This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 12/08/2023
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 19 recite that “the user application further enables benefits to be provided to the user based on use of the solar-powered secure receptacle.” However, the term “benefits” renders the scope of the claims unclear because the claims do not define the nature or type of benefit provided to the user. The term “benefits” could encompass a wide variety of disparate concepts (e.g., tangible rewards, financial gain, credits, privileges, or other advantages), and the specification does not provide sufficient guidance as to the boundaries of this term.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims are directed to “a computer readable storage device”. The specification is silent regarding the meaning of this term. Thus, applying the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification and taking into account the meaning of the words in their ordinary usage as they would be understood by one of the ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2111), the claim as a whole covers both transitory and non-transitory media. A transitory medium does not fall into any of the four categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Audino et al. USPGPUB 20220147953 A1 (hereinafter Audino) in view of Nitu et al. USPGPUB 2015/0356801 A1 (hereinafter Nitu), and further in view of Pearl et al. USPGPUB 2023/0206266 A1 (hereinafter Pearl).
Regarding claim 1, Audino teaches a system (Par. [0002] “processes and devices for waste disposal systems.”) comprising:
a solar-powered (Par. [0167] “A solar panel system may be arranged, for example, mounted on top of machine 900.”) secure receptacle (Par. [0281] “disclosed machine 900 as a receptacle for not only receiving the described waste material) comprising a control system (Par. [0169] “electrical operations are managed by a central PLC), a scanning module in communication with the control system (Par. [0173] “In an alternate embodiment, the lock is disengaged when a valid Bar Code, RFID tag, credit card, secret code or PIN number or other identification symbol enters data in the switch panel. In an alternative embodiment, the insertion opening (repository access door 912) is automatically opened or unlocked when a valid material type or permitted RFID tag, bar code, PIN number, credit card swipe, or other identifier is entered or alternatively scanned by a scanner.”), a wireless communication device (Fig. 35, Par. [0174] “wireless transmitter/receiver, FIG. 35 connected to the PLC”), and a lockable hopper in communication with the control system (Par. [0138] “security hopper for preventing accessibility to contents placed through the chute”; Par. [0173] “an insertion opening (repository access door 912) lock is opened when the lock receives a message from PLC”);
a network device in communication with the solar-powered secure receptacle via the
wireless communication device (Par. [0090] “"smart," as it refers to an electronic device, may be regarded as an electronic device generally connected to other devices or networks via different wireless protocols such as Bluetooth, NFC, Wi-Fi, LiFi, 3G, 4G etc., that can operate to
some extent interactively and autonomously.”; Par. [0295] “The communication unit may include a modem, an Ethernet card, or any similar device which enables the computer system to connect to databases and networks such as LAN, MAN, WAN and the Internet.”); and
reporting issues with the solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0128] “Secure disposal unit 502 may be configured as a smart device, i.e., coupled and/or networked to numerous other electronic devices and systems for communicating data, providing security information, and/or security features such as surveillance and audit verification and reporting capability”; Par. [0192] “if voltage is falling, the PLC turns on an indicator (on the device or at a remote location) telling staff that the device or attached solar panel is placed in an unsatisfactory location or orientation and must be moved, or that the battery is failing and must be replaced” - disposal unit is able to report security and battery issues to other electronic devices and systems.).
