DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 regarding the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, particularly in view of Li (US 2024/0154762) have been fully considered but they are moot because they do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claims 14, 21, 32, 36, 39, 41, 44, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2024/0154762) in view of Matsumura et al (US 2025/0294636).
Regarding Claim 14, Li teaches a method of wireless communication (Fig. 2), comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information ([0042-0043], Fig. 2, step S11, TCI state configuration information is obtained, The TCI state configuration information includes cell type indication information. The cell type indication information indicates a cell type corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information, and the cell type includes a serving cell or a neighboring cell) including at least one reference signal identity (RS ID) ([0036-0037], The TCI state is configured to indicate a spatial relation, such as a QCL (Quasi co-location, or Quasi co-located) relation between a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or another channel or a reference signal and a reference signal indicated by the TCI state, In a TCI state configuration of the serving cell, the TCI state includes a serving cell index and a reference signal ID (RS ID). The serving cell index indicates indexes of multiple serving cells of the terminal, such as, an index corresponding to a Primary Cell (PCell) may be #0, and indexes corresponding to other Secondary Cells (SCells) may be #1, #2 . . . , and so on. Each index corresponds to a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell); and
determining, by the wireless device, a reference signal (RS) ([0044], Fig. 2, At step S12, a cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information is determined based on the TCI state configuration information) that corresponds to the at least one RS ID in the TCI state information and is in a cell based on an additional physical cell identity (PCI) in the TCI state information and a determined serving cell ([0057-0059], the TCI state configuration information may include a TCI state ID, a serving cell index, a RS ID, and a flag bit for distinguishing the serving cell from the neighboring cell. In other words, in the method for configuring a TCI state provided by the embodiment of the disclosure, the TCI state configuration information may be a flag bit for distinguishing the serving cell from the neighboring cell added on the basis of the TCI state configuration information for performing beam configuration for the serving cell alone in the conventional technology, the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, the neighboring cell PCI (i.e., the PCI of the neighboring cell) is determined based on the serving cell index, and the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information can be further determined),
wherein the cell is associated with a component carrier (CC) or a bandwidth part (BWP) ([0069-0070], the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, and there is a correspondence between the serving cell index and a component carrier (CC). the neighboring cell PCI corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information is determined based on the correspondence between the serving cell index and the CC. The cell identified by the neighboring cell PCI is determined as the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information),
wherein the additional PCI is used to indicate an additional PCI different from a serving cell PCI ([0059], the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, the neighboring cell PCI (i.e., the PCI of the neighboring cell) is determined based on the serving cell index, and the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information can be further determined),
wherein the TCI state information comprises the additional PCI of the determined serving cell ([0037], In a TCI state configuration of the serving cell, the TCI state includes a serving cell index and a reference signal ID (RS ID). The serving cell index indicates indexes of multiple serving cells of the terminal, such as, an index corresponding to a Primary Cell (PCell) may be #0, and indexes corresponding to other Secondary Cells (SCells) may be #1, #2 . . . , and so on. Each index corresponds to a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell. The correspondence between a PCI of the PCell and the index #0 is fixed. For other SCells, the correspondence between the index of the SCell and the PCI is given when configuring the SCell).
Li fails to teach wherein the additional PCI indicates a PCI of a source RS included in quasi-colocation (QCL) information, wherein the determined serving cell is identified based on at least one of:a cell field in the QCL information related to the RS in the TCI state information, in a case the cell field is present; or a serving cell where the TCI state information applies, in a case the cell field is absent.
