DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claims 1-20 are deemed to have an effective filing date of December 13, 2022.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “104” has been used to designate both a capacitor in Fig. 4 and what appears to be a sensor in Fig. 2.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 (o) because a legend is required for the boxes designated by reference numerals “56”, “58” in Figs. 2 and 4; “54a”, “56a”, “58a”, “74a”, “200”, “201”, “202”, “204” in Fig. 6A; “56”, “58c”, “74”, “200”, “201”, “202”, “204” in Fig. 6B; “54a”, “56a”, “58a”, “74a”, “200”, “204” in Fig. 6C; and “55a”, “57a-f”, “58a”, “58b”, “75”, “120a”, “120b” in Fig. 7.
CFR 1.84 (o) Legends. Suitable descriptive legends may be used subject to approval by the Office, or may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing.
If space is a concern, a table identifying the reference numerals can be inserted on the page.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 50d.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 108g.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0059], line 3, “receiver” should be --receive--.
Paragraph [0073], line 6, reference numeral “55” should be --55a--.
Paragraph [0079], line 5, the reference numeral of “receiver circuitry 58” should be --58b--; and
line 13, the reference numeral of “receiver circuitry 58a” should be “58b”.
Paragraph [0080], line 1, reference numeral “58” should be --58a and/or 58b--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0022986 to Travers et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Travers”) with evidentiary reference US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0176102 to Pribula et al. (hereinafter referred to as Pribula).
Referring to claim 1, Travers discloses a system, comprising: an electric field generator configured to generate a first electrical signal having an alternating current waveform at a frequency in a range from 50 kHz to 1 MHz (e.g., paragraphs [0005] and [0071]: TTF field generator 58 and Fig. 1 where Therapeutic electric fields that inhibit solid tumor growth have been established as those between 100kHz and 500kHZ and are commonly referred to as TTFields as evidenced by Pribula, paragraph [0035]); a transmitter circuitry electrically coupled to the electric field generator and operable to receive the first electrical signal and transmit a wireless signal (e.g., paragraph [0071]: wireless signal generator 56); a receiver circuitry operable to receive the wireless signal (e.g., paragraph [0071]: wireless communication interface 84, wireless antenna 82 that enables the receiving of commands from a wireless signal generator within the TTF field generator 58) and output a second electrical signal having the alternating current waveform (e.g., paragraph [0068]: multilayer flex circuit 54 interconnects electrode elements to a control device and field generator in a dynamic fashion to administer TTF’s); a first transducer array electrically coupled to the receiver circuitry (e.g., paragraph [0069] and Fig. 11, interface 84 is electrically coupled to transducer arrays/relays A and B) ; and a second transducer array electrically coupled to the receiver circuitry (e.g., Fig. 11, interface 84 is electrically coupled to transducer arrays/relays A and B); wherein the first transducer array and the second transducer array are configured to generate an alternating electric field based on the alternating current waveform of the second electrical signal received from the receiver circuitry (e.g., paragraph [0068]: multilayer flex circuit 54 interconnects electrode elements to a control device and field generator in a dynamic fashion to administer TTF’s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Travers in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0087687 to Kesler et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Kesler”).
