DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8 “the ambient” should read ---an ambient---
In claim 21 ln 4 “transmitter induction coil, the transmitter induction coil;” should read ---transmitter induction coil;---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim2 1-10, 14-18 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunbar (US 2014/0207219 A1) in view of DeBow (US 2021/0023387 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dunbar discloses a therapeutic device (abstract), comprising: a first substructure (#200 fig 5A) comprising a Circuit Board (#215 fig 5B, par 0038), a transmitter induction coil (#210 fig 5B, par 0038) electrically coupled to the CB, and a power source (#220 fig 5B, par 0038) electrically coupled to the transmitter induction coil; and one or more second substructures (#110 fig 1A, shown connected to the first substructure in fig 5 placed in sockets 205, par 0038) comprising one or more of respective stimulation elements (par 0033) and one or more respective receiver induction coils (#180 fig 1B,par 0033) electrically coupled to the one or more respective stimulation elements, wherein the one or more stimulation elements are configured to be facing towards a body portion of a user, when in use (stimulus surface #150 fig 1B, par 0033 “150 contacts patient’s skin), and wherein the one or more receiver induction coils are configured to receive power from a magnetic field generated by the transmitter induction coil (par 0038 "circuit board 215 can instruct the charging coil 210 to transmit power to the charging coil 180 of the stimulus pod 110").
Dunbar is silent to the circuit board being a Printed Circuit Board.
DeBow teaches a similar therapeutic device (abstract) utilizing a PCB for the circuitry/circuit board of the device (par 0042 “internal circuitry 54 (e.g., a flexible PCB)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a PCB as taught by DeBow for the Circuit board of Dunbar as PCB’s are known to allow for mass production.
Regarding claim 2, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 1. Dunbar further discloses the transmitter induction coil defines a transmitter outer periphery and the one or more second substructures are located within the transmitter outer periphery, in one or more respective second planes parallel and/or coincident with a first plane of the transmitter outer periphery (see fig 5A/5B showing transmitter coil 210 surrounding the entity of one second substructure).
Regarding claim 3, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 1. Dunbar further discloses the one or more stimulation elements are selected from a group consisting of irradiation sources, heating elements, cooling elements, vibration elements, electrodes and combinations thereof (Par 0033 "heat, mild electrical stimuli, vibration").
Regarding claim 4, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 3. Dunbar is silent to the irradiation sources are selected from a group consisting of Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs), and lasers.
DeBow teaches the use of LED irradiation sources (par 0029 disclosing LED light sources with 300-110nm wavelengths).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate LED irradiation sources as taught by DeBow onto the second substructure modified Dunbar as LED s can provide added pain treatment (DeBow: par 0037).
Regarding claim 5, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 1. Dunbar further discloses a wearable element, such that, the one or more second substructures are installed with the wearable element (par 0034 disclosing adhesive to attach the anchor and the second substructures to the body thus disclosing wearable).
Regarding claim 6, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 5. Dunbar further discloses the first substructure is provided within a detachable housing configured to be detachably attached with the wearable element comprising the one or more second substructures (See fig 5A showing the second substructures and thus the cooresponding anchor/wearable element being detached from the first substructure).
Regarding claim 7, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 5. Dunbar is silent to the wearable element is embodied as a face mask.
DeBow discloses incorporating the therapeutic device in a wearable element that is a facemask (see fig 11A-12, par 0022-0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a facemask for the wearable element of modified Dunbar as taught by DeBow as doing so allows the device to be attached to a wearers face without disturbing the sensitive skin with adhesives.
Regarding claim 8, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 5. Dunbar further discloses the wearable element is embodied as a wearable pad comprising: an outer layer (#170a fig 1B) comprising a first surface facing towards the ambient and a second surface facing opposite to the first surface (see fig 1B showing first surface); and an inner layer (#170B and 120 fig 1B, 2) coupled to the outer layer, the inner layer comprising a third surface facing towards the outer layer and a fourth surface configured to be facing towards the body portion of the user when in use (par 0034 disclosing fourth surface 120 attaching to the body and fig 1B showing third surface as interior of 170B), wherein the one or more second substructures are located between the outer layer and the inner layer (see fig 1B showing exploded view with second substructure components internal to 170 housing).
Regarding claim 9, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 8. Dunbar further discloses the wearable pad is embodied as one or more of a headband, a neck belt, a body pad, a bandage, a face mask, a waist belt, a shin guard, an ankle pad, a sole of a footwear, and combinations thereof (par 0034 disclosing a bandage like structure).
Regarding claim 10, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 8. Dunbar is silent to the inner layer is made up of a transparent silicone material.
DeBow teaches the use of transparent silicone for an inner layer of the wearable device (par 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize silicone as taught by DeBow for the inner layer of Dunbar as silicone is a hypoallergenic material thus preventing the likelihood of allergic reaction when a patients skin contacts the inner layer.
