DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 08/01/26. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 10, and 15 have been amended, new claims 16-20 have been added, and claims 11-12 have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-10 and 13-20 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a plurality of stimulation elements in claims 1, 15, and 18 and balancing device in claims 6, 17, and 20.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“stimulation elements”: LEDs (page 8, paragraph [0045] of the specification)
“balancing device”: two turntables, bearing, battery, and gyroscope (paragraph [0027] of the specification of incorporated reference US 20200315907).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scaduto (4,116,233) in view of Solana (2022/0104995), and Baldwin (WO2021087365).
With respect to claim 15, Scaduto discloses a method of manufacturing (making of the device of Scaduto) a massage therapy device (fig 2, and col. 1, line 5), the method comprising providing a housing (1, fig 2) with a hole (2, fig 2); providing, partially, a spherical structure (7, fig 2) in the hole (see fig 2 and col. 1, lines 41-42), wherein the spherical structure is configured to rotate with respect to the housing, while remaining attached within the housing (see col. 1, lines 37-42), but lacks disposing a plurality of stimulation elements along outer surfaces of the one or more spherical structures, wherein the plurality of stimulation elements are directed in an outward direction from the outer surfaces of the one or more spherical structures.
However, Solana teaches a massage sphere (11, fig 5) comprising a plurality of stimulation elements (light members; 18, fig 6) disposed along outer surface of the massage sphere (see fig 5 and [0037-38]), wherein the plurality of stimulation elements are directed in an outward direction from the outer surface (see [0005] and fig 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer surface of Scaduto to include a plurality of stimulation elements as taught by Solana so as to help speed up the muscle recovery process and help those who struggle with sore and tight muscles or achy bones (see [0003] of Scaduto).
Further, the modified Scaduto lacks the housing includes a wireless charging coil and the one or more spherical structures include one or more respective induction coils, the one or more induction coils being configured to receive power at any angle or orientation through coupling with the electromagnetic field generated by the wireless charging coil due to flow of electric current in the wireless charging coil.
However, Baldwin teaches a massager (300, fig 3C) with a housing (350, fig 3C) wherein the housing a wireless charging coil (577, fig 5B) and the massager includes one or more respective induction coils (575, fig 5B), the one or more induction coils being configured to receive power at any angle or orientation through coupling with the electromagnetic field generated by the wireless charging coil (see [051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing and spherical structure of the modified Scaduto to include a charging coil and induction coil, respectively, and necessary power structure as taught by Baldwin so as to provide power to the spherical structure independently from the housing (note the housing provides power to the massager).
With respect to claim 16, the modified Scaduto shows configuring the induction coil to receive power at any angle or orientation of the one or more spherical structures (the modification by Baldwin allows for charging through induction at the direction of the connection of the coils) through coupling with the electromagnetic field generated by the wireless charging coil (see [051] of Baldwin).
With respect to claim 18, Scaduto discloses a massage therapy device (fig 2, and col. 1, line 5), the massage therapy device comprising a housing (1, fig 2) provided with one or more holes (2, fig 2); one or more spherical structures (7, fig 2) provided partially within the one or more respective holes of the housing (see fig 2 and col. 1, lines 41-42), wherein the one or more spherical structures are configured to rotate with respect to the housing, while remaining attached within the housing (see col. 1, lines 37-42); and a stimulation element (vibrator 10, fig 2) but lacks disposing a plurality of stimulation elements along outer surfaces of the one or more spherical structures, wherein the plurality of stimulation elements are directed in an outward direction from the outer surfaces of the one or more spherical structures.
However, Solana teaches a massage sphere (11, fig 5) comprising a plurality of stimulation elements (light members; 18, fig 6) disposed along outer surface of the massage sphere (see fig 5 and [0037-38]), wherein the plurality of stimulation elements are directed in an outward direction from the outer surface (see [0005] and fig 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer surface of Scaduto to include a plurality of stimulation elements as taught by Solana so as to help speed up the muscle recovery process and help those who struggle with sore and tight muscles or achy bones (see [0003] of Scaduto).
Further, the modified Scaduto lacks the housing includes a wireless charging coil and the one or more spherical structures include one or more respective induction coils, the one or more induction coils being configured to receive power at any angle or orientation through coupling with the electromagnetic field generated by the wireless charging coil due to flow of electric current in the wireless charging coil.
However, Baldwin teaches a massager (300, fig 3C) with a housing (350, fig 3C) wherein the housing a wireless charging coil (577, fig 5B) and the massager includes one or more respective induction coils (575, fig 5B), the one or more induction coils being configured to receive power at any angle or orientation through coupling with the electromagnetic field generated by the wireless charging coil (see [051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing and spherical structure of the modified Scaduto to include a charging coil and induction coil, respectively, and necessary power structure as taught by Baldwin so as to provide power to the spherical structure independently from the housing (note the housing provides power to the massager).
With respect to claim 19, the modified Scaduto shows configuring the induction coil to receive power at any angle or orientation of the one or more spherical structures (the modification by Baldwin allows for charging through induction at the direction of the connection of the coils) through coupling with the electromagnetic field generated by the wireless charging coil (see [051] of Baldwin).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-10 and 13-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record, Scaduto (4,116,233) and Solana (2022/0104995), does not specifically disclose the claimed device as presented in claim 1.
Scaduto discloses a massage therapy device (fig 2, and col. 1, line 5), the massage therapy device comprising a housing (1, fig 2) provided with one or more holes (2, fig 2); one or more spherical structures (7, fig 2) provided partially within the one or more respective holes of the housing (see fig 2 and col. 1, lines 41-42), wherein the one or more spherical structures are configured to rotate with respect to the housing, while remaining attached within the housing (see col. 1, lines 37-42); and a stimulation element (vibrator 10, fig 2).
Solana teaches a massage sphere (11, fig 5) comprising a plurality of stimulation elements (light members; 18, fig 6) disposed along outer surface of the massage sphere (see fig 5 and [0037-38]), wherein the plurality of stimulation elements are directed in an outward direction from the outer surface (see [0005] and fig 5).
However, Scaduto and Solana fail to disclose one or more gyroscope sensors provided within each of the one or more spherical structures, wherein each of the one or more gyroscope sensors in each of the one or more spherical structures is configured to disconnect power supply to the plurality of stimulation elements that are directed towards the ambient, when the massage therapy device is in use and to modify would be improper hindsight.
Response to Arguments
The arguments to the newly added claim limitations in claims 15-20 have been addressed in the above rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E BALLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785