DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s amendments, filed on 05/27/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12, 14-20 has been considered and entered. Claims 4, 5, 8 ,13, 21-24 are cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-12, 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dees et al. (US 20240267113 A1) hereinafter Dees and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20170289957 A1)hereinafter Zhang
As to claim 1 A method of operating a mobile device, the method comprising: setting a connection mode to one of a connection boosting mode and a power reduction mode; ([0033][0034][0039] Fig. 2a, Fig. 2B, UE communicates with eNB in low power mode and power boosting mode using a relay node)
when the connection mode is the connection boosting mode; ([0034][0041] Fig. 2a, Fig. 2B, UE communicates with eNB in uplink and downlink power boosting mode using a relay node)
and communicating between the first mobile device and the host device using one of the main channel and the sub channel based on a communication condition.([0033][0038][0039] Fig. 2A UE communicates with eNB directly 201 and via relay 204 indirectly when network has poor coverage),
Zhang does not teach establishing a main channel between a first mobile device and a host device; establishing a sub channel between the first mobile device and the host device via a second mobile device
([0133][0135][0136] terminal works on low power mode and high power mode)
Dees teaches establishing a main channel between a first mobile device and a host device; ([0151][0152] Fig. 2A, remote terminal communicates directly with eNB at PDCP layer in main channel )
establishing a sub channel between the first mobile device and the host device via a second mobile device(([0151][0152] Fig. 2A , remote UE communicates with eNB indirectly via relay UE with a PC5 channel, sub-channel)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Dees with the teaching of Zhang because Dees teaches that employing a secondary station/relay for communicating in a network would improves the latency while maintaining the energy consumption low.(Dees [0010])
As to claim 16. Zhang teaches A wireless communication system comprising: ([0027] Fig. 1, a wireless communication system)
a first mobile device configured to communicate with a host device; ([0038] Fig. 2A, UE communicates with eNB)
and a second mobile device configured to communicate with the host device, ([0038 Fig. 2a, Fig. 2b, relay node 204 communicates with eNB)
wherein the first mobile device is configured to:
set a connection mode to one of a connection boosting mode and a power reduction mode, ([0033][0034][0039] Fig. 2a, Fig. 2B, UE communicates with eNB in low power mode and power boosting mode using a relay node)
when the connection mode is the connection boosting mode([0034][0041] Fig. 2a, Fig. 2B, UE communicates with eNB in uplink and downlink power boosting mode using a relay node)
Zhang does not explicitly teach establish a main channel between the first mobile device and the host device according to a direct connection, and
to establish a sub channel between the first mobile device and the host device according to an interconnection through the second mobile device when the connection mode is the connection boosting mode
Dees teaches establish a main channel between the first mobile device and the host device according to a direct connection, ; ([0151][0152] Fig. 2A, remote terminal communicates directly with eNB at PDCP layer, a direct connection as main channel )and
to establish a sub channel between the first mobile device and the host device according to an interconnection through the second mobile device(([0151][0152] Fig. 2A , remote UE communicates with eNB indirectly via relay UE with a PC5 channel, sub-channel)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Dees with the teaching of Zhang because Dees teaches that employing a secondary station/relay for communicating in a network would improves the latency while maintaining the energy consumption low.(Dees [0010])
As to claim 10. The combination of Zhang and Dees specifically Zhang teaches wherein communication is performed using one of the main channel ([0038] Fig. 2A, UE communicates with eNB, direct link, main channel)
when the connection mode is a connection boosting mode. ([0034][0041] Fig. 2a, Fig. 2B, UE communicates with eNB in uplink and downlink power boosting mode using a relay node)
As to claim 17. The combination of Zhang, Dees, specifically Zhang teaches wherein the host device is a smartphone ([0031]Fig. 1, communications devices 104 may be realized as a mobile terminal such as a smartphone, )
Zhang, does not teach each of the first mobile device and the second mobile device is one of an earphone, a headset, a speaker, a charger, an external battery, and a smartwatch
Dees teaches each of the first mobile device and the second mobile device is one of an earphone, a headset, a speaker, a charger, an external battery, and a smartwatch.([0004]wireless terminals can be a Virtual Reality (VR) headsets,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Dees with the teaching of Zhang, because Dees teaches that employing a secondary station/relay for communicating in a network would improves the latency while maintaining the energy consumption low.(Dees [0010])
Claim(s) 2, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Dees, and further in view of Uchiyama et al. (US 20220116933 A1)hereinafter Uchiyama
As to claim 2 the combination of Zhang and Dees does not teach wherein the main channel and the sub channel are established according to a short-range wireless communication protocol.
