DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed April 29, 2026. Currently, claims 27-47 are pending. Claims 29-47 have been withdrawn as drawn to non-elected subject matter.
It it appears applicant has legal representation but a valid power of attorney has not been filed in the present application. Providing representative information in an Application Data Sheet (ADS) does not constitute a power of attorney. See 37 CFR 1.76(b)(4) and MPEP § 408. For information on appointing a power of attorney, see MPEP § 402.02 et seq.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I and a single combination of all the genes found in Table 3, Claims *** in the paper filed 27-28 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application claims priority to
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the brief description of the drawings discusses different colors. For example, Figure 4 discuses orange, red, blue colors. It does not appear the drawings are filed in color. However, the description includes colors. Correction is required. No new matter may be added.
The text in Table 6 is illegible. Clear copies of the Table are required.
Improper Markush Rejection
Claims 27-28 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984).
A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if:
(1) the species of the Markush group do not share a “single structural similarity,” or (2) the species do not share a common use. Members of a Markush group share a “single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class. Members of a Markush group share a common use when they are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent. See MPEP § 2117.
Here each species is considered to each of the SUDP biomarker genes listed in Table 3. Table 3 lists over 100 SUDP genes in Table 3.
The recited alternative species in the groups set forth here do not share a single structural similarity, as each different gene that could be detected is itself located in a separate region of the genome and has its own structure. The genes recited in the instant claims, do not share a single structural similarity since each consists of a different nucleotide sequences with different expression patterns or variations. The only structural similarity present is that all detected positions are part of nucleic acid molecules. The fact that the markers comprise nucleotides per se does not support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising a nucleotide alone is not essential to the common activity of being correlated with SUDP. Accordingly, while the different markers are asserted to have the property of being expressed in colorectal cancer, they do not share a single structural similarity.
MPEP 2117 (II)(A) provides the following guidance as to what constitutes a physical, chemical, or art recognized class:
A recognized physical class, a recognized chemical class, or an art-recognized class is a class wherein “there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved”
The recited genes do not belong to a recognized chemical class because there is no expectation from the knowledge in the art that the genes will behave in the same manner and can be substituted for one another with the same intended result achieved. In other words, there is no expectation from the knowledge in the art that each of the recited genes would function in the same way in the claimed method; it is only in the context of this specification that it was disclosed that all members of this group may behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. Further there is no evidence of record to establish that it is clear from their very nature that each of the recited genes possess the common property of being associated with SUDP.
MPEP 2117 (II) further states the following:
Where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the compounds do not appear to be members of a recognized physical or chemical class or members of an art-recognized class, the members are considered to share a "single structural similarity" and common use when the alternatively usable compounds share a substantial structural feature that is essential to a common use. Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984).
The recited alternative species do not share a substantial common structure just because they all have a sugar phosphate backbone. The sugar phosphate backbone of a nucleic acid chain is not considered to be a substantial common structural feature to the group of genes being claimed because it is shared by ALL nucleic acids. Further, the fact that the genes all have a sugar phosphate backbone does not support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising a sugar phosphate backbone alone is not essential to the asserted common use of being associated with SUDP.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Following this analysis, the claims are rejected as containing an improper Markush grouping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon an analysis with respect to the claim as a whole, the rejected claim(s) do not recite something significantly different than a judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Briefly, claims 27-28 are rejected because these claims are drawn to a nucleic acid molecules “fixed to a substrate”. Claims 27-28 are directed to nucleic acid genes and fragments from the human genome, i.e. known naturally occurring nucleic acids. Such isolated nucleic acid molecules, that are identical to fragments of naturally occurring nucleic acid molecules are not patent eligible subject matter, i.e. they are judicial exceptions to patentable subject matter.
The claims require that the polynucleotides are fixed to a substrate. The specification does not teach what “fixed to a substrate” requires. The broadest reasonable interpretation of fixed to a substrate encompasses drying the polynucleotides to a filter, spotting or coating the polynucleotides to a solid substrate. Thus, these oligonucleotides may be reversibly found to the substrate. The nucleic acids are not transformed into a different state by spotting them on a support.
