DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicants argue that the caliper of Adam et al. fails to teach a mounting portion.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner points to the two apertures at the bottom of the holder web (14) which are clearly used to attach the brake caliper to an axle support bracket or a spindle knuckle bracket. This is an inherent feature mentioned in a number of the other cited references (see 8 in fig. 2 of US 8,540,061; see 8 in fig. 1 of US 4,044,864), and absolutely necessary to support the brake caliper. Regardless of the non-disclosed bracket which this feature is attached to, the rejection is made as a combination with Goettker, specifically addressing this element (see rejection below).
Applicants argue that Goettker fail to teach a one-piece torque plate with opening shaped to receive a vehicle axle.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner points to figs. 1 and 2, which show that the plate is formed as a single piece, and includes an arcuate opening (49) to provide clearance for the spindle (26) and axle assembly (24) to pass through. This opening is interpreted to encompass applicants claimed “opening shaped to receive a vehicle axle”.
Applicants argue that Goettker fail to teach the claimed carrier and pad support structure of applicant’s invention.
In response to applicant’s arguments, and as mentioned above, applicants are arguing against the references individually when the rejection is based upon a combination of references. The examiner notes that Adam et al. teaches the features which applicant is concerned (see rejection below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adam et al. (US 2019/0010999) in view of Goettker (US 5,826,682).
In Re claim 1, Adam et al. disclose a disc brake system (figs. 1, 2, 6), comprising: a mounting portion (bottom of 14 in fig. 2) inherently connected with an axle support bracket or a spindle knuckle bracket (not shown); a carrier (14, 14’); and inboard and outboard brake pads (1, 7, 8), wherein the carrier comprises: brake pad receiving openings (central hollow portion); a leading pad support (11); a trailing pad support (12), wherein at least one of the leading and trailing pad supports includes a bearing surface (9, 10) facing away from the pad receiving opening, and wherein the brake pads comprise a second bearing surface (see lower portions of 7 and 8) facing towards the first bearing surface and are configured to engage (see contact area 9, 10) when the disc brake system is actuated such that the brake pads are put in tension. Adam et al. fail to disclose a torque plate being associated as a single-piece with the mounting portion of the carrier.
Goettker is related to the art of vehicle brake systems, and teaches providing a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier (18; figs. 1 and 2). This assembly makes possible fewer components and a simplified and more robust assembly of the vehicle brake system at each wheel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brake system of Adam et al. to have a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier, as taught by Goettker, to allow for a unified and simplified assembly.
The examiner notes that it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP2144.04).
In Re claim 2, the inboard and outboard mounting portions are aligned.
In Re claims 3 and 13, see connecting beam between 14 and 14’ in fig. 2 of Adam et al..
In Re claims 6 and 8, see pairs of bearing surfaces (9, 10) in figs. 3 and 4 of Adam et al..
In Re claim 9, see brake pad support slots (3, 4) and brake pad tabs (7, 8) in figs. 2 and 3 of Adam et al..
In Re claim 11, see central friction material (1) and backing plate (5) of Adam et al..
In Re claim 12, Adam et al. disclose a disc brake system (figs. 1, 2, 6), comprising: a mounting portion (bottom of 14 in fig. 2) inherently connected with an axle support bracket or a spindle knuckle bracket (not shown); and a carrier (14, 14’); wherein the carrier comprises: brake pad receiving openings (central hollow portion); a leading pad support (11); a trailing pad support (12), wherein at least one of the leading and trailing pad supports includes a slot (3, 4) with a bearing surface (9, 10) facing away from the pad receiving opening (see figs. 3 and 4). Adam et al. fail to disclose a torque plate being associated as a single-piece with the mounting portion of the carrier.
Goettker is related to the art of vehicle brake systems, and teaches providing a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier (18). This assembly makes possible fewer components and a simplified and more robust assembly of the vehicle brake system at each wheel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brake system of Adam et al. to have a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier, as taught by Goettker, to allow for a unified and simplified assembly. The examiner notes that it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP2144.04).
In Re claim 17, Adam et al. discloses a method of actuating a disc brake system, comprising: engaging a rotor (not shown; par. 0015) with inboard and outboard brake pads (5); applying a tension force to a leading end of at least one of the inboard and/or outboard brake pads (see carrier bearing faces 9, 10; and associated brake pad claws 7 and 8); and absorbing the tension force with a carrier portion (see 9 and 10) and a mounting portion (14, 14’) inherently mounted on an axle support bracket or a spindle knuckle bracket (not disclosed). Adam et al. fail to disclose a torque plate being associated as a single-piece with the mounting portion of the carrier.
Goettker is related to the art of vehicle brake systems, and teaches providing a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier (18). This assembly makes possible fewer components and a simplified and more robust assembly of the vehicle brake system at each wheel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brake system of Adam et al. to have a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier, as taught by Goettker, to allow for a unified and simplified assembly. The examiner notes that it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP2144.04).
In Re claim 18 and 20, see carrier leading and trailing bearing faces (9, 10); and associated brake pad leading and trailing claws (7 and 8) of Adam et al..
In Re claim 19, the claim limitation is related to a material property of the brake pad carrier and mounting portion. The examiner asserts that essentially every material has at least some amount of elastic bending (Young’s/elastic modulus), thus encompassing the claim limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616