DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to amendment filed on 6/17/2026, in which claims 1 and 3 was amended, claim 2 was canceled, and claims 1 and 3 – 20 was presented for further examination.
3. Claims 1 and 3 – 20 are now pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3 - 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Remarks
6.1 As per claim 1, applicant argues in substance in pages 15 – 20 that Liu et al (CN 112506953 A), Chen et al (US 2002/0029212 A1), and Zhu (CN 114297289 A) does not specifically disclose generating, by the one or more processors, an intermediate pending table in the database with a table structure based on the SELECT statement, wherein the generating comprises extracting one or more columns referenced by the SELECT from the base table in the database, the columns selected from the group consisting of: data type and data length;…………; inserting, by the one or more processors, the record into the intermediate pending table in the table structure in the database; performing, by the one or more processors, based on the SELECT statement, a fetch on the intermediate pending table in the database”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicants’ argument, Examiner respectfully responds that the combine teaching of Liu et al (CN 112506953 A), Chen et al (US 2002/0029212 A1), Brown et al (US 2019/0303462 A1), and Zhu (CN 114297289 A) disclose generating, by the one or more processors, an intermediate pending table in the database with a table structure based on the SELECT statement, wherein the generating comprises extracting one or more columns referenced by the SELECT from the base table in the database, the columns selected from the group consisting of: data type and data length;…………; inserting, by the one or more processors, the record into the intermediate pending table in the table structure in the database; wherein inserting the record into the intermediate pending table comprises populating values of columns in the intermediate pending table with data from the record and building a hash key, performing, by the one or more processors, based on the SELECT statement, a fetch on the intermediate pending table in the database (Liu: pg.2 lines 1 – 35; pg.8 lines 15 – 30; Chen: para.[0078]; and Zhu: pg.2 lines 17 – 18 and pg.3 lines 27, 36 – 37).
Liu discloses a system for analyzing the query and extracting core query content to determine whether the request is available in the intermediate table and directs execution of the query to the intermediate table (see pg.2 lines 19 – 21). The intermediate table is created by first analyzing the query content, executing it on the original data based on the specified criteria and inserting the result of the execution in a table in order to create an intermediate table. The subsequent query are then first analyzed to determine whether it can be executed on the intermediate table (see pg.2 lines 30 – 38 and pg.8 line 40).
As explained above, the disclosure of Liu explained how a query is received, analyzed to determine the content to retrieve (i.e. select) from databases, selecting appropriate content from databases based on required criteria, and creating an intermediate table with the selected data. Any subsequent query may now be directed to the intermediate table for execution if the content meet the query content. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Brown discloses retrieving of record from data sources (i.e. base table) and storing the record in the stage tables. (see para.[0048]). The stage tables consist of similar record from the source table (i.e. bass table). The stage tables includes a hash field for maintaining hash of stored record (see para.[0058] and para.[0098]).
6.2 Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 4 – 12, and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (CN 112506953 A), in view of Chen et al (US 2002/0029212 A1), in view of Brown et al (US 2019/0303462 A1), and further in view of Zhu (CN 114297289 A).
As per claim 1, Liu et al (CN 112506953 A) discloses,
A computer-implemented method of obtaining accurate results for a query in a database (pg.2 line 15; “executing the query to obtain a query result” and pg. lines 26 – 27; “allows SQL statements corresponding to tables to be executed faster and to quickly
access specific information in the database tables”).
the method comprising: executing, by one or more processors, in the database, a query comprising a SELECT statement (pg.8 line 15; “execution order of the SQL statements is: SELECT”).
wherein the SELECT statement targets a base table in a database (pg.2 line 32; “acquiring query records which are queried by accessing an original table”, where original table is interpreted as “base table” as claimed).
wherein the executing comprises performing a fetch on the base table in the database based on the SELECT statement (pg.2 line 32; “acquiring query records which are queried by accessing an original table”, where original table is interpreted as “base table” as claimed and pg.8 line 21; “a SELECT statement in a native SQL statement is analyzed”).
generating, by the one or more processors, an intermediate pending table in the database with a table structure based on the SELECT statement (pg.2 lines 34 – 35; “creating an intermediate table corresponding to each SQL content based on the core query content”).
wherein the generating comprises extracting one or more columns referenced by the SELECT from the base table in the database, the columns selected from the group consisting of: data type and data length (pg.2 line 32; “acquiring query records which are queried by accessing an original table”, where original table is interpreted as “base table” as claimed and pg.8 line 21; “a SELECT statement in a native SQL statement is analyzed”).
performing, by the one or more processors, based on the SELECT statement, a fetch on the intermediate pending table in the database (pg.2 lines 20 – 21; “the query is executed for the intermediate table query SQL based on the native SQL, so that a query result is obtained”).
