Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant has elected without travers the Invention of Group III, Claims 43-46. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/6/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 43- 4 7 , 49-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0346564 by Warrick et al. (Warrick). With respect to claim 43 , Warrick teaches a computerized premises device for managing communications relating to a plurality of computerized client devices of a premises network, the computerized premises device comprising: at least one data interface configured for data communication with the premises network, the premises network in data communication with at least the plurality of computerized client devices; ( Fig. 1-3 – System Controller includes interface for communicating with the premises network (hotel premise network) that is in communication with client devices ( devices 118, 120 , 121-124 ) ) at least one backend interface configured for data communication with the plurality of computerized client devices; ( Fig. 1-3 – System Controller includes interface for communicating with the client devices ( devices 118, 120 , 121-124 ) ) a digital processor apparatus ( Paragraph 59 ) ; and a storage apparatus in data communication with the digital processor apparatus and having at least one computer program disposed thereon, the at least one computer program being configured to, when executed on the digital processor apparatus ( Paragraphs 58-59 ) , cause the computerized premises device to: receive data representative of a first message from a first computerized client device of the plurality of computerized client devices; (Paragraph 69-70 – gateway receives message from device 118 ) determine that the data representative of the first message is directed to one or more second computerized client devices of the plurality of computerized client devices; ( Paragraphs 70-71 – gateway determines destination address of device 121 from first message ) generate data representative of at least one second message; and transmit the data representative of the at least one second message to the one or more second computerized client devices. ( Paragraph 70-71 – if first client is authorized, the corresponding stream messages will be generated and sent to the destination device ) With respect to claim 44 , Warrick teaches t he computerized premises device of claim 43, wherein the generation of the data representative of the at least one second message comprises generation of the data representative of the at least one second message in a format or protocol utilized by the one or more second computerized client devices, the format or protocol utilized by the one or more second computerized client devices being different than a format or protocol of the data representative of the first message. ( Paragraph 54, 56-57 – media proxy can convert from an initial protocol to one supported by the destination device ) . With respect to claim 45 , Warrick teaches the computerized premises device of claim 43, wherein: the determination that the data representative of the first message is directed to the one or more second computerized client devices comprises a determination that the data representative of the first message is directed to two or more computerized client devices; the generation of the data representative of the at least one second message comprises generation of data representative of at least two messages, the generation of the data representative of the at least two messages comprising replication of data from the data representative of the first message and generation of the data representative of the at least two messages via use of the replicated data; and the transmission of the data representative of the at least one second message to the one or more second computerized client devices comprises transmission of the data representative of the at least two messages containing the replicated data to the two or more computerized client devices, respectively. ( Paragraph 128 – Warrick teaches multicasting capabilities allowing for multicasting from one source device to all guest devices, such as in a conference setting for sharing a presentation. This multicasting is functionally equivalent to the claim replication of the data to be transmitted to the other devices ). With respect to claim 46 , Warrick teaches the computerized premises device of claim 43, wherein: the determination that the data representative of the first message is directed to the one or more second computerized client devices comprises access of a database of a plurality of network addresses associated with the plurality of computerized client devices ( Paragraph 66 – in-room media device table stores IP addresses of the devices ); and the transmission of the data representative of the at least one second message to the one or more second computerized client devices comprises transmission of the data representative of the at least one second message to the one or more second computerized client devices based on one or more respective network addresses of the plurality of network addresses, the one or more respective network addresses respectively associated with the one or more second computerized client devices. (Paragraph 66-70 – initial client device is informed of other available devices based on the in room table ) With respect to claim 47 , Warrick teaches the computerized premises device of claim 43, wherein the at least one computer program is further configured to, when executed on the digital processor apparatus, cause the computerized premises device to: encrypt the data representative of the at least one second message prior to transmission. ( Paragraph 57, 191 – media proxy can encrypt second message ) With respect to claim 49 , Warrick teaches the computerized premises device of claim 43, wherein the at least one computer program is further configured to, when executed on the digital processor apparatus, cause the computerized premises device to: determine whether the second computerized client device is available based at least in part on a client device registry stored in the storage apparatus. ( Paragraph 66 -70 – in-room media device table stores IP addresses of the available devices ); With respect to claim 50 , Warrick teaches the computerized premises device of claim 43, wherein the data representative of the first message comprises a command message having control information for a target premises device. ( Paragraph 66 -70 – the first message from the first client includes a command to render/display the streaming content from the first client) With respect to claim 51 , Warrick teaches the computerized premises device of claim 43, wherein the transmission of the data representative of the at least one second message bypasses a remote content or service provider network. ( Paragraph 66 -70, Fig. 1-3 – the second message does not go through a remote content or service network) With respect to claim 52 , Warrick teaches the computerized method of operating a premises network having a plurality of computerized client devices associated therewith, the computerized method comprising: receiving data representative of a first message from a first computerized client device of the plurality of computerized client devices; (Paragraph 69-70 – gateway receives message from device 118 ) determining that the data representative of the first message is directed to one or more second computerized client devices of the plurality of computerized client devices; ( Paragraphs 70-71 – gateway determines destination address of device 121 from first message ) generating data representative of at least one second message; and utilizing at least one network address to transmit the data representative of