This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 6/11/2026
Claims 1-20 are pending
Examiner decided to withdraw 112 and 101 rejections.
Examiner decided to maintain 103 rejections.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 6/11/2026, with respect to 112 and 101 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejection of claim 20 and 112 rejections of claims 10 and 19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments on pages 9-10, applicant argues that the cited combination fails to teach or suggest at least the claimed user application configured to report issues with the solar-powered secure receptacle to the network device. Examiner respectfully disagrees because the rejection relies on the combined teachings of Audino and Nitu. Audino teaches the receptacle issues being reported, including that, “if voltage is falling, the PLC turns on an indicator (on the device or at a remote location) telling staff that the device or attached solar panel is placed in an unsatisfactory location or orientation and must be moved, or that the battery is failing and must be replaced” (Par. [0192]). Nitu teaches that the mobile application may be downloaded onto the mobile device and executes instructions “to communicate information to the cloud management server 210” (Par. [0054]), and further teaches that, after the mobile application receives a device-status update, “the status update of the securable device may be communicated via the long-distance communications path to the management server” (Par. [0010]). Thus, Audino supplies the receptacle-issue information, while Nitu supplies the downloaded-application communication path through which that information is reported to the network device.
Applicant’s arguments on page 10, applicant further argues that Audino’s security hopper and repository access door and Nitu’s smart-locker lock are physically different structures and therefore do not teach the claimed application unlocking the lockable hopper using the scanning module. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Audino expressly relates its repository access door to its security hopper by teaching that “repository access door 912 is opened via handle 914 to expose entrance access area 1602 of non-retrievable chute 1604” and that “non-retrievable chute 1604 is configured as a security hopper” (Par. [0148]). Audino further teaches that “PLC sends a message to open or unlock the insertion opening when it receives input from a Scanner 80” (Par. [0173]). Nitu supplies the mobile-device unlocking technique by teaching the use of NFC, Bluetooth, or RFID communications to communicate a verification or unlock code to a securable device (Par. [0028]). The rejection does not treat Audino’s hopper, Audino’s access door, and Nitu’s locker door as physically identical. Rather, Audino teaches the scanner-controlled opening that provides access to the security hopper, while Nitu teaches applying mobile-device communication to control the unlocking operation.
Applicant’s arguments on page 11, Applicant further argues that the rejection does not explain why one of ordinary skill would configure the same downloaded user application to present receptacle location and availability, unlock the hopper, present information regarding acceptable deposits, and report receptacle issues. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Nitu’s mobile-kiosk application already performs multiple related receptacle-management functions, including presenting securable-device status and location information, communicating unlock commands, receiving device-status updates, and communicating those updates to the management server (Par. [0010], [0047], [0054] - [0056]). Nitu explains that using this mobile-kiosk architecture reduces or eliminates “the complexity and expense of a conventional kiosk and supporting electronics and cabling” (Par. [0006]). Pearl further teaches communicating through user devices “recommended types of material deposits (e.g., green, protein, and/or brown waste) that are deficient in a composter to optimize the type balance and quality of the resulting compost” (Par. [0008]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use Nitu’s existing application interface and application-to-server communication path to present Pearl’s deposit recommendations and relay Audino’s receptacle-issue information, thereby consolidating related receptacle-access, information-display, and status-reporting functions in the mobile application rather than requiring separate dedicated kiosk hardware.
Applicant’s arguments on page 12, Applicant further argues that Nitu paragraph [0026] merely identifies or provisions a locker and that paragraph [0036] separately lists possible user identifiers, without teaching the claimed integrated step of receiving, at a receptacle having a scanning module and through interaction with a mobile device, an identification of the user. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Nitu expressly teaches the claimed sequence. Nitu teaches that the mobile kiosk obtains a site ID by imaging “a QR code or other indicia located at a set of securable devices” and connects with the cloud management server (Par. [0061]). During that interaction, “the mobile kiosk 202a may communicate a unique user ID and/or PIN to the cloud management server 210,” after which “the cloud management server 210 may verify the unique ID” (Par. [0061] - [0062]). Thus, Nitu does not merely disclose an identifier in isolation, it teaches scanning codes at the securable-device site using the mobile device, communicating the user’s identification through the mobile kiosk, and verifying that identification as part of the access operation.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 12-13, Applicant further argues that Nitu unlocks a rented smart locker rather than unlocking a hopper of a compost receptacle after confirming that the user is enrolled in the access program, and that Audino’s security hopper is not unlocked based on user enrollment. Examiner respectfully disagrees because the references are relied upon for different portions of the limitation. Nitu teaches associating a stored user profile with a securable device “so that the user is authorized to access the assigned locker” (Par. [0051]), and further teaches verifying the user’s unique ID and communicating “a lock ID and open code to the mobile kiosk” (Par. [0062]). Nitu then teaches that the mobile kiosk communicates an action such as “open” or “unlock,” in response to which the smart lock unlocks (Par. [0055] - [0056]). Audino supplies the physical hopper and controlled receptacle opening, teaching that repository access door 912 exposes the entrance of the chute configured as the security hopper and that the PLC unlocks that insertion opening in response to scanner input (Par. [0148], [0173]). Thus, Nitu teaches authorization-dependent mobile unlocking, while Audino teaches applying the unlocking operation to the controlled opening that provides access to the receptacle’s hopper. The rejection does not rely on Nitu’s locker door as the physical hopper.