MPEP 2106.04(b)(II) discusses products of nature. The MPEP specifically discusses DNA, primers and probes. The isolated DNA of Myriad and the primers of Ambry Genetics were described as products of nature by the courts. Ass’n for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116-17, 106 USPQ2d 1972, 1979 (2013); University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 758-59, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1243 (Fed. Cir. 2014). The MPEP further states the “product of nature exceptions include both naturally occurring products and non-naturally occurring products that lack markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterpart. See, e.g., Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d at 760, 113 USPQ2d at 1244 ("Contrary to Myriad's argument, it makes no difference that the identified gene sequences are synthetically replicated. As the Supreme Court made clear, neither naturally occurring compositions of matter, nor synthetically created compositions that are structurally identical to the naturally occurring compositions, are patent eligible.").” The Federal Circuit in Ambry Genetics reviewed “[t]he Supreme Court held ineligible claims directed to segments as short as 15 nucleotides, the same length as the primer claims at issue here, suggesting that even short strands identical to those found in nature are not patent eligible. Compare ’492 patent col. 170 ll. 32–38, with ’282 patent col. 153 ll. 66–67.”
In the instant case, the claims, embrace probes and primers that are identical to naturally occurring gene fragments and clearly read on nature-based products that themselves do not exhibit markedly different characteristics from the naturally occurring gene. See e.g. Myriad in which one claim at issue was drawn to “[a]n isolated DNA having at least 15 nucleotides [an isolated DNA coding for a BRCA1 polypeptide having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2] (Myriad at 2113). The Court recognized that this claim, if valid, would have given Myriad exclusive right to isolate any strand of 15 or more nucleotides of an individual’s BRCA1 gene (paragraph bridging 2113 and 2114). This is directly analogous to the instant situation wherein Applicant’s claims cover probe and primer molecules that are fragments of a naturally occurring human genome sequence. The Court held that “[a] naturally occurring DNA segment is a product of nature and not patent eligible merely because it has been isolated”, and that “Myriad’s claims are not saved by the fact that isolating DNA from the human genome severs the chemical bonds that bind gene molecules together” (page 2118). The Court found that while Myriad had located and sequenced an important gene, Myriad had not created anything, and that “separating that gene from its surrounding genetic material is not an act of invention” (page 2118). Consistent with the findings of the Court in Myriad, the Office finds that the primers and probe molecules embraced by the instant clams are not patent eligible compositions of matter regardless of whether or not they are isolated from the genome. The Guidelines indicate that a change in biological function or activity maybe a characteristic of an isolated product that can provide a marked difference sufficient to distinguish over a naturally occurring product. However, in this case, as in the Ambry case, the function of the nucleic acids is the same function as the relevant portion of the naturally occurring sequence. Just as in nature, primers and probes utilize the innate ability of DNA to bind to itself.
Having established that the claims include a naturally occurring product that is a judicial exception, it must now be determined whether or not the claims recite an element or combination of elements that amount to significantly more than that exception, and whether those additional elements also amount to significantly more for the other claimed exception(s), which ensures that the claim does not have a preemptive effect with respect to any of the recited exceptions. To determine whether a claim that includes a nature-based product limitation recites a “product of nature” exception, an analysis is performed in which it is first determined if a claim includes a nature-based product that has markedly different characteristics from the corresponding naturally occurring product, and if it does not, then it is determined whether or not other elements of the claim are sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself (see the Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility published 12/16/2014 in the Federal Register at pages 74618-74633). In order to be markedly different the claimed product must possess at least one characteristic that is different from that of the counterpart.
The fact that these natural products are organized into a panel with an intended use adds nothing to the judicial exceptions that would distinguish them from the naturally occurring material. The kit must be considered in the context of whether or not the combination can provide some way of ensuring it does not limit the public’s access to the naturally occurring material. That does not occur in this case because the naturally occurring material exists as a distinct entity within the panel or kit, and is not integrated in terms of form or function with any other element of the panel kit.
