DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims 5, and 20-21 recite “if” which is indefinite and make the respective claims indefinite as it establishes a condition for applying a muting pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4, 6, 20, 22-26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2021/191845 A1), in view of (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #114, Toulouse, France, August 21st – August 25th, 2023, R1-2306908, Agenda Item: 9.3.3, Source: Sony, Title: Remaining issues on Dynamic/Flexible TDD, hereinafter Document Sony).
Regarding Claim 1, Bhamri discloses a first apparatus for communication, comprising: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment)
a processing system configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
obtain a first configuration that schedules a resource for the first apparatus (Bhamri, Fig. 1 A, remote unit 105 is a UE, paragraph [0040] discloses reporting configuration 111 to the remote unit 105 which is a UE, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment); and
output a first symbol of a plurality of symbols for transmission via the resource (Bhamri, Abstract discloses resource elements (REs), paragraph [0055], and [0057] disclose resource/resource grid), a first resource element (Bhamri, Abstract discloses resource elements (REs), Fig. 3, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0113]-[0115], [0117] disclose REs) and a second resource element (Bhamri, Abstract discloses resource elements (REs), Fig. 3, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0113]-[0115], [0117] disclose REs) of the first symbol being power boosted (Bhamri, paragraph [0091]-[0097], paragraph [0091], Table 3 discloses power boosted/power boosting. The power boosting is determined as ratio between the energy per resource elements (“EPRE”)).
Bhamri does not explicitly disclose following:
of the first symbol being muted according to a muting pattern.
However, Bhamri in view of Document Sony discloses following:
of the first symbol being muted according to a muting pattern (Document Sony, section 1, page 2 discloses UL resource muting, section 2.1 discloses muting of UL transmission, section 2.1, page 2-3, disclose UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Bhamri before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Sony so that of the first symbol being muted according to a muting pattern be included in a first apparatus for communication. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Sony would enable UL resource muting be used to measure gNB-to-gNB CLI levels with less interference. It would reduce resource wastage. It would avoid degrading the reliability of the UL transmission. (Document Sony, whole document, Emphasis: section 1, section 2.1, and section 4)
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 1 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the resource is a subset of a sub-band full-duplex resource. (Document Sony, section 1, Fig. 1, section 2.2.1.1, section 2.2.1.2, section 3.1.2, and Conclusion, Observation 6, and Proposal 5 disclose SBFD which is sub-band full-duplex)
The motivation is same as that for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 1 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein at least one of:
the muting pattern comprises an uplink muting pattern; (Document Sony, section 1, page 2 discloses UL resource muting, section 2.1 discloses muting of UL transmission, section 2.1, page 2-3, disclose UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern) or
the transmission via the resource comprises an uplink transmission via a physical uplink shared channel or a physical uplink control channel. (Bhamri, paragraph [0040], [0055] discloses uplink (UL) communication which is uplink transmission, paragraph [0095] discloses UL PUSCH which is an uplink transmission via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), paragraph [0098] discloses Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) and Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH))
The motivation is same as that for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 1 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
obtain a second configuration comprising the muting pattern. (Document Sony, section 1, page 2 discloses UL resource muting, section 2.1 discloses muting of UL transmission, section 2.1, page 2-3, disclose UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern)
The motivation is same as that for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 1 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
power boost the second resource element to achieve a target power level across all resource elements of the first symbol. (Bhamri, paragraph [0091]-[0097], paragraph [0091], Table 3 discloses power boosted/power boosting. The power boosting is determined as ratio between the energy per resource elements (“EPRE”))
The motivation is same as that for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 20, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 1 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
apply the muting pattern to the first resource element (Sony, section 2.1 discloses UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern) of the first symbol if the transmission is associated with a channel of a particular type. (Document Sony, section 1, page 2 discloses UL resource muting, section 2.1 discloses muting of UL transmission, section 2.1, page 2-3, disclose UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern)
The motivation is same as that for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 22, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 1 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the plurality of symbols comprise orthogonal frequency division multiplexed symbols (Bhamari, Fig. 1B, paragraphs [0054]-[0055] disclose OFDM).
