DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are currently being examined.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 05/11/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a flow module including a flow control mechanism in claims 21-23, 25-29, 31-36, 38-40;
a flow actuator module including a flow actuation mechanism in claims 21-25, 27-31, 33-38, 40;
a flow lock module including a lock mechanism in claims 21-24, 26-30, 32-37, 39-40.
A flow module is interpreted as including a flow module opening, springs and seals and including a flow control mechanism which includes a flow piston or ceramic disks per specification [0028] and [0061] and per 38, 38’ and 116, 116’ in Figs. 4a-7b or equivalents, thereof.
A flow actuator module is interpreted as including a flow actuation mechanism which is a flow lever or buttons per specification [0062] and per 42, 42’ and 140, 140’ in Figs. 3b-7b or equivalents, thereof.
A flow lock module is interpreted as including springs and including a lock mechanism which is a lock pin or lock arm per specification [0063] and per 44, 44’ and 148, 148’ in Figs. 3b-7b or equivalents, thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 34-40 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 34 recites “the lock mechanism is operable to move from the second position to the first position by independent actuation of each of: (1) the flow control mechanism, (2) the flow actuation mechanism, and (3) the lock mechanism” but this is not supported by the original disclosure. Specification [0005], [0006], [0031] and [0032] describe actuation of the flow control mechanism 116 being dependent on actuation of the flow actuation mechanism 140 and on position of lock mechanism 148 as is also shown in Figs. 4a-4b and Figs. 6a-6b. In particular, the flow control mechanism 116 may only move when flow actuation mechanism 140 is actuated such that the flow control mechanism cannot be independently actuated. Therefore, claim 34 is rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims dependent upon claim 34 are rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement for the same reasons as claim 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Esche et al. 6234192.
Regarding independent claim 21, Esche discloses a wand (assembly of 10, 12, 16, 21 Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a shell (shell of 10, 16 and 21 in Fig. 3), the shell operable to pull away from a body of a faucet (as shown in Fig. 3, shell is operable to pull away from body 22,24 of faucet 26);
a waterway (waterway with flow arrows through passages as shown in Figs. 6A-7 and other figures), the waterway operable to be substantially disposed in the shell (waterway is substantially disposed in shell of 10 as seen in Figs. 6A-7), the waterway including a first flow passage (labeled in annotated Fig. 6A) and a second flow passage (labeled in annotated Fig. 6A);
a flow module (labeled in annotated Fig. 6A), the flow module operable to be disposed between the first flow passage and the second flow passage (flow module is disposed between first flow passage and second flow passage in annotated Fig. 6A and includes chamber, i.e., flow module opening, 55, spring 72 and seal 65), the flow module including a flow control mechanism (56 Fig. 6A; 56 is a flow piston), the flow control mechanism operable to move between a first position (flow control mechanism 56 is in first position in Fig. 6A) and a second position (flow control mechanism 56 is in second position in Fig. 7 which shows 56 has moved to the right compared to first position in Fig. 6A), in the first position, a first volume of water flows from the first flow passage through the flow control mechanism to the second flow passage (as shown in Fig. 6A by flow arrows, a first volume of water flows from first flow passage through 56 to second flow passage as described in col 4 lines 3-9), in the second position, a second volume of water flows from the first flow passage through the flow control mechanism to the second flow passage (as shown in Fig. 7 by flow arrows, a second volume of water flows from first flow passage through 56 to second flow passage as described in col 4 lines 15-21);
a flow actuator module (12 Fig. 1), the flow actuator module including a flow actuation mechanism (14 Fig. 1; 14 is a flow lever), the flow actuation mechanism operable to move between a first position (14 is in first position as labeled in annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 6A shows 14 in first position) and a second position (14 is in second position as labeled in annotated Fig. 1 which shows 14 is operable to move from first position to second position, and Fig. 7 shows 14 in second position), as the flow actuation mechanism is moved from the first position to the second position, the flow control mechanism is moved from the first position to the second position (as shown in Figs. 1, 5, 6A, and 7, 14 contacts head portion 69 of 56 and as 14 moves from first position in Fig. 6A to second position in Fig. 7, 14 moves 56 from first position to second position as described in col 4 lines 15-25), as the flow actuation mechanism is moved from the second position to the first position, the flow control mechanism is moved from the second position to the first position (as 14 is moved from second position to first position, spring 72 biases 56 toward 14 per col 3 lines 63-67 to col 4 lines 1-2 and 56 moves from second position to first position); and
