DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on 12/7/2023. Claims 40-59 are pending.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment submitted on 01/12/2024 is acknowledged and considered accordingly.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant on 12/07/2023 and 03/11/2025 have all been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 40-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240179692 A1 to Xiong et al., (hereinafter Xiong).
Claim 40. A method for wireless communication, comprising:
configuring, by a communication node (i.e., NodeB), a time domain resource assignment list (i.e., “time domain resource allocation (TDRA) list”) that indicates a number of single slot repetitions for a single slot repetition transmission and a number of slots allocated for transport block processing over multiple slots (i.e., TBoMS); (i.e., the TDRA can be configured for both a number of TBoMS and a number of single-slot PUSCH transmissions with repetitions)
(Xiong: See Fig. 14, #1405, and para[0142] for NodeB configuring UE with a configuration that includes shared “time domain resource allocation” list (TRDA ) associated with transport block over multiple slots (TBoMS). See para[0046]-[0047], Table-3, para[0051]-[0052], the “time domain resource assignment” list (TDRA) can be configured for both “transport block processing over multiple slots” (i.e., TBoMS), as well as single-slot PUSCH transmissions with or without repetitions. For TBoMS, number of slots for a single TBoMS transmission (N), and number of repetitions (M) are configured in each row. For single slot PUSCH transmission, a number of slots for a single slot PUSCH transmission is one or N=1, which may be configured in one or more rows of TDRA to indicate single-slot PUSCH transmission with or without repetitions)
transmitting a message based on the time domain resource assignment list.
(Xiong: See Fig. 13, #1310, NodeB sends a message that includes configuration information (i.e., TDRA). Also see Fig. 14 #1405, NodeB transmits a message to UE that includes TDRA list associated with TBoMS)
Claim 41. The method of claim 40, wherein the time domain resource assignment list (i.e., TDRA) includes a first column that includes a first value (i.e., N) to indicate the number of slots allocated for transport block processing over multiple slots (i.e., TBoMS), and
(Xiong: See Table-3, and para [0047]-[0054], the TDRA list/table configured for TBoMS, identifies number of slots for a single TBoMS transmission (N) (i.e. a first value that indicates the number of slots allocated for TB processing over multiple slots (TBoMS))
wherein the transport block processing over multiple slots (i.e., TBoMS) is enabled (i.e., UE is configured) in a case that the first value (i.e., the gap value) is larger than a first threshold value.
(Xiong: See para[0167]-[0168] TBoMS is determined by a gap, wherein if the gap is less than or equal to a threshold, UE assumes a single transmission occasion for TBoMS, however, if the gap is greater than a threshold, UE may segment the single transmission for TBoMS into multiple transmission occasions or repetitions)
Claim 42. The method of claim 40, wherein the number of single slot repetitions (i.e., single slot PUSCH transmissions) and the number of slots allocated for transport block processing over multiple slots (i.e., TBoMS) is not larger than 1, simultaneously within a same index. (i.e., same index identifies only one (1) single slot PUSCH transmission or only one (1) TBoMS)
(Xiong: See Table-3, and para [0047]-[0054], the TDRA list/table configured, that can have various number of rows of “single slot PUSCH transmissions” “Entry indexes”, as well as various rows of “TBoMS transmissions” “Entry indexes”, wherein each entry index identifies either 1 single-slot transmission or a TBoMS transmission and “the same index” (i.e., a same index) does not have or identify more than 1 transmission simultaneously.)
Claim 43. The method of claim 41, wherein the time domain resource assignment list (i.e, TDRS) includes a second column (i.e., second row) that includes a second value to indicate the number of single slot repetitions, and
(Xiong: See Table-3, and para [0047]-[0054], the TDRA list/table configured, that can have various number of rows of “single slot PUSCH transmissions” “Entry indexes”, as well as various rows of “TBoMS transmissions” “Entry indexes”, wherein each entry index identifies either 1 single-slot transmission or a TBoMS transmission.)
wherein the transport block processing over multiple slots is disabled (i.e., TBoMS is not performed) and the single slot repetition transmission is enabled (i.e., is performed) in a case that the second value is larger than a second threshold value.
