DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/07/2023, 03/04/2025 and 06/12/2025 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Di Wu (US20250087795A1)
Regarding claim 1, Di Wu discloses secondary battery [FIG. 4 shows an embodiment of a battery that may be rechargeable) comprising:
an electrode assembly comprising: a first electrode plate (the first electrode is a positive electrode [Para. 0054]);
Separator (the insulating adhesive layer wraps the area of the second connection piece 7 [Para. 0062]);
Second electrode plate (a negative terminal of the core 2 is welded to the second connection piece [Para. 0061]);
A case accommodating the electrode assembly (1 housing [Para. 0024]);
a rivet terminal penetrating the case and electrically connected to the first electrode plate of the electrode assembly (pole 5 is inserted into the pole hole 11. the core 2 is connected to the pole 5 by a second connection piece 7 [Para. 0056, 0057]);
a vent plate sealing the case and directly electrically connected to the second electrode plate of the electrode assembly (the plate and the connection piece are both disposed on one opening end of the housing to seal the housing. The plate and the connection piece are fixed by laser welding. Pole holes and explosion-proof holes are disposed on the plate at intervals [Para. 0003] The first connection piece 3 of this structure is directly connected to the core 2 [Para. 0045])
Regarding claim 2, Di Wu discloses the vent plate further comprises a plurality of welding lines directly electrically connecting the vent plate to the second electrode plate (groove bottoms of the arc-shaped grooves 42 are welded to the first connection piece. [Para. 0043] The first connection piece 3 of this structure is directly connected to the core 2. [Para. 0045])
Regarding claim 5, Di Wu discloses the plurality of welding lines are provided by a laser beam (the plate 4 and the first connection piece 3 are welded by laser welding. [Para. 0044])
Regarding claim 6, Di Wu discloses the vent plate further comprises a plurality of vent grooves. (The side surface of the plate 4 facing away from the first connection piece 3 is provided with at least two concave arc-shaped grooves 42 at intervals. [Para. 0043])
Regarding claim 8 Di Wu discloses the plurality of vent grooves comprise an inner circular second vent groove closer to a center than to a circumference and forming a concentric circle with the center of the vent plate, and an outer circular second vent groove closer to the circumference than to the center and forming a concentric circle with the center of the vent plate (all of the arc-shaped grooves 42 are uniformly disposed annularly along the center of the plate [Figs 1-2, Para. 0043]).
Regarding claim 9 Di Wu discloses the plurality of welding lines is between the inner circular second vent groove and the outer circular second vent groove (Groove bottoms of the arc-shaped grooves are welded to the first connection piece [Para. 0043])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Wu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yong-Sam Kim US20080026291A1.
Regarding claim 3-4, Di Wu discloses the limitations of claims 2 as outlined above.
Di Wu teaches welding the vent plate to the electrode assembly [Para. 0006] but fails to expressly teach plurality of welding lines extend radially and include at least one first welding line welded from a center to a circumference of the vent plate and at least one second welding line welded from the circumference to the center of the vent plate.
Yong-Sam Kim discloses plurality of welding lines extend radially and include at least one first welding line welded from a center to a circumference of the vent plate and at least one second welding line welded from the circumference to the center of the vent plate (the current collecting plate includes a body with a first thickness and, grooves having welding portions [Para. 0017}. In Fig 4, welding portions extend radially extend from center to the circumference or from circumference to center).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify plurality of welding lines extend radially and include at least one first welding line welded from a center to a circumference of the vent plate and at least one second welding line welded from the circumference to the center of the vent plate because Yong-Sam Kim teaches having welding portions/ lines to reduce heat transfer during welding [Para. 0011].
Regarding claim 7 Di Wu discloses the limitations of claims 6 as outlined above.
Di Wu teaches arc-shaped grooves [Para. 0008] but fails to teach the plurality of vent grooves that comprise a plurality of linear first vent grooves radially extending from a center of the vent plate to a circumference of the vent plate.