The motivation is same as that for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 23, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 1, (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment) further comprising:
a transceiver (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131] transceiver 925) configured to receive the first configuration and transmit the first symbol, (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131] transceiver 925 transmits the first symbol)
wherein the first apparatus is configured as a UE. (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment (UE))
The motivation is same as that for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 24, Bhamari discloses a method for communication at a user equipment, the method comprising: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment 900)
obtaining a first configuration that schedules a resource for the user equipment (Bhamri, Fig. 1 A, remote unit 105 is a UE, paragraph [0040] discloses reporting configuration 111 to the remote unit 105 which is a UE, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment 900), the resource comprising a plurality of symbols (Bhamri, OFDM has plurality of symbols); and
outputting a first symbol of the plurality of symbols for transmission via the resource, a first resource element (Bhamri, Abstract discloses resource elements (REs), Fig. 3, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0113]-[0115], [0117] disclose REs) and a second resource element (Bhamri, Abstract discloses resource elements (REs), Fig. 3, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0113]-[0115], [0117] disclose REs) of the first symbol being power boosted (Bhamri, paragraph [0091]-[0097], paragraph [0091], Table 3 discloses power boosted/power boosting. The power boosting is determined as ratio between the energy per resource elements (“EPRE”)).
Bhamri does not explicitly disclose following:
of the first symbol being muted according to a muting pattern
However, Bhamri in view of Document Sony disclose following:
of the first symbol being muted according to a muting pattern (Document Sony, section 1, page 2 discloses UL resource muting, section 2.1 discloses muting of UL transmission, section 2.1, page 2-3, disclose UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Bhamri before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Sony so that of the first symbol being muted according to a muting pattern be included in a method for communication at a user equipment. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Sony would enable UL resource muting be used to measure gNB-to-gNB CLI levels with less interference. It would reduce resource wastage. It would avoid degrading the reliability of the UL transmission. (Document Sony, whole document, Emphasis: section 1, section 2.1, and section 4)
Regarding Claim 25, Bhamri discloses a first apparatus for communication, comprising: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment (UE))
a processing system configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
output a first configuration for transmission, the first configuration scheduling a resource for a second apparatus; (Bhamari, Fig. 1 A, remote unit 105 is a UE, paragraph [0040] discloses reporting configuration 111 to the remote unit 105 which is a UE, Fig. 1B, paragraphs [0054]-[0055] disclose OFDM, paragraph [0040], [0055] discloses uplink (UL) communication which is uplink transmission, transmission is being interpreted as uplink transmission) and
obtain a first symbol of a plurality of symbols via the resource, a first resource element and a second resource element of the first symbol being power boosted (Bhamri, paragraph [0091]-[0097], paragraph [0091], Table 3 discloses power boosted/power boosting. The power boosting is determined as ratio between the energy per resource elements (“EPRE”)).
Bhamri does not explicitly disclose following:
of the first symbol being muted according to a muting pattern
However, Bhamri in view of Document Sony disclose following:
of the first symbol being muted according to a muting pattern (Document Sony, section 1, page 2 discloses UL resource muting, section 2.1 discloses muting of UL transmission, section 2.1, page 2-3, disclose UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Bhamri before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document Sony so that of the first symbol being muted according to a muting pattern be included in a first apparatus for communication. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document Sony would enable UL resource muting be used to measure gNB-to-gNB CLI levels with less interference. It would reduce resource wastage. It would avoid degrading the reliability of the UL transmission. (Document Sony, whole document, Emphasis: section 1, section 2.1, and section 4)
Regarding Claim 26, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 25 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment (UE)), wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
measure cross-link interference using the first resource element, the cross-link interference (Document Sony, Figs. 1, and 2, section 1, section 2.1, section 2.2.1, section 2.2.1.1, section 2.2.1.2, section 2.2.2, section 2.3, section 3.1.1, 3.1.2, 3.2, and section 4, Observations 1, 2, 12-14, Proposal 1, and Proposals 8-11 disclose cross-link interference (i.e. CLI)/CLI measurements) being associated with transmissions by a network entity (Bhamri, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0150]-[0151] network equipment apparatus 1000 which is being interpreted as a network entity).
The motivation is same as that for claim 25.
Regarding Claim 30, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 27, further comprising: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment (UE))
a transceiver (Bhamri, Fig. 10, paragraph [0151] transceiver 1025) configured to transmit the first configuration and receive the first symbol (Bhamri, Fig. 10, paragraph [0151] transceiver 1025 transmits the first configuration, and receives a first symbol),
wherein the first apparatus is configured as a network entity (Bhamri, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0150]-[0151] network equipment apparatus 1000 which is being interpreted as a network entity, here the first apparatus is being interpreted as a network entity which is network equipment apparatus 1000).
The motivation is same as that for claim 25.
