DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to application no. 18/533,248 filed on 12/08/2023.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
This application is a continuation of PCT International Application No. PCT/CN2022/097330 filed on June 7, 2022, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202110648662.X filed on June 10, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 06/04/2024 and 06/19/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting (ODP) as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 13 – 16, 18 of application no. 18/534,554 and in view of secondary references Giaretta et al. (US 2009/0300207 A1) and MUSA (US 2021/0367871 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed towards an information transmission and data transmission methods. With respect to the independent claims of the instant application and the co-pending application, please see the direct claim comparison in the Table 1 below. This is a provisional double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Table 1: Claim comparison between instant application and Co-pending application.
Instant application no. 18/533,248
Co-pending application No. 18/534,554
1. An information transmission method, comprising:
receiving, by a first communication device, first information and/or index information for indicating a value of the first information, wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following:
data description information of a data packet;
data set association information; and
first operation indication information; and
performing, by the first communication device, a quality of service (QoS) control operation on a data packet based on the first information and/or the index information for indicating the value of the first information.
1. A method for data control, comprising:
obtaining, by a first communication device, first information or index information used to indicate a value of the first information; and
performing, by the first communication device, a quality of service (QOS) control operation according to the first information or the index information used to indicate the value of the first information,
wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following:
data description information of a data packet;
data tunnel association information;
data set association information; or
first operation indication information
As can be seen from the direct claim comparison of Table 1, claim 1 of instant application is similar of claim 1 of the co-pending application. Dissimilar part is an obvious variation of one another. Similar claim comparison can be shown for instant claim 11 vs. co-pending claim 15.
The claims of the instant application that are rejected under ODP are listed in table 2.
Table 2: instant claims vs. Co-pending claims.
Instant application no. 18/533,248
Co-pending application No. 18/534,554
1 – 3
1 – 3
5 – 8
5 – 8
9
13
10
14
11
15
12
16
14
18
Accordingly, instant claims 1 – 3, 5 – 12, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of ODP as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 13 – 16, 18 of co-pending Application no. 18/534,554.
Dependent claims 4, 13 and 15 – 20 have different limitations than that of the co-pending claim limitations. Claims 4, 15 – 18 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of ODP as being unpatentable over claims 1+2+3, 1 of the co-pending application in view of Giaretta and claims 13, 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of ODP as being unpatentable over claim 11 of the co-pending application in view of Giaretta and MUSA as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 10, 15 – 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giaretta et al. (Giaretta hereinafter referred to Giaretta) (US 2009/0300207 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Giaretta teaches (Abstract, Systems and methodologies are described that facilitate tunneling within wireless communication systems) an information transmission method (Fig.8 and [0075], a methodology 800 for facilitating enhancements to policy and charging control (PCC) in order to facilitate tunneling of data), comprising:
receiving, by a first communication device ([0068], The UE receives data flow along with the associated flow identification information), first information and/or index information for indicating a value of the first information (Fig.8 and [0075], flow identification information is received in step 802. Here, the flow identification information is a first information), wherein the first information comprises at least one of (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only) the following:
data description information of a data packet (Abstract, the flow identification information for identifying different IP flows originating at a plurality of sources; [0067], the flow identification information is used to uniquely identify each of the plurality of flows associating the UE 304. Here, the flow identification information identifies different IP flows, uniquely identify each flow; i.e. it is flow/ data description information);
data set association information; and
first operation indication information; and
performing, by the first communication device, a quality of service (QoS) control operation on a data packet based on the first information and/or the index information for indicating the value of the first information (Fig.8 and [0075], flow identification information and associated policy and charging control (PCC) rules are received for implementing with a data flow. At 804, the received rules are implemented for the data flow and the data packets are transmitted in accordance with the rules, e.g., the rules are QoS rules that facilitate transmission of the data packets in the appropriate QoS pipes. Here, the QoS rules are implemented on the data flow; i.e. QoS control operation is performed on data packets based on the received first information).
