apparatus (200) wherein the second calculator (230) is configured to store the updated aging parameter of the second battery model (i.e. as determined using the Markov process model, as disclosed) in a second memory (221; [0060]) of the second calculator (230) and transmit the updated aging parameter stored in the second memory (221) to the first calculator (220) in response to detecting that the electronic apparatus (200) enters a power-off state (as Chow teaches the process of determining the remaining useful life occurring over various operating power, [0052]), and the first calculator (220) is configured to store the updated aging parameter (as determined by 230) received from the second calculator (230) in the first memory (231) of the first calculator (220; as the data is taught to be stored in the first memory 231 of the second calculator 230 which is communication with the first memory 231).
With respect to claim 8, Chow teaches in Fig. 2 the electronic apparatus (200) wherein the first calculator (220) is configured to transmit the determined first state information [0058] to the second calculator (230, for life calculation), and the second calculator (230) is configured to control a display (232; [0081]) such that the received first state information [0058] is displayed on the display (as Chow teaches the display contains dials with a needle to indicate display features of the measured and calculated information).
With respect to claim 9, Chow teaches in Fig. 2 the electronic apparatus (200) wherein the first state information comprises state of charge (SOC) information of the battery [0061].
With respect to claim 10, Chow teaches in Fig. 2 the electronic apparatus (200) wherein the first calculator (220) is comprised in a power management integrated circuit (as Chow discloses Fig. 2 as being applicable to a BMS; [0116]), and the second calculator (230) is comprised in an application processor (as Chow teaches these calculators being processing devices running on application on those processors; [0120]).
With respect to claim 11, Chow teaches in Fig. 2 an electronic apparatus (200) comprising: a battery [0007]; a first calculator (220) configured to obtain sensing data of the battery [0007] using a sensor (Chow teaches the data being a voltage of a battery, a current such as the current to and from the battery, or a temperature of the battery sensed from sensor 211; [0058] [0061]), preprocess the obtained sensing data (as Chow teaches converting the obtained data using a processor task within the first calculator; [0120]), and store the preprocessed sensing data in a first memory (231); and a second calculator (230) configured to receive the sensing data stored in the first memory (231) from the first calculator (220), determine state information of the battery (i.e. as Chow teaches using a Markov process model of the battery to calculated an aging state and RUL of the battery; [0077]) using a battery model [0077] and the received sensing data (via the senor 211), and control a display (232; [0081]) such that the determined state information is displayed on the display (as the aging information is presented to a user).
With respect to claim 19, Chow teaches in Fig. 2 the electronic apparatus wherein the first calculator (220) is configured to obtain measurement data of a voltage of the battery (via sensors 211), obtain estimation data of the voltage of the battery using the battery model (using the Markov process model of the battery), estimate an aging variation of the battery using the estimation data and the measurement data (i.e. as Chow teaches using a Markov process model of the battery to calculated an aging state and RUL of the battery; [0077]), update an aging parameter of the battery model using the aging variation, and transmit the updated aging parameter to the second calculator (as when using a Markov process model for battery remaining useful life (RUL), estimations involves identifying, modeling, and updating aging parameters based on aging variations derived from measurement and estimation data; [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow et al. (2016/0209472) in view of Allam et al. (WO 2020186269).
With respect to claim 4, Chow teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 2, but remains silent regarding wherein, for the estimating of the aging variation, the second calculator is configured to: determine a resistance increase using a variation in the estimation data, a variation in the measurement data, and a current variation; and determine, as the aging variation, a variation in an anodic solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) resistance based on the resistance increase.
Allam et al. teaches a similar algorithmic process that includes determining a resistance increase using a variation in the estimation data, a variation in the measurement data, and a current variation; and determine, as the aging variation, a variation in an anodic solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) resistance based on the resistance increase (as in paragraphs [0041-0042], Allam et al. teaches determining a resistance increase by using variation in estimation data, specifically through an adaptive sliding mode interconnected observer, i.e. a calculator. The cathode and anode observers share information to ensure an accurate prediction of battery health, capacity and resistance, through understanding the cycling between electrodes and nonlinearities in the terminal voltage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the second calculator to include the taught control logic for determining a resistance and aging variation in an anodic solid, as taught by Allam et al. because such a modification allows a system to accurately illustrate to a user the real time battery status for improved usage; [0026].