8. Claims 5, 8, 12, 21, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2021/191845 A1), and (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #114, Toulouse, France, August 21st – August 25th, 2023, R1-2306908, Agenda Item: 9.3.3, Source: Sony, Title: Remaining issues on Dynamic/Flexible TDD, hereinafter Document Sony), in view of Zhang et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0379956 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 1 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
apply the muting pattern to the first resource element (Document Sony, section 2.1 discloses one or more RE/RB muting patterns) scheduled by the first configuration. (Document Sony, section 1, page 2 discloses UL resource muting, section 2.1 discloses muting of UL transmission, section 2.1, page 2-3, disclose UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern)
Bhamri, and Document Sony do not explicitly disclose following:
of the first symbol if the muting pattern overlaps with an uplink transmission
However, Bhamri, and Document Sony in view of Zhang disclose following:
of the first symbol if the muting pattern overlaps with an uplink transmission (Zhang, paragraph [0108] discloses muting a downlink based on an overlap with uplink)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Bhamri, and Document Sony before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Zhang so that of the first symbol if the muting pattern overlaps with an uplink transmission be included in the first apparatus. The motivation to combine the teachings of Zhang would enable to mitigate interference. (Zhang, Abstract, paragraphs [0001], [0003]-[0004], [0006]-[0010], [0019], [0024], [0032], and [0108])
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Zhang disclose the first apparatus of claim 1 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
obtain an indication to activate the muting pattern; (Zhang, Fig. 10, paragraph [0110] the interference mitigation action is muting) and
apply the muting pattern to the first resource element (Document Sony, discloses UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern) of the first symbol after the indication is obtained. (Zhang, Fig. 10, paragraph [0110] the interference mitigation action is muting)
The motivation is same as that for claim 5.
Regarding Claim 21, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Zhang disclose the first apparatus of claim 1 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the processing system (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905) is further configured to apply the muting pattern to the first resource element (Sony, section 2.1 discloses UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern) of the first symbol if at least one of: (Document Sony, section 1, page 2 discloses UL resource muting, section 2.1 discloses muting of UL transmission, section 2.1, page 2-3, disclose UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern)
the transmission is associated with an uplink transmission having a particular format or length; (Zhang, paragraph [0108] muting a downlink based on with uplink) or
the transmission is an uplink transmission employing an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing waveform. (Bhamari, Fig. 1B, paragraphs [0054]-[0055] disclose OFDM, paragraph [0040], [0055] discloses uplink (UL) communication which is uplink transmission, paragraph [0095] discloses UL PUSCH which is an uplink transmission via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), paragraph [0098] discloses Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) and Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH))
The motivation is same as that for claim 5.
Regarding Claim 27, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Zhang disclose the first apparatus of claim 25 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment (UE)), wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
output a second configuration for transmission, the second configuration comprising the muting pattern. (Zhang, Fig. 10, paragraph [0110] “the interference mitigation action” is muting)
The motivation is same as that for claim 5.
Regarding Claim 29, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Zhang disclose the first apparatus of claim 25 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment (UE)), wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
output an indication to activate the muting pattern. ; (Zhang, Fig. 10, paragraph [0110] the interference mitigation action is muting)
The motivation is same as that for claim 5.
9. Claims 7, 9-11, 14-18, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2021/191845 A1), and (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #114, Toulouse, France, August 21st – August 25th, 2023, R1-2306908, Agenda Item: 9.3.3, Source: Sony, Title: Remaining issues on Dynamic/Flexible TDD, hereinafter Document Sony), in view of Bai et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0099849 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Bhamri, and Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 6, wherein: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment) the processing system is further configured (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905) and a quantity of resources elements (Bhamri, Abstract discloses resource elements (REs), Fig. 3, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0113]-[0115], [0117] disclose REs) of the first symbol that are muted; (Bhamri, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0112]-[0118] RE muting, puncturing white REs, or muting white REs) and
the power boost (Bhamri, paragraph [0091]-[0097], paragraph [0091], Table 3 discloses power boosted/power boosting. The power boosting is determined as ratio between the energy per resource elements (“EPRE”)) of the second resource element (Bhamri, Abstract discloses resource elements (REs), Fig. 3, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0113]-[0115], [0117] disclose REs).
