Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/14/24 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second vibration generating apparatus between the vibration member and the supporting member” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It appears that only a portion of this member is between the vibration member (100) and the supporting member (300) (See figure 2, element (200’)), not the entire second vibration generating apparatus as set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 12-15, 18-19 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye et al. (2022/0217472 A1).
Re claim 1: Ye et al. teaches an apparatus comprising:
a vibration member (403, figure 38);
a supporting member (405), figure 38) at a rear surface of the vibration member; and
a first vibration generating apparatus (note paragraph [0212], vibration apparatus (200) includes a first vibrating apparatus (110), figure 34 connected with the rear surface of the vibration member and a second vibration generating apparatus (120), figure 34 between the vibration member and the supporting member,
wherein the first vibration generating apparatus and the second vibration generating apparatus are serially connected with each other (note the first and second vibrating apparatuses as connected in a stacked arrangement, i.e. serially connected to each other.
Re claim 4: note figure 34 in which the first vibration generating apparatus (110) contacts a rear surface of vibration member (403) through elastic element (116)
Re claim 5: note element (116) satisfies the connection member
Re claim 6: See teaching the use of an IC’s, paragraph [0083] satisfying a control board
Re claim 7: see figure 1 teaching the use of a single signal path between a controller (40) and element (10), vibration generating apparatus.
Re claim 8: as seen from figure 1 the signal path is configured in a closed loop with the control board (IC controller 40)
Re claim 12: as seen from figure 34 a portion of the first vibration generating apparatus (110) overlaps the second vibration generating apparatus (120)
Re claim 13: reversing the designations of elements (110) and (12) as a second vibration generating apparatus and a first vibration generating apparatus respectively then as seen in figure 34 the first apparatus (120) is located between vibration member (201) that is attached to panel (403) and the second apparatus (110)
Re claim 14: see connecting surfaces between elements (110) and (120), figure 34.
Re claim 15: see figure 1, output from (IC controller 40) used to drive the vibration apparatus (10) that includes a first and second vibration generating apparatuses
Re claim 18: see another embodiment taught in figure 39 depicted two separate vibration generating apparatus (200) spaced from each other having components therein such that these apparatuses do not overlap as set forth
Re claim 19: see teaching in paragraph [0092] for the use of a first (11) and second (13) electrodes on different surfaces of a vibration layer.
Re claim 30: note element (403) in figure 38 along with paragraph [0212] teaches a vibration member as being a display panel satisfying the alternative language arrangement as set forth by the phrase “one or more of”
Re claim 31: see paragraph [0212} teaching element (403) can be a plastic material satisfying the alternative languge “comprises one or more material” of a list of materials
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. in view of Nam et al. (US 2022/0210529 A1).
Re claim 20: The teaching of Ye et al. is discussed above and incorporated herein. Ye et al. does not teach the use of an inorganic material and an organic material as set forth. Nam et al. teaches in a similar environment to use a combination of organic and inorganic materials for a vibration layer (see for example figures 9A-9Fto enable a reduced thickness when used in a display apparatus, paragraph [0231] and for enhancing the durability of the vibration apparatus, paragraph [0240]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate the use of such materials as taught in Man et al. into the arrangement of Ye et al. to predictably allow for reduced thickness when used in a display apparatus, and for enhancing the durability of the vibration apparatus. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Claim(s) 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. in view of Nam et al. as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US2022/0201399 A1.
Re claim 32: The teaching of Ye et al. in view of Nam et al. is discussed above and incorporated herein. This combination dose not teach inorganic portions that progressively decrease. Kim et al. teaches in a similar environment to progressively decrease the inorganic portions, figure 7A along with paragraph [0181] as an alternative to equal width portions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate such a teaching into the arrangement of Ye et al. in view of Nam et al. to predictably provide an alternative way of providing the inorganic portions. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claim 33: Also note in configuration of figure 7A of Kim et al., inorganic portions (231a) have a larger size than portions (231b) which inherently provide those results as set forth by this configuration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate such a teaching into the arrangement of Ye et al. in view of Nam et al. to predictably provide an alternative way of providing the inorganic portions. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 9-11, 16-17, 21-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claimed apparatus including in combination those features of claim 1 wherein the first vibration generating apparatus is configured to output a sound of a first frequency band, and wherein the second vibration generating apparatus is configured to output a sound of a second frequency band different from the first frequency band as set forth in claim 2 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The limitations of claim 3 depend upon those features of claim 2/1. The claimed apparatus including in combination those features of claim 8/7/6/1 wherein the control board and the first vibration generating apparatus are connected with each other through a signal terminal having a first polarity, and wherein the control board and the second vibration generating apparatus are connected with each other through a signal terminal having a second polarity opposite to the first polarity as set forth in claim 9 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The limitations of claims 10-11 depend upon those features of claims 9/8/7/6/1. The claimed apparatus including in combination those features of claim 15/12/6/1 wherein the signal connection member comprises a first signal connection member connected with a signal terminal having a first polarity of the first vibration generating apparatus; a second signal connection member connected with a signal terminal, having a second polarity opposite to the first polarity, of the second vibration generating apparatus; and a third signal connection member connected between a signal terminal having the second polarity of the first vibration generating apparatus and a signal terminal having the first polarity of the second vibration generating apparatus as set forth in claim 16 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The limitations of claim 17 depend upon those features of claim 16/15/12/6/1. The claimed apparatus including in combination those features of claim 20/19/1 21, wherein the second vibration generating apparatus comprises: a frame including an accommodating space; a magnet disposed in the accommodating space; a bobbin disposed the accommodating space, the bobbin being at a periphery of the magnet; and a coil at a periphery of the bobbin as set forth in claim 21 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The limitations of claims 22-29 depend upon those features of claim 21/20/19/1.
Conclusion
Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users.
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANDREW SNIEZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/A.S./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693 10/8/25