(Xiong: See para[0167]-[0168] TBoMS (transport block over multiple slots) is determined by a gap, wherein if the gap is less than or equal to a threshold (i.e., first threshold), UE assumes a single transmission occasion (i.e., TBoMS is not performed), however, if the gap is greater than a threshold, UE may segment the single transmission for TBoMS into multiple transmission occasions or repetitions. See para[0070] UE omits TBoMS transmission (i.e., TBoMS is not performed) if a number of valid symbols is less than N symbols, wherein N is the number of symbols such that the effective channel code rate is not larger than a configured or specified threshold code rate (i.e., 2nd threshold).
Claim 44. The method of claim 41, wherein the time domain resource assignment list (i.e., TDRA) includes a second column (i.e., second row) that includes a second value to indicate the number of single slot repetitions, and
(Xiong: See Table-3, and para [0047]-[0054], the TDRA list/table configured, that can have various number of rows of “single slot PUSCH transmissions” “Entry indexes”, as well as various rows of “TBoMS transmissions” “Entry indexes”, wherein each entry index identifies either 1 single-slot transmission or a TBoMS transmission.)
wherein a repetition of the transport block processing over multiple slots is enabled (i.e., is performed) in a case that the first value and the second value are larger than the first threshold value and a second threshold value, respectively.
(Xiong: See para[0167]-[0168] TBoMS is determined by a gap, wherein if the gap is less than or equal to a threshold (i.e., first threshold), UE assumes a single transmission occasion for TBoMS, however, if the gap is greater than a threshold, UE may segment the single transmission for TBoMS into multiple transmission occasions or repetitions. See para[0070] UE omits TBoMS transmission if a number of valid symbols is less than N symbols, wherein N is the number of symbols such that the effective channel code rate is not larger than a configured or specified threshold code rate (i.e., 2nd threshold). If gap is larger than a threshold (i.e., first threshold), UE segment the single transmission into multiple transmission occasions or repetition (i.e., TBoMS) wherein for TBoMS transmission to occur, the effective code rate should be greater than a threshold code rate (i.e., 2nd threshold) otherwise UE omits TBoMS transmissions.)
Claim 45. The method of claim 40, wherein a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control element (MAC-CE) is used to indicate whether the transport block processing over multiple slots or the single slot repetition transmission or the repetition of transport block processing over multiple slots is enabled.
(Xiong: See para[0054] one bit in DCI can be used to indicate whether TBoMS or single-slot PUSCH transmission is scheduled (i.e., enabled). See para[0152] TBoMS can be configured via RRC signaling per DCI format.)
Claim 46. The method of claim 40, wherein a bit field in downlink control information (DCI) is used to indicate whether the transport block processing over multiple slots or the single slot repetition transmission or the repetition of transport block processing over multiple slots is enabled.
(Xiong: See para[0054] one bit in DCI can be used to indicate whether TBoMS or single-slot PUSCH transmission is scheduled (i.e., enabled/to be performed)).
Claim 47. The method of claim 40, wherein the time domain resource assignment list includes a second column that includes a second value to indicate the number of single slot repetitions, and wherein the second value further indicates as the number of slots allocated for transport block processing over multiple slots.
(Xiong: See Table-3, and para [0047]-[0054], the TDRA list/table configured, can have various number of “single slot PUSCH transmissions” Entry indexes, and various “TBoMS transmissions” “Entry indexes”, wherein each entry index identifies only 1 single-slot transmission/TBoMS transmission and resources.)
Claim 48. The method of claim 40, wherein the time domain resource assignment list (i.e., TDRA list/table) includes a second column (i.e., second row) that includes a multi-bit value (i.e., M) to indicate whether the second column indicates:
the number of single slot repetitions; the number of slots allocated for transport block processing over multiple slots; or both the number of slots allocated for transport block processing over multiple slots and repetitions.
