Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2024 and was filed after the mailing date of the 12/20/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 10-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2022/0417965 A1)(hereafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, A wireless communication method, comprising: performing, by a communication device, an uplink transmission, wherein the uplink transmission is performed using a precoder,
Wang [0315]; the UE performs PUSCH transmission based on the precoder.
wherein the precoder is based on one sounding reference signal (SRS)resource, one or more ranks,
and one or more precoding matrix indicators,
Wang [0310]; (c) Based on the SRI, TRI, and TPMI in the DCI, the UE obtains the precoder and the actual quantity of ranks for the uplink transmission for sending the PUSCH, to send uplink data.
Wang [0311]; Specifically, the UE performs operations based on information, such as:
(4) whether a codebook subset (codebook Subset) is coherent (coherent). The UE may determine a table, and the UE selects one row in the table based on a precoding information and number of layers (Precoding information and number of layers) field in the DCI. The row includes a TRI and a TPMI. Then, the UE may determine one codebook (codebook) based on the quantity of SRS ports and the TRI, and then select a specific precoder from the codebook based on the TPMI. A dimension of the precoder is [the quantity of SRS ports in the SRS resource*a quantity of ranks indicated by the TRI], and the UE performs PUSCH transmission based on the precoder.
Wang; [0308] A maximum of two SRS resources can be configured for the UE, and at least one SRS resource is configured for the UE.
and wherein one precoding matrix indicator of the one or more precoding matrix indicators indicates a precoding matrix for a rank.
Wang [0322] The UE selects one row (an index in the table) from the selected TPMI table based on the precoding information and number of layers field in the received DCI, to determine the TRI and the TPMI that are delivered by the TRP. For example, the UE selects a row corresponding to an index number 5 (precoding matrix for rank), and determines that the TRI delivered by the TRP is 1 layer (that is, rank=1) and the TPMI is 4.
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein the one precoding matrix indicator of the one or more precoding matrix indicators comprises: a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) or an index that indicates the precoding matrix for the rank based on a predefined precoding matrix table.
Wang [0015]; In an implementation, the plurality of precoders received by the terminal may alternatively be respectively indicated by a plurality of TPMIs in a transmission precoding matrix indicator (Transmission precoding matrix indicator, TPMI) field, and each TPMI corresponds to one precoder; or the plurality of precoders received by the terminal may be separately indicated by one TPMI in a TPMI field, and each TPMI corresponds to a plurality of precoders.
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 1, wherein the one SRS resource is indicated by one SRS resource indicator (SRI).
Wang [0077]; In an implementation, the plurality of precoders received by the transceiver are selected by the network device from the plurality of SRS precoders and indicated by using an SRI field. The plurality of precoders may be jointly indicated by using one SRI in the SRI field, to be specific, all the plurality of precoders selected by the network device are indicated by using the SRI; or may be independently indicated by using a plurality of SRIs in the SRI field, to be specific, different SRIs are used to indicate different precoders (One SRS is indicated by one (SRI)).
Regarding claim 5, The method of claim 1, further comprise: receiving, by the communication device from a network device, a first indication having a value that indicates the one or more ranks and the one or more precoding matrix indicators.
Wang [0379]; For example, the UE receives the indication information, and the first four bits are 0111. By searching Table 1, a corresponding index number is 8, a quantity of layers is 2, and TPMI=2. Similarly, by searching Table 5 based on the last three bits 011, a corresponding index number is 3, a corresponding TPMI is 3, and it is already determined, based on the first four bits, that the quantity of layers is 2.
Regarding claim 6, The method of claim 5, wherein the value of the first indication indicates the one or more ranks and/or the one or more precoding matrix indicators based on a predetermined table,
Wang [0379]; For example, the UE receives the indication information, and the first four bits are 0111. By searching Table 1, a corresponding index number is 8, a quantity of layers is 2, and TPMI=2. Similarly, by searching Table 5 based on the last three bits 011, a corresponding index number is 3, a corresponding TPMI is 3, and it is already determined, based on the first four bits, that the quantity of layers is 2.