Regarding claim 2, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches wherein the data description information of the data packet comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only):
description information of a data set to which the data packet belongs ([0011], flow identification information acts as a unique identifier;[0012], the flow identification information represented as flow labels to uniquely identify encrypted data flows. Here, the flow identification identifies the data flow/ data set; i.e. it provides information to which the data packet belongs) and/or index information for indicating the description information of the data set to which the data packet belongs;
information for identifying the data packet;
type information of the data packet;
importance level of the data packet; or
timestamp information of the data packet.
Regarding claim 3, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches wherein the data description information of the data set comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only):
information for identifying the data set ([0012], the flow identification information represented as flow labels to uniquely identify encrypted data flows);
importance level information of the data set;
type information of the data set;
label information of the data set; or
a sequence number of the data set.
Regarding claim 4, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches wherein the information for identifying the data set comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only):
index information for indicating the description information of the data set;
importance level information of the data set;
type information of the data set;
label information of the data set ([0012], the flow identification information represented as flow labels to uniquely identify encrypted data flows; [0063], identification information in the form of a label, a pointer or an identifier for the IP flows); or
a sequence number of the data set.
Regarding claim 6, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches
wherein the first operation indication information comprises: operation information (Fig.8 and [0075], At 804, the received rules are implemented for the data flow and the data packets are transmitted in accordance with the rules); or (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only)
the first operation indication information comprises: operation information and at least one of the following:
description information of third data and/or description information of fourth data;
description information of a third data set and/or description information of a fourth data set;
description information of a fifth data set;
description information of a first data set group;
first time period; or
information about a timestamp difference range; wherein
the first time period is used to indicate one of the following: the operation information being executed within the first time period, or a validity time period of the operation information (Since, this part of the claim is linked to the alternative language “or”; therefore, it is not addressed by the examiner);
wherein the operation information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
performing an operation of dropping or not sending a data packet;
performing a collaborative scheduling operation on data packets;
performing a reordering operation on data packets;
sending data packets based on importance levels;
performing QoS guarantee based on a granularity of data set ([0061], each of flows has specific rules to be implemented such as, QoS considerations or rules for charging a subscriber for services rendered associated therewith ; the QoS considerations depend on the type of data being generated or type of service plan associated with the UE; [0066], particular Flow identification information associated with respective QoS pipes utilized by the UE; [0075], QoS rules facilitates transmission of the data packets in the appropriate QoS pipes. Here, the QoS guarantee is based on a variety/ granularity of data set); or
prioritizing data with a higher importance level in a same data tunnel.
Regarding claim 7, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches wherein
the description information of the third data and the description information of the fourth data are used to indicate: dropping or skipping sending the fourth data in a case that the third data is lost or fails to be sent;
and/or (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only)
the description information of the third data is used to indicate: in a case that the third data is lost or fails to be sent, dropping or skipping sending data that satisfies at least one of the following: other data dependent on the third data in a same data set; other data associated with the third data in the same data set; other data in the same data set; or other data whose importance level is lower than that of the third data in the same data set; wherein the same data set is a data set to which the third data belongs;
and/or
the description information of the fourth data is used to indicate: in a case that data satisfying a first condition is lost or fails to be sent, dropping or skipping sending the fourth data; wherein the data satisfying the first condition comprises at least one of the following: other data dependent on the fourth data in a same data set; other data associated with the fourth data in the same data set; other data in the same data set; or other data whose importance level is higher than that of the fourth data in the same data set; wherein the same data set is a data set to which the fourth data belongs;
and/or
the description information of the third data set and the description information of the fourth data set are used to indicate: dropping or skipping sending data of the fourth data set in a case that the third data set is lost or fails to be sent;
and/or
the description information of the third data set is used to indicate: in a case that the third data set is lost or fails to be sent, dropping or skipping sending data that satisfies at least one of the following: data of a data set dependent on the third data set; data of a data set that has an association relationship with a third data set; or data of a data set whose importance level is lower than that of the third data set;
and/or
the description information of the fourth data set is used to indicate: in a case that a data set satisfying a second condition is lost or fails to be sent, dropping or skipping sending data of the fourth data set; wherein the data set satisfying the second condition comprises at least one of the following: a data set on which the fourth data set depends; a data set associated with the fourth data set; or a data set whose importance level is higher than that of the fourth data set;
and/or
the description information of the fifth data set is used to indicate: a data set to which the operation information is applied;
and/or
the description information of the first data set group ([0061], The rules which comprises description of an IP flow wherein the IP flow is identified by a filter, the source of the flow. Here, description of an IP flow is the description information of the first data set group) is used to indicate: data sets to which the operation information is applied (Fig.8 and [0075], methodology 800 for facilitating enhancements to policy and charging control (PCC) in order to facilitate tunneling of data; At 804, the received rules are implemented for the data flow and the data packets are transmitted in accordance with the rules. Here, implementation of the rules is an operation; therefore, the operation is applied on the data flow/ data set).