(Xiong: See Table-3, Fig. 13, #1305, Fig. 14, #1405, and para [0047]-[0054], NodeB configures a configuration information for UE that includes time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table/list configured for both TBoMS and single-slot PUSCH transmission with repetitions. The TDRA configured for TBoMS, identifies number of slots for a single TBoMS transmission (N), number of repetitions (M) (i.e., multi-bit value), K2, SLIVE, and mapping type (type A / type B), in each row of the TDRA table/list)
Claim 49. A method for wireless communication, comprising:
configuring, by a communication node (i.e., NodeB), a time domain pattern (i.e., the “time domain resource allocation (TDRA) list”) for transport block processing over multiple slots (i.e., for TBoMS), wherein the time domain pattern (i.e., the TDRA) for transport block processing over multiple slots (TBoMS) is based on a TBoMS transmission occasion (i.e., based on single/multiple transmission occasions of TBoMS), and wherein a structure of TBoMS transmission occasion includes one slot or multiple consecutive physical slots. (i.e., the TDRA can be configured for both a number of TBoMS and a number of single-slot PUSCH transmissions with or without repetitions)
(Xiong: See Fig. 14, #1405, and para[0142] for NodeB configuring UE with a configuration that includes shared “time domain resource allocation” list (TRDA ) associated with transport block over multiple slots (TBoMS). See Fig. 7 and Fig. Fig. 8, for single/multiple transmission occasions of TBoMS. See para[0046]-[0047], Table-3, para[0051]-[0052], the “time domain resource assignment” list (TDRA) can be configured for both “transport block processing over multiple slots” (i.e., TBoMS), as well as single-slot PUSCH transmissions with or without repetitions. For TBoMS, number of slots for a single TBoMS transmission (N), and number of repetitions (M) are configured in each row. For single slot PUSCH transmission, a number of slots for a single slot PUSCH transmission is one or N=1, which may be configured in one or more rows of TDRA to indicate single-slot PUSCH transmission with or without repetitions)
Claim 50. The method of claim 49, wherein the communication node transmits an indication for a length of the transmission occasion for transport block processing over multiple slots, to a wireless device, (Xiong: See Fig. 14 #, and para[0144] UE transmits the TBoMS based on configuration information received) using a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a medium access control element (MAC-CE), or downlink control information (DCI). (Xiong: See para[0054] one bit in DCI can be used to indicate whether TBoMS or single-slot PUSCH transmission is scheduled (i.e., enabled) for UE. See para[0152] TBoMS can be configured via RRC signaling per DCI format.)
Claim 51. The method of claim 49, wherein each of the TBoMS transmission occasions has an identical length within a transmission based on the transport block processing over multiple slots.
(Xiong: See Fig. 1, several TBoMS transmission occasions have identical length over multiple slots)
Claim 52. The method of claim 49, wherein at least one of the transmission occasions has different length from other transmission occasions within a transmission based on the transport block processing over multiple slots.
(Xiong: See Fig. 5, for one TBoMS transmission occasion that has a different length than another TBoMS, over multiple slots)
Claim 53. The method of claim 49, wherein a length of the TBoMS transmission occasion within a transport block processing over a multiple-slot transmission is identical to a length of a first TBoMS transmission occasion.
(Xiong: See Fig. 1, for several Transport Block over Multi-Slot (TBoMS) transmission occasions, each having identical length over multiple slots)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 54, and 57-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240179692 A1 to Xiong et al., (hereinafter Xiong) in view of US 20250097908 A1 to Yamamoto et al., (hereinafter Yamamoto).