Applicant’s arguments on page 13, Applicant further argues that Nitu receives personal belongings and that Audino receives cannabis waste that is only later processed, repurposed, or composted, rather than receiving “compost material” into the receptacle. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Nitu is not relied upon for the compostable nature of the received material, as Audino supplies that feature. Audino teaches that its deposit mechanism will “receive waste material from the depositor” and “drop the waste material into secured disposal unit 502” (Par. [0126]), and expressly teaches that “a method of disposal of cannabis plant waste is to allow the cannabis waste to be composted” (Par. [0110]). The claim recites “compost material,” not finished or mature compost. Accordingly, Audino’s received organic plant waste, which Audino expressly identifies as material that may be composted, falls within the broadest reasonable interpretation of “compost material”.
Applicant’s arguments on page 14, Applicant further argues that Nitu’s payment, account, or rental information and Audino’s separate fullness statistics do not teach the integrated step of reporting both the fullness level and which users access the receptacle to a network device. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Nitu expressly teaches more than payment information because its locker application database stores “user pin codes, passwords, usage data, access records” received from mobile kiosks (Par. [0050]). Audino likewise teaches that its electronics capture the “date, time, and identification of person(s) accessing” the secured disposal unit (Par. [0127]) and that a report identifying the person accessing the unit and the associated transaction information is remotely available from cloud storage (Par. [0125]). Audino further teaches a server displaying “average fullness, peak fullness, collection statistics” (Par. [0201]). Thus, the combined system reports both user-access information and receptacle-fullness information to a remote network device. The claim does not require the two categories of information to be contained in a single message or transmitted simultaneously.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 14-15, Applicant further argues that Pearl paragraph [0084] merely describes generalized route or schedule optimization based on historical trends and does not teach performing collection according to a schedule based on the respective fullness levels of multiple receptacles. Examiner respectfully disagrees because the rejection does not rely on paragraph [0084] in isolation. Pearl teaches that “the map may indicate, for each IoT composter 106, an amount of compostable material contained therein or an amount of empty space therein” (Par. [0041]). Pearl further teaches that a personal user device may associate the amount data with the corresponding unique device identifier and transmit the amount data and identifier to the monitoring device, and that “a live map of devices 104 or 106 and their real-time statuses are provided to a public forum, a compost collection company, or the municipality which can adjust their collection route and timing based on the data provided by the IoT devices 104 or 106” (Par. [0062]). Thus, Pearl connects the individual amount or empty-space information for each of multiple identified composting devices with adjustment of the collection route and timing. Pearl paragraph [0084] additionally confirms the intended result of “optimizing pickup routes and/or schedules for a fleet of vehicles”.
Applicant’s arguments on page 15, Applicant further argues that Nitu’s reduction in smart-locker kiosk complexity does not explain why one of ordinary skill would modify the references to receive compost through a hopper, report fullness and user access, and schedule collection based on the fullness levels of multiple receptacles. Examiner respectfully disagrees because the rejection does not propose converting Nitu’s locker into a compost receptacle. Rather, the rejection applies Nitu’s mobile-device identification, authorization, unlocking, and status-communication technique to Audino’s existing secured waste receptacle. Nitu expressly applies its mobile-kiosk technique to a smart locker “or other securable device” and teaches that the technique reduces or eliminates “the complexity and expense of a conventional kiosk and supporting electronics and cabling” (Par. [0006]); Audino already supplies the secured receptacle, controlled hopper access, depositor identification, and fullness detection (Par. [0127], [0148], [0170], [0173]). Pearl then supplies the compost-specific, multi-receptacle collection functionality by teaching the respective amount or empty space for each composter and adjustment of collection route and timing based on the IoT-device data (Par. [0041], [0062]). Accordingly, each feature continues to perform its known function in the resulting smart compost-receptacle method and predictably provides mobile access management together with fullness-responsive collection of multiple receptacles.