Regarding claim 9, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches wherein
the receiving, by a first communication device, first information and/or index information for indicating a value of the first information (as mentioned in claim 1) comprises one of the following:
receiving, from control plane signaling and/or a first header of a data packet ([0016], the flow identification information is transmitted in an outer header of the flows), the first information and/or the index information for indicating the value of the first information ([0065], the flow ID is a 8-bit or 16-bit value within outer IP-header for labeling specific data flows); or
obtaining the first information based on a local configuration; wherein
the first header of the data packet is a header of a first protocol (Fig.3B and [0069], outer IP header 358).
Regarding claim 10, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches
wherein the receiving, from control plane signaling and/or a first header of a data packet, the first information and/or the index information for indicating the value of the first information comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only):
receiving data description information of the data packet from the first header of the data packet (Fig.3B and [0069], the outer IP header 358 comprises source and destination information identifying the "endpoints" of the tunnel), and/or receiving, from the control plane signaling, other content than the data description information of the data packet in the first information;
receiving, from the control plane signaling, the index information for indicating the value of the first information; or
receiving, from the first header of the data packet, the index information for indicating the value of the first information
Regarding claim 15, Giaretta teaches (Abstract, Systems and methodologies are described that facilitate tunneling within wireless communication systems) an information transmission method (Fig.7 and [0074], a methodology 700 that facilitates tunneling in communication systems), comprising:
performing, by a third communication device (Fig.7 and [0074], step 704), a third operation; wherein
the third operation comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only):
performing a data set mapping operation;
determining a first operating rule (Fig.7 and [0074], At 704, the Flow identification information are used to identify the policies such as charging rules and/or QoS rules for the related data flows);
determining a validity time of the first operating rule;
determining first information and/or index information for indicating a value of the first information;
sending the first operating rule, or sending the first operating rule and the validity time of the first operating rule; or
sending the first information and/or the index information for indicating the value of the first information; wherein
the first operating rule ([0074], policies such as charging rules and/or QoS rules) comprises at least one of the following:
data characteristic information;
target information corresponding to the data characteristic information;
operation information for indicating to add target information to data that matches the data characteristic information;
information for indicating to reorder data packets;
information for indicating to copy second header information of the data packet to the first header of the data packet; or
a data set mapping rule ([0068], matching between the flow ID and the appropriate flow policies, such as QoS category is facilitated at the UE which includes the flow identification information with the data flow. Here, the flow ID represents the data flow/ data set; therefore, matching between the flow ID and the appropriate flow policies is mapping the data set to a flow policy/ rule); wherein
the first information comprises at least one of (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only) the following:
data description information of a data packet (Abstract, the flow identification information for identifying different IP flows originating at a plurality of sources; [0067], the flow identification information is used to uniquely identify each of the plurality of flows associating the UE 304. Here, the flow identification information identifies different IP flows, uniquely identify each flow; i.e. it is flow/ data description information);
data set association information; and
first operation indication information.