Claim 54. A method for wireless communication, comprising:
determining, by a communication node, (i.e., NodeB) one or more redundancy versions (i.e., RVs applied) for transmission occasions for transport block processing over multiple slots (i.e., for TBoMS); and
(Xiong: See Table-3, Fig. 13, #1305, Fig. 14, #1405, and para [0047]-[0054], NodeB configures a configuration information for UE that includes time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table/list configured for both TBoMS and single-slot PUSCH transmission with repetitions. See para[0078], same or different Redundancy Versions (RVs) is applied for each transmission occasion of TBoMS)
Xiong does not explicitly disclose that NodeB performing TBoMS reception processing based on one or more sequence of RVs, as understood by:
performing the transport block processing over multiple slots (i.e., TBoMS) based on a cycling sequence of the one or more redundancy versions. (i.e., based on RV being either RV=0, RV=1, RV=2, RV=3)
However, in a similar field, Yamamoto, in para[0168] teaches the base station may determined the RV position in each slot in TBoMS, and perform reception processing of a signal transmitted by TBoMS from a terminal based on the determined RV position. See para[0078] for RV position (RV cycling) can be any one of RV=0, RV=2, RV=3, or RV=1) (Yamamoto: See para[0168] and [0078])
Xiong teaches Time-Domain resource allocation for transport block over multiple slots transmissions, wherein NodeB configures a configuration for UE that includes time domain resource allocations for TBoMS transmissions. (Xiong: See para[0047]-[0054])
Yamamoto teaches base station as being able to perform processing reception of TBoMS transmissions from terminal based on determined RV position in each slot of TBoMS. (Yamamoto: See para[0168])
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included, reception processing by a base station, as taught by Yamamoto, with the teachings of Xiong, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can determined the RV position in each slot in TBoMS, and perform reception processing of a signal transmitted by TBoMS from terminal based on the determined RV. (Yamamoto: See para[0168])
Claim 57. The method of claim 54, further comprising, in a case that the transmission occasions for transport block processing over multiple slots collide with another transmission, performing a coding bits mapping. (Yamamoto: See para[0067]-[0073] if resources of TBoMS collides with transmission resources of PUCCH, the terminal performs rate-matching (i.e., coding bits mapping))
Xiong teaches Time-Domain resource allocation for transport block over multiple slots transmissions, wherein NodeB configures a configuration for UE that includes time domain resource allocations for TBoMS transmissions. (Xiong: See para[0047]-[0054])
Yamamoto teaches base station as being able to perform processing reception of TBoMS transmissions from terminal based on determined RV position in each slot of TBoMS. (Yamamoto: See para[0168])
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included, reception processing by a base station, as taught by Yamamoto, with the teachings of Xiong, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can determined the RV position in each slot in TBoMS, and perform reception processing of a signal transmitted by TBoMS from terminal based on the determined RV. (Yamamoto: See para[0168])
Claim 58. The method of claim 57, wherein, in a case collision information is transmitted to a wireless device before the transmission of TBoMS and satisfy a timeline, performing a re-rate matching. (Yamamoto: See para[0067]-[0073] if resources of TBoMS collides with transmission resources of PUCCH, the terminal performs rate-matching (i.e., re-rate matching))
Xiong teaches Time-Domain resource allocation for transport block over multiple slots transmissions, wherein NodeB configures a configuration for UE that includes time domain resource allocations for TBoMS transmissions. (Xiong: See para[0047]-[0054])
Yamamoto teaches base station as being able to perform processing reception of TBoMS transmissions from terminal based on determined RV position in each slot of TBoMS. (Yamamoto: See para[0168])
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included, reception processing by a base station, as taught by Yamamoto, with the teachings of Xiong, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can determined the RV position in each slot in TBoMS, and perform reception processing of a signal transmitted by TBoMS from terminal based on the determined RV. (Yamamoto: See para[0168])
Claim 59. The method of claim 57, wherein, in a case collision information is transmitted (i.e., PUCCH via which UCI is transmitted) to a wireless device during the transmission of transport block processing over multiple slots (i.e., during time-domain resource for TBoMS), consecutively mapping coded bits to physical resources (i.e., transmit UCI with a later physical resource for TBoMS).
(Yamamoto: see para[0073] in case a time-domain resource for the TBoMS transmission collides with a transmission resource for an Uplink Control Channel (e.g., PUCCH) via which UCI is transmitted, the terminal may transmit UCI by multiplexing it with a later slot for TBoMS.)
Xiong teaches Time-Domain resource allocation for transport block over multiple slots transmissions, wherein NodeB configures a configuration for UE that includes time domain resource allocations for TBoMS transmissions. (Xiong: See para[0047]-[0054])
Yamamoto teaches base station as being able to perform processing reception of TBoMS transmissions from terminal based on determined RV position in each slot of TBoMS. (Yamamoto: See para[0168])
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included, reception processing by a base station, as taught by Yamamoto, with the teachings of Xiong, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a base station that can determined the RV position in each slot in TBoMS, and perform reception processing of a signal transmitted by TBoMS from terminal based on the determined RV. (Yamamoto: See para[0168])
Claims 55 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240179692 A1 to Xiong et al., (hereinafter Xiong) in view of US 20250097908 A1 to Yamamoto et al., (hereinafter Yamamoto) and in further view of US 20200021403 A1 to Zheng et al., (hereinafter Zheng).
