Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0102979, filed on 08/07/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/07/2023, 02/21/2024, 09/30/2024, and 09/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "first robot arm" of claim 7, "shuttle" of claim 8, and "fifth rail disposed on an opposite surface of the first moving body, which faces the one surface of the first moving body such that the first robot is moved on the one surface of the first moving body and the second robot is moved on the opposite surface of the first moving body" of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 discloses a “fifth rail” implying four previously claimed rails however this claim and preceding base claim only disclose a first and second rail and is therefore unclear how many rails the invention requires. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the second robot" in the fourth line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if a second robot is being claimed.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 12 recites "The substrate transfer apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first rail and the second rail are connected to each other such that the first robot is moved on the first rail." however in claim 2 the second rail is connected to the first rail through the moving body and the first robot is able to be moved on the first rail by being on the moving body, therefore claim 12 does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KUWAHARA (US 20160293465 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kuwahara teaches a substrate transfer apparatus comprising:
a first moving plate (bottom plate of 23; Fig. 9);
a second moving plate (66; Fig. 9) located at a lower portion of the first moving plate; and
an equipment front end module (EFEM) including a first rail (one rail of 37), a first moving body (45, 46; Fig. 1) configured to be moved on the first rail, and a first robot (47, 48, 49) connected to the first moving body ([0055; see Fig. 2]) and configured to transport a substrate ([0055]), and connecting to the first moving plate and the second moving plate to provide the substrate to the first moving plate or the second moving plate ([0049] connected through receiver 19).
Regarding Claim 8, Kuwahara teaches the substrate transfer apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a shuttle (22) configured to be moved on the first moving plate or the second moving plate (see Fig. 1) and configured to accommodate the substrate ([0049]),
wherein the first robot transports the substrate to the shuttle ([0060]).
Regarding Claim 10, The substrate transfer apparatus of claim 1, wherein the EFEM includes a first auxiliary rail (second rail of 37; Fig.1) disposed in parallels to the first rail to enhance a stability thereof, and configured to move the first moving body (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUWAHARA (US 20160293465A1) in view of OH (US 20080308039A1) (cited on the IDS of 02/21/2024 as KR 20080111183A).
Regarding Claim 2, Kuwahara teaches the substrate transfer apparatus of claim 1.
Kuwahara does not teach wherein the EFEM includes a second rail disposed on one surface of the first moving body (45,46), and wherein the first robot is configured to be moved on the second rail. The first robot of Kuwahara is capable of moving vertically however, it is noted that the first robot is configured to be moved about an undisclosed structure ([0055])
Oh teaches a first rail (312; Fig. 7), a first moving body (structure connecting rails 314 and 312) configured to be moved on the first rail, and a first robot (316) connected to the first moving body (see Fig. 7) and configured to transport a substrate ([0086]), and a second rail (314) disposed on one surface of the first moving body (see Fig. 7) , and wherein the first robot is configured to be moved on the second rail ([0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the equipment front end module (EFEM) of Kuwahara to include a second rail disposed on one surface of the first moving body, and wherein the first robot is configured to be moved on the second rail of Oh for the purpose smoother travel in the vertical direction.
Regarding Claim 3, Kuwahara in light of Oh teaches the substrate transfer apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first rail and the second rail (as taught by Oh) are disposed to be perpendicular to each other (Kuwahara, see Fig. 2), and wherein the first moving body is moved on the first rail leftwards and rightwards (Kuwahara, [0056]; Fig. 2), and the first robot is moved on the second rail upwards and downwards (Kuwahara, [0056]; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Kuwahara teaches a first rail (one rail of 37), a first moving body (45, 46; Fig. 1) configured to be moved on the first rail, and a first robot (47, 48, 49) connected to the first moving body ([0055; see Fig. 2]) and configured to transport a substrate ([0055]),
Kuwahara does not teach wherein the EFEM includes a third rail, a second moving body configured to be moved on the third rail, a fourth rail disposed on one surface of the second moving body, and a second robot configured to transport the substrate while being moved on the fourth rail, wherein the third rail and the fourth rail are disposed to be perpendicular to each other, and wherein the second moving body is moved on the third rail leftwards and rightwards, and the second robot is moved on the fourth rail upwards and downwards. However, the claimed third rail, second moving body, fourth rail and second robot as claimed are a duplication of the first and second rails, first moving body and first robot previously taught by Kuwahara in view of Oh.