Audino does not explicitly teach a network device configured to manage access allowance for a user of the solar-powered secure receptacle via a mobile device; and
a user application downloadable onto the mobile device, wherein the user application
is configured:
to present to the user on the mobile device a location and availability of the
solar-powered secure receptacle;
to unlock the lockable hopper in the solar-powered secure receptacle using the
scanning module;
However, Nitu teaches the network device configured to manage access allowance for a user of the solar-powered secure receptacle via a mobile device (Par. [0007] “The local, mobile kiosk operating on a tablet or other monitor that is wirelessly in communication with the smart lockers enables a user to control access to the smart lockers.”); and
a user application downloadable onto the mobile device (Par. [0045] “The mobile kiosk application, which essentially converts the mobile device into a mobile kiosk that operates as a bridge between one or more smart lockers and a management server located on a communications network”), wherein the user application is configured:
to present to the user on the mobile device a location and availability of the
solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0047] “The locker bank module 428 may operate to store and retrieve data being stored in the memory 410, where the data may include status of lockers data 430, physical locations of lockers 432, and queue for lockers 434.”);
to unlock the lockable hopper in the solar-powered secure receptacle using the
scanning module (Par. [0028] “mobile kiosks 102 may enable … locking and unlocking a smart locker by using RFID communications with a passive RFID reader to communicate a lock and unlock code”);
Audino and Nitu are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to storage receptacles.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above compost receptacle, as taught by Audino, and incorporate a mobile application to manage access and other features, as taught by Nitu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the capabilities, lower expenses, and lower complexity of conventional compost receptacles as suggested by Nitu (Par. [0006]).
Audino and Nitu do not explicitly teach wherein the user application is configured to present information what items can be placed in the solar-powered secure receptacle.
However, Pearl teaches wherein the user application is configured to present information what items can be placed in the solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0008] “The monitoring device(s) may send recommended types of material deposits (e.g., green, protein, and/or brown waste) that are deficient in a composter to optimize the type balance and quality of the resulting compost”)
Audino, Nitu, and Pearl are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to receptacles units.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above compost receptacle, as taught by Audino and Nitu, and incorporate a mobile application to present information on compostable items and report issues relating to composting, as taught by Pearl.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow parties to communicate, directly or indirectly with the platform users as suggested by Pearl (Par. [0088]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the solar-powered secure receptacle comprises a solar-powered secure compost receptacle (Par. [0110] “composted material can be integrated back into the grow cycle in soil-like mixes that can be amended or reused, such as peat and coco (coir) fiber.”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Pearl further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to monitor a
plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles for use by users (Par. [0013] “One or more host devices may include one or more communication circuits configured to communicate with a plurality of IoT composting end-devices and/or personal user devices, via wireless modules embedded therein”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Nitu further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to tum on access to the solar-powered secure receptacle for enrollees of an access program and tum off access to the solar-powered secure receptacle for users leaving the access program (Par. [0064] “With regard to FIGS. 8A-8C, screenshots of illustrative user interfaces that support processes for new rental, extend rental, and end rental processes of securable devices, respectively, are shown.” -users can gain access to receptacle by selecting new rental on an interface, and turn off access by selecting end rental.; Par. [0051] “management server 500 being programmed to synchronize to an existing pre-assigned data base 518 of stored user information, associating that stored profile to a user with one of the locker(s) so that the user is authorized to access the assigned locker.” – The management server acts as an access program, where users enrolled in the access program have their information added to the management server, authorizing the user to access an assigned locker.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Pearl further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to present a graphical representation a location of each of a plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles (Par. [0041] “monitoring device 102 may host, over the public forum, a map of the community IoT composters 106 at various locations to route users” – a map is a type of graphical representation) and a respective fullness level of each of the plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles (Par. [0041] “The map may indicate, for each IoT composters 106, an amount of compostable material contained therein or an amount of empty space therein”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the scanning module comprises one or more of a radio frequency identification (RFID) scanning module, a near-field communication (NFC) scanning module, a Bluetooth scanning module, or a scannable image for use by the mobile device to obtain access to the solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0173] “In an alternative embodiment, the insertion opening (repository access door 912) is automatically opened or unlocked when a valid material type or permitted RFID tag, bar code, PIN number, credit card swipe, or other identifier is entered or alternatively scanned by a scanner”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Nitu further teaches wherein the scanning module comprises a graphical object that the mobile device can scan and download a user interface which the user can interact with to obtain a one-time access to the solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0054] “the QR code or other indicia may direct the mobile device to a network address that enables a mobile app configured as the mobile kiosk 202a to be downloaded to the mobile device”; Par. [0055] “At step 714, the user may view the available locks and rental information, and select a lock and rental term, where the rental term may include an amount of time (e.g., two hours, four hours, full day, etc.) for which the user desires to rent the lock.” – short term receptacle rentals are commonly associated with one-time access).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the lockable hopper enables access, when unlocked, to the solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0161] “When full, machine 900 is serviceable by releasing and/or unlocking access door 908.”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Pearl further teaches wherein the user application further enables benefits to be provided to the user based on use of the solar-powered secure receptacle (Par. [0086] “Carbon-positive third parties may trade or purchase carbon credits from the carbon-negative composters, directly or indirectly via the host, using rewards, such as, benefits to the third-parties' platforms, monetary compensation, composting equipment, donations for ecological services such as planting trees, etc. In this way, third parties may commission or incentivize users who otherwise would not have the finances, supplies, or desire to compost, to increase global compost production and reduce greenhouse gasses in the Earth's atmosphere.” – carbon credits and rewards are both interpreted as benefits).
