DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van et al. (US 2020/0336996) in view of Santhakumar et al. (US 2021/0273325), and further in view of Thomson et al. (US Patent #8,811,247).
Regarding claim 1, Van teaches an electronic device comprising:
a wireless communication circuit (Fig.1, item 192);
a processor configured to: provide, using the wireless communication circuit, a first signal in 5 GHz band or 6 GHz band to the first frontend circuit (See abstract; Paragraph 0007….. an electronic device is provided that includes a housing, a first antenna, a second antenna, a first wireless communication circuit electrically connected to the first antenna and configured to transmit and/or receive a first signal having a first frequency between 500 MHz and 6 GHz), and
provide, using the wireless communication circuit, a second signal in the 5 GHz band or the 6 GHz band to the second frontend circuit (Paragraph 0007…… a first wireless communication circuit electrically connected to the first antenna and configured to transmit and/or receive a first signal having a first frequency between 500 MHz and 6 GHz),
wherein the first signal is transmitted through the first antenna connected with the first frontend circuit (Paragraph 0007…… a first wireless communication circuit electrically connected to the first antenna and configured to transmit and/or receive a first signal having a first frequency between 500 MHz and 6 GHz), and
wherein the second signal is transmitted through at least one of the second antenna (Paragraph 0007…. The electronic device additionally includes a second wireless communication circuit electrically connected to the second antenna and configured to transmit and/or receive a second signal having a second frequency between 500 MHz and 6 GHz) or the third antenna, but does not specifically teach a first frontend circuit connected with the wireless communication circuit; a second frontend circuit connected with the wireless communication circuit; a first antenna connected with the first frontend circuit; a second antenna connected with the second frontend circuit; a third antenna connected with the second frontend circuit; and
while an operation mode of the second frontend circuit is set to a first operation mode of the first operation mode for transmitting a signal related to wireless local area network (LAN), and a second operation mode for transmitting a signal related to cellular communication and the first signal is provided to the first frontend circuit.
However, in related art, Santhakumar teaches a first frontend circuit connected with the wireless communication circuit; a second frontend circuit connected with the wireless communication circuit; a first antenna connected with the first frontend circuit; a second antenna connected with the second frontend circuit; a third antenna connected with the second frontend circuit (Paragraphs [0024-0025, 0028-0030, 0032-0034). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Santhakumar’s teaching about a first frontend circuit connected with the wireless communication circuit; a second frontend circuit connected with the wireless communication circuit; a first antenna connected with the first frontend circuit; a second antenna connected with the second frontend circuit; a third antenna connected with the second frontend circuit with Van’s invention in order to enable the use of wireless communication with optimal quality according to the user's purpose of use.
The combination of Van and Santhakumar fail to teach while an operation mode of the second frontend circuit is set to a first operation mode of the first operation mode for transmitting a signal related to wireless local area network (LAN), and a second operation mode for transmitting a signal related to cellular communication and the first signal is provided to the first frontend circuit.
However, in related art, Thomson teaches while an operation mode of the second frontend circuit is set to a first operation mode of the first operation mode for transmitting a signal related to wireless local area network (LAN), and a second operation mode for transmitting a signal related to cellular communication and the first signal is provided to the first frontend circuit (Claim 16…… A dual communication mode apparatus, comprising: a first wireless transceiver operable to communicate in a first communication mode with an associated cellular network; a second wireless transceiver operable to communicate in a second communication mode different than the first communication mode with an associated wireless local area network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Thomson’s teaching about while an operation mode of the second frontend circuit is set to a first operation mode of the first operation mode for transmitting a signal related to wireless local area network (LAN), and a second operation mode for transmitting a signal related to cellular communication and the first signal is provided to the first frontend circuit with Van’s and Santhakumar’s invention in order to optimize overall network performance.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van et al. (US 2020/0336996) in view of Santhakumar et al. (US 2021/0273325) in view of Thomson et al. (US Patent #8,811,247), and further in view of Jo et al. (US 2020/0328725).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Van, Santhakumar, and Thomson teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Van in paragraph [0069] teaches At the time of transmission, the first RFIC 522 may convert a baseband signal generated by the first CP 512 to a radio frequency (RF) signal of about 700 MHz to about 3 GHz used for the first cellular network 592, but does not specifically teach the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a third frontend circuit connected with the wireless communication circuit and the first antenna, wherein the processor is further configured to provide, using the wireless communication circuit, a third signal in 2.4 GHz band to the third frontend circuit, and wherein the third signal is transmitted through the first antenna.