Bhamri, and Document Sony do not explicitly disclose following:
to calculate a power boost factor according to the target power level
comprises multiplication of a power level for the second resource element by the power boost factor
However, Bhamri, and Document Sony in view of Bai disclose following:
to calculate a power boost factor (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose calculate power boost factor) according to the target power level (Bai, Fig. 6, [0182]-[0206], emphasis paragraphs [0193]-[0199] disclose target power level and also calculating power boost factor)
comprises multiplication of a power level for the second resource element by the power boost factor (Bai, Fig. 6, [0182]-[0206], emphasis paragraphs [0193]-[0199] disclose power level and also calculating power boost factor)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Bhamri, and Document Sony before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Bai so that to calculate a power boost factor according to the target power level, comprises multiplication of a power level for the second resource element by the power boost factor be included in the first apparatus. The motivation to combine the teachings of Bai would enable to calculate power boost factor. Higher the power-boosting factor will lead to higher uplink (UL) power boosting. (Bai, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0004], Fig. 6, paragraphs [0182]-[0206], and Fig. 7, [0207]-[0224])
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai disclose the first apparatus of claim 1 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
power boost (Bhamri, paragraph [0091]-[0097], paragraph [0091], Table 3 discloses power boosted/power boosting. The power boosting is determined as ratio between the energy per resource elements (“EPRE”))
Bhamri does not explicitly disclose following:
obtain a second configuration comprising an indication of a power boost factor; and the second resource element by the power boost factor.
However, Bhamri, and Document Sony, in view of Bai disclose following:
obtain a second configuration comprising an indication of a power boost factor; and the second resource element by the power boost factor. (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factor)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Bhamri, and Document Sony before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Bai so that obtain a second configuration comprising an indication of a power boost factor; the second resource element by the power boost factor be included in the first apparatus. The motivation to combine the teachings of Bai would enable to calculate power boost factor. Higher the power-boosting factor will lead to higher uplink (UL) power boosting. (Bai, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0004], Fig. 6, paragraphs [0182]-[0206], and Fig. 7, [0207]-[0224])
The motivation is same as that for claim 7.
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai disclose the first apparatus of claim 9 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the second configuration comprises a radio resource control configuration message for an uplink channel. (Bhamri, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0064]-[0065] Radio Resource Control (“RRC”) layer 255/RRC, paragraph [0068] discloses uplink (UL))
The motivation is same as that for claim 7.
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai disclose the first apparatus of claim 9 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the indication of the power boost factor comprises: (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factor)
a specific power boost factor; (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factor) or
an index that maps to one power boost factor from a list of power boost factors. (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factor)
The motivation is same as that for claim 7.
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 1 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment) wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
power boost (Bhamri, paragraph [0091]-[0097], paragraph [0091], Table 3 discloses power boosted/power boosting. The power boosting is determined as ratio between the energy per resource elements (“EPRE”)) the second resource element (Bhamri, Abstract discloses resource elements (REs), Fig. 3, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0113]-[0115], [0117] disclose REs).
The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony do not explicitly disclose following:
select a first power boost factor from a list of power boost factors; and by the first power boost factor.
However, Bhamri, and Document Sony in view of Bai disclose following:
select a first power boost factor from a list of power boost factors; and by the first power boost factor. (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factor, list of power boost factors is the record/inventory/database/index or checklist from which a first power boost factor is selected)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Bhamri, and Document Sony before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Bai so that select a first power boost factor from a list of power boost factors; and by the first power boost factor be included in the first apparatus. The motivation to combine the teachings of Bai would enable to calculate power boost factor. Higher the power-boosting factor will lead to higher uplink (UL) power boosting. (Bai, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0004], Fig. 6, paragraphs [0182]-[0206], and Fig. 7, [0207]-[0224])
Regarding Claim 15, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai disclose the first apparatus of claim 14 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the selected first power boost factor corresponds to a transmission type of the transmission. (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factor, the transmission type may be uplink, downlink transmission or data transmission, and the power be boosted, and receives)
The motivation is same as that for claim 14.
Regarding Claim 16, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai disclose the first apparatus of claim 14, (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment) wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
obtain a second configuration that comprises the list of power boost factors. (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factors, list of power boost factors is the record/inventory/database or checklist from which a first power boost factor is selected)
The motivation is same as that for claim 14.
Regarding Claim 17, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai disclose the first apparatus of claim 14, (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment) wherein the list of power boost factors is specified by a wireless communication standard. (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factor/factors, paragraphs [0017]-[0018] disclose standards for wireless communications, list of power boost factors is the record/inventory/database or checklist from which a first power boost factor is selected)
The motivation is same as that for claim 14.
Regarding Claim 18, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai disclose the first apparatus of claim 14, wherein: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment)
the processing system (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905) is further configured to obtain an index that maps to a specific power boost factor within the list of power boost factors; (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factor, list of power boost factors is the record/inventory/database/index or checklist from which a first power boost factor is selected) and
the selected first power boost factor corresponds to the specific power boost factor. (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factor)
The motivation is same as that for claim 14.
Regarding Claim 28, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai disclose the first apparatus of claim 25 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment (UE)), wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
output a second configuration for transmission, the second configuration comprising a power boost factor (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factor) associated with the muting pattern. (Document Sony, section 1, page 2 discloses UL resource muting, section 2.1 discloses muting of UL transmission, section 2.1, page 2-3, disclose UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern)
The motivation is same as that for claim 14.
