DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-12, 16, 19-26, 29, 32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filippini (WO 0152976)..
Regarding claims 1-4, 10, 21-23, Filippini discloses an emulsion explosive that includes ammonium nitrate, fuel oil, and additives such as potassium carbonate (meets pH agent as described in Applicant’s specification) (pg. 27), molybdenum disulfide (pg. 37), alkali and alkaline earth phosphates (meets metal ion binding agent as described in Applicant’s specification) (pg. 31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and/or filed to use the emulsion additives as discloses by Filippini with the explosive emulsion disclosed by Filippini since the full disclosure relates to improvements of emulsions. Further, Filippini indicates that these components are additives that can be used to improve emulsions and the section in Filippini on emulsion explosives indicates that it is known to incorporate additives to improve the emulsion explosive.
Regarding claim 11, potassium carbonate is a base.
Regarding claim 12, the pH of the pH agent will be inherent to the compound since the same claimed compounds are used.
Regarding claim 16, the stability will be inherent since the same claimed compounds are used.
Regarding claims 19, 20, and 29, the additives are present at 1 % of the composition (pg. 35).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Filippini discloses the use of urea (meets nitrous acid neutralizing agent). This compound will inherently be stable at the claimed temperature since the same compound is used.
Regarding claim 32, the emulsion is used as an explosive for blasting
Regarding claim 33, the use in reactive ground is s statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 34, the prior art discloses alkali and alkaline earth which include the claimed cations of sodium and potassium.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments that the prior art discloses a fertilizer composition are not well taken. The background of the prior art and multiple sections in the prior art refer to the use of the composition as an explosive emulsion. It is very clear that the prior art is indicating that the composition can be used for multiple things one of which is an explosive. There is an entire section of the disclosure which refers to explosive emulsions from page 25-30 of the prior art.
It is obvious to use the emulsion additives as discloses by Filippini with the explosive emulsion disclosed by Filippini since the full disclosure relates to improvements of emulsions. Further, Filippini indicates that these components are additives that can be used to improve emulsions and the section in Filippini on emulsion explosives indicates that it is known to incorporate additives to improve the emulsion explosive.
Conclusion
/AILEEN B FELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734