the at least one second message to the one or more second computerized client devices via the premises network, without routing the data representative of the at least one second message outside of the premises network. ( Paragraph 68 -71 , Fig. 1, 3 – if first client is authorized, the corresponding stream messages will be generated and sent to the destination device identified via IP address, this occurs without routing the streaming message data outside the premises network ) With respect to claim 53 , Warrick teaches the computerized method of claim 52, wherein determining that the data representative of the first message is directed to the one or more second computerized client devices comprises consulting a client device registry stored on a computerized premises device. ( Paragraph 66 , 70 – in-room media device table stores IP addresses of the devices , destination and source address combo I checked ) With respect to claim 54 , Warrick teaches the computerized method of claim 52, wherein the data representative of the first message comprises control information associated with an appliance or media rendering operation. ( Paragraph 64-71 – example first message is for controlling a rendering operation of media on a media TV device) With respect to claim 55 , Warrick teaches the computerized method of claim 52, further comprising formatting the data representative of the at least one second message based at least in part on a messaging protocol supported by the one or more second computerized client devices. ( Paragraph 54, 56-57 – media proxy can convert from an initial protocol to one supported by the destination device ). With respect to claim 56 , Warrick teaches the computerized method of claim 52, wherein the at least one network address comprises a local IPv6 address associated with the one or more second computerized client devices. (Paragraph 64-71 – IP addresses of the devices would include in scope IPv6 ) With respect to claim 57 , Warrick teaches the computerized method of claim 52, wherein the data representative of the first message comprises data indicative of an event notification associated with a user interaction or device state change, and the data representative of the at least one second message comprises data indicative of an action directive responsive to the event. ( Paragraph 69-71 – connection between client and media device forms a bi-directional unicast allowing for any avai labl e functions ( user interactions) to be performed ) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 48 , 58-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warrick in view of US 2016/0337424 by Mandyam ( Mandyam ). With respect to claim 48 , Warrick teaches t he computerized premises device of claim 43, and further indicates the use of any media transport protocol (Paragraph 46). Warrick does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission of the data representative of the at least one second message is performed using an Extensible Messaging and Presence Protocol (XMPP) over a secure WebSockets (WSS) connection. Mandyam teaches the use of XMPP over a secure websocket connection for transporting media (Paragraph 5, 26, 99) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protocol connection of Warrick include XMPP over a WSS connection as in Mandyam . Using a known media transport protocol connection for the required media transport connection of Warrick would have been obvious. With respect to claim 58 , Warrick teaches a c omputer readable apparatus comprising a non-transitory storage medium, the non-transitory storage medium comprising at least one computer program having a plurality of instructions, the plurality of instructions configured to, when executed on a processing apparatus, cause a computerized premises apparatus to: receive data representative of a first message from a first computerized client device of a premises network; (Paragraph 69-70 – gateway receives message from device 118 ) identify a second computerized client device of the premises network as a recipient of the first message based on at least one destination identifier within the data representative of the first message; ( Paragraphs 70-71 – gateway determines destination address of device 121 from first message ) generate data representative of a second message, the data representative of the second message comprising data based at least in part on the first message; and transmit the second message to the second computerized client device over the premises network ( Paragraph 70-71 – if first client is authorized, the corresponding stream messages will be generated and sent to the destination device ) Warrick does not explicitly identify transmitting the second message using an asynchronous protocol. Mandyam teaches media can be transported using an asynchronous protocol such as using XMPP over a secure websocket connection for transporting media (Paragraph 5, 26, 99) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmission protocol of Warrick include an asynchronous protocol as in Mandyam . Using a known asynchronous media transport protocol connection for the required media transport connection of Warrick would have been obvious. With respect to claim 59 , Warrick as modified teaches th e computer readable apparatus of claim 58, wherein: the plurality of instructions are further configured to, when executed on the processing apparatus, cause the computerized premises apparatus to: determine a message format compatible with the second computerized client device, the determination comprising a selection between XMPP over WSS, RESTfulJSON , or a proprietary binary format based on protocol support of the second computerized client device; an d the generation of the second message comprises generation of the second message formatted in accordance with the determined message format. ( Based on the same logic of the combination Warrick and Mandyam , Warrick teaches formatting for the second message into a compatible protocol - Paragraph 54, 56-57 – media proxy can convert from an initial protocol to one supported by the destination device , and Mandyam teaches XMPP over WSS Paragraph 5, 26, 99 ) With respect to claim 60 , Warrick as modified teaches the computer readable apparatus of claim 58, wherein the asynchronous protocol is selected from a group consisting of Extensible Messaging and Presence Protocol (XMPP), Message Queuing Telemetry Transport (MQTT), or Secure WebSockets (WSS). ( Based on the same logic of the combination Warrick and Mandyam , Mandyam teaches XMPP over WSS Paragraph 5, 26, 99 ) With respect to Claim 61 , Warrick as modified teaches t he computer readable apparatus of claim 58, wherein the second computerized client device is associated with a specific role within the premises network, the specific role comprising at least one of: controller, sensor, media renderer, or input device. ( Paragraphs 69-71 – media device includes at least a renderer, e.g. tv ) With respect to Claim 62 , Warrick as modified teaches the computer readable apparatus of claim 58, wherein the computerized premises apparatus comprises a multicast routing engine for distributing the second message to a plurality of second computerized client devices based on subscription records. ( Paragraphs 128 - multicasting for sharing to multiple devices such as for a conference ) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT DAVID R LAZARO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-3986 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8-4:30 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Emmanuel Moise can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3865 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAVID R LAZARO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455