DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/533217.
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US PG PUB 2015/0255185), in view of SEYEDMOHAMMADI et al (US PG PUB 2015/0027524).
Regarding claim 1, KIM et al teaches conductive silver aluminum paste (paste per abstract, use of silver and aluminum in paragraph [0010]), wherein the conductive silver aluminum paste comprises silver powder (paragraph [0010]), aluminum powder (paragraph [0010]), glass powder (paragraph [0020], “lead-tellurium-lithium-oxide powder”), silver aluminum paste additive (paragraph [0047], “additives” and/or paragraph [0042], “bismuth-based glass frit” and/or paragraph [0035], “lithium oxide powder”), and organic carrier (“organic medium”, paragraph [0027]);
when defining the total weight of the conductive silver aluminum paste as 100%, the weight percentage contents of the components are:
glass powder 2.5%-6.0% (paragraph [0010] teaches glass powder present in at .1-10wt%, overlapping and rendering obvious the claimed range);
silver aluminum paste additive 0.1%-2.0% (0-2 wt% additive from paragraph [0049] and/or 0.01-1 wt% bismuth-based glass frit from paragraph [0044] and/or .01-5wt% lithium oxide powder from paragraph [0005], overlapping and rendering obvious the claimed range);
organic carrier 8.0%-12.0% (paragraph [0005] teaches 3-38 wt% organic vehicle, overlapping and rendering obvious the claims range);
wherein the glass powder comprises first main glass powder and second main glass powder, or comprises first main glass powder, second main glass powder, and auxiliary glass powder (paragraph [0024] teaches the lead-tellurium-lithium-oxide powder can be two powders with components within the listed ranges);
the first main glass powder is glass powder in a Pb-Si-B-Li-O system (wherein a lead-tellurium-lithium-oxide system of paragraphs [0016]-[0025] with an addition of Si and B oxides (or lead-tellurium-oxide with added lithium as well) per paragraph [0023] reads on the first glass powder), the second main glass powder is glass powder in a Pb-Bi-B-Li-O system (wherein a lead-tellurium-lithium-oxide system of paragraphs [0016]-[0025] with an addition of Bi and B oxides (or lead-tellurium-oxide with added lithium as well) per paragraph [0023] reads on the second glass powder), and the auxiliary glass powder is glass powder in a Ba-B-Si-Li-O system (this component is optional in the next limitation);
when defining the total weight of components contained in the glass powder as 100%, the weight percentage contents of the components are:
the first main glass powder and the second main glass powder 60%~ 100.0%; the auxiliary glass powder 0.0%~40.0% (taught by the use of only the two above glass frits of KIM et al);
in the second main glass powder, when defining the total number of moles of the components contained in the second main glass powder as 100%, the mole percentages of the components are:
PbO 5.0%~50.0%; Bi2O3 5.0%~50.0%; B2035.0%~25.0%; Li2O 3.0%~-~20.O%; second modified additive 0.0%~30.0%, wherein the second modified additive is an oxide containing one or more element of Zn, Ca, Ba, Na, K, Al, Si, Ge, Se, Te, Sn, and Ga, or a substance that decomposes to obtain the oxide of the element during a process of manufacturing the second main glass powder (paragraphs [0022]-[0023] teach weight percentage ranges of each of these components. When proportions are selected within these ranges, the following table shows a possible set of component amounts within the listed ranges of KIM et al and their associated calculated mole percentages present which would read on the instant claims. To be clear, this is merely an example of selected of values within the listed ranges of KIM et al, which would render obvious the claimed ranges, but not limiting. TeO2 is interpreted as the claimed second modified additive).
While KIM et al discloses the use of conductive particles in a proportion of 70-90 wt% in paragraph [0013] and the use of a mixture of silver and aluminum particles therein in paragraph [0010]), KIM et al fails to disclose the silver powder 80.0%-88.% and aluminum powder 0.5%-2.0%.
SEYEDMOHAMMADI et al teaches a composition for silver contacts utilizing a conductive material, glass frit, and organic material within a paste formulation, just as in KIM et al, as disclosed In claim 42 for example. SEYEDMOHAMMADI et al further teaches the use of a mixture of silver to aluminum powder as the conductive material should have just enough aluminum to prevent damage to the junction while improving contact resistance (paragraph [0013]). Paragraph [0018] teaches the use of greater than 65 wt% of silver and from .2-6 wt% aluminum, rendering obvious the claims ranges.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the a portion of the conductive particles of KIM et al as a mixture of silver and aluminum, per SEYEDMOHAMMADI et al, so as to improve contact resistance while preventing damage to the junction. Moreover, the use of .2-6wt% of aluminum in SEYEDMOHAMMADI et al, would render a range of 69.2-84 wt% silver within the confines of KIM et al, rendering obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 2, KIM et al teaches the first main glass powder, when defining the total number of moles of the components contained in the first main glass powder as 100%, the mole percentages of the components are: PbO 30.0%~70.0%; Si0210.0%~35.0%; B203 5.0%~15.0%; Li2O 2.0%~12.0%; first modified additive 0.0%~30.0%; wherein the first modified additive is an oxide containing one or more element of Zn, Ca, Ba, Bi, Na, K, Te, Se, Ge, Al, and Ga, or a substance that decomposes to obtain the oxide of the element during a process of manufacturing the first main glass powder (paragraphs [0022]-[0023] teach weight percentage ranges of each of these components. When proportions are selected within these ranges, the following table shows a possible set of component amounts within the listed ranges of KIM et al and their associated calculated mole percentages present which would read on the instant claims for example. To be clear, this is exemplary that the selection of values within the listed ranges of KIM et al, render obvious the claimed ranges. TeO2 is interpreted as the claimed second modified additive).