Wang [0320]; The following uses Table 1, Table 2, and Table 3 as examples to describe how the UE determines a precoder. A specific procedure is as follows: The UE receives RRC signaling that is sent by the TRP to the UE, and selects a TPMI table from a plurality of prestored TPMI configuration information tables (predetermined table) based on a quantity of SRS ports in an SRS resource and a maximum quantity of ranks, for uplink transmission, indicated by the RRC.
wherein the predetermined table comprises a plurality of entries, wherein each entry of the plurality of entries corresponds to a respective value of the first indication,
Wang [0379]; (1) A quantity of bits of the TPMI may be increased to indicate the plurality of TPMIs. For example, as shown in Table 1, a maximum of four bits (which may indicate 16 entries (entries)) are required to indicate a quantity of layers and TPMIs. For example, the UE receives the indication information, and the first four bits are 0111. By searching Table 1, a corresponding index number is 8, a quantity of layers is 2, and TPMI=2.
and wherein each entry of the plurality of entries corresponds to at least one rank and at least one precoding matrix indicator.
Wang [0382]; table 8, (2) In another implementation, a reserved (reserved) entry (entry) in an existing TPMI table is used, and the entry is enabled to indicate the plurality of TPMIs. For example, in Table 8, content indicated by an entry whose index number is 9 is: 1 layer, TPMI=1, and TPMI=3,
Regarding claim 10, The method of claim 5, wherein a bit size of the first indication is according to any one or more of:
a parameter configured by the network device, or a number of entries in the predetermined table.
Wang [0379]; For example, the UE receives the indication information, and the first four bits are 0111. By searching Table 1 (predetermined table), a corresponding index number is 8, a quantity of layers is 2, and TPMI=2. Similarly, by searching Table 5 based on the last three bits 011, a corresponding index number is 3, a corresponding TPMI is 3, and it is already determined, based on the first four bits, that the quantity of layers is 2.
Regarding claim 11, A wireless communication method, comprising: receiving, by a network device, an uplink transmission,
Wang, Fig. 3 (c )[0310]; (c) Based on the SRI, TRI, and TPMI in the DCI, the UE obtains the precoder and the actual quantity of ranks for the uplink transmission for sending the PUSCH, to send uplink data.
wherein the uplink transmission is based on a precoder, wherein the precoder is based on one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, one or more ranks, and one or more precoding matrix indicators transmitted to the communication device,
Wang [0311]; Specifically, the UE performs operations based on information, such as:
(4) whether a codebook subset (codebook Subset) is coherent (coherent). The UE may determine a table, and the UE selects one row in the table based on a precoding information and number of layers (Precoding information and number of layers) field in the DCI. The row includes a TRI and a TPMI. Then, the UE may determine one codebook (codebook) based on the quantity of SRS ports and the TRI, and then select a specific precoder from the codebook based on the TPMI. A dimension of the precoder is [the quantity of SRS ports in the SRS resource*a quantity of ranks indicated by the TRI], and the UE performs PUSCH transmission based on the precoder.
and wherein one precoding matrix indicator of the one or more precoding matrix indicators indicates a precoding matrix for a rank.
Wang [0322]; The UE selects one row (an index in the table) from the selected TPMI table based on the precoding information and number of layers field in the received DCI, to determine the TRI and the TPMI that are delivered by the TRP. For example, the UE selects a row corresponding to an index number 5 (precoding matrix for rank), and determines that the TRI delivered by the TRP is 1 layer (that is, rank=1) and the TPMI is 4.
Regarding claim 12, The method of claim 11, further comprise: transmitting, by the network device to the communication device, a first indication having a value that indicates the one or more ranks and the one or more precoding matrix indicators.
Wang [0379]; For example, the UE receives the indication information, and the first four bits are 0111. By searching Table 1, a corresponding index number is 8, a quantity of layers is 2, and TPMI=2. Similarly, by searching Table 5 based on the last three bits 011, a corresponding index number is 3, a corresponding TPMI is 3, and it is already determined, based on the first four bits, that the quantity of layers is 2.
Regarding claim 13, An apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor (Wang, Fig. 27, Ref. 1601) configured to implement a method, the processor configured to: perform, by a communication device, an uplink transmission, wherein the uplink transmission is performed using a precoder,
Wang [0315]; the UE performs PUSCH transmission based on the precoder.
wherein the precoder is based on one sounding reference signal (SRS)resource, one or more ranks,
and one or more precoding matrix indicators,
Wang [0310]; (c) Based on the SRI, TRI, and TPMI in the DCI, the UE obtains the precoder and the actual quantity of ranks for the uplink transmission for sending the PUSCH, to send uplink data.