a flow lock module (labeled in annotated Fig. 1), the flow lock module including a lock mechanism (18 Figs. 1 and 5; 18 is a lock pin in shape of a loop), the lock mechanism operable to move between a first position and a second position (as shown in Fig. 1, 18 is operable to move between a first position and a second position), when the lock mechanism is in the first position, the flow control mechanism is operable to move between the first position and the second position (when 18 is in first position of 18 shown in annotated Fig. 1, 14 is operable to move between first position and second position of 14 and accordingly flow control mechanism 56 is operable to move between first position shown in Fig. 6A and second position in Fig. 7), when the lock mechanism is in the second position, the flow control mechanism is not operable to move between the first position and the second position and is locked in the second position (when 18 is in second position of 18 with 18 in notch 19, 14 is held, i.e., locked, in second position of 14 and accordingly 56 is locked in second position shown in Fig. 7 per col 2 lines 65-67 and col 3 lines 20-25);
wherein a longitudinal axis of the lock mechanism is generally perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the flow control mechanism (as shown in annotated Fig. 5, longitudinal axis of 56 is generally perpendicular to longitudinal axis extending into plane of Fig. 5 of portion of 18 shown in cross-section in Fig. 5 which is portion of 18 which contacts 14 via notch 19 in second position);
wherein, when the lock mechanism is in the second position, the lock mechanism is operable to move from the second position to the first position by each of: (1) actuating the flow actuation mechanism (with 18 in second position of 18, actuating 14 toward 10 will cause 18 to disengage and 18 is operable to move to first position of 18), and (2) actuating the lock mechanism (with 18 in second position of 18, 18 is operable to move from second position to first position of 18 by actuating 18 in downward direction in Fig. 1, i.e., by pushing or pulling 18 downward); and
wherein, when the lock mechanism is moved from the second position to the first position, the flow control mechanism is operable to move from the second position to the first position (when 18 is moved from second position to first position of 18, 56 is operable to move from second position to first position of 56 via 14 and spring 72).
Regarding independent claim 27, Esche discloses a wand (assembly of 10, 12, 16, 21 Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a shell (shell of 10, 16 and 21 in Fig. 3), the shell operable to pull away from a body of a faucet (as shown in Fig. 3, shell is operable to pull away from body 22,24 of faucet 26);
a waterway (waterway with flow arrows through passages as shown in Figs. 6A-7 and other figures), the waterway operable to be substantially disposed in the shell (waterway is substantially disposed in shell of 10 as seen in Figs. 6A-7), the waterway including a first flow passage (labeled in annotated Fig. 6A) and a second flow passage (labeled in annotated Fig. 6A);
a flow module (labeled in annotated Fig. 6A), the flow module operable to be disposed between the first flow passage and the second flow passage (flow module is disposed between first flow passage and second flow passage in annotated Fig. 6A and includes chamber, i.e., flow module opening, 55, spring 72 and seal 65), the flow module including a flow control mechanism (56 Fig. 6A; 56 is a flow piston), the flow control mechanism operable to move between a first position (flow control mechanism 56 is in first position in Fig. 6A) and a second position (flow control mechanism 56 is in second position in Fig. 7 which shows 56 has moved to the right compared to first position in Fig. 6A), in the first position, a first volume of water flows from the first flow passage through the flow control mechanism to the second flow passage (as shown in Fig. 6A by flow arrows, a first volume of water flows from first flow passage through 56 to second flow passage as described in col 4 lines 3-9), in the second position, a second volume of water flows from the first flow passage through the flow control mechanism to the second flow passage (as shown in Fig. 7 by flow arrows, a second volume of water flows from first flow passage through 56 to second flow passage as described in col 4 lines 15-21);
a flow actuator module (12 Fig. 1), the flow actuator module including a flow actuation mechanism (14 Fig. 1; 14 is a flow lever), the flow actuation mechanism operable to move between a first position (14 is in first position as labeled in annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 6A shows 14 in first position) and a second position (14 is in second position as labeled in annotated Fig. 1 which shows 14 is operable to move from first position to second position, and Fig. 7 shows 14 in second position), as the flow actuation mechanism is moved from the first position to the second position, the flow control mechanism is moved from the first position to the second position (as shown in Figs. 1, 5, 6A, and 7, 14 contacts head portion 69 of 56 and as 14 moves from first position in Fig. 6A to second position in Fig. 7, 14 moves 56 from first position to second position as described in col 4 lines 15-25), as the flow actuation mechanism is moved from the second position to the first position, the flow control mechanism is moved from the second position to the first position (as 14 is moved from second position to first position, spring 72 biases 56 toward 14 per col 3 lines 63-67 to col 4 lines 1-2 and 56 moves from second position to first position); and