In the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches wherein the additional PCI indicates a PCI of a source RS included in quasi-colocation (QCL) information, wherein the determined serving cell is identified based on at least one of: a cell field in the QCL information related to the RS in the TCI state information, in a case the cell field is present; or a serving cell where the TCI state information applies, in a case the cell field is absent ([0183], (1) qcl-InfoPeriodicCSI-RS contains a reference to a TCI state indicating QCL source RS(s) and QCL type. In a case where the TCI state is configured with a reference to an RS configured with a QCL type of type D association, that RS may be an SS/PBCH block located in the same or different CC/DL BWP or a CSI-RS resource configured as periodic located in the same or different CC/DL BWP. The reference RS may be additionally an SS/PBCH block associated with a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell, [0169], As shown in FIG. 11, the additional PCI is associated with an activated TCI state corresponding to a PDSCH/PDCCH (an SSB as a QCL source RS). One PCI is associated with an activated TCI state corresponding to one coresetPoolIndex, [0170] As shown in FIG. 11, the PCI of the serving cell is always associated with an activated TCI state, and the additional PCI (the SSB corresponding to the additional PCI) is associated with only one active TCI state. The PDCCH/PDSCH corresponding to the serving cell may be rate matched around an SSB associated with the PCI of the serving cell. The PDCCH/PDSCH corresponding to the additional PCI may be rate matched around an SSB associated with the additional PCI).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indicating a QCL source RS as an additional PCI associated with an activated TCI state, as taught in Matsumura, in the system of Li, in order to enhance the clarity of TCI state indication and prevent degradation in communication quality. (See Matsumura [0006])
Regarding Claim 21, Li teaches an apparatus for wireless communication comprising at least one processor that is configured to carry out a method ([0034-0035], Fig. 2), comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information ([0042-0043], Fig. 2, step S11, TCI state configuration information is obtained, The TCI state configuration information includes cell type indication information. The cell type indication information indicates a cell type corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information, and the cell type includes a serving cell or a neighboring cell) including at least one reference signal identity (RS ID) ([0036-0037], The TCI state is configured to indicate a spatial relation, such as a QCL (Quasi co-location, or Quasi co-located) relation between a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or another channel or a reference signal and a reference signal indicated by the TCI state, In a TCI state configuration of the serving cell, the TCI state includes a serving cell index and a reference signal ID (RS ID). The serving cell index indicates indexes of multiple serving cells of the terminal, such as, an index corresponding to a Primary Cell (PCell) may be #0, and indexes corresponding to other Secondary Cells (SCells) may be #1, #2 . . . , and so on. Each index corresponds to a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell); and
determining, by the wireless device, a reference signal (RS) ([0044], Fig. 2, At step S12, a cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information is determined based on the TCI state configuration information) that corresponds to the at least one RS ID in the TCI state information and is in a cell based on an additional physical cell identity (PCI) in the TCI state information and a determined serving cell ([0057-0059], the TCI state configuration information may include a TCI state ID, a serving cell index, a RS ID, and a flag bit for distinguishing the serving cell from the neighboring cell. In other words, in the method for configuring a TCI state provided by the embodiment of the disclosure, the TCI state configuration information may be a flag bit for distinguishing the serving cell from the neighboring cell added on the basis of the TCI state configuration information for performing beam configuration for the serving cell alone in the conventional technology, the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, the neighboring cell PCI (i.e., the PCI of the neighboring cell) is determined based on the serving cell index, and the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information can be further determined).
wherein the cell is associated with a component carrier (CC) or a bandwidth part (BWP) ([0069-0070], the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, and there is a correspondence between the serving cell index and a component carrier (CC). the neighboring cell PCI corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information is determined based on the correspondence between the serving cell index and the CC. The cell identified by the neighboring cell PCI is determined as the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information),
wherein the additional PCI is used to indicate an additional PCI different from a serving cell PCI ([0059], the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, the neighboring cell PCI (i.e., the PCI of the neighboring cell) is determined based on the serving cell index, and the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information can be further determined),
wherein the TCI state information comprises the additional PCI of the determined serving cell ([0037], In a TCI state configuration of the serving cell, the TCI state includes a serving cell index and a reference signal ID (RS ID). The serving cell index indicates indexes of multiple serving cells of the terminal, such as, an index corresponding to a Primary Cell (PCell) may be #0, and indexes corresponding to other Secondary Cells (SCells) may be #1, #2 . . . , and so on. Each index corresponds to a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell. The correspondence between a PCI of the PCell and the index #0 is fixed. For other SCells, the correspondence between the index of the SCell and the PCI is given when configuring the SCell).
Li fails to teach wherein the additional PCI indicates a PCI of a source RS included in quasi-colocation (QCL) information, wherein the determined serving cell is identified based on at least one of:a cell field in the QCL information related to the RS in the TCI state information, in a case the cell field is present; or a serving cell where the TCI state information applies, in a case the cell field is absent.
