DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4, 5, 7, 10, and 14-16 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected embodiment, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adam et al. (US 2019/0010999) in view of Goettker (US 5,826,682).
In Re claim 1, Adam et al. disclose a disc brake system (figs. 1, 2, 6), comprising: a mounting portion (bottom of 14 in fig. 2) inherently connected with a torque plate (not shown); a carrier (14, 14’); and inboard and outboard brake pads (1, 7, 8), wherein the carrier comprises: brake pad receiving openings (central hollow portion); a leading pad support (11); a trailing pad support (12), wherein at least one of the leading and trailing pad supports includes a bearing surface (9, 10) facing away from the pad receiving opening, and wherein the brake pads comprise a second bearing surface (see lower portions of 7 and 8) facing towards the first bearing surface and are configured to engage (see contact area 9, 10) when the disc brake system is actuated such that the brake pads are put in tension. Adam et al. fail to disclose a torque plate being associated as a single-piece with the mounting portion of the carrier.
Goettker is related to the art of vehicle brake systems, and teaches providing a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier (18). This assembly makes possible fewer components and a simplified assembly of the vehicle brake system at each wheel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brake system of Adam et al. to have a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier, as taught by Goettker, to allow for a unified and simplified assembly. The examiner notes that it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP2144.04).
In Re claim 2, the inboard and outboard mounting portions are aligned.
In Re claims 3 and 13, see connecting beam between 14 and 14’ in fig. 2 of Adam et al..
In Re claims 6 and 8, see pairs of bearing surfaces (9, 10) in figs. 3 and 4 of Adam et al..
In Re claim 9, see brake pad support slots (3, 4) and brake pad tabs (7, 8) in figs. 2 and 3 of Adam et al..
In Re claim 11, see central friction material (1) and backing plate (5) of Adam et al..
In Re claim 12, Adam et al. disclose a disc brake system (figs. 1, 2, 6), comprising: a mounting portion (bottom of 14 in fig. 2) inherently connected with a torque plate (not shown); and a carrier (14, 14’); wherein the carrier comprises: brake pad receiving openings (central hollow portion); a leading pad support (11); a trailing pad support (12), wherein at least one of the leading and trailing pad supports includes a slot (3, 4) with a bearing surface (9, 10) facing away from the pad receiving opening (see figs. 3 and 4). Adam et al. fail to disclose a torque plate being associated as a single-piece with the mounting portion of the carrier.
Goettker is related to the art of vehicle brake systems, and teaches providing a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier (18). This assembly makes possible fewer components and a simplified assembly of the vehicle brake system at each wheel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brake system of Adam et al. to have a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier, as taught by Goettker, to allow for a unified and simplified assembly. The examiner notes that it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP2144.04).
In Re claim 17, Adam et al. discloses a method of actuating a disc brake system, comprising: engaging a rotor (not shown; par. 0015) with inboard and outboard brake pads (5); applying a tension force to a leading end of at least one of the inboard and/or outboard brake pads (see carrier bearing faces 9, 10; and associated brake pad claws 7 and 8); and absorbing the tension force with a carrier portion (see 9 and 10) and a mounting portion (14, 14’) inherently mounted on a torque plate (not disclosed). Adam et al. fail to disclose a torque plate being associated as a single-piece with the mounting portion of the carrier.
Goettker is related to the art of vehicle brake systems, and teaches providing a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier (18). This assembly makes possible fewer components and a simplified assembly of the vehicle brake system at each wheel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brake system of Adam et al. to have a single-piece torque plate, mounting portion, and carrier, as taught by Goettker, to allow for a unified and simplified assembly. The examiner notes that it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP2144.04).
In Re claim 18 and 20, see carrier leading and trailing bearing faces (9, 10); and associated brake pad leading and trailing claws (7 and 8) of Adam et al..
In Re claim 19, the claim limitation is related to a material property of the brake pad carrier and mounting portion. The examiner asserts that essentially every material has at least some amount of elastic bending (Young’s/elastic modulus), thus encompassing the claim limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616