Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification (“spec”) are to the published application US-2024-0106035-A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed 07DEC2023, 07JAN2025, and 03SEP2025 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 7, an inclined wall is introduced, but following the dependency on claims 1 and 2, a first inclined wall is never introduced; it is unclear if there is a first inclined wall, and, if so, what are its limitations. The specification provides enough description of the existence of a first inclined wall ([0011]) that is simply not introduced in the claims.
Regarding Claims 1-19, there are not consistent line indentations between the elements. Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. 37 CFR 1.75(i), MPEP 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 112
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The sentence in claim 13 is incomplete; what is welded and the hot-melting depth are unclear. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the metes and bounds of the scope of the claimed invention, and the public would not be able to determine the boundaries of what constitutes infringement (see MPEP 2173, MPEP 2111.01(II)).
For examination on the merits, the sentence is ended by eliminating the word, “the” at the end of claim 13, given the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification (MPEP 2111, MPEP 2111.01(I), (II)).
In order to overcome the indefiniteness issues identified above, and to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, the following amendments to claim 13 are respectfully suggested, of which find support in claims 8-12 as filed:
“…a hot-melting depth for welding the skirt-edge and the sealing plate is less than or equal to a thickness of the skirt-edge.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US-2005/0079757 A1; “Watanabe”) in view of “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials” (JP 2010250273 A; “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials”), and “How Is Air An Insulator?”
Regarding Claim 1, Watanabe teaches a battery comprising a housing (please see Fig. 6 of Sheet 5 of 10 of Watanabe below), battery cell ([0011]) and a sheath member (sealing plate). The housing is a hollow structure with an opening at one face of the housing (please see Fig. 6 of Watanabe below). Watanabe teaches the sheathing members (sealing plates) are heat-sealed by heat pressing (connected to the opening in a sealing manner, as seen in Fig. 6 of Watanabe) ([0050]).
Fig. 6 of Watanabe, from Sheet 5 of 6 of Drawings of Watanabe
Watanabe teaches that the sheath member is composed of an upper sheath member and a lower sheath member that accommodate the power-generating element (the battery cell)(Abstract)(the battery cell is accommodated in an accommodation space between the housing and the sealing plate)(please see Fig. 6 of Watanabe above).
Watanabe teaches that each sheath member is provided with the metal layer in addition to the resin layers, which combined with its positioning in Fig. 6 of Watanabe above relative to the inclined walls ([0044]), ensure that at least one end of the battery cell is a cell position-limiting face, and at least one face of the housing is provided with a position-limiting structure, as a seal and metal layers are inherently position limiting. Watanabe teaches that the power-generating element is sealed with a sheath member and electrode terminals connected to the power-generating element through a plurality of collectors (a type of electrode tab) that extend out from the outer periphery of the sheath member (a connecting member is further disposed in the accommodation space). Herein, the power-generating element includes positive (first electrode piece) and negative plates (second electrode piece) ([0002])(the battery cell comprises at least one first electrode piece and at least one second electrode piece; the second tab is electrically connected to the connecting member, and the connecting member extends to an outside of the housing through a through hole in the housing).
Each of the five positive plates 101 is connected to the positive terminal 104 made of a metallic foil through a positive side collector 104a (electrode tab), and each of the five negative plates 103 is connected to the negative terminal 105 also made of a metallic foil through a negative side collector 105a ([0042])(a first tab is connected to the at least one first electrode piece, a second tab is connected to the at least one second electrode piece, the first tab is electrically connected to the housing).
Watanabe teaches that the outer layer of the sheathing member is composed of a resin film having excellent electrical insulating properties such as polyamide series resin or polyester series resin. Therefore, either of the upper and lower sheath members 106 and 107 is formed of a flexible material such as a laminate material of resin-metal thin film ([0043]). Moreover, sheet films composed of polyethylene, polypropylene, or the like can be interposed in portions where the positive and negative terminals 104 and 105 come into contact with the sheath members 106 and 107 by heat sealing or the like ([0045]). These chemicals have inherent properties of insulation (“Polypropylene and its Application to Electrical Materials,” second full paragraph of Page 1). In this regard, the MPEP states that the express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. “The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness.” In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (affirmed a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection based in part on inherent disclosure in one of the references). See also In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 739, 218 USPQ 769, 775 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
It is preferable that vertical parts of each corner portion have such a length that the inclined walls do not come into contact with the collectors ([0058]). Air acts as the insulator in this situation as an inherent property (“How Is Air An Insulator?”, first full paragraph of Page 2)(the connecting member and the housing are insulated from each other). Again, in this regard, the MPEP states that the express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. “The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness.” In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (affirmed a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection based in part on inherent disclosure in one of the references). See also In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 739, 218 USPQ 769, 775 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe teaches that the upper sheath member 106 (bottom panel) in this embodiment, as shown in FIG. 4 of Watanabe below, is a molded piece including a flat wall 110 and inclined walls 112 (side panels) previously molded by means of press molding (a plurality of side panels which are sequentially connected in an end-to-end manner) or the like. The flat wall 110 is formed in a portion accommodating the power-generating element 108 so as to be substantially flat. The inclined walls 112 are formed to be planar between the flat wall 110 and the sealing portion 109 along the outer periphery ([0046]) (please see the annotated Fig. 6 of Watanabe above and Fig. 2 of Watanabe below) (the housing comprises a bottom panel, the plurality of side panels are all connected to an edge of the bottom panel, and at least one of the side panels is provided with the position-limiting structure).