Claim 55. Xiong in view of Yamamoto teaches the method of claim 54 and data transmissions using TBoMS, wherein a same or different redundancy versions (RV) can be applied for the transmission of TBoMS (Xiong: See para[0168]) wherein wherein the redundancy versions for a transport block processing over multiple slots (TBoMS) transmission occasion are redundancy version (RV) 0 (Yamamoto: see para[0078]), and wherein a transmission occasion has a longest time domain length (Xiong: see Fig. 5 for one transmission occasion being longest compared to the other), however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose that when the coding rate is greater than a threshold, then the redundancy version (RV) is to be cycled between different RVs for data transmissions, as understood by:
further comprising, in a case that a code rate is higher than a threshold value, changing the cycling sequence of the one or more redundancy versions, and
However, in a similar field, Zheng in para[0104] and para[0147] teaches that when a code rate used for data transmission, is greater than a threshold, then the first device repeatedly transmits the data, wherein the redundancy version, corresponding to such data transmissions by the first device, may be cycled of an order of RV 0, RV 2, RV 3, and RV1. (Zheng: See para[0104] and [0147])
Xiong teaches Time-Domain resource allocation for transport block over multiple slots transmissions, wherein NodeB configures a configuration for UE that includes time domain resource allocations for TBoMS transmissions. (Xiong: See para[0047]-[0054])
Yamamoto teaches base station as being able to perform processing reception of TBoMS transmissions from terminal based on determined RV position in each slot of TBoMS. (Yamamoto: See para[0168])
Zheng teaches when a code rate used for data transmission, is greater than a threshold, then the first device repeatedly transmits the data, wherein the redundancy version, corresponding to such data transmissions by the first device, may be cycled of an order of RV 0, RV 2, RV 3, and RV1. (Zheng: See para[0104] and [0147])
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included, certain code rate techniques, as taught by Zheng, with the teachings of Xiong in view of Yamamoto, in order to benefit from the enhancement of having a device that can repeatedly transmit data, and being able to cycle redundancy version (RV) for such repeated transmission between RV 0, RV 2, RV 3, and RV1 accordingly. (Zheng: See para[0104] and [0147])
Claim 56. Xiong in view of Yamamoto teaches the method of claim 54 and data transmissions using TBoMS, wherein a same or different redundancy versions (RV) can be applied for the transmission of TBoMS (Xiong: See para[0168]) wherein a set of transmission occasions for TBoMS (TOTs) includes all the TOTs between a first TOT and a TOT that has a longest time domain length (Xiong: see Fig. 6 transmission occasions between the TBoMS transmission 0, and TBoMS transmission 1, having longest time domain length) however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose that when the coding rate is greater than a threshold, then the redundancy version (RV) is to be cycled between different RVs for data transmissions, as understood by:
further comprising, in a case that a code rate is higher than a threshold value, changing the cycling sequence of the one or more redundancy versions, wherein the redundancy versions for a set of TBoMS transmission occasions are RV 0, and
However, in a similar field, Zheng in para[0104] and para[0147] teaches that when a code rate used for data transmission, is greater than a threshold, then the first device repeatedly transmits the data, and wherein the redundancy version, corresponding to such data transmissions by the first device, may be cycled of an order of RV 0, RV 2, RV 3, and RV1. (Zheng: See para[0104] and [0147])
Xiong teaches Time-Domain resource allocation for transport block over multiple slots transmissions, wherein NodeB configures a configuration for UE that includes time domain resource allocations for TBoMS transmissions. (Xiong: See para[0047]-[0054])
Yamamoto teaches base station as being able to perform processing reception of TBoMS transmissions from terminal based on determined RV position in each slot of TBoMS. (Yamamoto: See para[0168])
Zheng teaches when a code rate used for data transmission, is greater than a threshold, then the first device repeatedly transmits the data, wherein the redundancy version, corresponding to such data transmissions by the first device, may be cycled of an order of RV 0, RV 2, RV 3, and RV1. (Zheng: See para[0104] and [0147])
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included, certain code rate techniques, as taught by Zheng, with the teachings of Xiong in view of Yamamoto, in order to benefit from the enhancement of having a device that can repeatedly transmit data, and being able to cycle redundancy version (RV) for such repeated transmission between RV 0, RV 2, RV 3, and RV1 accordingly. (Zheng: See para[0104] and [0147])
Conclusion
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag G. Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477