Regarding claim 16, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches
wherein the performing a third operation (Fig.7 and [0074], step 704) comprises:
obtaining third information, wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only): first policy information (Fig.7 and [0074], At 704, the Flow identification information are used to identify the policies such as charging rules and/or QoS rules for the related data flows), validity time information of the first policy information, or fifth information; and
performing the third operation based on the third information; wherein
the first policy information comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only):
data characteristic information;
target information corresponding to the data characteristic information;
operation information for indicating to add target information to data that matches the data characteristic information;
information for indicating to reorder data packets;
information for indicating to copy second header information of the data packet to the first header of the data packet;
first information corresponding to the data characteristic information; or
a data set mapping rule ([0068], matching between the flow ID and the appropriate flow policies, such as QoS category is facilitated at the UE which includes the flow identification information with the data flow. Here, the flow ID represents the data flow/ data set; therefore, matching between the flow ID and the appropriate flow policies is mapping the data set to a flow policy/ rule); wherein
the fifth information comprises at least one of the following:
data characteristic information of first service data;
occurrence time information of a first service; and first information corresponding to the first service data; or
the target information comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only): first information, or index information for indicating a value of the first information (Fig.7 and [0074], at 702 one or more packet flows and related flow identification information such as Flow ID, a Flow label or a pointer associated with the one or more packet flows are received. Here, the flow identification information is a first information).
Regarding claim 17, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches
a first communication device (Fig.14 and [0100], system 1400 resides within a UE. Here, UE is a first communication device), comprising a memory (Fig.14 and [0100], a memory 1410), a processor (Fig.14 and [0100], a processor), and a program or instructions stored in the memory (Fig.14 and [0100], memory 1410 retains instructions) and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor (Fig.14 and [0100], instructions for executing functions associated with electrical components 1404, 1406 and 1408; functions implemented by a processor, software, or combination thereof), the steps of the information transmission method according to claim 1 are implemented (as mentioned in claim 1).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 17, respectively as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches
wherein the QoS control operation comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only):
performing an operation of dropping or not sending a data packet;
performing a collaborative scheduling operation on data packets;
performing a reordering operation on data packets;
sending data packets based on importance levels;
performing QoS guarantee based on a granularity of data set ([0061], each of flows has specific rules to be implemented such as, QoS considerations or rules for charging a subscriber for services rendered associated therewith ; the QoS considerations depend on the type of data being generated or type of service plan associated with the UE; [0066], particular Flow identification information associated with respective QoS pipes utilized by the UE; [0075], QoS rules facilitates transmission of the data packets in the appropriate QoS pipes. Here, the QoS guarantee is based on a variety/ granularity of data set); or
prioritizing data with a higher importance level in a same data tunnel.
Regarding claim 20, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches
a third communication device (Fig.14 and [0100], system 1400 resides within a UE. Here, UE is a first communication device), comprising a memory (Fig.14 and [0100], a memory 1410), a processor (Fig.14 and [0100], a processor), and a program or instructions stored in the memory (Fig.14 and [0100], memory 1410 retains instructions) and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor (Fig.14 and [0100], instructions for executing functions associated with electrical components 1404, 1406 and 1408; functions implemented by a processor, software, or combination thereof), the steps of the information transmission method according to claim 15 are implemented (as mentioned in claim 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11, 13 – 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giaretta in view of MUSA (US 2021/0367871 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Giaretta teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Giaretta does not specifically teach
wherein the data set association information comprises at least one of the following:
description information of a data set that data set A depends on;
description information of a data set dependent on data set A;
description information of a data set associated with a data set to which the data packet belongs;
description information of data sets having an association relationship; or
description information of a data set group; wherein
the data set group comprises two or more data sets having an association relationship.