With respect to claim 2, Travers discloses the system of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose that the transmitter circuitry comprises a first inductor and the receiver circuitry comprises a second inductor, the second inductor being inductively coupled to the first inductor. While Travers discloses that its transmitter transmits a wireless signal from the electric field generator and has a receiver that receives the wireless signal, it does not disclose the structure that establishes coupling. However, Kesler, in a related art: communication in a wireless power transmission system used in the medical arts to treat patients unencumbered by power cords (e.g., title, abstract, and paragraph [0611] of Kesler), teaches that an electric field generator can generate a first electrical signal having an alternating current waveform at a frequency in a range from 50 kHz to 1 MHz where the first electrical signal energy can be transferred over a distance between resonators 102S and 102D (e.g., paragraph [0234] of Kesler), each resonator may be a capacitively-loaded inductor loop magnetic resonator having an inductor 108 (e.g., Figs. 6A-D and paragraphs [0263]–[0265] of Kesler) and that energy exchange between two electromagnetic resonators can be optimized and “coupling-time” between resonators can be shortened (e.g., paragraph [0036] of Kesler). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of a transmitter with an inductor and a receiver with an inductor in order to inductively couple energy over a distance as well as a wireless signal in view of the teachings of Kesler. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the transmitter circuitry and receiver circuitry of Travers so that each has an inductor and that both energy of the electric field generator and the wireless signal of Travers can be inductively coupled between the two inductors in view of the teachings of Kesler that such are standard components in a wireless energy transmission system, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
As to claim 3, Travers in view of Kesler teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the transmitter circuitry further comprises a first LC circuit having a first capacitor electrically connected to the first inductor; and the receiver circuitry further comprises a second LC circuit having a second capacitor electrically coupled to the second inductor, the first LC circuit and the second LC circuit (e.g., paragraphs [0234], [0263]–[0265] and Figs. 6A-D of Kesler) configured to exhibit resonant inductive coupling (e.g., paragraph [0433] of Kesler). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of a transmitter with an LC circuit having a capacitor electrically connected to an inductor and a receiver with an LC circuit having a capacitor electrically connected to an inductor in order to inductively couple energy over a distance as well as a wireless signal in view of the teachings of Kesler. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the transmitter circuitry and receiver circuitry of Travers so that each has an LC circuit and that both energy of the electric field generator and the wireless signal of Travers can be inductively coupled between the two LC circuits in view of the teachings of Kesler that such are standard components in a wireless energy transmission system, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
With respect to claim 4, Travers in view of Kesler teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the first capacitor and the second capacitor are selected to induce resonant inductive coupling between the first LC circuit and the second LC circuit at a resonant frequency (e.g., paragraph [0224] of Kesler): coupled resonators have substantially the same resonant frequency). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of selecting the LC circuit of a resonator in order to inductively couple energy at the same resonant frequency over a distance as well as a wireless signal in view of the teachings of Kesler. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the system of Travers so that each LC circuit induce resonant inductive coupling at the same resonant frequency and that both energy of the electric field generator and the wireless signal of Travers can be inductively coupled between the two inductors of the LC circuits at the same resonant frequency in view of the teachings of Kesler that such are standard components in a wireless energy transmission system, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
As to claim 5, Travers in view of Kesler teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the resonant frequency is the frequency of the alternating current waveform (e.g., paragraphs [0225]-[0236] of Kesler: resonators have substantially the same resonant frequency to exchange energy where the source resonant frequency, the device resonant frequency and the generator driving frequency are matched). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of the resonant frequency of the LC circuits of the resonators being the frequency of the alternating current waveform in order to inductively couple energy at the same resonant frequency over a distance as well as a wireless signal in view of the teachings of Kesler. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the system of Travers so that the resonant frequency of each LC circuit is the frequency of the alternating current waveform in view of the teachings of Kesler that such are standard components in a wireless energy transmission system, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
With respect to claim 6, Travers in view of Kesler teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the alternating current waveform has a first power, further comprising: a power circuitry operable to receive the alternating current waveform and amplify the first power of the alternating current waveform to a second power (e.g., paragraphs [0831] and [0840] of Keslar: wireless energy converter may be used to translate or convert the parameters or characteristics of wireless power transfer allowing energy transfer between sources and devices; and wireless power converters provide “amplification” or a boost to a filed from sources and fields from different parameters), the power circuitry electrically disposed between the receiver circuitry and each of the first transducer array and the second transducer array (e.g., Fig. 89 and paragraph [0840]: power converter 8908 may capture energy from oscillating magnetic fields 8932, 8930 and the wireless power converter may capture the energy and generate a second magnetic field 8934, 8936 with one or more different parameters than the sources 9824, and transfer the energy to one or more devices/transducers 8916, 8918, 8920; and Fig. 89). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of a power circuitry operable to receive the alternating current waveform and amplify the first power of the alternating current waveform to a second power in view of the teachings of Kesler. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the system of Travers to include a power circuitry operatable to receive the alternating current waveform and amplify the first power of the alternating current waveform to a second power where the power circuitry is disposed between the receiver circuitry and each of the first transducer and the second transducer in view of the teachings of Kesler that such are standard components in a wireless energy transmission system in order to capture energy from one source and to provide “amplification” or a boost to the first power, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
As to claim 7, Travers in view of Keslar teaches the system of claim 6, further comprising: a battery having a power capacity and coupled to the power circuitry, the battery operable to provide a third power to the power circuitry (e.g., paragraphs [0039]-[0040] of Kesler: remote devices may be coupled to an energy storage unit, such as a battery and the wireless transfer mechanism is supplementary to the main bower source of the device; and [01109]: the device 13708 requiring electrical energy may be wired to a resonator to receive wirelessly energy from one or more external resonators 13712 via oscillating magnetic fields where the energy captured by the device resonator may be used to charge the battery (third power) or power the implanted device); and wherein the power circuitry is further operable to selectively amplify the first power of the alternating current waveform to the second power by using a portion of the third power (e.g., paragraphs [0826], [0840], Fig. 87, and [01214] of Keslar: power source 8722 may be amplified to a second power creating a stronger oscillating magnetic field and can be switched/transferred to device 8714 including a battery, and wireless power transfer may be used to provide supplemental power to specific circuits of a device or during specific operations of a device).
