DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 21 March 2025 and 4 July 2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US20220416335A1, cited on IDS, hereafter Yang).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang teaches a cover assembly (Claim 1) including a cover body (Claim 1, “end cover”, 231) that has a penetrated cover through hole (2312, “electrode extraction hole”, [0139]) and an electrode draw-out member (24) that comprises a through portion (244, “protrusion”) and a connection plate (241, 242, 243 together) connected to each other (FIGS. 4, 11, 13) in sequence. The through portion partially passes through the cover through hole [0139]. The connection plate is located on one side of the cover body facing an electrode assembly (FIGS. 4, 6).
Yang also teaches the connection plate having a first connection portion (242, “third connection portion”), second connection portion (241, “second connection portion”) and a transition connection portion (243, “fourth connection portion”) connected in sequence. Although the portions of the connection plate in the reference do not adopt the same naming convention, the reference identifies the same elements connected with the same orientation as the claimed invention. The first connection portion (242) is connected to the through portion (244) ([0128], FIGS. 4, 11), and at least a part of the second connection portion (243) is disposed to be electrically connect with a tab (221) drawn out of the electrode assembly ([0037], FIG. 4).
Along a direction in which the electrode assembly is close to the cover body, one side of the at least part of the second connection portion (241) facing the electrode assembly is higher than one side of the first connection portion (242) facing the electrode assembly, thereby forming an accommodation space for accommodating the tab (FIG. 11).
Regarding Claim 2, Yang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and further teaches one side of the second connection (241) portion facing the electrode assembly is recessed in a direction close to the cover body (231) relative to one side of the first connection portion facing the electrode assembly to form the accommodation space (FIGS. 4, 10, 11).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang teaches all the limitations of Claims 1 and 2, and further teaches wherein a part of the second connection portion (241) being bent toward the cover body (231) to form the accommodation space; and/or a part of the transitional connection portion (243) is bent toward the cover body (231) to form the accommodation space (FIG. 4, 11). The transitional connection portion (243) is bent upward toward the cover body to form the accommodation space. The material and structure of the transitional portion (243) necessitate its being bent in order to serve its purpose of electrically connecting to the electrode tab.
Regarding Claim 5, Yang teaches a cover assembly according to Claim 3, and further teaches wherein a bending portion is formed in a bending region, and the bending region comprises a first bending portion and a second bending portion that are bent in different directions and connected together (FIG. 17 – element 24). The transitional connection portion is the region in between the two bending portions. Although the connection portions of element 24 are not enumerated in this figure, the transition portion is still present between the two bending portions.
The first bending portion and the second bending portion are bent obliquely; and/or the bending positions of the first bending portion and the second bending portion are formed in rounded corners (FIGS. 16, 17, Element 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US20220416335A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 3 but does not expressly teach when the part of the transitional connection portion (243) is bent toward the cover body (231) with a minimum cross-sectional area of the transitional portion is greater than a cross-sectional area of the second connection portion.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection plate to form part of the transitional connection portion bent toward the cover body such that a minimum cross-sectional area of the transitional portion is greater than a cross-sectional area of the second connection portion to have a conductive portion with lower resistance and allow for more current flow with less heat loss. One would have been motivated to have an electrode current collecting member thickness/cross section greater than a cross-sectional area of the second connection portion for these reasons. It is well known in the art that changing the thicknesses of the connection plate can have effects on electrically connection reliability, durability, resistance, conductivity and spatial availability, so adjusting these features would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (also see MPEP 2144(IV)(A)).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 5 but does not expressly teach the thicknesses of the second connection portion (241) and the transitional connection portion (243) being the same, and the thickness of at least a part of the bending portion is less than the thickness of the second connection portion. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thicknesses of these components so that part of the transitional connection portion (243) is bent toward the cover body (231), a minimum cross-sectional area of the transitional portion is greater than a cross-sectional area of the second connection portion in order to have more flexibility in the bending portion and higher conductivity in the thicker areas of the connection. One would be motivated to use the same thicknesses of the second connection portion and the transitional connecting portion to allow for consistent conductivity. It is well known in the art that changing the thicknesses of the connection plate can have effects on conductivity, resistance, heat loss, electrical connection reliability, durability and spatial availability, so adjusting these features would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, it was held that the change in size or proportion of parts was unpatentable unless a new or unexpected result was produced (MPEP 2144(IV)(A)).
Regarding Claim 15, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but does not expressly teach wherein a height of the accommodation space is greater than or equal to 0.3 times a thickness of the tab, and is less than or equal to the thickness of the tab.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention so that the height of the accommodation space was greater than or equal to 0.3 times the thickness of the tab because when the current collecting member is bent in this way at least part of this current collecting member can be accommodated in the first concave portion of the insulator [0009], and this can result in more efficient space utilization for the electrode assembly [0009]. It was held that changes to size or proportion were unpatentable unless a new or unexpected result was produced (MPEP 2144(IV)(A)).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US20220416335A1) in further view of Li et al. (EP3451409A1, Machine Translation from IDS, hereafter Li).