In the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches wherein the additional PCI indicates a PCI of a source RS included in quasi-colocation (QCL) information, wherein the determined serving cell is identified based on at least one of: a cell field in the QCL information related to the RS in the TCI state information, in a case the cell field is present; or a serving cell where the TCI state information applies, in a case the cell field is absent ([0183], (1) qcl-InfoPeriodicCSI-RS contains a reference to a TCI state indicating QCL source RS(s) and QCL type. In a case where the TCI state is configured with a reference to an RS configured with a QCL type of type D association, that RS may be an SS/PBCH block located in the same or different CC/DL BWP or a CSI-RS resource configured as periodic located in the same or different CC/DL BWP. The reference RS may be additionally an SS/PBCH block associated with a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell, [0169], As shown in FIG. 11, the additional PCI is associated with an activated TCI state corresponding to a PDSCH/PDCCH (an SSB as a QCL source RS). One PCI is associated with an activated TCI state corresponding to one coresetPoolIndex, [0170] As shown in FIG. 11, the PCI of the serving cell is always associated with an activated TCI state, and the additional PCI (the SSB corresponding to the additional PCI) is associated with only one active TCI state. The PDCCH/PDSCH corresponding to the serving cell may be rate matched around an SSB associated with the PCI of the serving cell. The PDCCH/PDSCH corresponding to the additional PCI may be rate matched around an SSB associated with the additional PCI).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indicating a QCL source RS as an additional PCI associated with an activated TCI state, as taught in Matsumura, in the system of Li, in order to enhance the clarity of TCI state indication and prevent degradation in communication quality. (See Matsumura [0006])
Regarding Claim 32, Li, modified by Matsumura, teaches the apparatus of claim 21, Matsumura further teaches wherein the RS comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) ([0046], The RS to have a QCL relation with the channel may be, for example, at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a reference signal for measurement (Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)), a CSI-RS for tracking (also referred to as a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS)), and a reference signal for QCL detection (also referred to as a QRS)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indicating a QCL source RS as an additional PCI associated with an activated TCI state, as taught in Matsumura, in the system of Li, in order to enhance the clarity of TCI state indication and prevent degradation in communication quality. (See Matsumura [0006])
Regarding Claim 36, Li, modified by Matsumura, teaches the method of claim 14, Matsumura further teaches wherein the RS comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) ([0046], The RS to have a QCL relation with the channel may be, for example, at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a reference signal for measurement (Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)), a CSI-RS for tracking (also referred to as a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS)), and a reference signal for QCL detection (also referred to as a QRS)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indicating a QCL source RS as an additional PCI associated with an activated TCI state, as taught in Matsumura, in the system of Li, in order to enhance the clarity of TCI state indication and prevent degradation in communication quality. (See Matsumura [0006])
Regarding Claim 39, Li teaches a method of wireless communication (Fig. 2), comprising: transmitting, by a network node, to a wireless device, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information ([0042-0043], Fig. 2, step S11, TCI state configuration information is obtained, The TCI state configuration information includes cell type indication information. The cell type indication information indicates a cell type corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information, and the cell type includes a serving cell or a neighboring cell) including at least one reference signal identity (RS ID) ([0036-0037], The TCI state is configured to indicate a spatial relation, such as a QCL (Quasi co-location, or Quasi co-located) relation between a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or another channel or a reference signal and a reference signal indicated by the TCI state, In a TCI state configuration of the serving cell, the TCI state includes a serving cell index and a reference signal ID (RS ID). The serving cell index indicates indexes of multiple serving cells of the terminal, such as, an index corresponding to a Primary Cell (PCell) may be #0, and indexes corresponding to other Secondary Cells (SCells) may be #1, #2 . . . , and so on. Each index corresponds to a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell) for the wireless device to determine a reference signal (RS) ([0044], Fig. 2, At step S12, a cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information is determined based on the TCI state configuration information) that corresponds to the at least one RS ID in the TCI state information and is in a cell based on an additional physical cell identity (PCI) in the TCI state information ([0057-0059], the TCI state configuration information may include a TCI state ID, a serving cell index, a RS ID, and a flag bit for distinguishing the serving cell from the neighboring cell. In other words, in the method for configuring a TCI state provided by the embodiment of the disclosure, the TCI state configuration information may be a flag bit for distinguishing the serving cell from the neighboring cell added on the basis of the TCI state configuration information for performing beam configuration for the serving cell alone in the conventional technology, the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, the neighboring cell PCI (i.e., the PCI of the neighboring cell) is determined based on the serving cell index, and the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information can be further determined),
wherein the cell is associated with a component carrier (CC) or a bandwidth part (BWP) ([0069-0070], the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, and there is a correspondence between the serving cell index and a component carrier (CC). the neighboring cell PCI corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information is determined based on the correspondence between the serving cell index and the CC. The cell identified by the neighboring cell PCI is determined as the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information),
wherein the additional PCI is used to indicate an additional PCI different from a serving cell PCI ([0059], the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, the neighboring cell PCI (i.e., the PCI of the neighboring cell) is determined based on the serving cell index, and the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information can be further determined),
wherein the TCI state information comprises the additional PCI of a determined serving cell ([0037], In a TCI state configuration of the serving cell, the TCI state includes a serving cell index and a reference signal ID (RS ID). The serving cell index indicates indexes of multiple serving cells of the terminal, such as, an index corresponding to a Primary Cell (PCell) may be #0, and indexes corresponding to other Secondary Cells (SCells) may be #1, #2 . . . , and so on. Each index corresponds to a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell. The correspondence between a PCI of the PCell and the index #0 is fixed. For other SCells, the correspondence between the index of the SCell and the PCI is given when configuring the SCell).