Uchiyama teaches wherein the main channel and the sub channel are established according to a short-range wireless communication protocol. ([0075][0131]Fig. 2, direct link and indirect links are established in short range communication)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Uchiyama with the teaching of Zhang and Dees because Uchiyama teaches that relay assisted transmission would enable to shorten a communication distance and thus to achieve highly reliable communication with low power consumption. (Uchiyama [0004])
As to claim 18 the combination of Zhang and Dees specifically Zhang teaches wherein the host device and the first mobile device are configured to establish the main channel ([0038] Fig. 2A, UE communicates with eNB, direct link, main channel)
and the sub channel; ([0038 Fig. 2a, Fig. 2b,UE device communicates with relay node and relay node 204 communicates with eNB)
the combination of Zhang and Dees does not teach via a short- range wireless communication pairing process.
Uchiyama teaches via a short- range wireless communication pairing process. ([0075][0131]Fig. 2, direct link and indirect links are established in short range communication)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Uchiyama with the teaching of Dees and Zhang because Uchiyama teaches that relay assisted transmission would enable to shorten a communication distance and thus to achieve highly reliable communication with low power consumption. (Uchiyama [0004])
Claim(s) 3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Dees and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 20240007922 A1) hereinafter Cheng
As to claim 3. the combination of Zhang and Dees specifically Zhang teaches wherein the communicating includes: communicating between the first mobile device and the host device using the main channel([0038] Fig. 2A, UE communicates with eNB, direct link, main channel)
the combination of Zhang and Dees does not teach determining based on the communication condition a likelihood of disconnection to the main channel; and communicating with the host device using the sub channel, when the likelihood of disconnection has a value greater than or equal to a reference value.
Cheng teaches determining based on the communication condition a likelihood of disconnection to the main channel;([0051] a user equipment (UE) may be outside the coverage area of a base station or may otherwise experience a poor channel quality (e.g., below a channel quality threshold) associated with direct communications with base station e.g., determine likely to fail connection))
and communicating with the host device using the sub channel,([0051] the UE may communicate with the base station via a relay UE e.g., use sub-channel)
when the likelihood of disconnection has a value greater than or equal to a reference value. ([0097] Fig. 1, If the channel metric for the current relay connection fails to satisfy the threshold value (e.g., a sidelink RSRP for the serving relay UE 115-e is below a threshold RSRP value), a channel metric for the current relay connection failing to satisfy a first threshold value and a channel metric for a candidate relay satisfying a second threshold value (e.g., a candidate relay sidelink RSRP is greater than or equal to the second threshold value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Cheng with the teaching of Zhang and Dees because Cheng teaches that switching the relay paths may allow the device to transmit with a higher code rate, perform fewer retransmissions, thereby channel overhead.(Cheng [0126])
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Dees and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20150327046 A1) hereinafter Lee
As to claim 9. The combination of Zhang and Dees does not teach, wherein direct communication is performed using the main channel directly connected to the host device without establishing the sub channel, when the connection mode is a power reduction mode.
Lee teaches wherein direct communication is performed using the main channel directly connected to the host device without establishing the sub channel, when the connection mode is a power reduction mode ([0060] relative to communication between devices via a base station, by allowing devices which are located at a short distance from each other or have good channel statuses, to perform direct communication through a direct link therebetween to save power )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lee with the teaching of Zhang and Dees because Lee teaches that direct communication between device and node would save power or radio resources. (Lee [0060])
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Dees and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20250386396 A1) hereinafter Liu
As to claim 11 Zhang teaches A mobile device comprising: a memory device configured to store transmission data or reception data ({0254] [0255] UE include data store to store transmitted data and received data) and
a communication mode selector configured to set a connection mode of the wireless communication to one of a connection boosting mode and a power reduction mode; , ([0033][0034][0039] Fig. 2a, Fig. 2B, UE communicates with eNB in low power mode and power boosting mode using a relay node)
when the connection mode is the connection boosting mode, ([0034][0041] Fig. 2a, Fig. 2B, UE communicates with eNB in uplink and downlink power boosting mode using a relay node)
communicates with the host device using one of the main channel and the sub channel. .([0033][0038][0039] Fig. 2A UE communicates with eNB directly 201 and via relay 204 indirectly when network has poor coverage),
Zhang does not teach establishes a main channel with the host device via a layer connection with the host device, or establishes a sub channel with the host device via an interconnection with another mobile device, a communication chip configured to transmit the transmission data to an external host device via wireless communication or receive the reception data from the host device via the wireless communication
Dees teaches establishes a main channel with the host device via a layer connection with the host device, or establishes a sub channel with the host device via an interconnection with another mobile device ([0151][0152] Fig. 2A, remote terminal communicates directly with eNB at PDCP layer, a direct connection as main channel ) and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Dees with the teaching of Zhang because Dees teaches that employing a secondary station/relay for communicating in a network would improves the latency while maintaining the energy consumption low.(Dees [0010])
The combination of Zhang and Dees does not teach a communication chip configured to transmit the transmission data to an external host device via wireless communication or receive the reception data from the host device via the wireless communication,([0269][0271] Fig. 23, a CPU or an SoC (System on Chip), stores a program to be executed by processor 901 and data, e RF circuit 914 transmits and receives radio signals/data via the antenna 916).