[AltContent: textbox (106 – Sheath Member)][AltContent: textbox (Skirt-Edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bottom Panel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Side Panel )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 2 of Sheet 2 of 10 of Watanabe
Regarding claim 3, there is a position-limiting structure comprising a position-limiting wall and an installation wall connected to the position-limiting wall, the position-limiting wall connected to the edge of the bottom panel, and the installation wall extending to the opening (please see annotated Fig. 6 of Watanabe above for these features clearly identified in Watanabe).
Regarding claim 14, Watanabe teaches that the two electrode pieces are of opposite polarity. Watanabe further teaches that the cells are stacked on top of one another ([0070]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Stacking Region)]
[AltContent: textbox (Positive Electrode)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom Panel)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Negative Electrode)]
Fig. 10A of Watanabe
The stacking of the electrodes is parallel to the bottom surface, as illustrated in Fig. 10A of Watanabe above. Watanabe further teaches that the separator is provided between the positive and negative plates (first electrode piece and second electrode piece) (Abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Watanabe teaches that the positive and negative terminals are connected to the power-generating element through a plurality of collectors and extended from an outer periphery of the sheath member (Abstract)(first tab is electrically connected to the at least one first electrode piece through the cell position- limiting face, and the second tab is electrically connected to the at least one second electrode piece through the cell position-limiting face)(please also see Fig. 4 of Watanabe above).
Watanabe teaches that the outer layer of the upper and lower sheath members 106 and 107 shown above have excellent electrical insulating properties due to their laminate material of resin-metal thin film (insulating member) ([0043]). Another insulating member is also disposed between the second tab and the installation wall because the sheet films composed of polyethylene, polypropylene, or the like can be interposed in portions where the positive and negative terminals 104 and 105 come into contact with the sheath members 106 and 107 by heat sealing or the like ([0045]) (the connecting member and the installation wall are insulated from each other). The flat wall and the inclined walls as shown in FIG. 4 of Watanabe are molded in the laminate material of resin-metal thin film ([0087])(insulating member disposed between the electrode tabs and the installation walls).
Watanabe teaches that the battery positive terminals 22 of all the batteries 20, which are directed in the same direction, are electrically connected to each other through an external connection positive terminal 31 (reinforcement) for connecting the combined battery 30 and the outside. Similarly, the battery negative terminals 23 (reinforcement) of all the batteries 20, which are directed in the same direction, are electrically connected to each other through an external connection negative terminal 32. As shown in the drawing in Fig. 11A and 11B of Watanabe below, the external connection positive terminal 31 has a substantially rectangular plate shape and is provided with a plurality of terminal connection holes. Each of the terminal connection holes is of such a diameter that each of the battery positive terminals 22 can be inserted therein. The terminal connection holes are processed at intervals substantially equal to intervals of the battery positive terminals 22 of the stacked batteries 20. The external connection negative terminal 32 is provided with similar terminal connection holes. The six batteries 20 stacked as described above are coupled to each other with plate-shaped coupling members 34 on both sides thereof and fastened to be fixed with fixing screws 35 ([0072])(a through hole is formed in the installation wall or the second inclined wall; the connecting member extends to an outside of the installation wall through the through hole or the second inclined wall) (please see Fig. 4 of Watanabe above).