To the extent Applicant argues that the dependent claims are patentable merely by virtue of their dependence from independent claims 1 or 11, those arguments are not persuasive for the reasons discussed above. Applicant has not identified a separate deficiency in the rejection of those dependent claims, and the limitations of the respective base claims remain taught or suggested by the cited combination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Audino et al. USPGPUB 20220147953 A1 (hereinafter Audino) in view of Nitu et al. USPGPUB 2015/0356801 A1 (hereinafter Nitu), and further in view of Pearl et al. USPGPUB 2023/0206266 A1 (hereinafter Pearl).
Regarding claim 1, Audino teaches a system (Par. [0002] “processes and devices for waste disposal systems.”) comprising:
a solar-powered (Par. [0167] “A solar panel system may be arranged, for example, mounted on top of machine 900.”) secure receptacle (Par. [0281] “disclosed machine 900 as a receptacle for not only receiving the described waste material”) comprising a control system (Par. [0169] “electrical operations are managed by a central PLC”), a scanning module in communication with the control system (Par. [0173] “In an alternate embodiment, the lock is disengaged when a valid Bar Code, RFID tag, credit card, secret code or PIN number or other identification symbol enters data in the switch panel. In an alternative embodiment, the insertion opening (repository access door 912) is automatically opened or unlocked when a valid material type or permitted RFID tag, bar code, PIN number, credit card swipe, or other identifier is entered or alternatively scanned by a scanner.”), a wireless communication device (Fig. 35, Par. [0174] “wireless transmitter/receiver, FIG. 35 connected to the PLC”), and a lockable hopper in communication with the control system (Par. [0138] “security hopper for preventing accessibility to contents placed through the chute” - security hopper corresponds to the lockable hopper; Par. [0173] “an insertion opening (repository access door 912) lock is opened when the lock receives a message from PLC” – the PLC controlled lockable insertion opening corresponds to the hopper being lockable and in communication with the control system);
a network device in communication with the solar-powered secure receptacle via the
wireless communication device (Par. [0090] “"smart," as it refers to an electronic device, may be regarded as an electronic device generally connected to other devices or networks via different wireless protocols such as Bluetooth, NFC, Wi-Fi, LiFi, 3G, 4G etc., that can operate to
some extent interactively and autonomously.”; Par. [0295] “The communication unit may include a modem, an Ethernet card, or any similar device which enables the computer system to connect to databases and networks such as LAN, MAN, WAN and the Internet.”); and
reporting issues with the solar-powered secure receptacle to the network device (Par. [0128] “Secure disposal unit 502 may be configured as a smart device, i.e., coupled and/or networked to numerous other electronic devices and systems for communicating data, providing security information, and/or security features such as surveillance and audit verification and reporting capability”; Par. [0192] “if voltage is falling, the PLC turns on an indicator (on the device or at a remote location) telling staff that the device or attached solar panel is placed in an unsatisfactory location or orientation and must be moved, or that the battery is failing and must be replaced” - disposal unit is able to report security and battery issues to other electronic devices and systems.).
Audino does not explicitly teach a network device configured to manage access allowance for a user of the solar-powered secure receptacle via a mobile device; and
a user application downloadable onto the mobile device, wherein the user application
is configured, when downloaded onto the mobile device, to:
present to the user on the mobile device a location and availability of the
solar-powered secure receptacle;
unlock the lockable hopper in the solar-powered secure receptacle using the
scanning module;
However, Nitu teaches the network device configured to manage access allowance for a user of the solar-powered secure receptacle via a mobile device (Par. [0007] “The local, mobile kiosk operating on a tablet or other monitor that is wirelessly in communication with the smart lockers enables a user to control access to the smart lockers.”); and
a user application downloadable onto the mobile device (Par. [0045] “The mobile kiosk application, which essentially converts the mobile device into a mobile kiosk that operates as a bridge between one or more smart lockers and a management server located on a communications network”), wherein the user application is configured, when downloaded onto the mobile device (Par. [0054], “the QR code or other indicia may direct the mobile device to a network address that enables a mobile app configured as the mobile kiosk 202a to be downloaded to the mobile device”; Par. [0010], “One embodiment of a mobile kiosk may include machine-readable instructions configured to execute on a mobile device, and, when the machine-readable instructions are executed by the mobile device, cause the mobile device to communicate a request via a long-distance communications path to a management server”), to:
present to the user on the mobile device a location and availability of the
solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0047] “The locker bank module 428 may operate to store and retrieve data being stored in the memory 410, where the data may include status of lockers data 430, physical locations of lockers 432, and queue for lockers 434.”);
unlock the lockable hopper in the solar-powered secure receptacle using the
scanning module (Par. [0028] “mobile kiosks 102 may enable … locking and unlocking a smart locker by using RFID communications with a passive RFID reader to communicate a lock and unlock code”);
Audino and Nitu are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to electronically controlled access to securable receptacles or devices and communication with remote systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above smart receptacle, as taught by Audino, and incorporate a mobile-kiosk application and mobile-device access-control technique to manage user access and communicate receptacle status information to a remote management server, as taught by Nitu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce “the complexity and expense of a conventional kiosk and supporting electronics and cabling”, thereby providing mobile access control without requiring dedicated kiosk hardware, as suggested by Nitu (Par. [0006]).