However, MUSA teaches (Title, SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR UTILIZING A NEURAL NETWORK MODEL TO PERFORM PACKET CAPTURE DATA ANALYSIS)
wherein the data set association information comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only):
description information of a data set that data set A depends on;
description information of a data set dependent on data set A;
description information of a data set associated with a data set to which the data packet belongs;
description information of data sets having an association relationship ([0024], the packet data sets in a data structure, that includes an indication of packets that are associated with one another, packet data of those packets, classified packet data of those packets, a traffic flow to which those packets belong; [0027], the packet data set is associated with one or more problem packets. Here, description information of the data set provides an association relationship); or
description information of a data set group; wherein
the data set group comprises two or more data sets having an association relationship.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Giaretta as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of MUSA. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems and methods for utilizing a neural network model to perform packet capture data analysis, wherein the analysis is used to improve network performance, reduce latency, increase reliability, reduce a quantity of dropped sessions and/or dropped calls, and/or the like (MUSA, Title and [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Giaretta teaches (Abstract, Systems and methodologies are described that facilitate tunneling within wireless communication systems) an information transmission method (Fig.7 and [0074], a methodology 700 that facilitates tunneling in communication systems), comprising:
receiving, by a second communication device ([0068], The UE receives data flow along with the associated flow identification information), a data packet (Fig.7 and [0074], at 702, one or more packet flows and related flow identification information such as Flow ID, a Flow label or a pointer associated with the one or more packet flows are received. Here, the packet flow is a data packet); and
performing, by the second communication device, a second operation on the received data packet (Fig.7 and [0074], At 704, the Flow identification information are used to identify the policies such as charging rules and/or QoS rules for the related data flows; at 706, the identified policies are transmitted to an access mechanism for application with the data flow associated with the received flow identification information. Here, the steps 704 and 706 are second operation performed on the received data packet), wherein the second operation comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only):
identifying whether the data packet is data that matches data characteristic information;
adding target information matching the data characteristic information to a first header of a data packet that matches the data characteristic information;
adding target information corresponding to a default data set to a first header of a data packet not matching the data characteristic information;
adding the target information corresponding to the default data set to a first header of a data packet that does not match data characteristic information in any non-default data set mapping rule;
reordering data packets; and
performing an operation of mapping the data packet ([0068], matching between the flow ID and the appropriate flow policies, such as QoS category is facilitated at the UE which includes the flow identification information with the data flow. Here, the flow ID represents the data flow; therefore, matching between the flow ID and the appropriate flow policies is mapping the data packet to a flow policy); wherein
the target information comprises at least one of the following: first information, or index information for indicating a value of the first information (Fig.7 and [0074], at 702 one or more packet flows and related flow identification information such as Flow ID, a Flow label or a pointer associated with the one or more packet flows are received. Here, the flow identification information is a first information); and
the first information comprises at least one of (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only) the following:
data description information of a data packet (Abstract, the flow identification information for identifying different IP flows originating at a plurality of sources; [0067], the flow identification information is used to uniquely identify each of the plurality of flows associating the UE 304. Here, the flow identification information identifies different IP flows, uniquely identify each flow; i.e. it is flow/ data description information);
data set association information; or
first operation indication information.
Giaretta does not specifically teach
mapping the data packet to a data set.
However, MUSA teaches (Title, SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR UTILIZING A NEURAL NETWORK MODEL TO PERFORM PACKET CAPTURE DATA ANALYSIS)
mapping the data packet to a data set (Abstract, The device groups the classified packet data into packet data sets corresponding to packet flows between pairs of the client devices; [0023], the analysis platform groups packet data that has the same 5-tuple information (e.g., where all 5 field values match across packets) into the same packet data set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Giaretta as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of MUSA. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems and methods for utilizing a neural network model to perform packet capture data analysis, wherein the analysis is used to improve network performance, reduce latency, increase reliability, reduce a quantity of dropped sessions and/or dropped calls, and/or the like (MUSA, Title and [0011]).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Giaretta and MUSA teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches
wherein the first header indicates a first-protocol header (Fig.3B and [0069], IP header), and the first protocol comprises at least one of the following: an interface protocol between a first communication device and the second communication device (Fig.3B and [0069], the flow identification information in the form of flow labels, pointers or flow IDs are included in the outer IP header 358; In IP tunneling, each IP payload 352 is configured with information regarding original source and recipient in the inner IP header 354 while the outer IP header 358 comprises source and destination information identifying the "endpoints" of the tunnel. Here, the internet protocol (IP) header provides source and destination information; therefore, it implies a link/ interface protocol between a first communication device and the second communication device).
