DETAILED ACTION
This office action follows a reply filed on August 26, 2026. Claims 1, 4 and 10 have been amended. Claims 1-2, 4-10 and 12-21 are currently pending and under examination.
The rejection over Lin (Properties of Natural Rubber Vulcanizates/Nanosilica Composites Prepared Based on the Method of In-Situ Generation and Coagulation, Journal of Macromolecular Science, Part B: Physics, 52, August 2013, pp. 1495-1507) is withdrawn, as applicants have limited the method of preparing the functionalized silica, which results in a materially different product than that suggested by the method used in Lin.
The rejection over Zheng (Silica Modified by Alcohol Polyoxyethylene Ether and Silane Coupling Agent Together to Achieve High Performance Rubber Composites Using the Latex Compounding Method, Polymers, 10(1), 2018, pp. 17 pages) is withdrawn, as applicants have limited x=2-12, whereas the silane coupling agent used in Zheng meets applicants’ formula (II) when x=1.
However, the rejection over CN 106589485 is deemed proper and is maintained for the reasons set forth below.
The texts of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code are not included in this section and can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, applicants claim the coupling agent as “…3-trimethoxysilylpropyl methacrylate monosulfide, or 3-trimethoxysilylpropyl-methacrylate monosulfide.”
Applicants have now limited x in Sx in Formula (II) to at least 2, which requires at least a disulfide, where a monosulfide would result in x=1.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 17 limits the weight ratio of alcohol ether and coupling agent to 1:1 to about 1:5; however, claim 1, from which claim 17 depends, already limits the weight ratio of alcohol ether and coupling agent to 1:1 to 1:5. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 1-2, 4-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 106589485; however, for convenience, the machine translation will be cited below.
CN ‘485 exemplifies simultaneously modifying white carbon black, also known as silica, in a stable aqueous suspension with AEO and silane coupling agent, followed by spray drying. AEO is defined as
, which meets applicants’ formula (I) when n=3-20, x=2 and m=3-15, and is sufficiently specific to the claimed variables of n=1-18, x=1-8 and m=1-15. The silane coupling agent is exemplified as Si69, known in the art as bis[3-(triethoxysilyl)propyl]tetrasulfide and Si75, known in the art as bis[3-(triethoxysilyl)propyl]disulfide; all of which meet applicants’ formula (II). CN ‘485 exemplifies the inclusion of AEO-7 and Si75 in a 1:1 weight ratio (Example 2).
CN ‘485 discloses adding 60 phr of the modified silica to natural rubber, and then curing by mold pressing and heating to vulcanize the composition.
CN ‘485 anticipates instant claims 1-2, 4, 5-6, 10, 13, 15-17 and 20.
As to claims 7-9, CN ‘485 discloses the composition as suitable for preparing tyre tread rubber.
As to claims 12, 14, 18-19, CN ‘485 exemplifies preparing a 10 wt% white carbon black solution, and then adds 10 g of teach of AEO-7 and Si75 to 1000 g of the white carbon black suspension (Example 2), suggesting the inclusion of 10 parts of each of AEO-7 and Si75 per 100 parts of silica.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106589485, as applied above to claims 1-2, 4-10 and 12-20.
CN ‘485 anticipates instant claims 1-2, 4-10 and 12-20, as described above and applied herein as such, as CN ‘485 discloses preparing an aqueous dispersion of silica, adding a silane coupling agent and AEO, followed by drying and adding to a rubber composition for use in preparing tire tread rubber.
CN ‘485 discloses the AEO as having the structure CH3(CH2)m(OCH2CH2)nOH, where n=1-18, x=1-8 and m=1-15. The ranges set forth in this structure overlap with the claimed ranges of x=2, n=12-15 and m=4-6, and it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding CN ‘485, filed August 26, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, as applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from CN ‘485.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766