With respect to claim 8, Travers in view of Keslar teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the battery is further operable to receive a charging power to charge the battery, and wherein the power circuitry is further operable to selectively provide the charging power to the battery from the first power of the alternating current waveform (e.g., paragraph [1109] of Keslar: the energy captured by the device resonator may be used to charge the battery using the captured energy that is generated by an external resonator 13712).
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kesler in view of Travers with evidentiary reference to Pribula.
Regarding claim 9, Kesler discloses a system, comprising: a power supply operable to supply a first power (e.g., paragraphs [0034] and [0211]: this inventive technique uses coupled electromagnetic resonators to transfer power from a power supply to a power drain where the power supply would have a first power; and [0234]: source resonator 102S may be driven by a power supply or generator); a transmitter circuitry electrically coupled to the power supply and operable to transmit a wireless power signal based on the first power (e.g., Fig. 1A and paragraph [0234]: a source resonator transmits energy from the power supply over a distance D); a receiver circuitry operable to receive the wireless power signal and output a second power (e.g., Fig. 1A and paragraph [0234]: device resonator 102D receives the wireless power signal and output a second power to a load or load resistor); and an electric field generator configured to generate an alternating current waveform at a frequency (e.g., paragraph [0498]: power and control circuitry designed to transform the alternating current power at one frequency from the device resonator alternating current power at a different frequency suitable for powering a device. Keslar differs from the claimed invention in that it does not expressly disclose an electric field generator configured to receive the second power and generate an alternating current waveform at a frequency in a range from 50 kHz to 1 MHz; a first transducer array electrically coupled to the electric field generator; and a second transducer array electrically coupled to the electric field generator; wherein the first transducer array and the second transducer array are configured to generate an alternating electric field based on the alternating current waveform received from the electric field generator. Keslar does disclose that its system may be used for the powering of medical devices to treat patients unencumbered by power cords (e.g., paragraphs [0608] and [0611]). Travers, in a related art: system for treating multiple tumors in patient with metastatic disease by electric fields, teaches that it was known in the medical art to generate [with an implied electric field generator] electromagnetic/electric fields using the received second power between electrodes/transducers within the claimed range of 50 kHz to 1 MHz in order to treat cancer (e.g., paragraphs [0005] and [0071]: TTF field generator 58 and Fig. 1 where Therapeutic electric fields that inhibit solid tumor growth have been established as those between 100kHz and 500kHZ and are commonly referred to as TTFields as evidenced by US 2022/0176102 to Pribula et al., paragraph [0035]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of an alternating current waveform having a frequency in a range between 50 kHz and 1 MHz and a first and second transducer arrays that generate an alternating electric field based on the alternating current waveform received from the electric field generator has in view of the teachings of Travers. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the system of Kesler so that the medical treatment device receiving the second power are electrodes/transducers in order to treat cancer in view of the teachings of Travers that such was a well-known treatment of cancer, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
With respect to claim 10, Kesler in view of Travers teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the receiver circuitry is operable to output at least a portion of the first power; and further comprising: a power circuitry operable to receive the portion of the first power and amplify the portion of the first power to the second power (e.g., paragraphs [0831] and [0840] of Keslar: wireless energy converter may be used to translate or convert the parameters or characteristics of wireless power transfer allowing energy transfer between sources and devices; and wireless power converters provide “amplification” or a boost to a filed from sources and fields from different parameters), the power circuitry electrically disposed between the receiver circuitry and the electric field generator (e.g., Fig. 89 and paragraph [0840] of Keslar: power converter 8908 may capture energy from oscillating magnetic fields 8932, 8930 and the wireless power converter may capture the energy and generate a second magnetic field 8934, 8936 with one or more different parameters than the sources 9824, and transfer the amplified energy to one or more devices/transducers 8916, 8918, 8920; and Fig. 89).