[AltContent: textbox (Connecting members )]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Positive terminals - 22
Batteries - 20
External connection positive terminal 31 (reinforcement) Combined battery 30 Negative terminals 23 Connection negative terminal 32(reinforcement))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Reinforcement of Second Tab)]
[AltContent: textbox (Reinforcement of First Tab)]
Fig. 11 of Watanabe from Sheet 9 of 10 of Watanabe
Regarding claim 19, Watanabe teaches that the connecting member comprises a connecting sheet and a connecting post (please see Fig. 4 of Watanabe above) which are electrically connected with each other; the sheet films composed of polyethylene, polypropylene, or the like can be interposed in portions where the positive and negative terminals 104 and 105 come into contact with the sheath members 106 and 107 by heat sealing or the like ([0045]) (the connecting sheet is fixedly connected to the housing through an insulating adhesive layer). The flat wall and the inclined walls as shown in FIG. 4 of Watanabe are molded in the laminate material of resin-metal thin film ([0087])(the connecting post and the housing are insulated from each other through at least two insulating pads), the two pads being the metal-resin thin film of parts inclined wall 112 and lower sheath member 106). The connecting post extends to an outside of the housing through the through hole (please see Fig. 4 of Watanabe above).
Regarding claim 20, Watanabe in view of “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials” and “How Is Air An Insulator?” teaches an electronic product, comprising the battery according to claim one as discussed above. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claim apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Identifying the invention as an electronic product or intended to be used as such does not add patentable weight because it does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US-2005/0079757 A1; “Watanabe”) in view of “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials” (JP 2010250273 A; “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials”) and “How Is Air An Insulator?”
Watanabe in view of “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials” and “How Is Air An Insulator?” teaches the limitations of Claim 2-3 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 4, As shown in FIG. 4 of Watanabe below, each of the inclined walls 112 (referred to as the position-limiting wall and first inclined wall) is connected to the edge of the bottom panel and the other end of the first inclined wall is inclined towards a direction away from a center of the housing and is connected to the installation wall. The cell position-limiting face abuts against the inclined wall at an angle theta (θ) of 45 degrees to 80 degrees with respect to a plane where the positive and negative terminals 104 and 105 extend ([0049]). From the specification, the central axis of the housing 10 is located at the geometric center of the housing 10 and is perpendicular to the plane in which the bottom panel 11 lies ([0079]). In FIG. 4 of Watanabe below, the angle theta is indicated with a vertically opposite angle [0047]. The angle theta of each inclined wall in the present invention can be set to any angle in a range of 45 degrees to 80 degrees ([0049]). Due to how the central axis of the housing is defined in the specification ([0079]), this translates to a range of 10 degrees to 45 degrees from the central axis of the housing, which overlaps the claimed range of 20 degrees to 80 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379.
[AltContent: textbox (First or Second Inclined Wall 112)]
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom Panel)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Installation Wall 109)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Connecting Post)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Connecting Sheet)][AltContent: textbox (Opening)][AltContent: textbox (Connecting Member)]Fig. 4 of Sheet 4 of 10 of Watanabe
Regarding claim 5, please refer to Fig. 7 of Watanabe below demonstrating a bending wall:
[AltContent: textbox (First Connecting Wall (Corner Piece) with Length L)]
[AltContent: textbox (113 and 112A form the bending wall)]
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom Panel)]
[AltContent: textbox (Second Connecting Wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Installation Wall 109)]
[AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 7 of Sheet 5 of 10 of Watanabe
The position-limiting wall is a bending wall (see combined parts 112A and 113 of Fig. 7 of Watanabe above), the bending wall comprises a first connecting wall (part 113 of Watanabe above) and a second connecting wall which are connected with each other, and an included angle is formed between the first connecting wall and the second connecting wall; the first connecting wall is connected to the edge of the bottom panel, and the second connecting wall extends towards a direction away from a center of the housing and is connected to the installation wall; the cell position-limiting face abuts against an inner wall of the first connecting wall (please see Fig. 3C from Sheet 3 of 10 of Watanabe below which eliminates the gap from the L-shaped corner piece 113 ([0058])). In addition, because the corner pieces 113 are molded in the upper sheath member of the flat cell, and the positive and negative plates are uniformly pressurized through the wide flat wall 110 molded in the upper sheath member 106A, the strength of the sheath members 106A and 107 can be maintained ([0059])(as an immobilizing force: the cell position-limiting face abuts against an inner wall of the first connecting wall).
[AltContent: textbox (Position-limiting face directly abuts inclined wall in the annotated y-direction)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Y-Direction)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: textbox (Inclined Wall)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Position-limiting face)][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 3 of Watanabe of Sheet 3 of 10 of Watanabe[0016]
FIG. 3A is a plan view of the flat cell shown in FIG. 2 ([0016]).
FIG. 3B is a cross-sectional view taken along a line IIIB-IIIB of FIG. 3A ([0017]).