Regarding claim 11, Nitu teaches a method (Par. [0004] “methods and systems for operating "smart lockers" and other securable devices using a mobile kiosk”) comprising:
receiving, at a receptacle (Par. [0006] “smart locker (or other securable device)”) having a scanning module (Par. [0026] “a sticker or other non-electronic indicia inclusive of a unique identifier associated with respective smart lockers 106 may be used and scanned or otherwise utilized by an electronic device, including the respective smart locks or provisioning mobile device to provision each smart locker”), via an interaction with a mobile device (Par. [0028] “mobile kiosks 102 may be mobile devices, such as smart phones, configured to execute instructions in the form of a mobile app or website that integrates with various features of the mobile devices.”), an identification of a user (Par. [0036] “other options for creating or selecting a PIN may be utilized, including assigning a PIN to the user, using a unique mobile device ID (e.g., subscriber identity module (SIM), mobile identification number (MIN)), using a user account number, or using another Identifier”);
confirming that the user is enrolled in a program associated with accessing the
receptacle (Par. [0028] “the mobile kiosks 102 may enable (i) confirmation code(s) to be communicated via text, email, or other communication protocol”);
when the user is enrolled in the program, unlocking the receptacle (Par. [0028]” (iii) short-range communications (e.g., NFC, Bluetooth) to be used to unlock/lock a smart locker that has been rented by communicating with (e.g., "tapping" an NFC reader 112a) to communicate a verification code with or without presentment to the user”);
receiving material into the receptacle (Par. [0024] “electronic locker system 100 may be configured with individual electronic lockers 106 that serve as temporary storage for personal items in indoor or outdoor venues”);
reporting which users access the receptacle to a network device (Par. [0050] “mobile database 514 may store any information that is input into a mobile device by a user operating a mobile kiosk, where such information may include encrypted payment information, account details, rental history, and the like.”); and
managing through a program on the network device who is granted access to the
receptacle and the other receptacles (Par. [0054] “At step 712, the cloud management server 210 may identify available locks and rental information associated with the available locks from the site database for presentment to the user of the mobile kiosk 202a.”).
Nitu does not explicitly teach the receptacle having a lockable hopper, receiving compost, reporting a fullness level of the receptacle, and performing a collection operation for the receptacle and other receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of the receptacle and a fullness level of the other receptacles.
However, Audino teaches the receptacle having a lockable hopper (Par. [0138] “security hopper for preventing accessibility to contents placed through the chute”), receiving compost (Par. [0083] “debris may be re-purposed into compost material”; Par. [0110] “composted material can be integrated back into the grow cycle in soil-like mixes that can be amended or reused, such as peat and coco (coir) fiber.”), reporting a fullness level of the receptacle (Par. [0170] “internal proximity sensor may be used to detect bin fullness before the green waste material has filled the toter.”; Par. [0201] “server is a programmable and searchable database which enables the user to display such information as average fullness, peak fullness, collection statistics derived over a period of time”).
Nitu and Audino are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to storage receptacles.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above mobile application for storage receptacles, as taught by Nitu, and apply the mobile application to a composting receptacle as taught by Audino.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the capabilities, lower expenses, and lower complexity of conventional compost receptacles as suggested by Nitu (Par. [0006]).