a flow lock module (labeled in annotated Fig. 1), the flow lock module including a lock mechanism (18 Figs. 1 and 5; 18 is a lock pin in shape of a loop), the lock mechanism operable to move between a first position and a second position (as shown in Fig. 1, 18 is operable to move between a first position and a second position), when the lock mechanism is in the first position, the flow control mechanism is operable to move between the first position and the second position (when 18 is in first position of 18 shown in annotated Fig. 1, 14 is operable to move between first position and second position of 14 and accordingly flow control mechanism 56 is operable to move between first position shown in Fig. 6A and second position in Fig. 7), when the lock mechanism is in the second position, the flow control mechanism is not operable to move between the first position and the second position and is locked in the second position (when 18 is in second position of 18 with 18 in notch 19, 14 is held, i.e., locked, in second position of 14 and accordingly 56 is locked in second position shown in Fig. 7 per col 2 lines 65-67 and col 3 lines 20-25);
wherein at least a portion of the flow actuation mechanism is external to the shell (at least a portion of 14 is external to the shell in Fig. 1);
wherein at least a portion of the lock mechanism is external to the shell (at least a portion of 18 is external to the shell in Fig. 1);
wherein, when the lock mechanism is in the second position, the lock mechanism is operable to move from the second position to the first position by each of: (1) actuating the flow actuation mechanism (with 18 in second position of 18, actuating 14 toward 10 will cause 18 to disengage and 18 is operable to move to first position of 18), and (2) actuating the lock mechanism (with 18 in second position of 18, 18 is operable to move from second position to first position of 18 by actuating 18 in downward direction in Fig. 1, i.e., by pushing or pulling 18 downward); and
wherein, when the lock mechanism is moved from the second position to the first position, the flow control mechanism is operable to move from the second position to the first position (when 18 is moved from second position to first position of 18, 56 is operable to move from second position to first position of 56 via 14 and spring 72).
Regarding independent claim 34, Esche discloses a wand (assembly of 10, 12, 16, 21 Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a shell (shell of 10, 16 and 21 in Fig. 3), the shell operable to pull away from a body of a faucet (as shown in Fig. 3, shell is operable to pull away from body 22,24 of faucet 26);
a waterway (waterway with flow arrows through passages as shown in Figs. 6A-7 and other figures), the waterway operable to be substantially disposed in the shell (waterway is substantially disposed in shell of 10 as seen in Figs. 6A-7), the waterway including a first flow passage (labeled in annotated Fig. 6A) and a second flow passage (labeled in annotated Fig. 6A);
a flow module (labeled in annotated Fig. 6A), the flow module operable to be disposed between the first flow passage and the second flow passage (flow module is disposed between first flow passage and second flow passage in annotated Fig. 6A and includes chamber, i.e., flow module opening, 55, spring 72 and seal 65), the flow module including a flow control mechanism (56 Fig. 6A; 56 is a flow piston), the flow control mechanism operable to move between a first position (flow control mechanism 56 is in first position in Fig. 6A) and a second position (flow control mechanism 56 is in second position in Fig. 7 which shows 56 has moved to the right compared to first position in Fig. 6A), in the first position, a first volume of water flows from the first flow passage through the flow control mechanism to the second flow passage (as shown in Fig. 6A by flow arrows, a first volume of water flows from first flow passage through 56 to second flow passage as described in col 4 lines 3-9), in the second position, a second volume of water flows from the first flow passage through the flow control mechanism to the second flow passage (as shown in Fig. 7 by flow arrows, a second volume of water flows from first flow passage through 56 to second flow passage as described in col 4 lines 15-21);