wherein the communication chip: ([0269] Fig. 23, a CPU or an SoC (System on Chip), and controls functions of an application layer and the other layers of the smartphone 900)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Uchiyama with the teaching of Dees and Zhang because Uchiyama teaches that relay assisted transmission would enable to shorten a communication distance and thus to achieve highly reliable communication with low power consumption. (Uchiyama [0004])
As to claim 12. The combination of Zhang, Dees and Uchiyama specifically Uchiyama teaches wherein: the wireless communication is short-range wireless communication, ([0075][0131]Fig. 2, direct link and indirect links are established in short range communication)
and the other mobile device is connected to the host device to perform a hub function. ([0131] Fig. 6, UE 300 communicate directly using direct link with base station 100 and communicate to indirectly via relay UE 200 with base station e.g., relay UE perform a hub function)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Uchiyama with the teaching of Dees and Zhang because Uchiyama teaches that relay assisted transmission would enable to shorten a communication distance and thus to achieve highly reliable communication with low power consumption. (Uchiyama [0004])
Claim(s), 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Dees, Uchiyama, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 20220167263 A1) hereinafter Xu
As to claim 14. The combination of Zhang, Dees, Uchiyama does not teach teaches wherein: , only the main channel is established in the power reduction mode, and both the main channel and the sub channel are established in the connection boosting mode
Xu teaches , only the main channel is established in the power reduction mode,([0019] UE is operating in the RRC idle state the remote UE may listen for transmissions from the network; remote UE is in a low power mode and is not exchanging data with the network)
and both the main channel and the sub channel are established in the connection boosting mode. ([0053] Fig. 4a-Fig. 4C, the link selection criteria indicates that a Uu link is to be prioritized over a relay link, the remote UE 110 may not select the relay UE 112 for camping/select main channel; if the link selection criteria indicates that a relay link is to be prioritized over a Uu link, the remote UE 110 may be configured to camp on a relay UE regardless of whether the remote UE and the relay UE are within the coverage area of the same base station/direct and indirect links enhance connections)
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xu with the teaching of Zhang, Dees, Uchiyama because Xu teaches that link selection including, managing link selection criteria received from the network, collecting measurement data, selecting a link for camping and selecting a link would allow to utilize for network access. (Xu [0030]
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Dees, Uchiyama, and further in view of Cheng
As to claim 6. the combination of Zhang, Dees , Uchiyama, Cheng specifically
Uchiyama teaches determining whether a signal strength level of a signal transmitted from the main channel has a value less than a reference value. ([0187] Fig. 1, terminal apparatus may determine its own position on the basis of, for example, RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) from the base station apparatus 100; may determine to be positioned at a cell edge in a case where the RSRP is smaller than the threshold value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Uchiyama with the teaching of Dees, Zhang, Cheng because Uchiyama teaches that relay assisted transmission would enable to shorten a communication distance and thus to achieve highly reliable communication with low power consumption. (Uchiyama [0004])
As to claim 7. The combination of Zhang, Dees , Uchiyama, Cheng specifically Cheng teaches, wherein the communicating includes communicating with the host device using the sub channel, when the signal strength level of the signal has the value less than the reference value. ([0084] Fig. 1, UE 115 may be a remote UE or the UE 115 may experience relatively poor channel conditions (e.g., below one or more channel quality metrics) between the UE 115 and a base station 105. The UE 115 may discover a relay UE and may use the relay UE as a UE-to-network relay. The UE 115 may transmit messages to the selected relay UE, and the relay UE 115 may relay the messages to a base station 105 e.g., when s/connection enhancement mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Cheng with the teaching of Zhang and Dees because Cheng teaches that switching the relay paths may allow the device to transmit with a higher code rate, perform fewer retransmissions, thereby channel overhead.(Cheng [0126])