FIG. 3C is a cross-sectional view taken along a line IIIC-IIIC of FIG. 3A ([0018]).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe teaches that the first connecting wall is perpendicular to the second connecting wall (please see the annotated Fig. 7 of Watanabe above). Watanabe further teaches that the length L of the vertical part of each corner portion 113 in the present invention is not particularly limited as long as the length L is longer than a basic unit of the power-generating element, which is the total of thicknesses of a positive plate, a separator, and a negative plate. As the length L of each vertical part is increased, the effect thereof is increased. It is preferable that vertical parts of each corner portion have such a length that the inclined walls do not come into contact with the collectors ([0058]). Watanabe also teaches that the total thickness of the flat cell 10 sealed as described above is preferably within a range from 1 to 10 mm. When the thickness of the flat cell is not more than 10 mm, heat is more likely to be released from the inside of the flat cell. Therefore, stresses to the sheath member can be controlled to be comparatively small, and wrinkle in the step portions can be suppressed, while the thermal degradation is reduced with the cell. The flat cell with a thickness of not less than 1 mm can secure a sufficient capacity and increase in economical efficiency ([0054]). Watanabe states a combination of a thickness of 4 mm and a length for the vertical part of L being 0.9 mm, which generates a ratio of 0.225, which is approximately ¼ and overlaps the claimed range of ¼ to ½ a height of the housing It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to adjust the ratio of the dimensions that both accommodates the collectors ([0058]) and is within the range of ¼ to ½ the height of the housing. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art do not overlap but are close enough that one in ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 f.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05. The 0.225 is within 10% of ¼ and within the margin of error in the art, such that the properties are expected to be the same.
Regarding claim 7, as shown in FIG. 4 of Watanabe above, each of the inclined walls 112 is inclined at an angle theta of 45 degrees to 80 degrees with respect to a plane where the positive and negative terminals 104 and 105 extend. In FIG. 4, the angle theta is indicated with a vertically opposite angle [0047]. The angle theta of each inclined wall can be set to any angle in a range of 45 degrees to 80 degrees ([0049]). The angle theta of each inclined wall in the present invention can be set to any angle in a range of 45 degrees to 80 degrees ([0049]). Due to how the central axis of the housing is defined in the specification ([0079]), this translates to a range of 10 degrees to 45 degrees from the central axis of the housing, which overlaps the claimed range of 20 degrees to 80 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379.
Regarding claims 16-17, Watanabe teaches that the positive and negative terminals are connected to the power-generating element through a plurality of collectors and extended from an outer periphery of the sheath member (Abstract)(first tab is electrically connected to the at least one first electrode piece through the cell position- limiting face, and the second tab is electrically connected to the at least one second electrode piece through the cell position-limiting face)(please also see Fig. 4 of Watanabe above).
Watanabe teaches that the outer layer of the upper and lower sheath members 106 and 107 shown above have excellent electrical insulating properties due to their laminate material of resin-metal thin film (insulating member) ([0043]). Another insulating member is also disposed between the second tab and the installation wall because the sheet films composed of polyethylene, polypropylene, or the like can be interposed in portions where the positive and negative terminals 104 and 105 come into contact with the sheath members 106 and 107 by heat sealing or the like ([0045]) (the connecting member and the installation wall are insulated from each other). The flat wall and the inclined walls as shown in FIG. 4 of Watanabe are molded in the laminate material of resin-metal thin film ([0087])(insulating member disposed between the electrode tabs and the installation walls).
Watanabe teaches that the battery positive terminals 22 of all the batteries 20, which are directed in the same direction, are electrically connected to each other through an external connection positive terminal 31 (reinforcement) for connecting the combined battery 30 and the outside. Similarly, the battery negative terminals 23 (reinforcement) of all the batteries 20, which are directed in the same direction, are electrically connected to each other through an external connection negative terminal 32. As shown in the drawing in Fig. 11A and 11B of Watanabe below, the external connection positive terminal 31 has a substantially rectangular plate shape and is provided with a plurality of terminal connection holes. Each of the terminal connection holes is of such a diameter that each of the battery positive terminals 22 can be inserted therein. The terminal connection holes are processed at intervals substantially equal to intervals of the battery positive terminals 22 of the stacked batteries 20. The external connection negative terminal 32 is provided with similar terminal connection holes. The six batteries 20 stacked as described above are coupled to each other with plate-shaped coupling members 34 on both sides thereof and fastened to be fixed with fixing screws 35 ([0072])(a through hole is formed in the installation wall or the second inclined wall; the connecting member extends to an outside of the installation wall through the through hole or the second inclined wall) (please see Fig. 4 of Watanabe above).