However, in related art, Jo teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a third frontend circuit connected with the wireless communication circuit and the first antenna, wherein the processor is further configured to provide, using the wireless communication circuit, a third signal in 2.4 GHz band to the third frontend circuit, and wherein the third signal is transmitted through the first antenna (paragraph [0047]…. The mobile device 1 may perform a plurality of standard wireless communications tasks such as cellular (Long-Term Evolution (LTE)/Wideband Code Division Multiply Access (WCDMA)/Global System for Mobile (GSM)) communications, Wi-Fi communications of 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands, Bluetooth communications, and other similar wireless communications. The plurality of antennas ANT1 to ANT6 and the plurality of frontend modules FEM1 to FEM6, included in the mobile device, may support the plurality of standard wireless communications, such as those discussed above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Jo’s teaching about a third frontend circuit connected with the wireless communication circuit and the first antenna, wherein the processor is further configured to provide, using the wireless communication circuit, a third signal in 2.4 GHz band to the third frontend circuit, and wherein the third signal is transmitted through the first antenna with Van’s, Santhakumar’s, and Thomson’s invention in order to ensure that control was consistent throughout the system.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van et al. (US 2020/0336996) in view of Thomson et al. (US Patent #8,811,247).
Regarding claim 16, Van teaches a method of an electronic device comprising: providing, using a wireless communication circuit included in the electronic device, a first signal in 5 GHz band or 6 GHz band to a first frontend circuit included in the electronic device and connected with the wireless communication circuit (See abstract; Paragraph 0007….. an electronic device is provided that includes a housing, a first antenna, a second antenna, a first wireless communication circuit electrically connected to the first antenna and configured to transmit and/or receive a first signal having a first frequency between 500 MHz and 6 GHz), and
providing, using the wireless communication circuit, a second signal in the 5 GHz band or the 6 GHz band to the second frontend circuit (Paragraph 0007…… a first wireless communication circuit electrically connected to the first antenna and configured to transmit and/or receive a first signal having a first frequency between 500 MHz and 6 GHz),
wherein the first signal is transmitted through a first antenna included in the electronic device and connected with the first frontend circuit (Paragraph 0007…… a first wireless communication circuit electrically connected to the first antenna and configured to transmit and/or receive a first signal having a first frequency between 500 MHz and 6 GHz), and
wherein the second signal is transmitted through at least one of a second antenna or a third antenna which are included in the electronic device and connected with the second frontend circuit (Paragraph 0007…. The electronic device additionally includes a second wireless communication circuit electrically connected to the second antenna and configured to transmit and/or receive a second signal having a second frequency between 500 MHz and 6 GHz), but does not specifically teach while an operation mode of a second frontend circuit included in the electronic device and connected with the wireless communication circuit is set to a first operation mode of the first operation mode for transmitting a signal related to wireless local area network (LAN), and a second operation mode for transmitting a signal related to cellular communication and the first signal is provided to the first frontend circuit.