Audino teaches performing a collection operation for a receptacle based on the fullness level of the receptacle (Par. [0123] “If the disclosed waste disposal unit (e.g., "smart" container) reaches capacity (for example, as evidenced by internal triggering mechanism and alert (e.g., alarm notification)) prior to scheduled pickup/ destruction, the waste disposal unit (e.g., "smart" container) owner will provide the demand removal service as needed;”), but does not explicitly teach performing a collection operation for multiple receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of multiple receptacles.
However, Pearl teaches performing a collection operation for the receptacle and other receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of the receptacle and a fullness level of the other receptacles (Par. [0084] “optimizing pickup routes and/or schedules for a fleet of vehicles, optimizing locations of where to place community composters to maximize their even distribution based on historical trends of compost production, etc.”).
Nitu, Audino, and Pearl are analogous art because they all contain functional similarities. They all relate to receptacles units.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above compost receptacle, as taught by Nitu and Audino, and incorporate a collection schedule based on the fullness of multiple receptacles, as taught by Pearl.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize pickup routes and/or schedules as suggested by Pearl (Par. [0084]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the receptacle comprises a solar-powered secure compost receptacle (Par. [0110] “composted material can be integrated back into the grow cycle in soil-like mixes that can be amended or reused, such as peat and coco (coir) fiber.”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Pearl further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to monitor a plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles for use by users (Par. [0013] “One or more host devices may include one or more communication circuits configured to communicate with a plurality of IoT composting end-devices and/or personal user devices, via wireless modules embedded therein”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Nitu further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to turn on access to the receptacle for enrollees of the program and turn off access to the receptacle for users leaving the program and schedule, based on data, users for dropping off compost at an assigned receptacle (Par. [0064] “With regard to FIGS. 8A-8C, screenshots of illustrative user interfaces that support processes for new rental, extend rental, and end rental processes of securable devices, respectively, are shown.” -users can gain access to receptacle by selecting new rental on an interface, and turn off access by selecting end rental.; Par. [0051] “management server 500 being programmed to synchronize to an existing pre-assigned data base 518 of stored user information, associating that stored profile to a user with one of the locker(s) so that the user is authorized to access the assigned locker.” – The management server acts as an access program, where users enrolled in the access program have their information added to the management server, authorizing the user to access an assigned locker.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Pearl further teaches wherein the network device is further configured to present a graphical representation a location of each of a plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles (Par. [0041] “monitoring device 102 may host, over the public forum, a map of the community IoT composters 106 at various locations to route users” – a map is a type of graphical representation) and a respective fullness level of each of the plurality of solar-powered secure receptacles (Par. [0041] “The map may indicate, for each IoT composters 106, an amount of compostable material contained therein or an amount of empty space therein”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the scanning module comprises one or more of a radio frequency identification (RFID) scanning module, a near-field communication (NFC) scanning module, a Bluetooth scanning module, or a scannable image for use by the mobile device to obtain access to the receptacle (Par. [0173] “In an alternative embodiment, the insertion opening (repository access door 912) is automatically opened or unlocked when a valid material type or permitted RFID tag, bar code, PIN number, credit card swipe, or other identifier is entered or alternatively scanned by a scanner”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Nitu further teaches wherein the scanning module comprises a graphical object that the mobile device can scan and download a user interface which the user can interact with to obtain a one-time access to the receptacle (Par. [0054] “the QR code or other indicia may direct the mobile device to a network address that enables a mobile app configured as the mobile kiosk 202a to be downloaded to the mobile device”; Par. [0055] “At step 714, the user may view the available locks and rental information, and select a lock and rental term, where the rental term may include an amount of time (e.g., two hours, four hours, full day, etc.) for which the user desires to rent the lock.” – short term receptacle rentals are commonly associated with one-time access).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino further teaches wherein the hopper enables access, when unlocked, to the receptacle (Par. [0161] “When full, machine 900 is serviceable by releasing and/or unlocking access door 908.”).