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US-2005/0079757 A1; “Watanabe”) in view of “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials” (JP 2010250273 A; “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials”), “How Is Air An Insulator?” and Yasuhiro (JP-200301729-A; “Yasuhiro”).
Watanabe in view of “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials” and “How Is Air An Insulator?” teaches the limitations of Claim 2-3 as discussed above.
Regarding claims 8-13, Watanabe teaches the sheathing members are heat-sealed by heat pressing ([0050]). Moreover, Watanabe teaches that the adjacent cells are welded together. Watanabe teaches the positive terminal 104 of the first flat cell 10a and the negative terminal 105 of the second flat cell 10b are not electrically connected, and the negative terminal 105 of the first flat cell 10a and the positive terminal 104 of the second flat cell 10b are welded to be electrically connected to each other ([0070]). Watanabe teaches that the housing consists of an upper and lower sheath member that connected with all of the plurality of side panels (please see Fig 2 of Watanabe above and [0043]).
Watanabe does not teach that the sheathing members are welded together.
Yasuhiro teaches a plate-shaped sealing plate which seals a battery by being welded to an opening edge of a battery outer can in which an electrode body is housed, and a welding sealing battery using this sealing plate (second full paragraph of Page 1). Yasuhiro teaches that the side portion thickness of the cylindrical aluminum alloy outer can is 0.4 mm (eighth full paragraph of Page 3). Yasuhiro further specifies that the melting depth of the thin portion is 0.142 to 0.167 mm (0.158 mm on average) (second and third full paragraphs of Page 6), whereas the melting depth of the thick part is 0.302 to 0.374 mm (Average 0.341 mm) (third and fourth full paragraphs of Page 6). The hot-melting depth for welding the skirt-edge (battery can) to the sealing plate is less than the skirt edge (battery can), which enables the battery can sealing plate welding seal to be broken as the internal pressure in the battery rises (third full paragraph of Page 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery of Watanabe in view of “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials” and “How Is Air An Insulator?” by welding the sealing plate to the skirt-edge of the housing using a hot-melting depth less than or equal to the thickness of the skirt-edge, as taught by Yasuhiro. Yasuhiro teaches that employing a hot melting-depth for welding the skirt-edge to the sealing plate that is less than the skirt-edge enables the battery can sealing plate welding seal to be broken as the internal pressure in the battery rises (third full paragraph of Page 3). Yasuhiro explains that heat and gas due to the abnormal reaction are likely to be accumulated inside the battery. If an abnormal reaction occurs, it is necessary to discharge the gas generated inside the battery with the accumulated heat to the outside of the battery and cool and depressurize the inside of the battery as early as possible (third full paragraph of Page 2).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (JP-2018106836-A; “Takahiro”) in view of “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials” (JP 2010250273 A; “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials”), “How Is Air An Insulator?” and Myerberg (US-2007/0117011 ; “Myerberg”).
Watanabe in view of “Polypropylene And Its Application To Electrical Materials” and “How Is Air An Insulator?” teach the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above.
Watanabe teaches that the housing and the sealing plate are made of metal ([0042], [0044]).
Watanabe does not teach that a thickness of a panel used for housing and the sealing plate is 10 μm to 150 μm and that the housing is formed by stamping, referred to as the battery of Watanabe.
Myerberg teaches a nickel plate may comprise the housing when there is an additional plate behind it (the additional plate functions as the sealing plate) or it may comprise the sealing plate when it is on its own ([0016]). Myerberg further teaches that the nickel plate has a thickness in the range of about 75 microns to about 125 microns ([0026]) and that the groove (which makes up the sealing plate) may be formed using conventional methods, such as stamping ([0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery of Watanabe by welding the sealing plate or the housing panel by stamping using a thickness of 75 microns to about 125 microns as taught by Myerberg, which overlaps the claimed range of 10 microns to 150 microns. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. Myerberg states the groove, which is located on the inner or outer face of the cap, provides a thinned radial section in the end cap that is designed to rupture at a preselected pressure ([0081]), providing a motivation for the stamping and the dimensions of the housing and/or the sealing plate: to form an engineered vent ([0081]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2018/0226620 to Matsumoto et al. teaches seal welding and perpendicular angles between connecting walls with height of ¼ to ½ of the height of the housing
Fig. 12 of Matsumoto of Sheet 12 of 14 of Matsumoto
US 2010/0143787-A1 to Jung et al. teaches bending walls with inclined angle (please see Fig. 6 of Jung et al. below):
Fig. 6 of Jung et al. of Sheet 6 of 6
Conclusion
/WILLIAM FADDOUL SAVAGE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782