Liu does not specifically disclose determining, by the one or more processors, that an INSERT operation inserted a record into the base table in the database behind the fetch on the base table in the database performed based on the SELECT statement
However, Chen et al (US 2002/0029212 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
determining, by the one or more processors, that an INSERT operation inserted a record into the base table in the database behind the fetch on the base table in the database performed based on the SELECT statement (para.[0078]; “After the result table 50 is populated with rows from the database table according to any qualification criteria in the SELECT statement ………….A FETCH SENSITIVE checks the base table 60, thus reflecting changes made outside of the cursor result table”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate result table of the system of Chen into maintenance of updated data of the system of Liu to automatically update result table with updated data from base table during processing of user request.
Neither Liu nor Chen specifically disclose inserting, by the one or more processors, the record into the intermediate pending table in the table structure in the database, wherein inserting the record into the intermediate pending table comprises populating values of columns in the intermediate pending table with data from the record and building a hash key.
However, Brown et al (US 2019/0303462 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
inserting, by the one or more processors, the record into the intermediate pending table in the table structure in the database (para.[00050]; “upon initial receipt of each record from a data source 202, the record will be stored in a stage table 206 corresponding to the data source 202 from which it was received”, where stage table is interpreted as intermediate pending table as claimed).
wherein inserting the record into the intermediate pending table comprises populating values of columns in the intermediate pending table with data from the record and building a hash key (para.[0048]; “retrieve one or more sets of records 204A-204N from a corresponding series of data sources 202A-202N. These sets of records may then be stored in corresponding stage tables”, para.[0058]; “Stage table 242A, for instance, includes an initial column 256 defining the fields storing the related information, and a subsequent column”, and para.[0098]; “hashes for the set of records in the stage table”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate stage table of the system of Brown inro into result table of the system of Chen to properly maintain integrity of the data while modifying data in the base table.
Neither Liu nor Chen specifically disclose generating, by the one or more processors, output for the SELECT statement, wherein the generating comprises merging results of the fetch on the base table in the database and the fetch on the intermediate pending table executed in the database.
However, Zhu (CN 114297289 A) in an analogous art discloses,
and generating, by the one or more processors, output for the SELECT statement, wherein the generating comprises merging results of the fetch on the base table in the database and the fetch on the intermediate pending table executed in the database (pg.3 line 27; “acquiring incremental data of the source table based on the source table and the intermediate table”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate incremental data acquisition of the system of Zhu into stage table of the system of Brown and result table of the system of Chen to properly maintain updated data in the system of Liu, thereby improve the quality of information provided to the user.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Chen et al (US 2002/0029212 A1) discloses,
wherein determining that the INSERT operation inserted the record into the base table behind the fetch on the base table comprises: determining, by the one or more processors, that the INSERT operation is committed (para.[0058]; “SELECT statement that are not specifically selected columns are compared when fetching rows from the result table to ensure that all base table columns involved in expressions in the SELECT statement are checked to determine if the base table value has been updated”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate result table of the system of Chen into incremental data acquisition of the system of Zhu to automatically update result table with updated data from base table during processing of user request.