Audino and Nitu do not explicitly teach wherein the user application is configured to present information what items can be placed in the solar-powered secure receptacle.
However, Pearl teaches wherein the user application is configured to present information what items can be placed in the solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0008] “The monitoring device(s) may send recommended types of material deposits (e.g., green, protein, and/or brown waste) that are deficient in a composter to optimize the type balance and quality of the resulting compost”)
Audino, Nitu, and Pearl are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They all relate to networked receptacle systems that communicate receptacle-related information to users or remote devices.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above smart receptacle system with a mobile application, as taught by Audino and Nitu, and incorporate recommending compost material deposit information to the user, as taught by Pearl.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to enable the platform to communicate recommended material-deposit information to users to “optimize the type balance and quality of the resulting compost” as suggested by Pearl (Par. [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the solar-powered secure receptacle comprises a solar-powered secure compost receptacle (Par. [0110] “composted material can be integrated back into the grow cycle in soil-like mixes that can be amended or reused, such as peat and coco (coir) fiber.”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Pearl further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to monitor a
plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles for use by users (Par. [0013] “One or more host devices may include one or more communication circuits configured to communicate with a plurality of IoT composting end-devices and/or personal user devices, via wireless modules embedded therein”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Nitu further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to turn on access to the solar-powered secure receptacle for enrollees of an access program and turn off access to the solar-powered secure receptacle for users leaving the access program (Par. [0064] “With regard to FIGS. 8A-8C, screenshots of illustrative user interfaces that support processes for new rental, extend rental, and end rental processes of securable devices, respectively, are shown.” -users can gain access to receptacle by selecting new rental on an interface, and turn off access by selecting end rental.; Par. [0051] “management server 500 being programmed to synchronize to an existing pre-assigned data base 518 of stored user information, associating that stored profile to a user with one of the locker(s) so that the user is authorized to access the assigned locker.” – The management server acts as an access program, where users enrolled in the access program have their information added to the management server, authorizing the user to access an assigned locker.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Pearl further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to present a graphical representation a location of each of a plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles (Par. [0041] “monitoring device 102 may host, over the public forum, a map of the community IoT composters 106 at various locations to route users” – a map is a type of graphical representation) and a respective fullness level of each of the plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles (Par. [0041] “The map may indicate, for each IoT composters 106, an amount of compostable material contained therein or an amount of empty space therein”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the scanning module comprises one or more of a radio frequency identification (RFID) scanning module, a near-field communication (NFC) scanning module, a Bluetooth scanning module, or a scannable image for use by the mobile device to obtain access to the solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0173] “In an alternative embodiment, the insertion opening (repository access door 912) is automatically opened or unlocked when a valid material type or permitted RFID tag, bar code, PIN number, credit card swipe, or other identifier is entered or alternatively scanned by a scanner”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Nitu further teaches wherein the scanning module comprises a graphical object that the mobile device can scan and download a user interface which the user can interact with to obtain a one-time access to the solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0054] “the QR code or other indicia may direct the mobile device to a network address that enables a mobile app configured as the mobile kiosk 202a to be downloaded to the mobile device”; Par. [0055] “At step 714, the user may view the available locks and rental information, and select a lock and rental term, where the rental term may include an amount of time (e.g., two hours, four hours, full day, etc.) for which the user desires to rent the lock.” – short term receptacle rentals are commonly associated with one-time access).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the lockable hopper enables access, when unlocked, to the solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0173], “In an alternative embodiment, the insertion opening (repository access door 912) is automatically opened or unlocked when a valid material type or permitted RFID tag, bar code, PIN number, credit card swipe, or other identifier is entered or alternatively scanned by a scanner.”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Pearl further teaches wherein the user application further enables benefits to be provided to the user based on use of the solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0086] “Carbon-positive third parties may trade or purchase carbon credits from the carbon-negative composters, directly or indirectly via the host, using rewards, such as, benefits to the third-parties' platforms, monetary compensation, composting equipment, donations for ecological services such as planting trees, etc. In this way, third parties may commission or incentivize users who otherwise would not have the finances, supplies, or desire to compost, to increase global compost production and reduce greenhouse gasses in the Earth's atmosphere.” – carbon credits and rewards are both interpreted as benefits).
