DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a reinterpretation of the structure of Lin et al. as set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 18 and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 – 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (WO 2008019612).
In Re claims 10 and 17, ‘612 teaches a switch, comprising: a first laser (710, continuous wave broad spectrum light source, pgs. 4, 7, 8 of translation) and a first optical splitter (73, AWG is a spectral splitter), wherein the first laser is configured to provide a first laser light, and wherein the first optical splitter is configured to split the first laser light into a first downstream laser light and a second downstream laser light (two wavelengths 1 and 2), wherein first information (from 703) is transmitted from the switch to the first terminal using the first downstream laser light, and wherein second information is transmitted from the switch to the second terminal using the second downstream laser light (fig. 7).
Examiner notes that the claim is to a switch and that the local area network and its first and second terminals are not claimed as part of the switch, but rather an environment for which the switch can be used.
In Re claims 11 and 12, ‘612 teaches wherein the switch further comprises a second laser (backup 710 adjacent to labeled 710, fig. 7) and a second optical splitter (702), wherein the second laser is configured to provide a second laser light, wherein the second optical splitter is configured to split the second laser light into a third laser light and a fourth laser light (two wavelengths 1 and 2 as the claim doesn’t recite that the wavelengths differ from first and second laser light), whereby information is transmitted to the switch from the terminals at 706 and 707.
Examiner notes that the first and second terminals are not claimed as part of the switch, but rather an environment for which the switch can be used.
In Re claims 13, 14, and 16, ‘612 teaches wherein the switch further comprises a first input/output block (705) and a second input/output block (706), wherein the first input/output block is configured to transmit the first downstream laser light and third laser light to the first terminal, and wherein no laser is disposed in the first input/output block, and wherein the second input/output block is configured to transmit the second downstream laser light and the fourth laser light to the second terminal, and wherein no laser is disposed in the second input/output block.
Examiner notes that the first and second terminals are not claimed as part of the switch, but rather an environment for which the switch can be used.
Claims 18, 20 – 23, 25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2019/0137816 A1).
In Re claims 18, 21 – 23, and 25, ‘816 teaches a switch, comprising: a first laser (par. 0047, 601), a first optical splitter (605) directly connected to the first laser (fig. 6b), a first wavelength division multiplexing optical splitter (6031 in 603), and a second wavelength division multiplexing optical splitter (6031 in 604), wherein the switch is applied to a local area network, wherein the local area network comprises the switch, a first terminal (Tx in 603), and a second terminal (Tx in 604), and wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are connected to the switch, wherein the first laser is configured to provide a first laser light (par. 0047), wherein the first optical splitter is configured to split the first laser light into a second laser light (to 602) and a third laser light (to 606), wherein the second laser light is transmitted to the first terminal via the first wavelength division multiplexing optical splitter, and the third laser light is transmitted to the second terminal via the second wavelength division multiplexing optical splitter, wherein the second laser light is used by the first terminal to load first information onto the second laser light (par. 0062), to obtain a first information-loaded laser light onto which the first information is loaded, wherein the third laser light is used by the second terminal to load second information onto the third laser light (par. 0062), to obtain a second information-loaded laser light onto which the second information is loaded, and wherein the first information-loaded laser light onto which the first information is loaded is used by the first terminal to transmit the first information to the switch via the first wavelength division multiplexing optical splitter, and the second information-loaded laser light onto which the second information is loaded is used by the second terminal to transmit the second information to the switch via the second wavelength division multiplexing optical splitter (par. 0060, 0062).
In Re claims 20 and 28, ‘816 teaches wherein no laser is disposed in the first terminal, and wherein no laser is disposed in the second terminal (pars. 0060, 5a – 5c).
Claims 10 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson et al. (U.S. Patent # 6,282,005 B1).
‘005 teaches a switch comprising, a first laser (46) directly connected to the splitter (54, col. 9, 12 – 26), first and second information (48, 50) (fig. 2).
Examiner notes that the claim is to a switch and that the local area network and its first and second terminals are not claimed as part of the switch, but rather an environment for which the switch can be used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (WO 2008019612A).
‘612 teaches the switch as claimed but is silent to a heat dissipater as claimed. However, it is well known in the art to use a heat dissipater such as a heat sink attached to lasers so as to ensure proper operating temperature of the lasers. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch as claimed so as to attach heat dissipators to each of the lasers as claimed so as to regulate the temperature of each of the lasers thus ensuring optimum operation of the lasers as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Claims 19, 24, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2019/0137816 A1).
In Re claims 19 and 26, ‘816 teaches using a laser (par. 0047), but is silent to the laser being a continuous as claimed.
It is well known in the art to use continuous wave lasers as they are readily available is cost effective.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a continuous wave laser as the laser of ‘816 so as to allow for efficiency and cost savings as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
In Re claims 24 and 27, ‘816 teaches the switch but is silent to heat dissipaters as claimed. However, it is well known in the art to attach a heat dissipater to a laser, such as a heat sink or substrate, so as to allow for adequate cooling of the laser and thus optimum operation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a heat dissipater to the laser so as to ensure adequate cooling of the laser and thus optimum operation as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAD H SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874