As to claim 11, Kesler in view of Travers teaches the system of claim 10, further comprising: a battery having a power capacity and coupled to the power circuitry, the battery operable to provide a third power to the power circuitry (e.g., paragraphs [0039]-[0040] of Kesler: remote devices may be coupled to an energy storage unit, such as a battery and the wireless transfer mechanism is supplementary to the main bower source of the device; and [01109]: the device 13708 requiring electrical energy may be wired to a resonator to receive wirelessly energy from one or more external resonators 13712 via oscillating magnetic fields where the energy captured by the device resonator may be used to charge the battery (third power) or power the implanted device); and wherein the power circuitry is further operable to selectively amplify the portion of the first power and the third power to the second power (e.g., paragraphs [0826], [0840], Fig. 87, and [01214] of Keslar: power source 8722 may be amplified to a second power creating a stronger oscillating magnetic field and can be switched/transferred to device 8714 including a battery, and wireless power transfer may be used to provide supplemental power to specific circuits of a device or during specific operations of a device).
With respect to claim 12, Kesler in view of Travers teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the battery is further operable to receive a charging power to charge the battery, and wherein the power circuitry is further operable to selectively provide the charging power to the battery from the portion of the first power (e.g., paragraph [1109] of Keslar: the energy captured by the device resonator may be used to charge the battery using the captured energy that is generated by an external resonator 13712).
With respect to claim 13, Kesler in view of Travers teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the transmitter circuitry comprises a first inductor and the receiver circuitry comprises a second inductor (e.g., Figs. 6A-D and paragraphs [0263]–[0265] of Kesler), the second inductor being inductively coupled to the first inductor (e.g., paragraph [0036] of Kesler).
As to claim 14, Kesler in view of Travers teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the transmitter circuitry further comprises a first LC circuit having a first capacitor electrically connected to the first inductor; and the receiver circuitry further comprises a second LC circuit having a second capacitor electrically coupled to the second inductor (e.g., paragraphs [0234], [0263]–[0265] and Figs. 6A-D of Kesler), the first LC circuit and the second LC circuit exhibiting resonant inductive coupling (e.g., paragraph [0433] of Kesler).
With respect to claim 15, Kesler in view of Travers teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the first capacitor and the second capacitor are selected to induce resonant inductive coupling between the first LC circuit and the second LC circuit at a resonant frequency (e.g., paragraph [0224] of Kesler): coupled resonators have substantially the same resonant frequency).
With respect to claim 16, Kesler in view of Travers teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the transmitter circuitry is a directional transmitter configured to conform to a far-field transmission technique (e.g., paragraph [0032] of Kesler: one way to improve transfer efficiency of some radiative energy transfer schemes is to use directional antennas to confine and preferentially direct the radiated energy toward a receiver where radiative or far field transmission techniques are used to transfer energy).
As to claim 17, Kesler in view of Travers teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the directional transmitter is a first directional transmitter (e.g., paragraph [0032] of Kesler), and the wireless power signal is a first wireless power signal (e.g., Figs. 1A and 89); and further comprising: a second directional transmitter configured to conform to the far-field transmission technique (e.g., Fig. 89 and paragraph [0032] of Kesler, the second directional transmitter being electrically coupled to the power supply and operable to transmit a second wireless power signal based on the first power (e.g., paragraph [0840] and Fig. 89: first transmitter source 8922, second transmitter source 8924, first wireless power signal 8932, second wireless power signal 8930 where the second wireless signal is capable of being based on the first power); and wherein the receiver circuitry is further operable to receive the first wireless power signal and the second wireless power signal; generate the second power based on at least a first portion of the first power received from the first wireless power signal and at least a second portion of the first power received from the second wireless power signal (e.g., Fig. 89 and paragraph [0840] of Kesler: receiver 8914 (center of Fig. 89) generates a second power (magnetic field 8934, 8936, 8938) based on the received first power and the second power which is capable of including a portion of the first power).