Regarding claim 11, Nitu teaches a method (Par. [0004] “methods and systems for operating "smart lockers" and other securable devices using a mobile kiosk”) comprising:
receiving, at a receptacle (Par. [0006] “smart locker (or other securable device)”) having a scanning module (Par. [0026] “a sticker or other non-electronic indicia inclusive of a unique identifier associated with respective smart lockers 106 may be used and scanned or otherwise utilized by an electronic device, including the respective smart locks or provisioning mobile device to provision each smart locker”), via an interaction with a mobile device (Par. [0028] “mobile kiosks 102 may be mobile devices, such as smart phones, configured to execute instructions in the form of a mobile app or website that integrates with various features of the mobile devices.”), an identification of a user (Par. [0036] “other options for creating or selecting a PIN may be utilized, including assigning a PIN to the user, using a unique mobile device ID (e.g., subscriber identity module (SIM), mobile identification number (MIN)), using a user account number, or using another Identifier”; Par. [0061], “the mobile kiosk and 202a may get a site ID from imaging a QR code or other indicia located at a set of securable devices … The mobile kiosk 202a may communicate a unique user ID and/or PIN to the cloud management server 210.”);
confirming that the user is enrolled in a program associated with accessing the
receptacle (Par. [0028] “the mobile kiosks 102 may enable (i) confirmation code(s) to be communicated via text, email, or other communication protocol”; Par. [0051], “management server 500 being programmed to synchronize to an existing pre-assigned data base 518 of stored user information, associating that stored profile to a user with one of the locker(s) so that the user is authorized to access the assigned locker.” – stored authorized-user profile corresponds to enrollment in the access program; Par. [0062], “the cloud management server 210 may verify the unique ID and communicate a lock ID and open code to the mobile kiosk.”);
when the user is enrolled in the program, unlocking the receptacle (Par. [0062], “the cloud management server 210 may verify the unique ID and communicate a lock ID and open code to the mobile kiosk. The lock ID may be a unique ID associated with a smart lock, and the open code may be a code that, when received by the smart lock, cause the smart lock to unlock.”; Par. [0028], “(iii) short-range communications (e.g., NFC, Bluetooth) to be used to unlock/lock a smart locker that has been rented by communicating with (e.g., "tapping" an NFC reader 112a) to communicate a verification code with or without presentment to the user” – Nitu teaches unlocking an authorized securable device through the mobile-device interaction.);
receiving material into the receptacle (Par. [0024] “electronic locker system 100 may be configured with individual electronic lockers 106 that serve as temporary storage for personal items in indoor or outdoor venues”);
reporting which users access the receptacle to a network device (Par. [0050] “The locker application database 510 may store information, such as user pin codes, passwords, usage data, access records, pricing algorithms, and RFID codes. The information stored in the locker application database 510 may be encrypted and received from mobile kiosks, and may be used to ensure that the mobile kiosks that are being used to access or near smart lockers are synchronized … mobile database 514 may store any information that is input into a mobile device by a user operating a mobile kiosk, where such information may include encrypted payment information, account details, rental history, and the like.”; Par. [0051], “management server 500 being programmed to synchronize to an existing pre-assigned database 518 of stored user information, associating that stored profile to a user with one of the locker(s) so that the user is authorized to access the assigned locker.”); and
managing through a program on the network device who is granted access to the
receptacle and the other receptacles (Par. [0054] “At step 712, the cloud management server 210 may identify available locks and rental information associated with the available locks from the site database for presentment to the user of the mobile kiosk 202a.”).
Nitu does not explicitly teach the receptacle having a lockable hopper, receiving compost, reporting a fullness level of the receptacle, and performing a collection operation for the receptacle and other receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of the receptacle and a fullness level of the other receptacles.
However, Audino teaches the receptacle having a lockable hopper (Par. [0138] “security hopper for preventing accessibility to contents placed through the chute” – security hopper is interpreted as a lockable hopper; Par. [0173], “an insertion opening (repository access door 912) lock is opened when the lock receives a message from PLC” – the PLC controlled lockable insertion opening corresponds to the hopper being lockable.), receiving compost (Par. [0083] “debris may be re-purposed into compost material”; Par. [0110] “A method of disposal of cannabis plant waste is to allow the cannabis waste to be composted … composted material can be integrated back into the grow cycle in soil-like mixes that can be amended or reused, such as peat and coco (coir) fiber.”; Par. [0126], “turn-style deposit mechanism may include a turn-style or tumbler that will receive waste material from the depositor, drop the waste material into secured disposal unit 502”), reporting a fullness level of the receptacle (Par. [0170] “internal proximity sensor may be used to detect bin fullness before the green waste material has filled the toter.”; Par. [0201] “server is a programmable and searchable database which enables the user to display such information as average fullness, peak fullness, collection statistics derived over a period of time”).
