DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections regarding claim 1 have been fully considered but they are moot. Applicant has amended the claims to recite new combinations of limitations. Applicant's arguments are directed at the amendment. Please see below for new grounds of rejection, necessitated by Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU (CN 206919724 U: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner) in view of Zhang (US 20250102234 A1).
Regarding claim 1, WU teaches a fiber-embedded vapor chamber structure (see Figure 3), comprising: a lower plate (24), extended along a longitudinal direction thereof (see Figure 3) and comprising a sealing edge surrounding a periphery thereof (see Figures 3 and 5 each of where 22 and 24 has a sealing edge surrounding a periphery thereof) to form a recessed zone (see Figure 3 where 24 has a recessed zone surrounded by the sealing edge), wherein a lower capillary layer (52 and 54) is disposed on an inner surface of the recessed zone (see Figure 3), a convex platform (26) is disposed protrusively from the recessed zone, and the convex platform is communicated with the recessed zone (see Figure 3);
an upper plate (22), engaged with the lower plate (24) and comprising an upper capillary layer (56: see Figure 3) disposed on a surface (221) thereof corresponding the lower plate (see Figure 3), wherein the upper plate (22) and the sealing edge of the lower plate (24) are correspondingly sealed to make the upper plate be sealed on the recessed zone of the lower plate (see Figure 3); and
a plurality of supporters (60), disposed between the lower plate (24) and the upper plate (22) and located in the recessed zone (see Figure 3), and extended from the recessed zone toward the lower plate (24) and the upper plate (22) to abut against the lower capillary layer (52 and 54) and the upper capillary layer (56: see Figure 3).
WU does not teach wherein, at least one fiber layer in a strip-shape is disposed in the recessed zone and extended along the longitudinal direction, the fiber layer is flatly attached and stacked on the lower capillary layer along a direction of the upper plate engaged with the lower plate to be pressed by a part of the supporters, and the lower capillary layer, the fiber layer, and the upper capillary layer are all located on different planes and parallel to each other; the fiber layer passes through the convex platform and comprises a lower sunk segment located in and disposed through the convex platform, and some supporters corresponding to the convex platform are extended inward the convex platform to press the lower sunk segment.
However, it’s old and well known in the art for vapor chambers to have a strip-shape wick layer stacked on top of lower capillary layer, as evidenced by Zhang, see Zhang’s Figures 3 and 10 where the vapor chamber has at least one fiber layer in a strip-shape (21) that is flatly attached and stacked on a lower capillary layer (3) along a longitudinal direction (see Zhang’s Figure 10), wherein the lower capillary layer (3) and the fiber layer (2are all located on different planes and parallel to each other (see Zhang’s Figure 11).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the vapor chamber of WU with at least one fiber layer in a strip-shape is disposed in the recessed zone and extended along the longitudinal direction, since as evidenced by Zhang, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of increasing the circulation of working fluid flow.
WU in view of Zhang teaches the fiber layer is flatly attached and stacked on the lower capillary layer along a direction of the upper plate engaged with the lower plate to be pressed by a part of the supporters, and the lower capillary layer, the fiber layer, and the upper capillary layer are all located on different planes and parallel to each other; the fiber layer passes through the convex platform and comprises a lower sunk segment located in and disposed through the convex platform, and some supporters corresponding to the convex platform are extended inward the convex platform to press the lower sunk segment (see WU’s Figure 3 and Zhang’s Figures 3 and 10 where providing WU’s vapor chamber with at least one fiber layer in a strip-shape (21) that is flatly attached and stacked on a lower capillary layer (3) along a longitudinal direction (see Zhang’s Figure 10), wherein the lower capillary layer (3) and the fiber layer (2) are all located on different planes and parallel to each other (see Zhang’s Figure 11) will result to have the fiber layer passes through the convex platform and comprises a lower sunk segment located in and disposed through the convex platform, and some supporters corresponding to the convex platform are extended inward the convex platform to press the lower sunk segment).
Regarding claim 4, WU as modified further teaches wherein the lower capillary layer (52 and 54 of WU) comprises a first lower capillary layer (right portion of WU’s 54) and a second lower capillary layer (left portion of WU’s 54), and the fiber layer (21 of Zhang) is clamped by the first lower capillary layer and the second lower capillary layer (see Zhang’s Figures 3 and 10 where 21 is extending along the entire longitudinal direction of the vapor chamber. Therefore, WU in view of Zhang would result 21 of Zhang to be clamped by right and the left portions of WU’s 54).
Regarding claim 5, WU as modified further teaches wherein the fiber layer (21 of Zhang) is clamped by the lower plate (24 of WU) and the lower capillary layer (52 and 54 of WU: see WU’s Figure 3 and cf. Zhang’s Figure 11).
Regarding claim 8, WU as modified further teaches wherein the lower capillary layer (52 and 56) and the upper capillary layer (56) comprises sintered powders or a woven net (see ¶ [39]).
Regarding claim 11, WU as modified further teaches wherein a portion of the fiber layer (21 of Zhang) located in the recessed zone is defined as an upper sunk segment (21 of Zhang that is located, as modified, outside 26 of WU), and the lower sunk segment and the upper sunk segment are in one piece form with a segment step formed by bending the fiber layer (see 21 in Zhang’s Figure 3 ).
Regarding claim 13, WU as modified further teaches wherein a lower sunk capillary layer (52 of WU) is disposed in the convex platform and clamped by the lower plate (24 of WU) and the lower sunk segment (lower sunk segment of Zhang’s at least one fiber layer in a strip-shape (21): see WU’s Figure 3 and cf. Zhang’s Figures 3 and 10).
Regarding claim 14, WU as modified as modified further teaches wherein the lower sunk capillary layer (52) comprises sintered powders (see ¶ [39]).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU (CN 206919724 U: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner) in view of Zhang (US 20250102234 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (US 20120305222 A1: Previously cited).
Regarding claim 2, WU does not teach wherein each one of the lower plate and the upper plate is a plate member made of an aluminum or a copper.
Yang teaches each one of a lower plate (112: see Figures 3 and 5) and an upper plate (111) is a plate member made of an aluminum or a copper (see ¶ [0052]).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the vapor chamber of WU with wherein each one of the lower plate and the upper plate is a plate member made of an aluminum or a copper since it has been held “[t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol. "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-Saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.)”: such provision would provide the benefit of having vapor chamber casing with excellent thermal conduction material.
Regarding claim 3, WU does not teach wherein a lower degassing end is disposed protrusively from any side of the lower plate, an upper degassing end is disposed protrusively from any side of the upper plate, and the lower degassing end is disposed corresponding to the upper degassing end.
However, it’s old and well known to vapor chamber to have filling/ vacuuming port, as evidenced by Yang, see Yang’s Figure 5 and ¶ [0057] where a lower degassing end is disposed protrusively from any side of the lower plate (112), an upper degassing end is disposed protrusively from any side of the upper plate (111), and the lower degassing end is disposed corresponding to the upper degassing end (see Figure 6 where one of the corners of 11 comprises degassing end).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the vapor chamber of WU with a lower degassing end is disposed protrusively from any side of the lower plate, an upper degassing end is disposed protrusively from any side of the upper plate, and the lower degassing end is disposed corresponding to the upper degassing end, since as evidenced by Yang, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of simplifying the manufacturing process of WU’s vapor chamber.
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763