Regarding Claim 7, Yang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1,. and that along a direction in which the electrode assembly is close to the cover body, one side of the second connection portion (241) facing the cover body is lower than or equal to one side of the sealing member (231) facing the cover body (23). The end cover (231) can act as a sealing member because it creates a sealed space (25) to accommodate an electrolyte [0107].
Yang does not teach one end of the through portion close to the connection plate being provided with an extension portion that protrudes from a surface of the through portion along a radial direction of the through portion, and the extension portion being disposed to press-fit a sealing member in between the extension portion and the cover body
However, Li teaches a secondary battery and battery module wherein a connection plate (510) is provided with an extension portion (520) protruding from a surface of the through portion along a radial direction of the through portion (530) (FIG. 10). Li teaches the first insulator (41) fitted with the same size as the electrode lead-out hole (11) in order for the lower insulator (40) to be connected to the cap plate (10) by interference fitting once the insulator (41) is inserted into the electrode lead-out hole. The through portion (520, 530) is inserted into the electrode lead-out hole making the through portion also disposed to press-fit a sealing member. Li also teaches that along a direction in which the electrode assembly is close to the cover body, one side of the second connection portion (510) facing the cover body is lower than or equal to one side of the extension portion facing the cover body (FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cover assembly of Yang to include a through portion close to the connection plate being provided with an extension portion that protrudes from a surface of the through portion along a radial direction of the through portion, and the extension portion being disposed to press-fit a sealing member in between the extension portion and the cover body. One would have been motivated to combine these embodiments because, according to Li, the extension portion being a cylindrical protrusion formed on a wing plate by stamp molding allows the connection plate (510, “main body portion”) to be fitted to the surface of the lower insulator (40) so the extension portion can extend into the electrode lead-out hole (11) so as to be in contact to the electrode terminal [0068], which is well known in the art to establish lower electrical resistance and better mechanical stability.
Regarding Claim 8, Yang and Li teach all the limitations of claim 7, and Li further teaches the extension portion (520) being integrally formed with the first connection portion (510, [0082], 510 is the same as the “first connection portion” of the claimed invention).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the cover assembly of Yang to include an extension portion that is integrally formed with the first connection portion. One would have been motivated to modify Yang in this way because in an exemplary embodiment where the first connection portion (510, “main body portion”) and the extension portion (520) are an integral structure, the extension portion being a cylindrical protrusion formed on a wing plate by stamp molding allows the connection plate (510, “main body portion”) to be fitted to the surface of the lower insulator (40) so the extension portion can extend into the electrode lead-out hole (11) so as to be in contact to the electrode terminal [0068], which is well known in the art to establish lower electrical resistance and better mechanical stability.
Regarding Claim 9, Yang and Li teach all the limitations of claim 7, and Li further teaches the extension portion being coaxially disposed with the through portion (FIG. 10) and a first arc segment being disposed on one side of the extension portion away from the second connection portion (FIG. 10).
Li does not teach the first connection portion being provided with a second arc segment in a position that corresponds with the first arc segment of the extension portion and the second arc segment having the same curvature as the first arc segment.
Li also does not teach one end of the transitional connection portion close to the first connection portion extending along a tangential direction of an end portion of the second arc segment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Li so that the first and second arc segments corresponding to each other and one end of the transitional connection portion close to the first connection portion extending tangentially from an end portion of the second arc segment because the configuration described is smaller than a configuration of the electrode draw-out member that does not have this configuration, and it is well known in the art that reducing the size of the current collecting elements is beneficial because it reduces weight, material cost and affords more room for energy-storing ingredients and/or elements, thereby effectively improving the energy density.
One would have been motivated to modify the invention of Yang with the extension portion of Li because the extension portion and the through portion being coaxially disposed allows the connection plate (510, “main body portion”) to be fitted to the surface of the lower insulator (40) so the extension portion can extend into the electrode lead-out hole (11) so as to be in contact to the electrode terminal [0068], which is well known in the art to establish lower electrical resistance and better mechanical stability. One would also have been motivated to have an electrode draw-out member include these features so that the first and second arc segments cocorrespondo each other and one end of the transitional connection portion close to the first connection portion extending tangentially from an end portion of the second arc segment. One would have been motivated to do this because the configuration described is smaller than a configuration of the electrode draw-out member that does not have this configuration, and it is well known in the art that reducing the size of the current collecting elements is beneficial because it reduces weight, material cost and affords more room for energy-storing ingredients and/or elements, thereby effectively improving the energy density.
Claims 10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US20220416335A1) in further view of Norwich (US20240304823A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but does not teach one side of the first connection portion facing the cover body and one side of the second connection portion facing the cover body being located on the same plane, a thickness of the second connection portion is less than a thickness of the first connection portion, and a region having a thickness difference between the second connection portion and the first connection portion forming the accommodation space.
