DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/22/2024, 1/8/2025, 5/14/2025, 7/11/2025 and 3/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9, 11, 13-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lῦdeke et al. (US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2018/0047697 A1).
[Re claim 1] Lῦdeke discloses the method for producing a solder contact surface on a chip (10), the chip (10) comprising a non-conductive substrate layer (12) and at least one conductor path (14) disposed on the substrate layer (12), the solder contact surface (28) being at least partially formed on the conductor path (12), the method comprising the following steps: a. applying a sinter paste (29) to a contact location (28) at least partially located on the conductor path (14), the sinter paste (29) comprising particles of at least one soft- solderable and conductive material and at least one solvent; and b. evaporating the solvent (see figure 1-2 and paragraph [0029]-[0030]).
[Re claim 4] Lῦdeke discloses the method wherein the evaporation of the solvent in step b. is carried out at least partially by means of sintering, in particular by means of laser sintering via a laser (see paragraph [0030]).
[Re claim 6] Lῦdeke discloses the method wherein the evaporation of the solvent in step b. is carried out at least partially by means of contact heating (see paragraph [0012]-[0015]).
[Re claim 7] Lῦdeke discloses the method wherein the chip (10) in step a. and/or in step b. is held by means of a clamping element (see paragraph [0013]).
[Re claim 8] Lῦdeke discloses the method wherein pressure is applied on the sinter paste by means of a pressure apparatus before or during the evaporation of the solvent in step b (see paragraph [0015]).
[Re claim 9] Lῦdeke discloses the method wherein the material of the particles comprised in the sinter paste (29) applied in step a. is gold, silver, copper and/or a compound having a gold content, a silver content and/or a copper content (see paragraph [0029]).
[Re claim 11] Lῦdeke discloses the chip (10), comprising a non-conductive substrate layer (12), at least one conductor path (14) and at least one solder contact surface (28) disposed at least partially on the conductor path (14), obtained via the method according to the claims 1 (see figure 1-2 and paragraph [0029]-[0030]). The limitation "obtained via the method according to the claims 1" are limitations directed to details of the device being made by the method claim. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method production. Therefore, the limitation "obtained via the method according to the claims 1" do not impart significant patentable weight. See MPEP 2113 (I).
[Re claim 13] Lῦdeke discloses the chip wherein the solder contact surface (28) is made of gold, silver, copper and/or a compound having a gold content, a silver content and/or a copper content or comprises gold, silver, copper and/or a compound having a gold content, a silver content and/or a copper content (see paragraph [0018]-[0020]).
[Re claim 14] Lῦdeke discloses the chip wherein the conductor path (14) comprises aluminum (see paragraph [0020]).
[Re claim 15] Lῦdeke discloses the chip wherein a solder bump (29) is disposed, in particular soldered, on the solder contact surface (28) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0029]).
[Re claim 16] Lῦdeke discloses a use of a solder contact surface (28) in a soft- soldering method, the solder contact surface (28) being produced by the method according to the claims 1 (see figure 1-2 and paragraph [0029]-[0030]). The limitation "a solder contact surface in a soft- soldering method, the solder contact surface being produced by the method according to the claims 1" are limitations directed to details of the device being made by the method claim. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method production. Therefore, the limitation " a solder contact surface in a soft- soldering method, the solder contact surface being produced by the method according to the claims 1" do not impart significant patentable weight. See MPEP 2113 (I).
[Re claim 17] Lῦdeke discloses the use of the solder contact surface wherein the soft-soldering is part of a flip-chip method. The limitation "the soft-soldering is part of a flip-chip method" are limitations directed to details of the device being made by the method claim. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method production. Therefore, the limitation "the soft-soldering is part of a flip-chip method" do not impart significant patentable weight. See MPEP 2113 (I).
[Re claim 19] Lῦdeke discloses the method wherein the evaporation of the solvent in step b. is carried out by means of contact heating of the substrate layer via placement on a heating element (see paragraph [0012]).
[Re claim 20] Lῦdeke discloses the chip wherein the solder bump (29) is soldered on the solder contact surface (28) (see figure 1-2 and paragraph [0029]-[0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lῦdeke et al. (US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2018/0047697 A1) in view of LI et al. (US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2012/0142140 A1).
[Re claim 2] Lῦdeke discloses the method as claimed and rejected as claim 1, but Lῦdeke does not discloses the method wherein the sinter paste in step a. is carried out by means of selective dispensation via a dispenser. LI discloses the method wherein the sinter paste is carried out by a dispenser (see paragraph [0019]). it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to the effective filing date of the instant application to the sinter paste using a dispenser in the method of Lῦdeke in order to control the amount of the sinter paste disposed on the solder contact surface.
[Re claim 3] LI also discloses the method wherein the selective dispensation in step a. is carried out by means of an aerosol jet application (see paragraph [0019]).
[Re claim 5] LI also discloses the method wherein the evaporation of the solvent in step b. is carried out at least partially in a furnace (see paragraph [0032]).
Claim(s) 10, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lῦdeke et al. (US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2018/0047697 A1).
[Re claim 10] Lῦdeke fails to disclose the selection of “the particle size of the particles comprised in the sinter paste applied in step a. is less than 100 nm”. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention because it is a matter of determining optimum process conditions by routine experimentation with a limited number of species of result effective variables. These claims are prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996)(claimed ranges or a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill or art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1995) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
[Re claim 12] Lῦdeke fails to disclose the selection of “the solder contact surface has a width and/or a length of at least 5 µm and/or maximally 20 µm”. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention because it is a matter of determining optimum process conditions by routine experimentation with a limited number of species of result effective variables. These claims are prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996)(claimed ranges or a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill or art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1995) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
[Re claim 18] Lῦdeke fails to disclose the selection of “the evaporation of the solvent in step b. is carried out at a temperature ranging from 60 °C to 250 °C”. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention because it is a matter of determining optimum process conditions by routine experimentation with a limited number of species of result effective variables. These claims are prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996)(claimed ranges or a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill or art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1995) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Conclusion
/KYOUNG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817