Li fails to teach wherein the additional PCI indicates a PCI of a source RS included in quasi-colocation (QCL) information, wherein the determined serving cell is identified based on at least one of:a cell field in the QCL information related to the RS in the TCI state information, in a case the cell field is present; or a serving cell where the TCI state information applies, in a case the cell field is absent.
In the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches wherein the additional PCI indicates a PCI of a source RS included in quasi-colocation (QCL) information, wherein the determined serving cell is identified based on at least one of: a cell field in the QCL information related to the RS in the TCI state information, in a case the cell field is present; or a serving cell where the TCI state information applies, in a case the cell field is absent ([0183], (1) qcl-InfoPeriodicCSI-RS contains a reference to a TCI state indicating QCL source RS(s) and QCL type. In a case where the TCI state is configured with a reference to an RS configured with a QCL type of type D association, that RS may be an SS/PBCH block located in the same or different CC/DL BWP or a CSI-RS resource configured as periodic located in the same or different CC/DL BWP. The reference RS may be additionally an SS/PBCH block associated with a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell, [0169], As shown in FIG. 11, the additional PCI is associated with an activated TCI state corresponding to a PDSCH/PDCCH (an SSB as a QCL source RS). One PCI is associated with an activated TCI state corresponding to one coresetPoolIndex, [0170] As shown in FIG. 11, the PCI of the serving cell is always associated with an activated TCI state, and the additional PCI (the SSB corresponding to the additional PCI) is associated with only one active TCI state. The PDCCH/PDSCH corresponding to the serving cell may be rate matched around an SSB associated with the PCI of the serving cell. The PDCCH/PDSCH corresponding to the additional PCI may be rate matched around an SSB associated with the additional PCI).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indicating a QCL source RS as an additional PCI associated with an activated TCI state, as taught in Matsumura, in the system of Li, in order to enhance the clarity of TCI state indication and prevent degradation in communication quality. (See Matsumura [0006])
Regarding Claim 41, Li, modified by Matsumura, teaches the method of claim 39, Matsumura further teaches wherein the RS comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) ([0046], The RS to have a QCL relation with the channel may be, for example, at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a reference signal for measurement (Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)), a CSI-RS for tracking (also referred to as a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS)), and a reference signal for QCL detection (also referred to as a QRS)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indicating a QCL source RS as an additional PCI associated with an activated TCI state, as taught in Matsumura, in the system of Li, in order to enhance the clarity of TCI state indication and prevent degradation in communication quality. (See Matsumura [0006])
Regarding Claim 44, Li teaches an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor that is configured to carry out a method ([0034-0035], Fig. 2), comprising: transmitting, by a network node, to a wireless device, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information ([0042-0043], Fig. 2, step S11, TCI state configuration information is obtained, The TCI state configuration information includes cell type indication information. The cell type indication information indicates a cell type corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information, and the cell type includes a serving cell or a neighboring cell) including at least one reference signal identity (RS ID) ([0036-0037], The TCI state is configured to indicate a spatial relation, such as a QCL (Quasi co-location, or Quasi co-located) relation between a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or another channel or a reference signal and a reference signal indicated by the TCI state, In a TCI state configuration of the serving cell, the TCI state includes a serving cell index and a reference signal ID (RS ID). The serving cell index indicates indexes of multiple serving cells of the terminal, such as, an index corresponding to a Primary Cell (PCell) may be #0, and indexes corresponding to other Secondary Cells (SCells) may be #1, #2 . . . , and so on. Each index corresponds to a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell) for the wireless device to determine a reference signal (RS) ([0044], Fig. 2, At step S12, a cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information is determined based on the TCI state configuration information) that corresponds to the at least one RS ID in the TCI state information and is in a cell based on an additional physical cell identity (PCI) in the TCI state information ([0057-0059], the TCI state configuration information may include a TCI state ID, a serving cell index, a RS ID, and a flag bit for distinguishing the serving cell from the neighboring cell. In other words, in the method for configuring a TCI state provided by the embodiment of the disclosure, the TCI state configuration information may be a flag bit for distinguishing the serving cell from the neighboring cell added on the basis of the TCI state configuration information for performing beam configuration for the serving cell alone in the conventional technology, the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, the neighboring cell PCI (i.e., the PCI of the neighboring cell) is determined based on the serving cell index, and the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information can be further determined),
