DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anantharaman, USPN 2014/0230018.
With regard to claim 9, Anantharaman discloses an apparatus for providing access to a controller that is managing a process image and implements a runtime environment to execute an automation application using the process image (0003, 0010, 0013, 0017), the controller being linked to a set of communication devices including the apparatus (0097, 0100), the apparatus including one or more network interfaces to communicate with a communication network (0035, 0100), a processor coupled to the network interfaces and configured to execute one or more processes (0097, 0100), and a memory configured to store a process executable by the processor (0093, 0100), the process when executed operable to receive first biometric data from the user (0023), extract a biometric pattern from the received first biometric data (0023), retrieve a profile of access rights associated with a reference pattern, if the biometric pattern matches the reference pattern (0024-0026, 0039-0040), retrieve second biometric data from the user (0025-0027), convert the second biometric data into a command (0027), compare the command with process data in a translation table according to the access rights of the profile (0027, 0056-0057), and if the command matches process data, send the process data to the controller to be processed by the automation application (0027-0030).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anantharaman, USPN 2014/0230018 in view of Boesen, USPN 2021/0224371.
With regard to claims 1, 10, and 11, Anantharaman discloses the system of claim 9, as outlined above, and further discloses an initial authentication request with embedded biometric information (0026), and later authorization requests with embedded biometric information (0027, 0054-0055), that each type of command might require a specific authorization (0025 “A home device may only send one authorization request for each type of operation”), and using different types of biometrics (0023), but does not disclose that the second biometric data is different from the first biometric data. Boesen discloses a method for authorizing access to a controller using biometric information and user profiles (0004), similar to that of Anantharaman, and further discloses using a different type of biometric for different types of requests (0042, claim 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to use to implement the different types and levels of biometric authentication of Boesen in the authentication and authorization requests of Anantharaman, or for different types of authorization requests in Anantharaman, such as changing the channel or raising the volume (0057, 0069), for the motivation of improving control over more significant restrictions, while for less important restriction better managing processor load and network traffic, a stated motivation of Anantharaman (0023).
With regard to claim 2, Anantharaman in view of Boesen discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Anantharaman further discloses the biometric device compares the biometric pattern with reference patterns stored in a role database to determine the profile of access rights associated with the reference pattern matching the biometric pattern (0047, 0040, 0057).
With regard to claim 3, Anantharaman in view of Boesen discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Anantharaman further discloses the biometric device sends the biometric pattern to the controller that compares the biometric pattern with reference patterns stored in a role database to determine the profile of access rights associated with the reference pattern matching the biometric pattern and to send the profile of access rights to the biometric device (0047, 0067, 0070, 0073-0075).
With regard to claim 4, Anantharaman in view of Boesen discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Anantharaman further discloses the set of communication devices contains I/O modules (0047).
With regard to claim 5, Anantharaman in view of Boesen discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Anantharaman further discloses the automation application selects instructions corresponding to the process data and sends sending the instructions to a communication device to perform a function associated with the instruction (0027, 0032).
With regard to claim 6, Anantharaman in view of Boesen discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Anantharaman further discloses the first biometric and the second biometric data comprise voice data, video data, or gesture data (0010, 0022, 0023, 0033, 0090).
With regard to claim 7, Anantharaman in view of Boesen discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Anantharaman further discloses the first biometric and the second biometric data include data related to user action on a touchscreen, including data related to the type of movement of a finger, duration of hold, and pressure of the finger while generating a touch event on the touchscreen (0002, 0022-0023, 0100).
With regard to claim 8, Anantharaman in view of Boesen discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Anantharaman further discloses the translation table includes commands respectively associated with process data, wherein the process data are defined in a language directly understandable by the controller (0026-0027, 0056-0057).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. Applicant argues that claim 1 has been amended to overcome the previous rejection. This argument was persuasive and thus a new rejection with a new reference was added as outlined above.
Applicant further argues, “Claims 2-11 depend from allowable independent claim 1, and therefore are also in condition for allowance at least due to their respective dependencies therefrom.” The examiner points out that claim 9 does not depend on claim 1, and was not amended in the same manner as claim 1, and thus is still rejected in the same manner as in the non-final rejection.
References Cited
Anderson et al., USPN 2017/0091433, discloses a method of biometric authentication, where a profile dictates the type of biometrics needed to authenticate a user (0057), but bases this determination on the user and not the command type (0057).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434