Nitu and Audino are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to electronically controlled access to securable receptacles or devices and the communication of access information to remote systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above mobile-device user-identification, authorization, and unlocking method, as taught by Nitu, and incorporate a secured waste receptacle, as taught by Audino.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce “the complexity and expense of a conventional kiosk and supporting electronics and cabling”, thereby permitting mobile-device-based access without dedicated kiosk hardware, as suggested by Nitu (Par. [0006]).
Audino teaches performing a collection operation for a receptacle based on the fullness level of the receptacle (Par. [0123] “If the disclosed waste disposal unit (e.g., "smart" container) reaches capacity (for example, as evidenced by internal triggering mechanism and alert (e.g., alarm notification)) prior to scheduled pickup/ destruction, the waste disposal unit (e.g., "smart" container) owner will provide the demand removal service as needed;”), but does not explicitly teach performing a collection operation for multiple receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of multiple receptacles.
However, Pearl teaches performing a collection operation for the receptacle and other receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of the receptacle and a fullness level of the other receptacles (Par. [0041], “The map may indicate, for each IoT composters 106, an amount of compostable material contained therein or an amount of empty space therein”; Par. [0062], “In some embodiments, e.g. in an urban setting, a live map of devices 104 or 106 and their real-time statuses are provided to a public forum, a compost collection company, or the municipality which can adjust their collection route and timing based on the data provided by the IoT devices 104 or 106”; Par. [0084] “optimizing pickup routes and/or schedules for a fleet of vehicles, optimizing locations of where to place community composters to maximize their even distribution based on historical trends of compost production, etc.”).
Nitu, Audino, and Pearl are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They all relate to networked receptacle systems that communicate receptacle-related information to users or remote devices.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above smart receptacle system with a mobile application, as taught by Nitu and Audino, and incorporate multi-receptacle monitoring and collection-scheduling functionality so that collection route and timing are determined using the fullness or status data of the respective receptacles, as taught by Pearl.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize pickup routes and/or schedules for a fleet of vehicles as suggested by Pearl (Par. [0084]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the receptacle comprises a solar-powered secure compost receptacle (Par. [0110] “composted material can be integrated back into the grow cycle in soil-like mixes that can be amended or reused, such as peat and coco (coir) fiber.”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Pearl further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to monitor a plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles for use by users (Par. [0013] “One or more host devices may include one or more communication circuits configured to communicate with a plurality of IoT composting end-devices and/or personal user devices, via wireless modules embedded therein”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Nitu further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to turn on access to the receptacle for enrollees of the program and turn off access to the receptacle for users leaving the program and schedule, based on data, users for dropping off compost at an assigned receptacle (Par. [0064] “With regard to FIGS. 8A-8C, screenshots of illustrative user interfaces that support processes for new rental, extend rental, and end rental processes of securable devices, respectively, are shown.” -users can gain access to receptacle by selecting new rental on an interface, and turn off access by selecting end rental.; Par. [0051] “management server 500 being programmed to synchronize to an existing pre-assigned data base 518 of stored user information, associating that stored profile to a user with one of the locker(s) so that the user is authorized to access the assigned locker.” – The management server acts as an access program, where users enrolled in the access program have their information added to the management server, authorizing the user to access an assigned locker.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Pearl further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to present a graphical representation a location of each of a plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles (Par. [0041] “monitoring device 102 may host, over the public forum, a map of the community IoT composters 106 at various locations to route users” – a map is a type of graphical representation) and a respective fullness level of each of the plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles (Par. [0041] “The map may indicate, for each IoT composters 106, an amount of compostable material contained therein or an amount of empty space therein”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the scanning module comprises one or more of a radio frequency identification (RFID) scanning module, a near-field communication (NFC) scanning module, a Bluetooth scanning module, or a scannable image for use by the mobile device to obtain access to the receptacle (Par. [0173] “In an alternative embodiment, the insertion opening (repository access door 912) is automatically opened or unlocked when a valid material type or permitted RFID tag, bar code, PIN number, credit card swipe, or other identifier is entered or alternatively scanned by a scanner”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Nitu further teaches wherein the scanning module comprises a graphical object that the mobile device can scan and download a user interface which the user can interact with to obtain a one-time access to the receptacle (Par. [0054] “the QR code or other indicia may direct the mobile device to a network address that enables a mobile app configured as the mobile kiosk 202a to be downloaded to the mobile device”; Par. [0055] “At step 714, the user may view the available locks and rental information, and select a lock and rental term, where the rental term may include an amount of time (e.g., two hours, four hours, full day, etc.) for which the user desires to rent the lock.” – short term receptacle rentals are commonly associated with one-time access).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the hopper enables access, when unlocked, to the receptacle (Par. [0173], “In an alternative embodiment, the insertion opening (repository access door 912) is automatically opened or unlocked when a valid material type or permitted RFID tag, bar code, PIN number, credit card swipe, or other identifier is entered or alternatively scanned by a scanner.”).