Audino does not explicitly teach wherein a user application on the mobile device enables benefits to be provided to the user based on use of the receptacle.
However, Pearl teaches wherein a user application on the mobile device enables benefits to be provided to the user based on use of the receptacle (Par. [0086] “Carbon-positive third parties may trade or purchase carbon credits from the carbon-negative composters, directly or indirectly via the host, using rewards, such as, benefits to the third-parties' platforms, monetary compensation, composting equipment, donations for ecological services such as planting trees, etc. In this way, third parties may commission or incentivize users who otherwise would not have the finances, supplies, or desire to compost, to increase global compost production and reduce greenhouse gasses in the Earth's atmosphere.” – carbon credits and rewards are both interpreted as benefits).
Regarding claim 20, Audino teaches a network server comprising:
at least one processor (Par. [0174] “The programmable logic controller (PLC) is a central microprocessor, which is capable of managing all operations, detecting all inputs and providing outputs for running the device”); and
a computer-readable storage device storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to be configured to (Par. [0295] “The computer system further comprises a storage device. The storage device can be a hard disk drive or a removable storage drive such as a floppy disk drive, optical disk drive, etc. The storage device can also be other similar means for loading computer programs or other instructions into the computer system”):
receive a report of a fullness level of the receptacle (Par. [0170] “internal proximity sensor may be used to detect bin fullness before the green waste material has filled the toter.”; Par. [0201] “server is a programmable and searchable database which enables the user to display such information as average fullness, peak fullness, collection statistics derived over a period of time”).
Audino further teaches a scanning module (Par. [0173] “In an alternative embodiment, the insertion opening (repository access door 912) is automatically opened or unlocked when a valid material type or permitted RFID tag, bar code, PIN number, credit card swipe, or other identifier is entered or alternatively scanned by a scanner”) and a hopper (Par. [0138] “security hopper for preventing accessibility to contents placed through the chute”) receiving compost material (Par. [0083] “debris may be re-purposed into compost material”), but does not explicitly teach the processor being configured to:
receive, from a receptacle having a scanning module and via an interaction with a mobile device, an identification of a user;
confirm that the user is enrolled in a program associated with accessing the receptacle;
when the user is enrolled in the program, causing the receptacle to become unlocked to enable the receptacle to receive compost material;
manage what users are granted access to the receptacle and the other receptacles;
receive a report of which users access the receptacle; and
implement a collection operation for the receptacle and other receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of the receptacle and a fullness level of the other receptacles.
However, Nitu teaches the processor (Par. [0046] “processor 402”) being configured to receive, from a receptacle having a scanning module and via an interaction with a mobile device, an identification of a user (Par. [0036] “other options for creating or selecting a PIN may be utilized, including assigning a PIN to the user, using a unique mobile device ID (e.g., subscriber identity module (SIM), mobile identification number (MIN)), using a user account number, or using another Identifier”);
confirm that the user is enrolled in a program associated with accessing the receptacle (Par. [0028] “the mobile kiosks 102 may enable (i) confirmation code(s) to be communicated via text, email, or other communication protocol”);
when the user is enrolled in the program, causing the receptacle to become unlocked (Par. [0028]” (iii) short-range communications (e.g., NFC, Bluetooth) to be used to unlock/lock a smart locker that has been rented by communicating with (e.g., "tapping" an NFC reader 112a) to communicate a verification code with or without presentment to the user”);
manage what users are granted access to the receptacle and the other receptacles (Par. [0054] “At step 712, the cloud management server 210 may identify available locks and rental information associated with the available locks from the site database for presentment to the user of the mobile kiosk 202a.”); and
report which users access the receptacle (Par. [0050] “mobile database 514 may store any information that is input into a mobile device by a user operating a mobile kiosk, where such information may include encrypted payment information, account details, rental history, and the like”).
Audino and Nitu are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to storage receptacles.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above compost receptacle, as taught by Audino, and incorporate a mobile application to manage access and other features, as taught by Nitu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the capabilities, lower expenses, and lower complexity of conventional compost receptacles as suggested by Nitu (Par. [0006]).