Regarding claim 14, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 1. Dunbar further discloses the first substructure further comprises a mode selector electrically coupled to the PCB (#230 fig 5B, par 0042 "The control station 230 can be included with the charging station 200, and in some cases can share components such as a power source, circuitry, etc." shared circuitry thus disclosing coupled to the pcb), the mode selector configured to switch between a plurality of predefined operating modes of the one or more stimulation elements (par 0042 discussing patterns and operating modes).
Regarding claim 15, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 1. Dunbar further discloses the first substructure further comprises a control module, the control module comprising a processor and a memory unit operably connected to the processor, the memory unit comprising machine-readable instructions that when executed by the processor, enable the processor to: switch between a plurality of predefined operating modes of the one or more stimulation elements (par 0042 disclosing control module with a plurality of operating modes, claim 16 disclosing a memory for storing sequences thus par 0042 and claim 16 together disclose a processor and memory unit with machine readable instructions).
Regarding claim 16, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 15. Dunbar further discloses for operating the one or more stimulation elements in an operating mode, the processor is further enabled to receive a control input corresponding to the operating mode, from a user interface, the control input configured to switch between a plurality of predefined operating modes of the one or more stimulation elements (par 0042-0043 disclosing user interfaces such as laptops and smartphones for communication with the control).
Regarding claim 17, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 15. Dunbar further discloses for operating the one or more stimulation elements in an operating mode, the processor is further enabled to receive a control input corresponding to the operating mode, from a user computing device, via a communication interface of the control module, the control input configured to switch between a plurality of predefined operating modes of the one or more stimulation elements (par 0042-0043 disclosing user computing devices such as laptops and smartphones for communication with the control).
Regarding claim 18, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 1. Dunbar further discloses the power source comprises one or more batteries and/or an interface for receiving an Alternating Current (AC) power supply (par 0038 discloses 220 for connection with a standard electrical outlet thus disclosing AC power supply).
Regarding claim 23, Dunbar discloses a method for manufacturing a therapeutic device (abstract), the method comprising steps of: fabricating a first substructure (#220 fig 5A) by: fabricating a Circuit Board (#215 fig 5B, par 0038), fabricating a transmitter induction coil (#210 fig 5B, par 0038), electrically coupling the transmitter induction coil with the CB (par 0038), and coupling, electrically, a power source (#220 fig 5B, par 0038) with the transmitter induction coil and the CB (par 0038); fabricating one or more second substructures (#110 fig 1A) comprising one or more of respective stimulation elements (par 0033) and one or more respective receiver induction coils (#180 fig 1B, par 0033) electrically coupled to the one or more respective stimulation elements; and locating the one or more second substructures, such that, the one or more receiver induction coils are configured to receive power from a magnetic field generated by the transmitter induction coil (par 0038, fig 5), wherein the one or more stimulation elements are configured to be facing towards a body portion of a user, when in use (par 0033 discloses stimulation surface 150 contacting the patient during use).
Dunbar is silent to the circuit board being a Printed Circuit Board.
DeBow teaches a similar therapeutic device (abstract) utilizing a PCB for the circuitry/circuit board of the device (par 0042 “internal circuitry 54 (e.g., a flexible PCB)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a PCB as taught by DeBow for the Circuit board of Dunbar as PCB’s are known to allow for mass production.
Regarding claim 24, modified Dunbar discloses the method of claim 23. Dunbar further discloses the transmitter induction defines a transmitter outer periphery, and the method further includes locating the one or more second substructures within the transmitter outer periphery, in one or more respective second planes parallel and/or coincident with a first plane of the transmitter outer periphery (see fig 5A/5B showing transmitter coil 210 surrounding the entity of one second substructure).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dunbar as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Chi (CN 108852793 A).
Regarding claim 11, modified Dunbar discloses he device of claim 8. Dunbar is silent to the inner layer comprises one or more slots cut into the inner layer, the one or more second substructures removably located in the one or more slots, such that, the one or more second substructures are configured to translate along the one or more slots.
Chi teaches a similar therapeutic device utilizing slots (#3 fig 1) cut into an inner layer such that substructures/stimulation elements are configured to translate along the slots (#4 fig 6, pg 4-5 disclosing vibrating component 4 vibrating and sliding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize slots allowing vibrating elements to translate as taught by Chi on the device of modified Dunbar as doing so allows the vibration effects to be distributed along a greater surface.
Regarding claim 12, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 11. Chi further discloses the one or more second substructures are configured to be translated along the one or more slots through manual manipulation, electrical actuation, and combinations thereof (pg 4-5 discloses a driving mechanism causing the translation thus disclosing electrical actuation).
Regarding claim 13, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 11. Chi further discloses the one or more slots are distributed in accordance with predetermined distribution pattern comprising one or more sectors configured to overlap one or more respective body regions of the body portion (see fig 1 showing multiple slots on the forehead and the cheeks).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dunbar as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Luz (US 3,938,004).