With respect to claim 5, Chow teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 2, but remains silent regarding wherein the aging parameter comprises any one or any combination of any two or more of an anodic solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) resistance, a capacity of a cathode active material, and an electrode balance shift of the battery.
Allam et al. teaches a similar algorithmic process that includes two or more of an anodic solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) resistance regarding an aging parameter (as in paragraphs [0041-0042], Allam et al. teaches determining a resistance increase by using variation in estimation data, specifically through an adaptive sliding mode interconnected observer, i.e. a calculator. The cathode and anode observers share information to ensure an accurate prediction of battery health, capacity and resistance, through understanding the cycling between electrodes and nonlinearities in the terminal voltage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the second calculator to include the taught control logic for determining resistance and aging variation in an anodic solid, as taught by Allam et al. because such a modification allows a system to accurately illustrate to a user the real time battery status for improved usage; [0026].
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow et al. (2016/0209472) in view of Jung et al. (2020/0103469).
With respect to claim 6, Chow teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 1, but remains silent regarding wherein the second calculator is configured to apply, in response to updating an aging parameter of the second battery model, the updated aging parameter of the second battery model to the second battery model, generate basic simulation data for preset charging currents using the second battery model to which the updated aging parameter is applied, generate an initial look-up table (LUT) for the charging currents and preset battery voltage limits based on the basic simulation data, generate a modified LUT by adjusting one or more initial charging limit conditions of the initial LUT in response to the initial LUT failing to satisfy a preset condition, determine a final LUT based on the modified LUT in response to the modified LUT satisfying the preset condition, and control charging of the battery based on the determined final LUT.
Jung et al. teaches a similar algorithmic approach which includes generating basic simulation data for preset charging currents using the second battery model to which the updated aging parameter is applied (as Jung et al. teaches in [0077, 0078; Fig 3, Fig 8]: more specifically, Fig 3 shows an initial LUT on the left hand side, which is described as being created based on the internal state of the battery and contains a series of steps in terms of battery voltage and electrode voltage, where each step is described as "using different currents", thereby reading in the claimed generate basic simulation data for preset currents using a model defined by initial LUT), generate an initial look-up table (LUT) for the charging currents and preset battery voltage limits based on the basic simulation data (as Jung et al. teaches generating an initial look-up table by optimizing charging limitations based the prior simulation data describing different current situation and the deterioration of the battery, i.e. aging, resulting in a number of possible charging schedules based on the prior simulated data; [0067-0068, 0078]), generate a modified LUT by adjusting one or more initial charging limit conditions of the initial LUT in response to the initial LUT failing to satisfy a preset condition (as Jung et al. teaches the selection of an optimal LUT from the initial LUT based on the among of change in the ageing rate by the LUTs; [0072]), determine a final LUT based on the modified LUT in response to the modified LUT satisfying the preset condition (once the thresholds have been satisfied, Jung teaches finalizing on the optimal LUT based on internal state of the battery; [0113-00119]), and control charging of the battery based on the determined final LUT (as [0113-0119] teach controlling the charging of the battery based on the determined final LUT).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the second calculator to include the taught algorithmic LUT process of Jung et al. because Jung et al. teaches such a modification improves the overall life of the battery by applying charging limitation suitable for determined aging mechanisms; [0081].
With respect to claim 7, Chow as modified by Jung et al. teaches wherein the second calculator (230, as modified by Jung et al.) is configured to transmit the determined final LUT (as determined according to Jung et al.) to the first calculator (220), and the first calculator (220) is configured to store the received determined final LUT in the first memory (231) of the first calculator (220, as Fig.2 of Chow depicts the interconnections of each calculator’s and the first memory).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (2018/0095140) which teaches a battery management system that estimates the parameters of that battery via a battery model.
/MATTHEW G MARINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853