Audino and Nitu do not explicitly teach wherein the processor configured to:
implement a collection operation for the receptacle and other receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of the receptacle and a fullness level of the other receptacles.
However, Pearl teaches wherein the processor configured to implement a collection operation for the receptacle and other receptacles according to a schedule that is based on the fullness level of the receptacle and a fullness level of the other receptacles (Par. [0084] “optimizing pickup routes and/or schedules for a fleet of vehicles, optimizing locations of where to place community composters to maximize their even distribution based on historical trends of compost production, etc.”).
Audino, Nitu, and Pearl are analogous art because they all contain functional similarities. They all relate to receptacles units.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above compost receptacle, as taught by Audino and Nitu, and incorporate a collection schedule based on the fullness of multiple receptacles, as taught by Pearl.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize pickup routes and/or schedules as suggested by Pearl (Par. [0084]).
Claim(s) 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Audino et al. USPGPUB 20220147953 A1 (hereinafter Audino) in view of Nitu et al. USPGPUB 2015/0356801 A1 (hereinafter Nitu) and Pearl et al. USPGPUB 2023/0206266 A1 (hereinafter Pearl), and further in view of Rosenfelder (Apple’s iOS 14 App Clips: A definitive guide for developers by AppsFlyer, June 13, 2021) (hereinafter Rosenfelder).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino, Nitu, and Pearl do not explicitly teach wherein the user interface can be associated with an App Clip.
However, Rosenfelder teaches wherein the user interface can be associated with an App Clip (Page 2, “Once triggered (via QR code, NFC tag, Safari Smart Banner, link in iMessage, or Apple Maps), the App Clip opens instantly. It can:
Authenticate with Sign in with Apple
Handle transactions via Apple Pay
Store preferences with iCloud Keychain
Prompt the user to install the full app post-interaction”).
Nitu and Rosenfelder are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to using QR codes to activate a feature on a mobile device.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above network address link, as taught by Nitu, and incorporate using App Clips, as taught by Rosenfelder.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to “reduce acquisition friction” and “streamline the funnel: one tap to action, instead of multi-step redirects and App Store detours” as suggested by Rosenfelder (Page 2).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Audino, Nitu, and Pearl teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Audino, Nitu, and Pearl do not explicitly teach wherein a user interface associated with the mobile device is associated with an App Clip.
However, Rosenfelder teaches wherein a user interface associated with the mobile device is associated with an App Clip. (Page 2, “Once triggered (via QR code, NFC tag, Safari Smart Banner, link in iMessage, or Apple Maps), the App Clip opens instantly. It can:
Authenticate with Sign in with Apple
Handle transactions via Apple Pay
Store preferences with iCloud Keychain
Prompt the user to install the full app post-interaction”
; Page 3 “Apple App Clips are about to change the way you think, and; moreover, they will probably change the way that we interact with our environment using our mobile devices.”).
Nitu and Rosenfelder are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to using QR codes to activate a feature on a mobile device.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above network address link, as taught by Nitu, and incorporate using App Clips, as taught by Rosenfelder.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to “reduce acquisition friction” and “streamline the funnel: one tap to action, instead of multi-step redirects and App Store detours” as suggested by Rosenfelder (Page 2).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Poss et al. [USPGPUB 2013/0278067 A1] teaches a waste enclosure device employing operational functions including collection and monitoring capacity, and adapted to send and receive data, optionally wirelessly, and configured and adapted to utilize solar derived electric power.
Sridhar [USPGPUB 2020/0189844 A1] teaches a trash collection device comprising a trash receptacle with a unique identification and an opening to receive a class of trash; an identification scanner for recognizing a user; a trash item counter; a fill level sensor; a display configured to interact with the user; a compactor; a solar panel configured to charge a battery; a data communicator configured to communicate date to a cloud storage; a processor configured to generate incentive for the user; wherein the trash collection device is configured to be modular and configurable to connect with another similar trash collection device to enable to collect additional trash class and is configured to interact with each other through a common software.
Conclusion
/PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119