Yong-Sam discloses the plurality of vent grooves comprise a plurality of linear first vent grooves radially extending from a center of the vent plate to a circumference of the vent plate (Fig 4 shows 4 linear grooves that extend from the center of the vent plate to the circumference of the vent plate)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vent plate to include the plurality of vent grooves that comprise a plurality of linear first vent grooves radially extending from a center of the vent plate to a circumference of the vent plate because Yong-Sam teaches grooves provide welding portions [Para. 0017]
Claim 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Wu as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Yong-Sam Kim US20080026291A1 and Xing-Yan Yao [Reliability of Cylindrical Li-ion Battery Safety Vents, Xing-Yan Yao, Lingxi Kong, and Michael Pecht, IEEE Access, May 2020 ].
Regarding claim 10 Di Wu discloses the limitations of claims 6 as outlined above.
Di Wu further discloses an inner circular second vent groove closer to the center than to the circumference and forming a concentric circle with the center of the vent plate, and an outer circular second vent groove closer to the circumference than to the center and forming a concentric circle with the center of the vent plate [Para. 0043].
Di Wu fails to teach a plurality of linear first vent grooves radially extending from a center to a circumference of the vent plate and plurality of welding lines are between the inner circular second vent groove and the outer circular second vent groove.
Yong-Sam Kim discloses plurality of welding lines radially extend from a center to a circumference of the vent plate. (The current collecting plate includes a body with a first thickness and, grooves having welding portions [Para 17}. Fig 4 shows welding portions extend radially).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify vent plate to include both radial and circular vent grooves because Yong-Sam Kim teaches it is a known shape for providing vent type grooves and Xing-Yan Yao teaches the groove (scoring or circular arc shape) provides a localized stress concentration and will fracture at a design for (threshold) pressure [33], allowing gases to escape [Reliability of Cylindrical Li-ion Battery Safety Vents, Xing-Yan Yao, Lingxi Kong, and Michael Pecht, IEEE Access, May 2020 (Page 9)] and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claim 11 Di Wu in view of Yong-Sam Kim discloses the limitations of claim 10 as outlined above.
Di Wu fails to teach the plurality of linear first vent grooves intersect the inner circular second vent groove and the outer circular second vent groove.
However, the modified battery of Di Wu would include linear and circular grooves, according to the teachings of Di Wu, Xing-Yan Yao and Yong-Sam Kim, as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify vent plate to have the plurality of linear first vent grooves intersect the inner circular second vent groove and the outer circular second vent groove because having both linear and circular grooves on the same vent plate can intersect [Reliability of Cylindrical Li-ion Battery Safety Vents, Xing-Yan Yao, Lingxi Kong, and Michael Pecht, IEEE Access, May 2020 (Page 9)] and the configuration of the claimed product is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed product is significant, see MPEP 2144.04 .IV. (B).
Claim 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jong Jun Park US20220359962A1.
Regarding claim 12 Di Wu discloses the limitations of claims 1 as outlined above.
Di Wu fails to teach the vent plate comprises a first flat part coupled to the case, an inclined part inclined toward the electrode assembly from the first flat part, and a second flat part extending flatly from the inclined part toward a center of the vent plate.
Jong Jun Park discloses the vent plate comprises a first flat part coupled to the case, an inclined part inclined toward the electrode assembly from the first flat part, and a second flat part extending flatly from the inclined part toward a center of the vent plate (the safety vent 132 may include: an approximately flat first flat portion 1321; an approximately flat second flat portion 1322 which is bent upward from the first flat portion [Para. 0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify vent plate to include a first flat part coupled to the case, an inclined part inclined toward the electrode assembly from the first flat part, and a second flat part extending flatly from the inclined part toward a center of the vent plate because Jong Jun Park teaches the safety of the secondary battery can be ensured or improved [Para. 0042].
Regarding claim 13 Di Wu in view of Jong Jun Park discloses the limitations of claims 12 as outlined above.
Di Wu fails to teach discloses the second flat part of the vent plate further comprises a plurality of welding lines directly electrically connecting the vent plate to the second electrode plate.