Regarding claim 19, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 18. Dunbar is silent to a converter element, wherein the converter element is configured to operate as a step-down transformer in case of the power source delivering AC power and an inverter in case of the power source delivering Direct Current (DC) power.
Luz teaches electrical components including a converter element (abstract “horizontal output transformer”), wherein the converter element is configured to operate as a step-down transformer in case of the power source delivering AC power and an inverter in case of the power source delivering Direct Current (DC) power (abstract disclosing the transformer serving as both a step-down transformer and an inverter depending on supplied power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a converter element as taught by Luz with the electrical components of modified Dunbar as doing so allows the first substructure to function with both AC and DC power sources without significant voltage changes (Luz: abstract).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dunbar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park (US 2022/0211213 A1).
Regarding claim 20, modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 1. Dunbar is silent to the PCB comprises electrical ports electrically coupled to the PCB, such that, the transmitter induction coil is configured to be detachably attached to the electrical ports.
Park teaches a device with an induction coil connected to a PCB (par 0035) such that the PCB comprises electrical ports electrically coupled to the PCB, such that, the transmitter induction coil is configured to be detachably attached to the electrical ports (par 0035-0036 disclose the induction coils coupled to the PCB and detachable from the PCB for replacement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize electrical ports as taught by Park on the PCB of modified Dunbar as doing so allows for the induction coil to be replaced without needing to replace all other components of the first substructure.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunbar in view of DeBow and Chi.
Regarding claim 21, Dunbar discloses a therapeutic device (abstract), comprising: a first substructure (#200 fig 5A) comprising a Circuit Board (#215 fig 5B, par 0038), a transmitter induction coil (#210 fig 5B, par 0038) electrically coupled to the CB, and a power source (#220 fig 5B, par 0038) electrically coupled to the transmitter induction coil; and one or more second substructures (#110 fig 1A, shown connected to the first substructure in fig 5 placed in sockets 205, par 0038) comprising one or more of respective stimulation elements (par 0033) and one or more respective receiver induction coils (#180 fig 1B,par 0033) electrically coupled to the one or more respective stimulation elements; and a wearable element (par 0034 disclosing adhesive to attach the anchor and the second substructures to the body thus disclosing wearable), such that, the one or more second substructures are installed with the wearable element, wherein the one or more stimulation elements are configured to be facing towards a body portion of a user, when in use (stimulus surface #150 fig 1B, par 0033 “150 contacts patient’s skin), wherein the one or more receiver induction coils are configured to receive power from a magnetic field generated by the transmitter induction coil (par 0038 "circuit board 215 can instruct the charging coil 210 to transmit power to the charging coil 180 of the stimulus pod 110"), and wherein the wearable element is embodied as a wearable pad comprising: an outer layer (#170a fig 1B) comprising a first surface facing towards the ambient and a second surface facing opposite to the first surface (see fig 1B showing first surface); and an inner layer (#170B and 120 fig 1B, 2) coupled to the outer layer, the inner layer comprising a third surface facing towards the outer layer and a fourth surface configured to be facing towards the body portion of the user when in use (par 0034 disclosing fourth surface 120 attaching to the body and fig 1B showing third surface as interior of 170B), wherein the one or more second substructures are located between the outer layer and the inner layer (see fig 1B showing exploded view with second substructure components internal to 170 housing).
Dunbar is silent to the circuit board being a Printed Circuit Board.
DeBow teaches a similar therapeutic device (abstract) utilizing a PCB for the circuitry/circuit board of the device (par 0042 “internal circuitry 54 (e.g., a flexible PCB)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a PCB as taught by DeBow for the Circuit board of Dunbar as PCB’s are known to allow for mass production.
Dunbar is further silent to the inner layer comprises one or more slots cut into the inner layer, the one or more second substructures are removably located in the one or more slots, such that, the one or more second substructures are configured to translate along the one or more slots
Chi teaches a similar therapeutic device utilizing slots (#3 fig 1) cut into an inner layer such that substructures/stimulation elements are configured to translate along the slots (#4 fig 6, pg 4-5 disclosing vibrating component 4 vibrating and sliding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize slots allowing vibrating elements to translate as taught by Chi on the device of modified Dunbar as doing so allows the vibration effects to be distributed along a greater surface.
Regarding claim 22 modified Dunbar discloses the device of claim 21. Dunbar further discloses the transmitter induction coil defines a transmitter outer periphery and the one or more second substructures are located within the transmitter outer periphery, in one or more respective second planes parallel and/or coincident with a first plane of the transmitter outer periphery (see fig 5A/5B showing transmitter coil 210 surrounding the entity of one second substructure).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chapman US 0683680 A discloses the use of induction coils to prevent wired connections that may break and shack the user
Mofar US 20160158569 A1 discloses an LED facemask with an induction coil along the perimeter
/KIRA B DAHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799