DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/10/2026 with respect to double patenting no longer being applicable in light of amended claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to amended claims being novel over the prior art of record have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejection has been withdrawn. However a new rejection is issued in light of Fedorov.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25, 26, 28-31, 34, 35, 46 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fedorov (US 2024/0374010).
As for claim 25, Fedorov shows a haircare appliance comprising; a hollow body (100, 112, fig. 4) comprising an air inlet (118, fig. 4) and an air outlet (122, fig. 4), an airflow generator for generating an airflow from the air inlet to the air outlet (200, fig. 6), a convex curved surface adjacent to and downstream of the air outlet (108, fig. 5), and a pair of guide walls for guiding the airflow along the convex curved surface, the pair of guide walls extending outwardly from the convex curved surface (see sketch below), wherein a first edge of the convex curved surface is attached to the hollow body adjacent to the air outlet, and wherein a second edge of the convex curved surface is a free edge such that the convex curved surface is cantilevered relative to the hollow body (108, fig. 5, illustrates cantilevered terminus of 108 with the side opposite is attached to the hollow body).
As for claim 26, Fedorov shows the pair of guide walls extend along substantially an entire length of the convex curved surface (see sketch above).
As for claim 28, Fedorov shows the pair of guide walls comprise a height substantially equal to a height of the air outlet in a region adjacent to the air outlet (see sketch above).
As for claim 29, Fedorov shows the pair of guide walls comprise a radius of curvature greater than a radius of curvature of the convex curved surface (see sketch above).
As for claim 30, Fedorov shows the pair of guide walls comprise a radius of curvature greater than a radius of curvature of the convex curved surface in a region adjacent to the air outlet (see sketch above).
As for claim 31, Fedorov shows the pair of guide walls comprise a height that varies along a length of the pair of guide walls (see sketch above).
As for claim 34, Fedorov shows the haircare appliance is configured such that the airflow exiting the air outlet generates a first force to attract hair toward the convex curved surface (abstract, Coanda effect), and a second force to push hair away from the convex curved surface (force of air in straight line through air outlet away from the convex curved surface).
As for claim 35, Fedorov shows the haircare appliance comprises a handle unit within which the airflow generator is housed, and an attachment releasably attachable to the handle unit, the attachment comprising the air outlet, the convex curved surface and the guide walls (claim 1, fig. 6, a hair dryer with a blower).
As for claim 46, Fedorov discloses an end wall arranged at an end of the convex curved surface remote from the air outlet (see above sketch).
As for claim 47, Fedorov discloses the end wall extends between the pair of guide walls (see above sketch).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-42 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fedorov in view of MacPherson (US 2019/0357654).
As for claim 36 Fedorov discloses an attachment for a haircare appliance comprising an air inlet, an air outlet for emitting airflow, a convex curved surface adjacent to and downstream of the air outlet, and a pair of guide walls for guiding the airflow along the convex curved surface, the pair of guide walls extending outwardly from the convex curved surface (see sketch above). Fedorov discloses the claimed invention except for the pair of guide walls and the convex curved surface are integrally formed as a single component. MacPherson teaches the pair of guide walls and the convex curved surface are integrally formed as a single component ([0023], 3D printing) in order to save manufacturing cost. Fedorov would benefit equally from saving manufacturing costs. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Fedorov with the pair of guide walls and the convex curved surface are integrally formed as a single component as taught by MacPherson in order to save manufacturing cost.
As for claim 37, Fedorov discloses the pair of guide walls extend along substantially an entire length of the convex curved surface (see sketch above).
As for claim 38, Fedorov discloses the pair of guide walls comprise a height substantially equal to a height of the air outlet (see sketch above).
As for claim 39, Fedorov discloses the pair of guide walls comprise a height substantially equal to a height of the air outlet in a region adjacent to the air outlet (see sketch above).
As for claim 40, Fedorov discloses the pair of guide walls comprise a radius of curvature greater than a radius of curvature of the convex curved surface (see sketch above).
As for claim 41, Fedorov discloses the pair of guide walls comprise a radius of curvature greater than a radius of curvature of the convex curved surface in a region adjacent to the air outlet (see sketch above).
As for claim 42, Fedorov discloses the pair of guide walls comprise a height that varies along a length of the pair of guide walls (see sketch above).
As for claim 45, Fedorov discloses the haircare appliance is configured such that the airflow exiting the air outlet generates a first force to attract hair toward the convex curved surface (abstract, Coanda effect), and a second force to push hair away from the convex curved surface (force of air in straight line through air outlet away from the convex curved surface).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 48 is allowed.
Claims 33 and 44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons of Condition for Allowance
Claims 33, 44 and 48 include allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose the pair of guide walls comprise a constant height with all of the limitations of independent claims 25, 45 and 48. Modifying Fedorov such that the pair of guide walls comprise a constant height would destroy the Fedorov reference by changing the pressure and velocity of air exiting the haircare appliance.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN P MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762