DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group 1 claims 1-15 directed to a bicycle component or intermediate product is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 16-20 are withdrawn from consideration at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciavatta et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 20070199403 in view of Walker et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2020/0164431.
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, 14Ciavatta discloses a bicycle pedal crank having an elongated body with a first end portion and a second end portion. Figure 1 of Ciavatta shows a hollow core. Paragraph 0029 discloses at least two layers of composite materials comprising unidirectional structural fibers. Paragraph 0031 discloses that the cavity [hollow portion] formed from polyurethane [polymeric material]. Paragraph 0032 discloses that the structural fibers are incorporated into a polymeric material. Paragraph 0034 discloses that the structural fibers can include carbon fibers. Ciavatta discloses that the polymeric material can include thermoplastics and thermosetting resins. Applicant’s claims include open language and can include other material with the polymer based material for layer of second polymeric material disposed on the hollow container.
Ciavatta is silent to the cavity including a water-soluble core. Walker discloses cast components such as bicycle components [0010]. Walker discloses a core includes hollow microspheres [see Figure 2 and 0014]. Additionally, Paragraph 0019 of Walker discloses that the core can include water soluble binder. Also, paragraph 0019 can include cellulose polymer derivatives. Also, paragraph 0023 discloses that the core can include salt-based materials binder. Paragraph 0025 discloses that the salt-based cores include sodium chloride, potassium chloride. It is disclosed in paragraph 0003 of Walker discloses that the core can include silicate based-materials. Paragraph 0030 discloses the components have strength and durability. Ciavatta and Walker are analogous art in that both references are directed to a bicycle component. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize the materials of Walker in the cavity of Ciavatta to provide enhanced strength and durability to the bicycle crank.
Regarding claim 5, 13 and 15, Figure 1 shows a preformed connector disposed on the hollow container 38 which is integrated with the composite laminate. Applicant’s claim is not specific to the connector.
Regarding claim 10, paragraph 0029 discloses at least two layers, which can include three layers, of composite materials comprising unidirectional structural fibers
Regarding claim 12, Figure shows an attachment features 38, 39. Applicant’s claim is not specific to the attachment features.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786