Audino does not explicitly teach wherein a user application on the mobile device enables benefits to be provided to the user based on use of the receptacle.
However, Pearl teaches wherein a user application on the mobile device enables benefits to be provided to the user based on use of the receptacle (Par. [0086] “Carbon-positive third parties may trade or purchase carbon credits from the carbon-negative composters, directly or indirectly via the host, using rewards, such as, benefits to the third-parties' platforms, monetary compensation, composting equipment, donations for ecological services such as planting trees, etc. In this way, third parties may commission or incentivize users who otherwise would not have the finances, supplies, or desire to compost, to increase global compost production and reduce greenhouse gasses in the Earth's atmosphere.” – carbon credits and rewards are both interpreted as benefits).
Regarding claim 20, Audino teaches a network server comprising:
at least one processor (Par. [0174] “The programmable logic controller (PLC) is a central microprocessor, which is capable of managing all operations, detecting all inputs and providing outputs for running the device”); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage device storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to be configured to (Par. [0295] “The computer system further comprises a storage device. The storage device can be a hard disk drive or a removable storage drive such as a floppy disk drive, optical disk drive, etc. The storage device can also be other similar means for loading computer programs or other instructions into the computer system”):
receive a report of a fullness level of the receptacle (Par. [0170] “internal proximity sensor may be used to detect bin fullness before the green waste material has filled the toter.”; Par. [0201] “server is a programmable and searchable database which enables the user to display such information as average fullness, peak fullness, collection statistics derived over a period of time”).
Audino further teaches a scanning module (Par. [0173] “In an alternative embodiment, the insertion opening (repository access door 912) is automatically opened or unlocked when a valid material type or permitted RFID tag, bar code, PIN number, credit card swipe, or other identifier is entered or alternatively scanned by a scanner”) and a hopper (Par. [0138] “security hopper for preventing accessibility to contents placed through the chute”) receiving compost material (Par. [0083] “debris may be re-purposed into compost material”; Par. [0110] “A method of disposal of cannabis plant waste is to allow the cannabis waste to be composted … composted material can be integrated back into the grow cycle in soil-like mixes that can be amended or reused, such as peat and coco (coir) fiber.”; Par. [0126], “turn-style deposit mechanism may include a turn-style or tumbler that will receive waste material from the depositor, drop the waste material into secured disposal unit 502”), but does not explicitly teach the processor being configured to:
receive, from a receptacle having a scanning module and via an interaction with a mobile device, an identification of a user;
confirm that the user is enrolled in a program associated with accessing the receptacle;
when the user is enrolled in the program, cause the receptacle to become unlocked to enable the receptacle to receive compost material;
manage what users are granted access to the receptacle and the other receptacles via an application downloaded on a respective user mobile device;
receive a report of which users access the receptacle; and
implement a collection operation for the receptacle and other receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of the receptacle and a fullness level of the other receptacles.
However, Nitu teaches the processor (Par. [0046] “processor 402”) being configured to receive, from a receptacle having a scanning module and via an interaction with a mobile device, an identification of a user (Par. [0036] “other options for creating or selecting a PIN may be utilized, including assigning a PIN to the user, using a unique mobile device ID (e.g., subscriber identity module (SIM), mobile identification number (MIN)), using a user account number, or using another Identifier”);
confirm that the user is enrolled in a program associated with accessing the receptacle (Par. [0028] “the mobile kiosks 102 may enable (i) confirmation code(s) to be communicated via text, email, or other communication protocol”);
when the user is enrolled in the program, cause the receptacle to become unlocked (Par. [0028], “(iii) short-range communications (e.g., NFC, Bluetooth) to be used to unlock/lock a smart locker that has been rented by communicating with (e.g., "tapping" an NFC reader 112a) to communicate a verification code with or without presentment to the user”);
manage what users are granted access to the receptacle and the other receptacles via an application downloaded on a respective user mobile device (Par. [0054] “At step 712, the cloud management server 210 may identify available locks and rental information associated with the available locks from the site database for presentment to the user of the mobile kiosk 202a.”; Par. [0054], “the QR code or other indicia may direct the mobile device to a network address that enables a mobile app configured as the mobile kiosk 202a to be downloaded to the mobile device”; Par. [0010], “One embodiment of a mobile kiosk may include machine-readable instructions configured to execute on a mobile device, and, when the machine-readable instructions are executed by the mobile device, cause the mobile device to communicate a request via a long-distance communications path to a management server”); and
report which users access the receptacle (Par. [0050] “mobile database 514 may store any information that is input into a mobile device by a user operating a mobile kiosk, where such information may include encrypted payment information, account details, rental history, and the like”).
