DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 03/02/2026.
Claims 1- 20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 12/07/2023 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Response to Amendment
The objection to title has been withdrawn in view of amended title.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made and claims are rejected under new ground of rejection(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. “Restricted TWT Spec Text Resolving TBDs: IEEE 802-11-21/0462R5”, 6 May 2021, hereinafter “Hu”; and in further view of Shafin et al. (US 20230328654 A1), hereinafter “Shafin”.
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches A wireless communication method, comprising: determining, by a station (STA), a criterion for latency sensitive traffic [Hu: Pg. 4; table, column 2]; and
determining, by the STA, one or more traffic stream identifiers (TSIDs) for TS-based latency sensitive traffic [Hu: Pg. 4-5; Fig. 9-687b; teaches of determining TWT ID for latency sensitive traffic].
However, Hu does not teach latency sensitive traffic comprising a TS with a particular traffic specification (TSPEC), wherein the TSPEC comprises extended parameters.
Nevertheless, Shafin, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches comprising a TS with a particular traffic specification (TSPEC), wherein the TSPEC comprises extended parameters [Shafin: Fig. 4-5; Par. 101-120 teaches R-TWT setup including broadcast TWT parameters and frame formats of TWT parameter set/ extended parameters].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Shafin for including TWT parameters. The teaching of Shafin, when implemented in the Hu system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform restricted TWT setup with traffic identification and TSPEC parameters to update. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Shafin in the Hu system in order to improve scheduling in latency-sensitive traffic [Shafin: Par 12-13].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches wherein the extended parameters for a TSPEC element comprises latency sensitive traffic indication [Hu: Pg. 5 when transmitted by a r-TWT scheduled STA, is set to l to indicate that the STA intends to
transmit or receive latency sensitive traffic over its peer-to-peer link(s)].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches wherein ta subfield of the latency sensitive traffic indication indicates whether the TS represented by the TSPEC element is a stream for latency sensitive traffic he extended parameters for a TSPEC element comprises [Hu: Pg. 4-5; Fig. 9-687b].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches determining, by the STA, an addition of a latency sensitive traffic criterion element, wherein the addition of the latency sensitive traffic criterion element is used to determine whether the TS with specific TEPEC parameters can be identified as the latency sensitive traffic by at least one of the AP or a non-AP station (STA) [Hu:Pg. 4-5; Fig. 9-687b].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches determining, by the STA, at least one of a restricted TWT setup or one or more update mechanisms to support a TS operation [Shafin: Figs 4-5].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 5. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches at least one of the restricted TWT setup or the one or more update mechanisms are based on a restricted TWT element; at least one of the restricted TWT setup or the one or more update mechanisms are based on a restricted TWT update frame [Shafin: Fig; 6; Par. 130 teaches of integration/ update of TSPEC fields with R-TWT parameter sets].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 6. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches wherein the STA comprises a restricted TWT requesting STA, during a TS-based restricted TWT agreement setup and update, at least one of the restricted TWT requesting STA or a restricted TWT responding AP comprises the restricted TWT element where TSID-based parameters or TSPEC-based parameters indicate the TS for latency sensitive traffic stream contained in restricted TWT setup and update frames [Shafin; Fig. 6; Par.120].
Regarding claim 8, Hu teaches An access point (AP), comprising:
a memory ;a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver; wherein the processor is configured to perform [Hu: Figs. 6-8]:
determining a criterion for latency sensitive traffic [Hu: Pg. 4; table, column 2]; and
determining, by the STA, one or more traffic stream identifiers (TSIDs) for TS-based latency sensitive traffic [Hu: Pg. 4-5; Fig. 9-687b; teaches of determining TWT ID for latency sensitive traffic]
However, Hu does not teach latency sensitive traffic comprising a TS with a particular traffic specification (TSPEC), wherein the TSPEC comprises extended parameters.
Nevertheless, Shafin, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches comprising a TS with a particular traffic specification (TSPEC), wherein the TSPEC comprises extended parameters [Shafin: Fig. 4-5; Par. 101-120 teaches R-TWT setup including broadcast TWT parameters and frame formats of TWT parameter set/ extended parameters].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Shafin for including TWT parameters. The teaching of Shafin, when implemented in the Hu system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform restricted TWT setup with traffic identification and TSPEC parameters to update. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Shafin in the Hu system in order to improve scheduling in latency-sensitive traffic [Shafin: Par 12-13].