a flow actuator module (12 Fig. 1), the flow actuator module including a flow actuation mechanism (14 Fig. 1; 14 is a flow lever), the flow actuation mechanism operable to move between a first position (14 is in first position as labeled in annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 6A shows 14 in first position) and a second position (14 is in second position as labeled in annotated Fig. 1 which shows 14 is operable to move from first position to second position, and Fig. 7 shows 14 in second position), as the flow actuation mechanism is moved from the first position to the second position, the flow control mechanism is moved from the first position to the second position (as shown in Figs. 1, 5, 6A, and 7, 14 contacts head portion 69 of 56 and as 14 moves from first position in Fig. 6A to second position in Fig. 7, 14 moves 56 from first position to second position as described in col 4 lines 15-25), as the flow actuation mechanism is moved from the second position to the first position, the flow control mechanism is moved from the second position to the first position (as 14 is moved from second position to first position, spring 72 biases 56 toward 14 per col 3 lines 63-67 to col 4 lines 1-2 and 56 moves from second position to first position); and
a flow lock module (labeled in annotated Fig. 1), the flow lock module including a lock mechanism (18 Figs. 1 and 5; 18 is a lock pin in shape of a loop), the lock mechanism operable to move between a first position and a second position (as shown in Fig. 1, 18 is operable to move between a first position and a second position), when the lock mechanism is in the first position, the flow control mechanism is operable to move between the first position and the second position (when 18 is in first position of 18 shown in annotated Fig. 1, 14 is operable to move between first position and second position of 14 and accordingly flow control mechanism 56 is operable to move between first position shown in Fig. 6A and second position in Fig. 7), when the lock mechanism is in the second position, the flow control mechanism is not operable to move between the first position and the second position and is locked in the second position (when 18 is in second position of 18 with 18 in notch 19, 14 is held, i.e., locked, in second position of 14 and accordingly 56 is locked in second position shown in Fig. 7 per col 2 lines 65-67 and col 3 lines 20-25);
wherein the flow control mechanism, the flow actuation mechanism, and the lock mechanism are independently actuatable (56, 14 and 18 are independently actuatable since each can be moved independently: 56 may be independently moved by pushing on 69, 14 may be independently moved by pushing or pulling on 14, 18 may be independently moved by pushing or pulling on 18);
wherein, when the lock mechanism is in the second position, the lock mechanism is operable to move from the second position to the first position by independent actuation of each of: (1) the flow control mechanism (as seen in Figs. 1, 5, 6A and 7, 69 extends out of shell and is able to be pushed by a user which moves 56 toward right in Fig. 7 which allows 14 to move toward right which in Fig. 1 is moving 14 toward 10 such that 18 disengages from 19 and is operable to move from second position to first position of 18), (2) the flow actuation mechanism (by pushing 14 toward 10, 18 disengages from 19 and is operable to move from second position to first position of 18), and (3) the lock mechanism (by pushing or pulling on 18, 18 is operable to move from second position to first position of 18); and
wherein, when the lock mechanism is moved from the second position to the first position, the flow control mechanism is operable to move from the second position to the first position (when 18 is moved from second position to first position of 18, 56 is operable to move from second position to first position of 56 via spring 72 and 14).
Regarding claims 22, 28 and 35, Esche discloses the flow control mechanism is biased to the first position (as seen in Fig. 6A 56 is biased to first position by spring 72 as described in col 3 line 67 to col 4 lines 1-2); and the lock mechanism is biased to the first position (as shown in Fig. 1, 18 is biased to first position since in order to have 18 moved to second position, 18 must be placed in notch 19 as desired by user as described in col 3 lines 22-25 and col 4 lines 22-25, otherwise 18 hangs in first position).
Regarding claims 23, 29 and 36, Esche discloses the first volume of water is less than the second volume of water (col 4 lines 15-22 describes a higher flow rate in second position in Fig. 7 than in first position in Fig. 6A; this is also described in col 1 lines 53-57; the higher flow rate produces the second volume of water with the second volume of water greater than the first volume of water produced by the lower flow rate over the same amount of time, such that the first volume of water is less than the second volume of water).
Regarding claims 24, 30 and 37, Esche discloses the flow control mechanism is a flow piston (56 is a flow piston).
Regarding claims 25, 31 and 38, Esche discloses the lock mechanism is a lock pin (18 is a lock pin in shape of a loop).
Regarding claims 26, 32, and 39, Esche discloses the flow actuation mechanism is a flow lever (14 is a flow lever).
Regarding claims 33 and 40, Esche discloses the shell and the waterway are any one of separately formed, unitarily formed, and partially separately formed and partially unitarily formed (Figs. 6A-8 show shell of 10 and waterway are partially separately formed and partially unitarily formed as seen by cross-hatching of component structures).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to new claims 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.H./ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741