Therefore, the claims are properly rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to patent-ineligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-Description
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are broadly drawn to SUDP polynucleotides of Table 3 or fragments thereof. This has been interpreted to be polynucleotides which possess the functionality of being associated with SUDP.
Relevant to the lack of particular structural limitations in the rejected claims drawn to nucleic acids, MPEP 2163 states:
The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described if the claims require an essential or critical feature which is not adequately described in the specification and which is not conventional in the art or known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
In the case of the instant claims, the functionality of polynucleotides or fragments of Table diagnostic of SUDP is a critical feature of the claimed methods.
The specification teaches identifying several variants and polymorphisms in different genes that are associated with SUDP. However, it is not clear that all of these genes have mutations that are associated with SUDP. Further it is unclear whether particular fragments are SUDP polynucleotides and other fragments are not. The specification and the art do not teach which fragments are SUDP polynucleotides. Given the guidance in the specification and what was taught in the art prior to the invention, the skilled artisan would be unable to predictably correlate fragments of polynucleotides in Table 3 as SUDP polynucleotides simply based on their existence.
Thus considering the breadth of the polynucleotides required by the claimed methods, their specific required functionalities, and the teachings of the instant specification, it is the conclusion that the specification does not provide an adequate written description of the broadly claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A) The claim refers to tables. MPEP 2173.05(s) states:
Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table “is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience.” Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).
Claim 27 and 28 recites Table 3 and 1, respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
B) Claim 27 requires the panel comprises SUDP polynucleotides of Table 3 or fragments thereof. It is unclear whether all of the polynucleotides of Table 3 are SUDP polynucleotides, or whether only a subset of the genes in Table 3 are SUDP polynucleotides. It is unclear what makes these known genes SUDP polynucleotides. It is unclear which fragments are SUDP polynucleotides. The metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fodor (6582908).
The specification teaches the fragments may be 10 nucleotides in length (page 3, lines 5-10). Fodor teaches all 10-mers, thus Fodor teaches fragments of the polynucleotides of Table 3 fixed to a substrate.
Fodor teaches a powerful form of the generic array is the n-mer array which is a solid support to which all possible nucleic acid sequences of a given length are attached (Col. 17, line 23 and following ). Fodor teaches that a 25-mer array comprises over 1x1015 different oligonucleotide sequences. Fodor exemplifies the production and use of a 10-mer array. In the example, Fodor teaches that all possible 20-mers would fit on 100 10 cm2 substrates, and that their technology provides for a single substrate having all one million, seven million or more oligonucleotides, depending on the size of the feature and of the substrate. Fodor teaches that the molecules are at "discrete, known" locations on a solid support (Col. 2, beginning at line 35). This means that each molecule is at a different spot on the solid support; they are isolated and purified relative to one another. Fodor teaches that a "complete set" of n-mers refers to a set of single-stranded polynucleotides of "n" number nucleotides wherein the set represents every possible combination of the "n" nucleotides (Col. 5, beginning at line 20). Fodor teaches methods for obtaining nucleic acids of given length through solid phase synthesis and methods for forming high density arrays (Col. 9-13).
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marr et al. (F1000Research, Vol. 5, No. 305, 2016).
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Marr teaches analysis of large datasets from public repositories that analyze gene expression and transcriptome data from GEO. As see in in Table 1, the Affymetrix Human Genome U133 Plus 2.0 Array is used in many of the prenatal datasets. Upon review of the GEO data sets, the Affymetrix U133A array comprises probes for all of the polynucleotides of Table 3 and Table 1. Thus, Marr teaches a panel comprising polynucleotides of Table 3 fixed to a substrate.
Conclusion
No claims allowable over the art.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO2006/019984 teaches polymorphism in SCN5A protein for identifying individual risk for SIDS. SCN5A is in Table 3.
WO2019173724 (September 12, 2019) teaches compositions and methods for mutations associated with sudden unexpected death in pediatrics. This is work by a common inventor bot the genes are not overlapping.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
May 22, 2026