Jong Jun Park discloses the second flat part of the vent plate further comprises a plurality of welding lines directly electrically connecting the vent plate to the second electrode plate (The cap-down 131 may be electrically connected to the electrode assembly 120 via the positive electrode tab 125 [Para. 0040]. a lower surface of the first flat portion 1321 may be ultrasonic and/or laser welded to the cap-down 131 [Para. 0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify vent plate to include different flat portions because part of the vent plate may be more suited for welding. For example, Jong Jun Park teaches an embodiment where the thicker part of the vent plates is ultrasonic or lase welded [Para. 0041].
Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Wu in view of Jong Jun Park as applied to claim 12 above, and further in Kwang-Su US20230246244A1.
Regarding claim 14 Di Wu in view of Jong Jun Park discloses the limitations of claims 12 as outlined above.
Di Wu fails to teach discloses the vent plate further comprises a concave part that is concave toward the electrode assembly at a center of the second flat part.
Kwang-Su discloses the vent plate further comprises a concave part that is concave toward the electrode assembly at a center of the second flat part (the upper surface of the battery can 20 has a shape concavely indented from the center downward, namely toward the electrode assembly 10 [Para. 0215]) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a a concave part that is concave toward the electrode assembly at a center of the second flat part because Kwang Su teaches the concave indent on the vent plate can be based on the thickness of the terminal exposing portion [Para. 0216] The configuration of the claimed product is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed product is significant, see MPEP 2144.04 .IV. (B).
Claim 15 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwang-Su US20230246244A1.
Regarding claim 15 Di Wu discloses the limitations of claims 1 as outlined above.
Di Wu fails to teach the case and the vent plate are coupled to each other by a crimping part in the case.
Kwang-Su discloses the case and the vent plate are coupled to each other by a crimping part in the case (the battery can 20 of the present disclosure includes the crimping portion 22, the cap 30 is fixed by the crimping portion 22 [Para. 0189]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the case and the vent plate are coupled to each other by a crimping part in the case because Kwang Su teaches crimping portion 22 of the battery can 20 to secure the airtightness of the battery can [Para. 0189].
Regarding claim 16 Di Wu discloses the limitations of claims 1 as outlined above.
Di Wu fails to teach the case and the vent plate are coupled to each other by a crimping part and a beading part in the case.
Kwang-Su discloses the case and the vent plate are coupled to each other by a crimping part and a beading part in the case (the battery can 20 of the present disclosure includes the beading portion 21, the cap 30 may be supported by the lower surface of the beading portion 21 formed on the battery can 20. In addition, if the battery can 20 of the present disclosure includes the crimping portion 22, the cap 30 is fixed by the crimping portion 22 [Para. 0189]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the case and the vent plate coupled to each other by a crimping part and a beading part in the case because Kwang Su teaches the beading portion supports the upper surface, the outer circumferential surface and the lower portion of the cap. The crimping portion fixes the cap [Para. 0189].
Claim 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hyun Ki Jung US20230253568A1.
Regarding claim 17 Di Wu discloses the limitations of claims 1 as outlined above.
Di Wu fails to teach the case and the vent plate are coupled to each other by a curling part in the case.
Hyun Ki Jung discloses the case and the vent plate are coupled to each other by a curling part in the case (The case may further include a curling portion bent toward the first current collecting plate [Para. 0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the case and the vent plate coupled to each other by a curling part in the case because Hyun Ki Jung teaches curling for improving a sealing force in an exemplary secondary battery [Para. 0053].
Regarding claim 18 Di Wu discloses the limitations of claims 1 as outlined above.
Di Wu fails to teach the case and the vent plate are coupled to each other by a seaming part in the case and the vent plate.
Hyun Ki Jung discloses the case and the vent plate are coupled to each other by a seaming part in the case and the vent plate (the case may further include a seaming portion bent outward together with the first current collector plate [Para. 0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the case and the vent plate coupled to each other by a seaming part in the case and the vent plate because Hyun Ki Jung teaches the seaming portion 2313, and/or the curling portion 3313 may be provided alone or in combination, and with this structure, the sealing force of the secondary battery 100 may be further improved [Para. 0057].