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2021/191845 A1), and (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #114, Toulouse, France, August 21st – August 25th, 2023, R1-2306908, Agenda Item: 9.3.3, Source: Sony, Title: Remaining issues on Dynamic/Flexible TDD, hereinafter Document Sony), in view of Taghizadeh et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2024/171166 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 1, (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment) wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
is to be used with the muting pattern. (Document Sony, section 1, page 2 discloses UL resource muting, section 2.1 discloses muting of UL transmission, section 2.1, page 2-3, disclose UE resource muting pattern with one or more RE/RB muting pattern)
Bhamri, and Document Sony do not disclose following:
obtain a second configuration comprising the muting pattern and an indication ; of whether power boosting
However, Bhamri, and Document Sony in view of Taghizadeh disclose following:
obtain a second configuration comprising the muting pattern and an indication ; of whether power boosting (Taghizadeh, Fig. 9, paragraph [0108])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Bhamri, and Document Sony before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Taghizadeh so that obtain a second configuration comprising the muting pattern and an indication ; of whether power boosting be included in the first apparatus. The motivation to combine the teachings of Taghizadeh would enable power boosting. (Taghizadeh, paragraph [0108])
11. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2021/191845 A1), and (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #114, Toulouse, France, August 21st – August 25th, 2023, R1-2306908, Agenda Item: 9.3.3, Source: Sony, Title: Remaining issues on Dynamic/Flexible TDD, hereinafter Document Sony), and Bai et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0099849 A1), in view of Wang et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/00106688 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai disclose the first apparatus of claim 12, wherein: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment)
and
the processing system (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905) is further configured to power boost the second resource element (Bhamri, Abstract discloses resource elements (REs), Fig. 3, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0113]-[0115], [0117] disclose REs) by the power boost factor (Bai, paragraphs [0195], [0197], [0199] explicitly disclose power boost factor).
Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai do not disclose following:
the second configuration comprises an indication of a power boost factor;
However, Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai, in view of Wang disclose following:
the second configuration comprises an indication of a power boost factor (Wang, paragraph [0163] the power control parameter used to boost the transmission power);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Bhamri, Document Sony, and Bai before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Wang so that the second configuration comprises an indication of a power boost factor be included in the first apparatus. The motivation to combine the teachings of Wang would enable power control parameter to indicate to boost the transmission power. (Wang, paragraph [0163])
12. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2021/191845 A1), and (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #114, Toulouse, France, August 21st – August 25th, 2023, R1-2306908, Agenda Item: 9.3.3, Source: Sony, Title: Remaining issues on Dynamic/Flexible TDD, hereinafter Document Sony), in view of Abotabl et al., (Pub. No.: US 2022/0272543 A1)
Regarding Claim 19, The combination of Bhamri, and Document Sony disclose the first apparatus of claim 18 (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraph [0130] user equipment apparatus 900, the first apparatus is a user equipment), wherein the processing system is further configured to: (Bhamri, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0130]-[0131], [0133]-[0135] processor 905)
obtain downlink control information (DCI) (Bhamri, paragraphs [0102]-[0103] disclose downlink control information (DCI)) that activates a physical uplink shared channel transmission, the DCI (Bhamri, paragraph [0102] discloses downlink control information (DCI)) comprising the index; (Bhamri, paragraph [0040], [0055] discloses uplink (UL) communication which is uplink transmission, paragraph [0095] discloses UL PUSCH which is an uplink transmission via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), paragraph [0098] discloses Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) and Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)) or
Bhamri and Document Sony do not disclose following:
obtain a medium access control - control element (MAC-CE) that activates or deactivates power boosting for at least one channel, the MAC-CE comprising the index.
However, Bhamri and Document Sony, in view of Abotabl disclose following:
obtain a medium access control - control element (MAC-CE) that activates or deactivates power boosting for at least one channel, the MAC-CE comprising the index. (Abotabl, paragraph [0103] RRC signaling, dynamically indicated via a MAC-CE or a DCI message, the DCI message or the MAC-CE configures time resources frequency resources, or both. The DCI message may activate or deactivate RRC configured resources)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Bhamri and Document Sony before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Abotabl so that obtain a medium access control - control element (MAC-CE) that activates or deactivates power boosting for at least one channel, the MAC-CE comprising the index be included in the first apparatus. The motivation to combine the teachings of Abotabl would reduce the interference. (Abotabl, paragraphs [0003],[0017], [0032] and [0103])
Conclusion
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472