Regarding claim 9, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 8. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches wherein the extended parameters for a TSPEC element comprises latency sensitive traffic indication [Hu: Pg. 5 when transmitted by a r-TWT scheduled STA, is set to l to indicate that the STA intends to
transmit or receive latency sensitive traffic over its peer-to-peer link(s)].
Regarding claim 10, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 9. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches wherein ta subfield of the latency sensitive traffic indication indicates whether the TS represented by the TSPEC element is a stream for latency sensitive traffic he extended parameters for a TSPEC element comprises [Hu: Pg. 4-5; Fig. 9-687b; teaches of determining TWT ID for latency sensitive traffic].
Regarding claim 11, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 8. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches determining, by the STA, an addition of a latency sensitive traffic criterion element, wherein the addition of the latency sensitive traffic criterion element is used to determine whether the TS with specific TEPEC parameters can be identified as the latency sensitive traffic by at least one of the AP or a non-AP station (STA) [[Hu: Pg. 4-5; Fig. 9-687b].
Regarding claim 12, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 8. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches determining, by the STA, at least one of a restricted TWT setup or one or more update mechanisms to support a TS operation [Shafin: Figs 4-5].
Regarding claim 13, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 12. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches at least one of the restricted TWT setup or the one or more update mechanisms are based on a restricted TWT element; at least one of the restricted TWT setup or the one or more update mechanisms are based on a restricted TWT update frame [Shafin: Fig; 6; Par. 130 teaches of integration/ update of TSPEC fields with R-TWT parameter sets].
Regarding claim 14, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 13. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches wherein the STA comprises a restricted TWT requesting STA, during a TS-based restricted TWT agreement setup and update, at least one of the restricted TWT requesting STA or a restricted TWT responding AP comprises the restricted TWT element where TSID-based parameters or TSPEC-based parameters indicate the TS for latency sensitive traffic stream contained in restricted TWT setup and update frames [Shafin; Fig. 6; Par.120].
Regarding claim 15, Hu teaches A station (STA), comprising:
a memory ;a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver; wherein the processor is configured to perform [Hu: Figs. 6-8]:
determining a criterion for latency sensitive traffic [Hu: Pg. 4; table, column 2]; and
determining, by the STA, one or more traffic stream identifiers (TSIDs) for TS-based latency sensitive traffic [Hu: Pg. 4-5; Fig. 9-687b; teaches of determining TWT ID for latency sensitive traffic]
However, Hu does not teach latency sensitive traffic comprising a TS with a particular traffic specification (TSPEC), wherein the TSPEC comprises extended parameters.
Nevertheless, Shafin, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches comprising a TS with a particular traffic specification (TSPEC), wherein the TSPEC comprises extended parameters [Shafin: Fig. 4-5; Par. 101-120 teaches R-TWT setup including broadcast TWT parameters and frame formats of TWT parameter set/ extended parameters].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Shafin for including TWT parameters. The teaching of Shafin, when implemented in the Hu system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform restricted TWT setup with traffic identification and TSPEC parameters to update. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Shafin in the Hu system in order to improve scheduling in latency-sensitive traffic [Shafin: Par 12-13].
Regarding claim 16, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches wherein the extended parameters for a TSPEC element comprises latency sensitive traffic indication [Hu: Pg. 5 when transmitted by a r-TWT scheduled STA, is set to l to indicate that the STA intends to
transmit or receive latency sensitive traffic over its peer-to-peer link(s)].
Regarding claim 17, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 16. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches wherein ta subfield of the latency sensitive traffic indication indicates whether the TS represented by the TSPEC element is a stream for latency sensitive traffic he extended parameters for a TSPEC element comprises [Hu: Hu: Pg. 4-5; Fig. 9-687b;].
Regarding claim 18, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches determining, by the STA, an addition of a latency sensitive traffic criterion element, wherein the addition of the latency sensitive traffic criterion element is used to determine whether the TS with specific TEPEC parameters can be identified as the latency sensitive traffic by at least one of the AP or a non-AP station (STA) [Hu: Pg. 4-5; Fig. 9-687b;].
Regarding claim 19, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches determining, by the STA, at least one of a restricted TWT setup or one or more update mechanisms to support a TS operation [Shafin: Figs 4-5].
Regarding claim 20, the combined Hu in view of Shafin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 19. Hu in view of Shafin further teaches at least one of the restricted TWT setup or the one or more update mechanisms are based on a restricted TWT element; at least one of the restricted TWT setup or the one or more update mechanisms are based on a restricted TWT update frame [Shafin: Fig; 6; Par. 130 teaches of integration/ update of TSPEC fields with R-TWT parameter sets].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412