However, Norwich teaches a battery cell wherein one side of the first connection portion (“cathode current collector”, 46) facing the cover body (up) and one side of the second connection portion facing the cover body are located in the same plane (FIG. 1), a thickness of the second connection portion is less than a thickness of the first connection portion (FIG. 1, 2), and a region having a thickness difference between the second connection portion and the first connection portion forms the accommodation space (FIG. 1, since the difference in height would be able to accommodate an electrode tab). The current collectors in the reference (46, cathode current collector) perform the same function as the electrode draw-out member, which contains the connection plates, in the instant application, and the function is to establish an electrical connection between the electrode tabs and the terminals. The cathode current collector (46) in the reference has a top surface facing upward that is within the same plane, and it has a lower surface facing downward that is thinner at one end than the other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection portions of Yang with the current collector design of Norwich. One would have been motivated to modify and combine the inventions in this way because this particular arrangement can advantageously generate less heat than current collecting type elements that have uniform thicknesses, which is due to the terminal end being thicker and thus accommodating flow in a manner that generates less heat, according to Norwich [0009]. And the difference in thickness affords the assembly more space in the thinner direction, allowing it to accommodate a tab or other element as in done in Yang.
Regarding Claim 11, Yang and Norwich teach all the limitations of Claim 11, and Norwich further teaches wherein one side of the first, second and transitional connection portions are within the same plane, where the thickness of the second connection portion is less than the thickness of the transitional connection portion, and the thickness of the transitional connection portion is less than or equal to the first connection portion (FIGS. 1, 2). Since the current collector of the reference is analogous to the connection plate of the draw-out member of the instant application due to them being in the same field of endeavor (i.e. establishing a connection between the tab and terminal), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connection plates to take a similar structure to that of the reference. One would have been motivated to modify and combine the inventions in this way because this particular arrangement can advantageously generate less heat than current collecting type elements that have uniform thicknesses, which is due to the terminal end being thicker and thus accommodating flow in a manner that generates less heat, according to Norwich [0009].
Claims 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US20220416335A1) in further view of Chen et al. (US20220393315A1, cited on IDS, hereafter Chen).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but does not expressly teach a groove being disposed on one side of the second connection portion facing the electrode assembly, where the groove forms the accommodation space.
However, Chen teaches a groove (413, “recessed portion”) on a side of a second connection portion (41, called “first connecting portion”) [0129] where at least a portion of an insulator is accommodated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to change the orientation of the accommodating space in Chen because both the claimed invention and the reference provide an accommodation space that is able to serve the same purpose, which is to accommodate another element within the cover/battery apparatus, and the orientation of the recess likely has little effect on the operation of the device because both grooves exist on connection members that are present to establish a solid connection between the electrode tab and the electrode terminal. One would have been motivated to modify the cover assembly of Yang in this way because the groove (413) would be able to locate an apparatus member to facilitate its assembly as well as provide a space for said member to reduce the space occupied by the combination of this member and a current collecting member in a thickness direction, according to Chen [0130].
Regarding Claim 13, Yang in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of Claim 12, and Chen further teaches wherein the second connection portion has a protrusion (412) at a position corresponding to the groove (413) (FIGS. 10, 11), but Chen does not expressly teach the protrusion to be opposite to a groove that is facing the cover body.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the location of the protrusion because both the claimed invention and the reference provide an accommodation space that is able to serve the same purpose, which is to accommodate another element within the cover/battery apparatus, and the orientation of the recess likely has little effect on the operation of the device because both grooves exist on connection members that are present to establish a solid connection between the electrode tab and the electrode terminal. Further, the protrusion in the claimed invention and the instant application both serve the same purpose of establishing a solid electrical connection between the electrode tab and the electrode terminal. One would have been motivated to modify the inventions in this way because having this portion of the connection plate welded to the tab reduces the risk of pseudo soldering and increases the strength of connection between the connection plate and the tab portion, according to Chen [0126].
Regarding Claim 14, Yang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and Chen further teaches the number of second connection portions (41) is multiple (FIGS. 4, 10), and at least one of the plurality of the second connections portions is provided with the accommodation space (FIG. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electrode draw-out member to include multiple connection parts because it is well known in the art that having a plurality of limbs on a current collector is beneficial because it creates a uniform current, effects thermal mitigation/reduces hotspots and decreases energy resistance of battery cell by providing multiple, and likely shorter, electrical paths where electrons do not have to travel as far. It was also held that the duplication of parts is not patentable unless a new or unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). One would have been motivated to have at least one of these connection members to contain an accommodation space because the groove (413) would be able to locate an apparatus member to facilitate its assembly as well as provide a space for said member to reduce the space occupied by the combination of this member and a current collecting member in a thickness direction, according to Chen [0130].
Regarding Claim 16, Yang teaches a cover assembly according to Claim 1, and Chen further teaches a single cell (“battery cell”) that comprises a housing (“casing”) and a cover assembly (“end cover assembly”, 23), wherein the cover assembly is disposed to cover the housing and defines an accommodation space together with the cavity [0072]. The battery core is accommodated in the accommodation cavity, and the electrode assembly is connected to the battery core [0072]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery cell of Chen to include the end cover assembly of Yang. One would have been motivated to combine the inventions in this way because, according to Chen, any impurities that are attached to the electrode assembly can be reduced during assembly, thereby improving the safety performance of the battery cell (Abstract).
Conclusion
/M.D.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785