However, in related art, Thomson teaches while an operation mode of the second frontend circuit is set to a first operation mode of the first operation mode for transmitting a signal related to wireless local area network (LAN), and a second operation mode for transmitting a signal related to cellular communication and the first signal is provided to the first frontend circuit (Claim 16…… A dual communication mode apparatus, comprising: a first wireless transceiver operable to communicate in a first communication mode with an associated cellular network; a second wireless transceiver operable to communicate in a second communication mode different than the first communication mode with an associated wireless local area network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Thomson’s teaching about while an operation mode of the second frontend circuit is set to a first operation mode of the first operation mode for transmitting a signal related to wireless local area network (LAN), and a second operation mode for transmitting a signal related to cellular communication and the first signal is provided to the first frontend circuit with Van’s invention in order to optimize overall network performance.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van et al. (US 2020/0336996) in view of Thomson et al. (US Patent #8,811,247), and further in view of Jo et al. (US 2020/0328725).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Van and Thomson teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Van in paragraph [0069] teaches At the time of transmission, the first RFIC 522 may convert a baseband signal generated by the first CP 512 to a radio frequency (RF) signal of about 700 MHz to about 3 GHz used for the first cellular network 592, but does not specifically teach the method of claim 16, further comprising providing, using the wireless communication circuit, a third signal in 2.4 GHz band to a third frontend circuit, wherein the third signal is transmitted through the first antenna.
However, in related art, Jo teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising providing, using the wireless communication circuit, a third signal in 2.4 GHz band to a third frontend circuit, wherein the third signal is transmitted through the first antenna (paragraph [0047]…. The mobile device 1 may perform a plurality of standard wireless communications tasks such as cellular (Long-Term Evolution (LTE)/Wideband Code Division Multiply Access (WCDMA)/Global System for Mobile (GSM)) communications, Wi-Fi communications of 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands, Bluetooth communications, and other similar wireless communications. The plurality of antennas ANT1 to ANT6 and the plurality of frontend modules FEM1 to FEM6, included in the mobile device, may support the plurality of standard wireless communications, such as those discussed above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Jo’s teaching about providing, using the wireless communication circuit, a third signal in 2.4 GHz band to a third frontend circuit, wherein the third signal is transmitted through the first antenna with Van’s and Thomson’s invention in order to ensure that control was consistent throughout the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-15 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach the electronic device of claim 2, further comprising: a fourth frontend circuit connected with the wireless communication circuit; a fifth frontend circuit connected with the wireless communication circuit; a fourth antenna connected with the fourth frontend circuit; a fifth antenna connected with the fifth frontend circuit; and a sixth antenna connected with the fifth frontend circuit, wherein the processor is further configured to: provide, using the wireless communication circuit, a fourth signal in the 5 GHz band or the 6 GHz band to the fourth frontend circuit, and while an operation mode of the fifth frontend circuit is set to the first operation mode, provide, using the wireless communication circuit, a fifth signal in the 5 GHz band or the 6 GHz band to the fifth frontend circuit, wherein the fourth signal is transmitted through the fourth antenna connected with the fourth frontend circuit, and wherein the fifth signal is transmitted through at least one of the fifth antenna or the sixth antenna.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record fails to teach the method of claim 17, further comprising providing, using the wireless communication circuit, a fourth signal in the 5 GHz band or the 6 GHz band to a fourth frontend circuit which is included in the electronic device and connected with the wireless communication circuit, and while an operation mode of the fifth frontend circuit is set to the first operation mode, providing, using the wireless communication circuit, a fifth signal in the 5 GHz band or the 6 GHz band to a fifth frontend circuit included in the electronic device and connected with the wireless communication circuit, wherein the fourth signal is transmitted through a fourth antenna which is included in the electronic device and connected with the fourth frontend circuit, and wherein the fifth signal is transmitted through at least one of a fifth antenna or a sixth antenna which are included in the electronic device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sevindik et al. (US Patent #12,047,813), Golat et al. (US 2023/0269061), Ay (US 2023/0114899), Garrido Lopez et al. (US 2021/0399429), Peterson et al. (US 2021/0243072), Kim et al. (US 2021/0159926), Nagamori et al. (US 2020/0382149), Jo et al. (US 2020/0321698), Xiong (US 2020/0313701), Cetinoneri et al. (US 2020/0220256), Song et al. (US 2020/0082263), Rauenbuehler et al. (US 2019/0342449), Song et al. (US Patent #10,404,316), Jechoux et al. (US 2017/0111918), Bachl et al. (US 2017/0070375), Krishnamurthy (US 2016/0021660), Huotari et al. (US Patent #8,260,257), Karaoguz et al. (US 2011/0070921), and Segev et al. (US Patent #7,693,544).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132