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Liu et al (CN 112506953 A) discloses,
wherein determining that the INSERT operation inserted the record into the base table behind the fetch on the base table comprises: determining, by the one or more processors, that the base table is accessed in the SELECT statement by index; and based on the determining, comparing, by the one or more processors, the record in an index leaf page (pg.5 lines 30 – 32; “creating an intermediate table corresponding to each SQL content based on the core query content and the additional condition content corresponding to each SQL content comprises: creating a corresponding intermediate table according to the core query content corresponding to each SQL content; the created intermediate table is indexed based on the additional condition content”).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Chen et al (US 2002/0029212 A1) discloses,
wherein determining that the INSERT operation inserted the record into the base table behind the fetch on the base table comprises: determining, by the one or more processors, that the base table is accessed in the SELECT statement by tablespace scan; and based on the determining, comparing, by the one or more processors, the record in a data page (para.[0078]; “After the result table 50 is populated with rows from the database table according to any qualification criteria in the SELECT statement ………….A FETCH SENSITIVE checks the base table 60, thus reflecting changes made outside of the cursor result table”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate result table of the system of Chen into incremental data acquisition of the system of Zhu to automatically update result table with updated data from base table during processing of user request.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Liu et al (CN 112506953 A) discloses,
further comprising: returning, by the one or more processors, the output to the query (pg.5 line 23; “intermediate table to query the SQL based on the native SQL and executing the query to obtain a query result”).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Chen et al (US 2002/0029212 A1) discloses,
wherein generating the intermediate pending table further comprises: generating, by the one or more processors, a parse tree for the SELECT statement; and utilizing, by the one or more processors, the parse tree to generate the table structure (para.[0039]; “SQL query or cursor related command, ….. call the parser precompiler 8 to parse the statements from the application program 2 and generate parse trees for the statements”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate result table of the system of Chen into incremental data acquisition of the system of Zhu to automatically update result table with updated data from base table during processing of user request.
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Chen et al (US 2002/0029212 A1) discloses,
wherein generating the intermediate pending table further comprises: extracting, by the one or more processors, based on the SELECT statement, columns from the base table (para.[0076]; “the parameters in the INSERT INTO statement are the values that are inserted into the result table … from the base table”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate result table of the system of Chen into incremental data acquisition of the system of Zhu to automatically update result table with updated data from base table during processing of user request.
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Chen et al (US 2002/0029212 A1) discloses,
wherein the columns comprise data type and data length (para.[0054]; “"type": indicates the type of column”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate result table of the system of Chen into incremental data acquisition of the system of Zhu to automatically update result table with updated data from base table during processing of user request.
Claim 11 is a system claim corresponding to method claim 1, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claim 1 above.
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated and further Brown et al (US 2019/0303462 A1) discloses
wherein inserting the record into the intermediate pending table comprises building a hash key (para.[0048]; “retrieve one or more sets of records 204A-204N from a corresponding series of data sources 202A-202N. These sets of records may then be stored in corresponding stage tables”, para.[0058]; “Stage table 242A, for instance, includes an initial column 256 defining the fields storing the related information, and a subsequent column”, and para.[0098]; “hashes for the set of records in the stage table”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate incremental data acquisition of the system of Zhu into stage table of the system of Brown and result table of the system of Chen to properly maintain updated data in the system of Liu, thereby improve the quality of information provided to the user.
Claims 14 - 19 are system claim corresponding to method claims 4 - 9 respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 4 - 9 respectively above.
Claim 20 is a computer program product claim corresponding to method claim 1, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claim 1 above.
8. Claim 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (CN 112506953 A), in view of Chen et al (US 2002/0029212 A1), in view of Brown et al (US 2019/0303462 A1), in view of Zhu (CN 114297289 A), and further in view of Pan et al (US 2010/0281076 A1).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Liu et al (CN 112506953 A), Chen et al (US 2002/0029212 A1), and Zhu (CN 114297289 A) does not disclose wherein performing the fetch on the intermediate pending table comprises utilizing a hash search.
However, Pan et al (US 2010/0281076 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
wherein performing the fetch on the intermediate pending table comprises utilizing a hash search (para.[0057]; “hashed value of each element is stored into the intermediate table so that most elements can be filtered out when multiple elements are queried”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate intermediate table data field content of the system of Pan into the combine teaching of Chen, Brown, and Zhu to represent relevance data in the intermediate table of the system of Liu, thereby improving the quality of updated data return to requesting entity.
Claim 13 is a system claim corresponding to method claim 3, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claim 3 above.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TITLE: Apparatus and method for decomposing database queries for database management system including multiprocessor digital data processing system,
US 5,742, 806 authors: Reiner et al
/AUGUSTINE K. OBISESAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2156
7/11/2026