Regarding claim 3, this claim is fulfilled by modified KIM et al wherein the auxiliary glass powder is optional (proportion including 0%) within claim 1. For this reason, the claim is fulfilled.
Regarding claim 4, modified KIM et al teaches the silver aluminum paste additive is a zinc element containing silver aluminum paste additive of zinc oxide (paragraph [0050] of KIM et al, zinc oxide).
Regarding claim 5, KIM et al teaches the maximum particle sizes of the silver powder (paragraph [0012], second embodiment, less than 8 micron), the aluminum powder (paragraph [0012], second embodiment, less than 8 micron), the glass powder (paragraph [0021], less than 3 micron), and the silver aluminum paste additive powder (lithium oxide interpreted as the additive powder herein, wherein paragraph [0038] discloses a size of 5 micron maximum) are not more than 8pm.
Regarding claim 6, KIM et al teaches the organic medium to comprise organic solvents, resins (phenolic resin) and additives (suitable oranic medium components) in paragraph [0031], but fails to disclose the contents of the components are: organic solvent 60.0%~80.0%; organic resin 5.0%~20.0%; carrier additive 1.0%~25.0%.
SEYEDMOHAMMADI et al teaches the organic vehicle to comprise a solvent (about 80 wt%), a resin (up to about 15 wt%) and thixotropic and/or wetting agent (up to 4 and 2 wt% respectively, interpreted as the carrier additive) in paragraph [0051]. It would have been obvious to use the materials of KIM et al, in the proportions of SEYEDMOHAMMADI et al, as the vehicle of SEYEDMOHAMMADI et al allows for the ability to obtain the desired viscosity and volatility for any application (paragraph [0052], SEYEDMOHAMMADI et al).
Regarding claim 8, modified KIM et al teaches an electrode ([0060], KIM et al), wherein the electrode is formed by sintering the conductive silver aluminum paste (paragraph [0060], KIM et al) according to claim 1 on a surface of a battery silicon wafer (paragraph [0061], KIM et al).
Regarding claim 9, KIM et al teaches a Topcon battery (see figure 1f) comprising the electrode according to claim 8 (see above and paragraph [0068]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al, in view of SEYEDMOHAMMADI et al and GAO et al (CN11970151A, wherein the English machine translation provided is cited herein).
Regarding claim 7, KIM et al teaches a method for preparing the conductive silver aluminum paste according to claim 1 (see above), comprising the following steps:
preparing first main glass powder, second main glass powder, and auxiliary glass powder: weighing raw materials used in first main glass powder according to a preset ratio; mixing them; after melting them at a high temperature, cooling them down, and drying them, through a crushing process, obtaining required first main glass powder; weighing raw materials used in second main glass powder according to a preset ratio; mixing them; after melting them at a high temperature, cooling them down, and drying them, through a crushing process, obtaining required second main glass powder; weighing raw materials used in auxiliary glass powder according to a preset ratio; mixing them; after melting them at a high temperature, cooling them down, and drying them, through a crushing process, obtaining required auxiliary glass powder (Paragraph [0021] of KIM et al teaches mixing the oxides of each powder, melting them at a high temperature, quenching, then grinding (crushing) to form the desired glass powder. While KIM et al does not expressly state drying is to occur, the steps of grinding, milling and screening would obviously require a dry product for processing to allow for separation of the particles, rending this obvious. Moreover, even if drying is not disclosed grinding, milling and screening can all happen in dry or wet conditions. The selection of dry processing is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art, especially to control the amount of water present in the final product, prior to mixing with the organic solvents of the organic medium. The use of this process on each of the first and second glass powders is clear in KIM et al at this citation. The Examiner would also like to make clear disclosure of the auxiliary glass powder is not required.);
preparing organic carrier: weighing raw materials used in organic carrier according to a preset ratio; heating, stirring, and mixing them (paragraph [0083]); dispersing them uniformly through high-speed centrifugation (Paragraph [0083] discloses the use of mixing but not using a centrifugal mixer as applied to the medium. Paragraph [0083] teaches the use of centrifugal mixing for the formation of the paste to provide mixing and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the centrifugal mixer to mix the components of the medium as well, to provide the same predictable result of mixing to the medium.), and
preparing conductive silver aluminum paste: adding silver powder, aluminum powder, the glass powder, and silver aluminum paste additive into prepared organic carrier respectively according to a mass ratio (paragraph [0083]), mixing them and stirring them uniformly (centrifugal mixer, paragraphs [0058] and [0083]), and then grinding them (FOG, fineness of grind, paragraph [0083]), adjusting their viscosity (paragraph [0058]).
While KIM et al does teach the knowledge of the size particles (paragraph [0040]), modified KIM et al is silent to filtering to obtain organic carrier and filtering the paste components to obtain conductive silver aluminum paste.
GAO et al teaches the formation of a conductor comprising glass powder, conductive powder and an organic carrier of solvent and thickener (see step 3 of claim 9 on page 2 and the abstract), just as in modified KIM et al. Steps 3 and 4 of claim 9 on page 2 detail the use of filtering both the organic carrier and the paste to remove impurities.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a filtering step, as in GAO et al, to the method of modified KIM et al, so as to remove impurities from the paste and carrier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PG PUB 2017/0301804 teaches the mixing of conductive particles of claim 2.
US PG PUB 2012/0110807 teaches the auxiliary glass powder content in paragraphs [0032]-[0034].
US PG PUB 2015/0083217 teaches similar broad ranges of glass components as that of KIM et al above, still applicable to claim 1.
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 9/16/2026