As to claim 15. The combination of Zhang, Dees, Uchiyama specifically Uchiyama teaches wherein the communication chip ([0269] Fig. 23, a CPU or an SoC (System on Chip), and controls functions of an application layer and the other layers of the smartphone 900) performs communication using the sub channel, ([0131] Fig. 6, UE 300 communicate directly using direct link with base station 100 and communicate to indirectly via relay UE 200 with base station)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Uchiyama with the teaching of Dees and Zhang because Uchiyama teaches that relay assisted transmission would enable to shorten a communication distance and thus to achieve highly reliable communication with low power consumption. (Uchiyama [0004])
The combination of Zhang, Dees, Uchiyama, does not teach when a likelihood of disconnection of communication using the main channel has a value greater than or equal to a reference value
Cheng teaches when a likelihood of disconnection of communication using the main channel has a value greater than or equal to a reference value ([0097] Fig. 1, If the channel metric for the current relay connection fails to satisfy the threshold value (e.g., a sidelink RSRP for the serving relay UE 115-e is below a threshold RSRP value), a channel metric for the current relay connection failing to satisfy a first threshold value and a channel metric for a candidate relay satisfying a second threshold value (e.g., a candidate relay sidelink RSRP is greater than or equal to the second threshold value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Cheng with the teaching of Zhang, Dees, Uchiyama, Cheng teaches that switching the relay paths may allow the device to transmit with a higher code rate, perform fewer retransmissions, thereby channel overhead.(Cheng [0126])
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Dees , and further in view of Lee
As to claim 19. The combination of Zhang, Dees does not teach , wherein the first mobile device establishes only the main channel without establishing the sub channel, when a connection mode is a power reduction mode.
Lee teaches , wherein the first mobile device establishes only the main channel without establishing the sub channel, when a connection mode is a power reduction mode. ([0060] relative to communication between devices via a base station, by allowing devices which are located at a short distance from each other or have good channel statuses, to perform direct communication through a direct link therebetween to save power )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Lee with the teaching of Zhang, Dees because Lee teaches that direct communication between device and node would save power or radio resources. (Lee [0060])
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Dees and further in view of Jacobs et al. (US 20200245384 A1) hereinafter Jacobs
As to claim 20 The combination of Zhang, Dees does not teach wherein the first mobile device simultaneously establishes the main channel and the sub channel, and communicates with the host device using one of the main channel and the sub channel, when a connection mode is a connection boosting mode.
Jacobs teaches wherein the first mobile device simultaneously establishes the main channel and the sub channel, and communicates with the host device using one of the main channel and the sub channel, ([0112] Fig. 8 consumer device can directly communicate with a cellular base station 107a using its own cellular modem, such that the consumer device 103 is communicating over a cellular network directly and indirectly (e.g., through two or more extender devices 105) within a period of time (e.g., simultaneously, or substantially simultaneously)
when a connection mode is a connection boosting mode ([0078] Fig. 2, he information relating to the transfer of tokens from the consumer device 103 to the extender device 105 can be done using any type of a communication channel directly (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and the like), or indirectly (e.g., via the MVNO 115), between the devices/extension mode )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Jacobs with the teaching of Zhang, Dees because Jacobs teaches that two or more of the extender devices can communicate with the base station over different channels, which may increase communication performance. (Jacobs [0112])
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doppler; Klaus et al. [US 20080070510 A1] INTERFERENCE MANAGEMENT TECHNIQUES FOR WIRELESS NETWORKS
Walker; Nicholas et al. [US 20240356625 A1] RECONFIGURABLE RELAY DISCOVERY FOR BLINDSPOT AVOIDANCE
YU; Ling et al. [US 20240023188 A1] ENHANCEMENT OF SERVICE CONTINUITY OF REMOTE UE DURING INTER-GNB MOBILITY IN SIDELINK BASED UE-TO-NETWORK RELAY
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413