DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 22 and 23, directed to species SII (polymer layer on shingle bottom) and SIV (polymer layer on shingle top), respectively, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected species as indicated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8,12-16, and 18-20 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grubka (11,021,876) in view of Grubka (9,758,970), Chich (4,923,913), and Kalkanoglu (8,240,100).
1. Grubka ‘876, figs. 17-18, teaches a roofing shingle including an upper edge, a lower edge, a first end, a second end, a headlap section 604, and an exposed section 606 below the headlap section, wherein a nail zone (col. 9, lines 12-18, fig. 17) extends across the roofing shingle from the first end to the second end within the headlap section, the roofing shingle comprising:
a top shingle layer 602 including a top surface (the exposed surface, fig. 17) and a bottom surface;
a reinforcement strip (Grupka teaches a “reinforcement tape” included in the overlay 602 nail zone, col. 9, line 14), the tape overlapping with the nail zone at least because the tape is in the nail zone; and
a material (adhesive 616) disposed within the nail zone.
Grubka adhesive 616 is not expressly taught as being self-sealing hot-melt adhesive capable of forming a seal around the nail that punctures the shingle to secure the shingle to the deck (significantly, Examiner indicates that at least one of Applicant’s disclosed self-sealing materials is adhesive (hot melt adhesive, para. 54)) and Grubka does not expressly teach the reinforcement tape “secured to the bottom surface” of the top shingle layer (Grupka only teaches the tape reinforcing the nail zone).
Chich teaches shingle adhesive is self-sealing “hot-melt”, col. 4, line 2, adhesive, abstract, the adhesive being capable of sealing around the nail puncture at least to some degree just as it seals (“self-sealing”) and adheres (“adhesive”) the shingle layers together (“The inventive adhesive composition may be applied to a…shingle…in the form of an adhesive strip…along an area which is to be contacted with a second roofing element”, col. 3, lines 60-69). In other words, after the top Chich shingle is placed on the bottom shingle, the self-sealing adhesive therebetween, if a nail is driven through the shingles at the adhesive, some of the adhesive would contact the nail at the puncture to seal. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Grupka adhesive to be hot-melt self-sealing adhesive forming a seal around the nail that punctures the shingle to secure the shingle to prevent leaks at the penetration.
Grubka ‘970 teaches reinforcement 35 can be secured to a bottom surface (or a top surface) of the top shingle layer, col. 11, lines 45-50. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Grubka ‘876 reinforcement to be secured to a bottom surface of the top shingle layer for enhanced pull-through, col. 8, lines 58-67.
Additionally, Grubka ‘876 teaches the plurality of shingle layers includes a stop/bottom surface shim layer disposed under the top shingle layer (underlay layer 608 is a shim layer as it essentially levels up layer 602).
Finally, while Grupka ‘876 teaches a shim layer 608 including a top surface and a bottom surface, an adhesive securing the top shingle layer and the shim layer is not expressly disclosed. Kalkanoglu discloses that it is old in the art to secure a top shingle layer and shim layer with adhesive 75. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the Grupka ‘876 top shingle layer and shim layer with adhesive to improve wind uplift resistance values.
2. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu teaches the roofing shingle according to claim 1, Grubka ‘876 further comprising roofing granules disposed on the top surface of the top shingle layer (col. 4, line 50).
3. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu
and Chich teaches the roofing shingle according to claim 1, Grubka ‘876 further teaching the top shingle layer is one of a plurality of shingle layers (layer 608 is another layer).
4. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu teaches the roofing shingle according to claim 3, Grubka ‘876 further teaching the plurality of shingle layers includes the shim layer is disposed under the top shingle layer (underlay layer 608 is a shim layer as it essentially levels up layer 602).
5. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu teaches the roofing shingle according to claim 4, Grubka ‘876 further teaching the shim layer is disposed under the reinforcement strip (overlay layer 602 is on top of underlay layer 608, the reinforcement therebetween, Fig. 18).
7. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu teaches the roofing shingle according to claim 1, Chich further teaching the self-sealing material is a polymer layer (the self-sealing material is thermoplastic elastomer, abstract, elastomers being a specific type of polymer).
8. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, and Kalkanoglu teaches the roofing shingle according to claim 7, Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970 and Chich further teaching the adhesive layer is adjacent to the reinforcement strip because the reinforcement is on the top shingle layer back side and is contacting the adhesive.
12. Grubka ‘876 adhesive 616 is not expressly taught as extending continuously across a width of the roofing shingle or is segmented across a width of the roofing shingle. Grupka ‘876 adhesive 210 of the shingle embodiment shown in figs. 2-5 extends continuously across the shingle width as seen in fig. 5. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Grubka ‘876 adhesive 616 to extend continuously across a width of the shingle for strength.
13. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu teaches the roofing shingle according to claim 1, Grubka ‘970 further teaching compared to a shingle of the same construction but without the reinforcement strip, the reinforcement strip increases nail pull strength by at least 20%, col. 8, lines 58-67. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Grubka ‘876 to have, compared to a shingle of the same construction but without the reinforcement strip, the reinforcement strip increases nail pull strength by at least 20% to improve shingle wind uplift resistance.
14. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu teaches the roofing shingle according to claim 1, Grupka ‘970 further teaching reinforcement strip 35 extends across the entire nail zone. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the Grubka ‘876 reinforcement to extend continuously across a width of the shingle as taught by Grupka ‘970 for strength.
15. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu teaches the roofing shingle according to claim 1, Grupka ‘876 further teaching the reinforcement strip extends into exposed section 606 because exposed section 606 includes the nail zone as seen in fig. 17.
16. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu teaches the roofing shingle according to claim 1, Grupka ‘876 further teaching the nail zone is delineated on the top surface of the top shingle layer because shingle alignment guide 614 also serves to help know where the nail zone is, as the nail zone is in close proximity to the guide.
18. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu teaches a method of producing the roofing shingle according to claim 1, Grupka ‘876 further teaching the method comprising providing the top shingle layer including the top surface and the bottom surface and providing the reinforcement strip as a “carrier”, as broadly recited, for the adhesive at least because the Grupka ‘876 reinforcement holds the adhesive from the time it first contacts the adhesive, Chich further teaching securing the reinforcement strip to the bottom surface of the top shingle layer because the reinforcement strip is on the bottom surface of the top shingle layer.
19. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu teaches a roofing system comprising:
a roof structure (“substrate”, col. 1, lines 27-40);
a first roofing shingle according to claim 1 disposed on the roof structure;
a first mechanical fastener (the nails in the nail zone) securing the first roofing shingle to the roof structure,
wherein the first mechanical fastener is disposed within the nail zone and passes through the top shingle layer and the reinforcement strip (the strip is in the nail zone).
20. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu teaches a method of installing a roofing system according to claim 19, the method comprising:
positioning the first roofing shingle on the roof structure, col. 1, lines 58-63; and
driving the first mechanical fastener through the nail zone of the first roofing shingle and into the roof structure so as to secure the first roofing shingle to the roof structure, wherein the first mechanical fastener passes through the top shingle layer and the reinforcement strip of the first roofing shingle.
Claim 21 – is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich, and Kalkanoglu.
21. Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970 and Chich teaches a roofing system comprising:
a roof structure (“substrate”);
a first roofing shingle and a second roofing shingle, each according to claim 1, disposed on the roof structure, such that the second roofing shingle is disposed on top of the first roofing shingle so as to cover a portion of the headlap section of the first roofing shingle while leaving the exposed section of the first roofing shingle uncovered, col. 1, lines 27-41;
a first mechanical fastener securing the first roofing shingle to the roof structure, wherein the first mechanical fastener is disposed within the nail zone and passes through the top shingle layer and the reinforcement strip, col. 1, lines 57-65; and
a second mechanical fastener securing the second roofing shingle to the roof structure, wherein the second mechanical fastener is disposed within the nail zone of the second roofing shingle and passes through the top shingle layer and the reinforcement strip of the second roofing shingle, col. 1, lines 57-65.
Claim 11 – is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu and in further view of Larson (7,368,155).
The Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich and Kalkanoglu self-sealing hot-melt adhesive is not expressly taught as being a self-sealing hot-melt adhesive comprising styrene-isoprene-styrene. Larson teaches it is old in the art for a roofing adhesive to comprise styrene-isoprene-styrene, claim 8. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a the self-sealing hot-melt adhesive to comprise a self-sealing hot-melt adhesive comprising styrene-isoprene-styrene for strength.
Claim 17 – is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grubka ‘876 in view of Grubka ‘970, Chich, and Kalkanoglu and in further view of Ellott (7,877,949).
Grubka ‘876 does not expressly teach that a width of each shingle is in a range from 24 to 48 inches, a height of the headlap area is in a range from 4 to 12 inches, and a height of the exposed area is in a range from 3 to 9 inches. Elliot teaches a shingle width is in a range from 24 to 48 inches, a height of a headlap area is in a range from 4 to 12 inches, and a height of an exposed area is in a range from 3 to 9 inches, col. 4, lines 52-67. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a width of each shingle is in a range from 24 to 48 inches, a height of the headlap area is in a range from 4 to 12 inches, and a height of the exposed area is in a range from 3 to 9 inches for an optimum ratio between the exposed shingle part and the underlying part that is not exposed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument; new secondary reference to Kalkanoglu discloses that it is old in the art to secure a top shingle layer and shim layer with adhesive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J KENNY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3633 /BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633