DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant has described four different degrees of rotation, which are seemingly depicted in figure 3 as A1, A2, A3, and A4. Figure 3 depicts A1 and A3 as yaw rotation axes and A2 and A4 as pitch rotation axes. In the specification and the claims, the applicant claims a first and second rotational degree of freedom as pitch and a third and fourth rotation degree of freedom as yaw. Therefore, are A2 and A4 the first and second rotation degree of freedom and A1 and A3 the third and fourth rotational degree of freedom. While the applicant is allowed to be their own lexicographer, it is suggested that the reference numerals A1 through A4 more closely correspond to the first through fourth rotational degrees of freedom, for clarity’s sake. Please also review the specification to ensure consistency throughout. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 18 ends with the clause “…and wherein.” It would seem that this claim is incomplete. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basitan , II et al. (US 2018/0118476) in view of Ruder et al. (US 5,009,560) Regarding claim 1, a robotic system, comprising: a chassis , 202 ; a proximal conveyor , 214 ; a first segment , 204, including a first segment conveyor , 1404, extending along a length of the first segment , see figure 14 ; first joint between the proximal conveyor and the first segment, wherein the first joint is configured to provide a first rotational degree of freedom between the first segment and the proximal conveyor , see joint shown in figure 4 between first segment 204 and proximal conveyor 214 , not numbered and paragraph 0151 ; a gripper , 206, including a distal conveyor extending along a length of the gripper , see figure 18 ; and a second joint , 1802, between the gripper and the first segment, wherein the second joint is configured to provide a second rotational degree of freedom between the first segment and the gripper, wherein , see figure 18 : the distal conveyor, first segment conveyor, and proximal conveyor are configured to move an object , 108, from a distal end of the robotic system to a proximal end of the robotic system , see figure 1 . Bast i an, II et al. teaches wheels rotatable to move the chassis in a first translational degree of freedom but does not teach a first and second leg configured to move in a vertical direction, as claimed . Ruder et al. teaches a robotic system for unloading cargo that includes a conveyor segment and a first leg and a second leg , 25, one on each side of the robot , operatively coupled to the chassis to support the chassis, wherein: the first and second leg , 23, including a wheel, 25, the first wheel and the second wheel are rotatable to move the chassis in a first translational degree of freedom, and the first leg and the second leg are configured to move in a vertical direction to move the chassis in a second translational degree of freedom perpendicular to the first translational degree of freedom , see figures 11 and 12. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time the invention was filed to combine the first and second leg of Ruder et al. with robot of Basitan , II et al. in order to enable the robot to adjust the working height of the robot. Regarding claim 2 , Basitan , II et al. teaches : the first joint is configured to provide a third rotational degree of freedom between the first segment and the proximal conveyor, and the second joint is configured to provide a fourth rotational degree of freedom between the first segment and the proximal conveyor , see figure 9 and paragraphs 0151 and figures 18 and paragraph 0161 . Regarding claim 3 , Basitan , II et al. teaches the first rotational degree of freedom and the second rotational degree of freedom are pitch degrees of freedom, and the third rotational degree of freedom and the fourth rotational degree of freedom are yaw degrees of freedom , see paragraphs 0151 and 0161 . Regarding claim 4 , Basitan , II et al. teaches : the first joint includes a first plurality of rollers configured to move the object from the first segment conveyor to the proximal conveyor, see figure 14 and end of conveyor rollers shown, and the second joint includes a second plurality of rollers configured to move the object from the distal conveyor to the first segment conveyor , see figure 18 and end of conveyor rollers . Regarding claim 5 , Basitan , II et al. teaches four wheels, including a third and fourth wheel that are proximal wheels coupled to a proximal portion of the chassis, see figure 3. Ruder et al. teaches legs, 23, with wheels, 25, that are configured to move in the vertical direction to move the chassis in a second translational degree of freedom. It would have been obvious to replace the proximal third and fourth wheels of Basitan , II et al. with the legs taught by Ruder et al. in order to enable the robot to adjust the working height of the robot at the proximal end of the conveyor. Regarding claim 6, Basitan , II et al. teaches a method of operating a robotic system, the method comprising: rotating a first wheel along a support surface and/or a second wheel along a support surface to adjust a position of a chassis of the robotic system in a first translational degree of freedom , see paragraph 0187 ; rotating a first segment in a first rotational degree of freedom about a first joint with respect to a proximal conveyor; rotating a gripper , 206, in a second rotational degree of freedom about a second joint with respect to the first segment; moving an object in a proximal direction along a distal conveyor disposed on the gripper to the first segment; moving the object in the proximal direction along a first segment conveyor disposed on the first segment to the proximal conveyor; and moving the object in the proximal direction along the proximal conveyor , see paragraph 0187 . Basitan , II et al. does not teach moving a first leg and/or a second leg in a vertical direction relative to a chassis to adjust the position of the chassis in a second translational degree of freedom different from the first translational degree of freedom, wherein the first wheel is coupled to the first leg, and wherein the second wheel is coupled to the second leg . Ruder et al. teaches a method of operating a robotic system, the method comprising moving a first leg and/or a second leg , 23, in a vertical direction relative to a chassis to adjust the position of the chassis in a second translational degree of freedom different from the first translational degree of freedom, wherein the first wheel , 25, is coupled to the first leg, and wherein the second wheel is coupled to the second leg , see column 8, lines 27 through 42 . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the legs of Ruder et al. and the step of moving the first and second legs in a vertical direction in order to facilitate the placement of stacked articles stacked high onto the conveyor of the robotic system. Regarding claim 7 , Basitan , II et al. teaches: rotating the first segment , 204, in a third rotational degree of freedom about the first joint with respect to the proximal conveyor; and rotating the gripper , 206, in a fourth rotational degree of freedom about the second joint with respect to the first segment , see paragraph 0187 and see figure 9 and paragraphs 0151 and figures 18 and paragraph 0161 . Regarding claim 8 , Basitan , II et al. teaches the first rotational degree of freedom and the second rotational degree of freedom are pitch degrees of freedom; and the third rotational degree of freedom and the fourth rotational degree of freedom are yaw degrees of freedom , see paragraphs 0151 and 0161 . Regarding claim 9 , Basitan , II et al. teaches rotating a first plurality of rollers of the first joint to move the object from the first segment conveyor to the proximal conveyor; and rotating a second plurality of rollers of the second joint to move the object from the distal conveyor to the first segment conveyor , see paragraph 0187 and see figure 18 and end of conveyor rollers . Regarding claim 10 , Basitan et al. teaches a third and fourth wheel, but does not teach moving a third leg and/or a fourth leg in a vertical direction relative to a chassis to adjust the position of the chassis in a second translational degree of freedom perpendicular to the first translational degree of freedom, wherein the third leg includes a third wheel and the fourth leg includes a fourth wheel. Ruder et al. teaches teach moving leg s in a vertical direction relative to a chassis to adjust the position of the chassis in a second translational degree of freedom perpendicular to the first translational degree of freedom, wherein the leg s include a wheel. It would have been obvious to replace the third and fourth wheels of Basitan , II et al. with the legs taught by Ruder et al. in order to enable the robot to adjust the working height of the robot at the proximal end of the conveyor. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Basitan , II et al. (US 2018/0118476) . Regarding claim 11 , Basitan , II et al. teaches a robotic unit, comprising: a chassis , 202 ; a movable arm , 204, having a proximal end coupled to the chassis and a distal end opposite the proximal end; and an end effector, 206, comprising: a frame having a proximal end region coupled to the distal end of the movable arm and a distal end region opposite the proximal end region , see figures 4 and 5 ; a plurality of conveyors , 2304, carried by the frame and positioned to move an object toward the proximal end region of the frame , see figures 23-26 ; and a gripper assembly , 2302, including a gripper element, 2316, wherein the gripper assembly is configured to move the gripper element to a first position at which the gripper element protrudes beyond the distal end region of the frame to pick up an object, a second position to place the object on an upper surface of one or more of the plurality of conveyors, and a third position below the upper surface such that the one or more of the plurality of conveyors move the object toward the proximal end region of the frame over the gripper element , see paragraph 0168 and 0177-0178 and figures 35 and 36 . Regarding claim 12 , Basitan , II et al. teaches the gripper assembly further comprises a vertical actuation component operably coupled to the gripper element, wherein the vertical actuation component is movable between a lowered state and a raised state to move the gripper element between the second position and the third position , see paragraphs 0177-0179 . Regarding claim 13 , Basitan , II et al. teaches the vertical actuation component comprises a link having a first end at a fixed height relative to the upper surface of the plurality of conveyors and a second end operably coupled to the gripper element, wherein the link pivots about the first end between the lowered state and the raised state , see paragraphs 0177-0179 . Regarding claim 14 , Basitan , II et al. teaches the vertical actuation component comprises an expandable component having a first end region at a fixed height relative to the upper surface of the plurality of conveyors and a second end region operably coupled to the gripper element, wherein the expandable component expands to move the second end region in an upward direction between the lowered state and the raised state , see paragraphs 0177-0179 . Regarding claim 15 , Basitan , II et al. teaches the gripper assembly further comprises a vacuum generation component , 3120, operably coupled to the gripper element to provide a vacuum force to grip the object. Regarding claim 16 , Basitan , II et al. teaches the gripper assembly further comprises a plurality of gripper elements and a shared actuation base movable in a lateral direction relative to the plurality of conveyors , see figure 31 . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 17 -20 are allowed. Regarding claim 17 , Basitan , II et al. teaches a robotic unit, comprising: a movable base , 202 ; a movable arm , 204, having a proximal end coupled to the movable base at a first joint and a distal end opposite the proximal end, the movable arm comprising one or more conveyor elements , 1404, operable to move a target object , 108, from the distal end to the proximal end, wherein the first joint is configured to allow the movable arm to pivot about a first axis and a second axis with respect to the movable base , see paragraph 0151 ; an end effector , 206, coupled to a distal end of the movable arm; and a second joint , 1802 coupled between the distal end of the movable arm and the end effector, wherein: the second joint is configured to allow the end effector to rotate about a third axis with respect to the second joint; the second joint is configured to rotate about a fourth axis with respect to the movable arm , see figure 1802 and paragraph 0161 . Basitan , II et al. is considered to be the best prior art and does not teach the second joint comprises a retractable component positioned on a first side of the second joint, wherein the second joint is configured to raise and lower the retractable component in response to a rotation of the end effector about the third axis. The examiner was unable to find a teaching, either alone or in combination, of a joint with two axes of rotation, which includes a retractable component that is raised and lowered in response to the rotation about the joint in the third axis. As such, claims 17-20 are allowed. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art cited on the PTO-892 and not relied upon show additional examples of robotic units with conveyors similar to the claimed invention. They are included in the file to show the general state of the prior art. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KAITLIN S JOERGER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6938 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 7:30-5 (CST) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Saul Rodriguez can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-7097 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KAITLIN S JOERGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 24 February 2026