DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 20, 2026. The traversal is on the grounds that the claims of the present invention have unity of invention and no serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions have materially different designs and different classifications therefore, there is a serious burden of search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morehead et al. (hereafter “Morehead”)(US 2005/0284206).
With regards to claim 10, Morehead discloses a tool holder assembly comprising:
a stationary portion (33) having a vertical side wall that partially defines a tool channel;
a movable portion (50) situated opposite the vertical side wall of the stationary portion;
an activation system (A) to which the movable portion is operatively linked, such that in response to activation of the system the movable portion is configured to move relative to the tool channel in a manner that results in locked engagement with tooling when loaded in the channel; and
at least two lighting arrangements [LED lights], a first of the lighting arrangements positioned to illuminate machining areas adjacent to the tool channel, a second of the lighting arrangements extending along a longitudinal extent of the stationary portion to signal statuses relative to one or more of current use of the movable portion and scheduled machining operations for the movable portion [paragraph 0099].
With regards to claim 15, Morehead discloses wherein the first and second lighting arrangements each comprises a lighting configuration involving a plurality of light sources, the plurality of light sources for each lighting arrangement configured for use in unison [paragraph 0099].
With regards to claim 16, Morehead discloses wherein the activation system is an electrical activation system [paragraph 0099].
With regards to claim 17, Morehead discloses further comprising a module for monitoring electrical parameters of the activation system, the module electrically connected to the second lighting arrangement to modify parameters of light projected from the second lighting arrangement based on the electrical parameters [paragraph 0099].
With regards to claim 18, Morehead discloses wherein the parameters of the light projected are one or more of color, intensity, and duration [paragraph 0099].
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sundquist et al. (hereafter “Sundquist”)(US 2019/0001387).
With regards to claim 19, Morehead discloses a press brake machine (500) comprising: an upper beam (243) and a lower beam; and a holder assembly (see connection of 202 to 243) mounted on an end of one of the upper beam; wherein the end of the one upper is formed to interface and mate with a mounting surface of the holder assembly, as seen in Figure 2 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morehead.
Morehead discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the first lighting arrangement is at least partially shielded so as to direct light from the first lighting arrangement toward a working surface; wherein the light from the first lighting arrangement projects a desired bend line on the working surface, wherein the light from the first lighting arrangement projects information on the working surface corresponding to machining job order and wherein the first lighting arrangement comprises a plurality of lighting configurations each positioned in different locations on the tool holder assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to position the lights in the locations as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundquist.
Sundquist discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the end of the one upper beam or lower beam is formed with a mounting bar sized to align with mounting channel defined in the holder assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to invert the bar and channel as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morehead in view of Sundquist.
Morehead discloses the holder assembly as claimed and described above. Morehead discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the holder assembly is mounted on an end of an upper beam or lower beam of a press brake assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, that Morehead’s holder assembly would be interfacing with lower and upper beams, as taught by Sundquist, since Sundquist teaches it’s commonly known that a press brake includes of upper and lower beams.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US 2020/0047301.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725