As to claim 18, Kesler in view of Travers teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the receiver circuitry is at a receiver location (e.g., Fig. 89, 8914 – center of the Fig.), and further comprising: the first directional transmitter placed at a first location and further operable to transmit the first wireless power signal as a first beam directed along a first vector (e.g., Fig. 89, first transmitter 8922 transmit a first wireless power signal directed along a vector 8932 when the first transmitter has a directional antenna as discussed in paragraph [0032] of Kesler), the first vector originating at the first location and directed to the receiver location (see Fig. 89 of Kesler); and the second directional transmitter placed at a second location and further operable to transmit the second wireless power signal as a second beam directed along a second vector (e.g., Fig. 89, second transmitter 8924 transmits a second wireless power signal directed along a vector 8930 when the second transmitter has a directional antenna as discussed in paragraph [0032] of Kesler), the second vector originating at the second location and directed to the receiver location; wherein the first vector and the second vector are different (see Fig. 89 of Kesler).
Regarding claim 19, Keslar discloses a method, comprising: providing a first electrical signal to a transmitter circuitry, the transmitter circuitry configured to transmit a wireless signal based on the first electrical signal (e.g., paragraphs [0578]-[0579]: electrical power from the base of the laptop is routed to a wireless connection between the base/source resonator and the screen/device resonator where the resonator serves as transmitter circuitry); receiving the wireless signal by a receiver circuitry, the receiver circuitry operable to receive the wireless signal (e.g., paragraph [0579]) and generate a second electrical signal (e.g., paragraphs [0839]: a wireless power converter may be used to amplify a wireless power source [to a second wireless signal]); and transmitting the second electrical signal to two or more transducer arrays applied to a patient (e.g., paragraph [0840]: wireless power converter 8914 may capture energy from oscillating magnetic fields 8932, 8930 from one or more sources and then generate a magnetic field 8934, 8936 with one or more different parameters than the source and transfer energy with different parameters to one or more devices 8916, 8919). Keslar further discloses that its methods may be used for the powering of medical devices to treat patients unencumbered by power cords (e.g., paragraphs [0608] and [0611]). Keslar differs from the claimed method in that it does not expressly disclose generating an electric field based on the second electrical signal between the two or more transducer arrays, the second electrical signal having a frequency in a range between 50 kHz-1 MHz. However, Travers, in a related art: method for treating multiple tumors in patient with metastatic disease by electric fields, teaches that it was known in the medical art to generate electromagnetic/electric fields between electrodes/transducers within the claimed range of 50 kHz to 1 MHz in order to treat cancer (e.g., paragraphs [0005] and [0071]: TTF field generator 58 and Fig. 11 where Therapeutic electric fields that inhibit solid tumor growth have been established as those between 100kHz and 500kHZ and are commonly referred to as TTFields as evidenced by US 2022/0176102 to Pribula et al., paragraph [0035]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of generating an electric field based on the second electrical signal to two or more transducer arrays where the second electrical signal (and the electric field based thereon) has a frequency in a range between 50 kHz and 1 MHz in view of the teachings of Travers. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the system of Kesler so that the medical treatment device receiving the second power are electrodes/transducers that generate an electrode field based on the second electrical signal in order to treat cancer in view of the teachings of Travers that such was a well-known treatment of cancer, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
With respect to claim 20, Keslar in view of Travers teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the transmitter circuitry comprises a first inductor and the receiver circuitry comprises a second inductor (e.g., paragraphs [0234] and [0263]-[0265] of Kesler); and further comprising: coupling, resonantly, the first inductor of the transmitter circuitry and the second inductor of the receiver circuitry (e.g., paragraph [0036] of Keslar: energy exchange between two electromagnetic resonators can be optimized and “coupling-time between resonators can be shortened).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0147179 to Sawa et al. is directed to wireless power transmission and teaches that controlling the direction of the power transmission radio wave is important for distances in which far field is established as well as shorter distances (near field) (e.g., paragraphs [0313] and [0574]).
US Patent Application No. 2022/0288405 to Wasserman et al. is directed to an electrode/transducer array used to generate TTFields (e.g., EFD: at least 03/14/2022, same applicant, different inventive entity, paragraphs [0052]-[0056]).
/CATHERINE M VOORHEES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792