Furthermore, Oh teaches a third rail (322), a second moving body configured to be moved on the third rail (structure connecting rails 314 and 312), a fourth rail disposed on one surface of the second moving body (324), and a second robot (326) configured to transport the substrate while being moved on the fourth rail ([0087]), wherein the third rail and the fourth rail are disposed to be perpendicular to each other (see Fig. 7).
The recited structure is a duplication of parts taught by Kuwahara and Oh, and Oh demonstrates an equivalent duplication of parts it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide a third rail, a second moving body configured to be moved on the third rail, a fourth rail disposed on one surface of the second moving body, and a second robot configured to transport the substrate while being moved on the fourth rail, wherein the third rail and the fourth rail are disposed to be perpendicular to each other as taught by Oh such that the second moving body is moved on the third rail leftwards and rightwards and the second robot is moved on the fourth rail upwards and downwards for the purpose of moving multiple substrates at the same time.
Regarding Claim 5, Kuwahara in light of Oh teaches the substrate transfer apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first rail and the third rail do not overlap each other when viewed from a top (Oh, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 6, Kuwahara in light of Oh teaches the substrate transfer apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first robot is moved on the first rail along a first route, wherein the second robot is moved on the third rail along a second route, and wherein the first route and the second route do not overlap each other when viewed from a top (Oh, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 7, Kuwahara in light of Oh teaches the substrate transfer apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first robot delivers the substrate to the second robot by using a first robot arm that is rotatable ([0086], [0087]; Both robots are fully capable of transferring and receiving substrate and therefore would be fully capable of transferring substrate to the second robot).
Regarding Claim 9, Kawahara in light of Oh teaches the substrate transfer apparatus of claim 4, wherein a height of the first rail from a ground surface is larger than a height of the third rail from the ground surface (Oh, see Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 12, Kuwahara in light of Oh teaches the substrate transfer apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first rail and the second rail are connected to each other such that the first robot is moved on the first rail (Oh, [0086]; moves on first rail through the second rail).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUWAHARA (US 20160293465A1) in view of YOSHIMITSU et al. (JP 2009231627A)(as cited on the IDS of 02/21/2024)
Regarding Claim 13, Kuwahara teaches the substrate transfer apparatus of claim 1
Kuwahara does not teach wherein the first moving body includes a first sub body and a second sub body, and wherein the second sub body is connected to the first robot, and is configured to be inserted into the first sub body to adjust a location of the first robot.
Yoshimitsu teaches a first rail (121), a first moving body (83, largest body of 84 of TIPS) configured to be moved on the first rail, and a first robot (85, 86) connected to the first moving body (see Fig. 17a) and configured to transport a substrate ([0131]), and wherein the first moving body includes a first sub body (middle body of 84) and a second sub body(body of 84 that connects to 85), and wherein the second sub body is connected to the first robot ([0131]; Fig. 17a), and is configured to be inserted into the first sub body to adjust a location of the first robot ([0131]; see Figs. 17-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the moving body of Kuwahara with a first moving body including a first sub body and a second sub body, and wherein the second sub body is connected to the first robot, and is configured to be inserted into the first sub body to adjust a location of the first robot as taught by Yoshimitsu for the purpose of being able to collapse reducing its length to avoid collisions with other bodies in the EFEM.
Regarding Claim 14, Kuwahara teaches an equipment front end module (EFEM) including a first rail (one rail of 37), a first moving body (45, 46; Fig. 1) configured to be moved on the first rail, and a first robot (47, 48, 49) connected to the first moving body ([0055; see Fig. 2]) and configured to transport a substrate ([0055]).
Kuwahara does not teach the EFEM includes a third rail, a second moving body configured to be moved on the third rail, and a second robot connected to the second moving body and configured to transport the substrate, and wherein the first rail and the third rail are at least partially overlap each other when viewed from a top.
Yoshimitsu teaches, wherein the EFEM includes a third rail (82), a second moving body configured to be moved on the third rail (83, largest body of 84 of TIFM), and a second robot connected to the second moving body (85.86 of TIFM) and configured to transport the substrate, and wherein the first rail and the third rail are at least partially overlap each other when viewed from a top (See Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the EFEM of Kuwahara with a third rail, a second moving body configured to be moved on the third rail, and a second robot connected to the second moving body and configured to transport the substrate, and wherein the first rail and the third rail are at least partially overlap each other when viewed from a top for the purpose of moving multiple substrates at the same time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Enokida et al. (US 20130078059 A1), Hayashida et al. (US 20060183340 A1), and Choi et al. (KR 20020083600 A) disclose similar substrate transfer apparatuses.
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/A.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 3655