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwang-Su US20230246244A1.
Regarding claim 19 Di Wu discloses the limitations of claims 1 as outlined above.
Di Wu fails to teach the case and the vent plate are coupled to each other by welding lines in the case and the vent plate.
Kwang-Su discloses the case and the vent plate are coupled to each other by welding lines in the case and the vent plate (cap 30 can be placed and/or welding the battery can 20 and the cap 30 to each other [Para. 0184])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the case and the vent plate coupled to each other by welding lines in the case and the vent plate because Kwang-Su teaches the cap can be fixed to the can by welding [Para. 0184].
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwang-Su US20230246244A1 and Min-Hyung Guen US20150072186A1.
Regarding claim 20 Di Wu discloses the limitations of claims 1 as outlined above.
Di Wu fails to teach comprising a current collector plate between the electrode assembly and the case and comprising a terminal connector part to which the rivet terminal is connected, an electrode plate connector part to which the first electrode plate is connected, and a fuse part between the terminal connector part and the electrode plate connector part.
Kwang-Su discloses current collector plate between the electrode assembly and the case and comprising a terminal connector part to which the rivet terminal is connected, an electrode plate connector part to which the first electrode plate is connected, and (the first current collector 60 is coupled to an upper portion of the electrode assembly 10. In addition, the first current collector 60 is coupled to the terminal 40 [Para. 0233, FIGS. 7 and 8]).
Min-Hyung Guen teaches a fuse part between the terminal connector part and the electrode plate connector part (a current collecting member electrically connected to the first electrode, the current collecting member including a fuse portion [0007]) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include current collector plate between the electrode assembly and the case and comprising a terminal connector part to which the rivet terminal is connected, an electrode plate connector part to which the first electrode plate is connected because Kwang-Su teaches an embodiment of the present disclosure may secure a smooth current flow at the coupling portion of the first current collector 60 and the terminal 40 in the case where a large amount of current flows due to rapid charging, thereby giving the effects of shortening the charging time and reducing the amount of heat generated [Para. 0212]. It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kwang-Su to have a fuse part between the terminal connector part and the electrode plate connector part because Min-Hyung teaches that the fuse prevents current from flowing through the secondary when short circuit or overcurrent occurs [Para. 0042].
Regarding claim 21 Di Wu in view of Kwang-Su and Min-Hyung disclose the limitations of claims 20 as outlined above.
Di Wu fails to teach a fuse hole along a portion of an outer periphery of the terminal connector part; and a connection part electrically connecting the terminal connector part and the electrode plate connector part.
Min-Hyung Guen discloses the fuse part comprises: a fuse hole along a portion of an outer periphery of the terminal connector part; and a connection part electrically connecting the terminal connector part and the electrode plate connector part (a fuse hole is formed in the current collecting member, the spacer may be formed to be elongated in a circumferential direction of the fuse hole, and the fuse portion may be formed at both lateral ends of the fuse hole. [Para. 0008])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a fuse hole along a portion of an outer periphery of the terminal connector part; and a connection part electrically connecting the terminal connector part and the electrode plate connector part because Min-Hyung Guen teaches when an overcurrent flows through the current collecting member 42, the fuse portion 42 c in the current collecting member 42 melts, thereby cutting off current through the current collecting member 42. As a result, battery safety is improved [Para. 0042].
Regarding claim 22 Di Wu in view of Kwang-Su and Min-Hyung disclose the limitations of claims 21 as outlined above. Di Wu discloses the rivet terminal comprises a head positioned outside the case and a fastening part extending from a center of the head to an inside of the case and welded to the terminal connector part (Fig. 1 shows pole 5 that’s positioned outside the case. Each pole is inserted into a pole hole and connected to the core to form an electrode of the battery [Para. 0003] the second connection piece 7 is welded to the pole 5 [Para. 0063]).
Conclusion
/CALEB U ORJI/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713