wherein the cell is associated with a component carrier (CC) or a bandwidth part (BWP) ([0069-0070], the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, and there is a correspondence between the serving cell index and a component carrier (CC). the neighboring cell PCI corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information is determined based on the correspondence between the serving cell index and the CC. The cell identified by the neighboring cell PCI is determined as the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information),
wherein the additional PCI is used to indicate an additional PCI different from a serving cell PCI ([0059], the TCI state configuration information includes the serving cell index, the neighboring cell PCI (i.e., the PCI of the neighboring cell) is determined based on the serving cell index, and the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information can be further determined),
wherein the TCI state information comprises the additional PCI of a determined serving cell ([0037], In a TCI state configuration of the serving cell, the TCI state includes a serving cell index and a reference signal ID (RS ID). The serving cell index indicates indexes of multiple serving cells of the terminal, such as, an index corresponding to a Primary Cell (PCell) may be #0, and indexes corresponding to other Secondary Cells (SCells) may be #1, #2 . . . , and so on. Each index corresponds to a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell. The correspondence between a PCI of the PCell and the index #0 is fixed. For other SCells, the correspondence between the index of the SCell and the PCI is given when configuring the SCell).
Li fails to teach wherein the additional PCI indicates a PCI of a source RS included in quasi-colocation (QCL) information, wherein the determined serving cell is identified based on at least one of:a cell field in the QCL information related to the RS in the TCI state information, in a case the cell field is present; or a serving cell where the TCI state information applies, in a case the cell field is absent.
In the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches wherein the additional PCI indicates a PCI of a source RS included in quasi-colocation (QCL) information, wherein the determined serving cell is identified based on at least one of: a cell field in the QCL information related to the RS in the TCI state information, in a case the cell field is present; or a serving cell where the TCI state information applies, in a case the cell field is absent ([0183], (1) qcl-InfoPeriodicCSI-RS contains a reference to a TCI state indicating QCL source RS(s) and QCL type. In a case where the TCI state is configured with a reference to an RS configured with a QCL type of type D association, that RS may be an SS/PBCH block located in the same or different CC/DL BWP or a CSI-RS resource configured as periodic located in the same or different CC/DL BWP. The reference RS may be additionally an SS/PBCH block associated with a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell, [0169], As shown in FIG. 11, the additional PCI is associated with an activated TCI state corresponding to a PDSCH/PDCCH (an SSB as a QCL source RS). One PCI is associated with an activated TCI state corresponding to one coresetPoolIndex, [0170] As shown in FIG. 11, the PCI of the serving cell is always associated with an activated TCI state, and the additional PCI (the SSB corresponding to the additional PCI) is associated with only one active TCI state. The PDCCH/PDSCH corresponding to the serving cell may be rate matched around an SSB associated with the PCI of the serving cell. The PDCCH/PDSCH corresponding to the additional PCI may be rate matched around an SSB associated with the additional PCI).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indicating a QCL source RS as an additional PCI associated with an activated TCI state, as taught in Matsumura, in the system of Li, in order to enhance the clarity of TCI state indication and prevent degradation in communication quality. (See Matsumura [0006])
Regarding Claim 46, Li, modified by Matsumura, teaches the apparatus of claim 44, Matsumura further teaches wherein the RS comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) ([0046], The RS to have a QCL relation with the channel may be, for example, at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a reference signal for measurement (Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)), a CSI-RS for tracking (also referred to as a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS)), and a reference signal for QCL detection (also referred to as a QRS)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indicating a QCL source RS as an additional PCI associated with an activated TCI state, as taught in Matsumura, in the system of Li, in order to enhance the clarity of TCI state indication and prevent degradation in communication quality. (See Matsumura [0006])
Conclusion
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641