Regarding claim 14, combination of Giaretta and MUSA teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches
wherein the performing, by the second communication device, a second operation (Fig.7, the steps 704 and 706 are second operation) on the received data comprises:
obtaining, by the second communication device, a first operating rule (Fig.7 and [0074], At 704, the Flow identification information are used to identify the policies such as charging rules and/or QoS rules for the related data flows. Here, the identifying the policies is obtaining a first operating rule) and/or validity time information of the first operating rule, and performing, by the second communication device, the second operation on the received data according to the first operating rule (Fig.7 and [0074], at 706, the identified policies are transmitted to an access mechanism for application with the data flow associated with the received flow identification information) and/or the validity time information of the first operating rule; wherein
the first operating rule comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim examiner addresses one limitation only):
data characteristic information;
target information corresponding to the data characteristic information;
operation information for indicating to add target information to data that matches the data characteristic information;
information for indicating to reorder data packets;
information for indicating to copy second header information of the data packet to the first header of the data packet; or
a data set mapping rule ([0068], matching between the flow ID and the appropriate flow policies, such as QoS category is facilitated at the UE which includes the flow identification information with the data flow. Here, the flow ID represents the data flow/ data set; therefore, matching between the flow ID and the appropriate flow policies is mapping the data set to a flow policy/ rule).
Regarding claim 19, combination of Giaretta and MUSA teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above.
Giaretta further teaches
a second communication device (Fig.14 and [0100], system 1400 resides within a UE. Here, UE is a first communication device), comprising a memory (Fig.14 and [0100], a memory 1410), a processor (Fig.14 and [0100], a processor), and a program or instructions stored in the memory (Fig.14 and [0100], memory 1410 retains instructions) and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor (Fig.14 and [0100], instructions for executing functions associated with electrical components 1404, 1406 and 1408; functions implemented by a processor, software, or combination thereof), the steps of the information transmission method according to claim 1 are implemented (as mentioned in claim 11).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giaretta in view of MUSA and further in view of VASUDEVAN (US 2019/0238460 A1).
Regarding claim 12, combination of Giaretta and MUSA teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above.
Giaretta does not specifically teach
wherein the operation of identifying whether the data packet is data matching data characteristic information comprises at least one of the following:
based on second-protocol header information of the data packet, identifying whether the data packet is data matching the data characteristic information.
However VASUDEVAN teaches (Title, AVAILABILITY OF CONTEXT INFORMATION FOR PACKET PROCESSING)
wherein the operation of identifying whether the data packet is data matching data characteristic information comprises at least one of the following:
based on second-protocol header information of the data packet, identifying whether the data packet is data matching the data characteristic information ([0077], look-up table comprising packet characteristics and associated context pointer; determine if a packet has characteristics matching an entry stored in the look-up-table; [0051], a look-up-table associating packet characteristics with a context pointer; packet characteristics are one or more of: source MAC address, destination MAC address, IPv4 source address, IPv4 destination address, portion of a TCP header. Here, TCP header is a second-protocol header; therefore, based on the second-protocol header information, it is identified whether the data packet is data matching data characteristic information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Giaretta and MUSA as mentioned in claim 11 and further incorporate the teaching of VASUDEVAN. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide techniques for context availability during packet processing to improve I/O processing performance (VASUDEVAN, [0002] and [0024]).
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fan (Pub. No. US 2023/0116578 A1) – “DATA TRANSMISSION METHOD AND APPARATUS” discloses method and apparatus for receipt by a communication apparatus of first indication information from a second communication apparatus indicating whether a first service of a terminal device is a service of a first type. The communication apparatus obtains characteristic information of the first service based on the first indication information, determines a mapping relationship between a packet filter set of the first service and a quality of service QoS flow based on the characteristic information, and sends the mapping relationship to a third communication apparatus.
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474