Audino and Nitu are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to electronically controlled access to securable receptacles or devices and the communication of access information to remote systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above secured waste receptacle, as taught by Audino, and incorporate a mobile-device user-identification, authorization, and unlocking method, as taught by Nitu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce “the complexity and expense of a conventional kiosk and supporting electronics and cabling”, thereby permitting mobile-device-based access without dedicated kiosk hardware, as suggested by Nitu (Par. [0006]).
Audino and Nitu do not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to:
implement a collection operation for the receptacle and other receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of the receptacle and a fullness level of the other receptacles.
However, Pearl teaches wherein the processor is configured to implement a collection operation for the receptacle and other receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of the receptacle and a fullness level of the other receptacles (Par. [0062], “In some embodiments, e.g. in an urban setting, a live map of devices 104 or 106 and their real-time statuses are provided to a public forum, a compost collection company, or the municipality which can adjust their collection route and timing based on the data provided by the IoT devices 104 or 106”; Par. [0084] “optimizing pickup routes and/or schedules for a fleet of vehicles, optimizing locations of where to place community composters to maximize their even distribution based on historical trends of compost production, etc.”).
Audino, Nitu, and Pearl are analogous art because they all relate to networked receptacle systems that communicate receptacle-related information to users or remote devices.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above smart receptacle system with a mobile application, as taught by Nitu and Audino, and incorporate multi-receptacle monitoring and collection-scheduling functionality so that collection route and timing are determined using the fullness or status data of the respective receptacles, as taught by Pearl.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize pickup routes and/or schedules for a fleet of vehicles as suggested by Pearl (Par. [0084]).
Claim(s) 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Audino et al. USPGPUB 20220147953 A1 (hereinafter Audino) in view of Nitu et al. USPGPUB 2015/0356801 A1 (hereinafter Nitu) and Pearl et al. USPGPUB 2023/0206266 A1 (hereinafter Pearl), and further in view of Rosenfelder (Apple’s iOS 14 App Clips: A definitive guide for developers by AppsFlyer, June 13, 2021) (hereinafter Rosenfelder).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino, Nitu, and Pearl do not explicitly teach wherein the user interface can be associated with an App Clip.
However, Rosenfelder teaches wherein the user interface can be associated with an App Clip (Page 2, “Once triggered (via QR code, NFC tag, Safari Smart Banner, link in iMessage, or Apple Maps), the App Clip opens instantly. It can:
Authenticate with Sign in with Apple
Handle transactions via Apple Pay
Store preferences with iCloud Keychain
Prompt the user to install the full app post-interaction”).
Nitu and Rosenfelder are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to using QR codes to activate a feature on a mobile device.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above network address link, as taught by Nitu, and incorporate using App Clips, as taught by Rosenfelder.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to “reduce acquisition friction” and “streamline the funnel: one tap to action, instead of multi-step redirects and App Store detours” as suggested by Rosenfelder (Page 2).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino, Nitu, and Pearl do not explicitly teach wherein a user interface associated with the mobile device is associated with an App Clip.
However, Rosenfelder teaches wherein a user interface associated with the mobile device is associated with an App Clip. (Page 2, “Once triggered (via QR code, NFC tag, Safari Smart Banner, link in iMessage, or Apple Maps), the App Clip opens instantly. It can:
Authenticate with Sign in with Apple
Handle transactions via Apple Pay
Store preferences with iCloud Keychain
Prompt the user to install the full app post-interaction”
; Page 3 “Apple App Clips are about to change the way you think, and; moreover, they will probably change the way that we interact with our environment using our mobile devices.”).
Nitu and Rosenfelder are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to using QR codes to activate a feature on a mobile device.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above network address link, as taught by Nitu, and incorporate using App Clips, as taught by Rosenfelder.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to “reduce acquisition friction” and “streamline the funnel: one tap to action, instead of multi-step redirects and App Store detours” as suggested by Rosenfelder (Page 2).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Poss et al. [USPGPUB 2013/0278067 A1] teaches a waste enclosure device employing operational functions including collection and monitoring capacity, and adapted to send and receive data, optionally wirelessly, and configured and adapted to utilize solar derived electric power.
Sridhar [USPGPUB 2020/0189844 A1] teaches a trash collection device comprising a trash receptacle with a unique identification and an opening to receive a class of trash; an identification scanner for recognizing a user; a trash item counter; a fill level sensor; a display configured to interact with the user; a compactor; a solar panel configured to charge a battery; a data communicator configured to communicate date to a cloud storage; a processor configured to generate incentive for the user; wherein the trash collection device is configured to be modular and configurable to connect with another similar trash collection device to enable to collect additional trash class and is configured to interact with each other through a common software.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119