Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 and 10-12 in the reply filed on 08/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP2013173623A).
In regards to claim 1, Ito teaches a method for producing a zeolite-templated carbon material, where a zeolite and organic compound are mixed and heated to adsorb into the pores of the zeolites and carbonized [0040]. Ito teaches an example that uses furfuryl alcohol and zeolite to form a composite [0094]. Ito also teaches that sugar, such as glucose or saccharose, can be used as the organic compound in the process [0051]. In the instant case, Ito teaches that sugar is a suitable organic compound for furfuryl alcohol, so it would have been obvious to select a sugar instead of the furfuryl alcohol in the method for producing a zeolite-templated carbon material. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07.
The zeolite is then dissolved and removed by treating it with an acid [0053; 0094].
In regards to claim 2, Ito teaches that the sugar used is a monosaccharide or disaccharide [0051].
In regards to claim 3, Ito teaches that the sugar used is glucose [0051].
In regards to claim 4, Ito teaches that the zeolite mixed is a Y-type zeolite [0041].
In regards to claim 5, Ito teaches that the zeolite is dissolved with an acid, such as hydrofluoric acid [0053].
In regards to claim 7, Ito teaches that a polymerizable hydrocarbon is introduced to the zeolite at 600-900°C to cause vapor phase carbonization [0048-0049].
In regards to claim 12, Ito teaches that the BET specific surface area is 3600 m2/g or higher [0031; 0095].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Ito (JP2013173623A) and Kawai (JP2009126766A) are considered to be the closest prior art references to the claimed invention in the instant invention.
In regards to claims 6, Ito teaches that the sugar is a monosaccharide or disaccharide [0051]. Ito and Kawai do not teach or suggest that the monosaccharide or disaccharide is adsorbed to the pores of the zeolite by heating at 100°C to 300°C.
In regards to claims 10 and 11, Kawai teaches that starch and cellulose can be used as a starting material along with a zeolite material [0011; 0013; 0019-0020]. Ito and Kawai do not teach or suggest that the cellulose is heated at 300°C to 400°C or that starch is heated to 200°C to 350°C to adsorb into the pores of the zeolite.
Conclusion
/JAANZEB C RAJA/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736