Wang [0311]; Specifically, the UE performs operations based on information, such as:
(4) whether a codebook subset (codebook Subset) is coherent (coherent). The UE may determine a table, and the UE selects one row in the table based on a precoding information and number of layers (Precoding information and number of layers) field in the DCI. The row includes a TRI and a TPMI. Then, the UE may determine one codebook (codebook) based on the quantity of SRS ports and the TRI, and then select a specific precoder from the codebook based on the TPMI. A dimension of the precoder is [the quantity of SRS ports in the SRS resource*a quantity of ranks indicated by the TRI], and the UE performs PUSCH transmission based on the precoder.
Wang; [0308] A maximum of two SRS resources can be configured for the UE, and at least one SRS resource is configured for the UE.
and wherein one precoding matrix indicator of the one or more precoding matrix indicators indicates a precoding matrix for a rank.
Wang [0322] The UE selects one row (an index in the table) from the selected TPMI table based on the precoding information and number of layers field in the received DCI, to determine the TRI and the TPMI that are delivered by the TRP. For example, the UE selects a row corresponding to an index number 5 (precoding matrix for rank), and determines that the TRI delivered by the TRP is 1 layer (that is, rank=1) and the TPMI is 4.
Regarding claim 14, The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one precoding matrix indicator of the one or more precoding matrix indicators comprises :a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) or an index that indicates the precoding matrix for the rank based on a predefined precoding matrix table.
Wang [0015]; In an implementation, the plurality of precoders received by the terminal may alternatively be respectively indicated by a plurality of TPMIs in a transmission precoding matrix indicator (Transmission precoding matrix indicator, TPMI) field, and each TPMI corresponds to one precoder; or the plurality of precoders received by the terminal may be separately indicated by one TPMI in a TPMI field, and each TPMI corresponds to a plurality of precoders.
Regarding claim 16, The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one SRS resource is indicated by one SRS resource indicator (SRI).
Wang [0077]; In an implementation, the plurality of precoders received by the transceiver are selected by the network device from the plurality of SRS precoders and indicated by using an SRI field. The plurality of precoders may be jointly indicated by using one SRI in the SRI field, to be specific, all the plurality of precoders selected by the network device are indicated by using the SRI; or may be independently indicated by using a plurality of SRIs in the SRI field, to be specific, different SRIs are used to indicate different precoders (One SRS is indicated by one (SRI)).
Regarding claim 17, The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, by the communication device from a network device, a first indication having a value that indicates the one or more ranks and the one or more precoding matrix indicators.
Wang [0379]; For example, the UE receives the indication information, and the first four bits are 0111. By searching Table 1, a corresponding index number is 8, a quantity of layers is 2, and TPMI=2. Similarly, by searching Table 5 based on the last three bits 011, a corresponding index number is 3, a corresponding TPMI is 3, and it is already determined, based on the first four bits, that the quantity of layers is 2.
Regarding claim 18, The apparatus of The apparatus of wherein the value of the first indication indicates the one or more ranks and/or the one or more precoding matrix indicators based on a predetermined table,
Wang [0379]; For example, the UE receives the indication information, and the first four bits are 0111. By searching Table 1, a corresponding index number is 8, a quantity of layers is 2, and TPMI=2. Similarly, by searching Table 5 based on the last three bits 011, a corresponding index number is 3, a corresponding TPMI is 3, and it is already determined, based on the first four bits, that the quantity of layers is 2.
Wang [0320]; The following uses Table 1, Table 2, and Table 3 as examples to describe how the UE determines a precoder. A specific procedure is as follows: The UE receives RRC signaling that is sent by the TRP to the UE, and selects a TPMI table from a plurality of prestored TPMI configuration information tables (predetermined table) based on a quantity of SRS ports in an SRS resource and a maximum quantity of ranks, for uplink transmission, indicated by the RRC.
wherein the predetermined table comprises a plurality of entries, wherein each entry of the plurality of entries corresponds to a respective value of the first indication,
Wang [0379]; (1) A quantity of bits of the TPMI may be increased to indicate the plurality of TPMIs. For example, as shown in Table 1, a maximum of four bits (which may indicate 16 entries (entries)) are required to indicate a quantity of layers and TPMIs. For example, the UE receives the indication information, and the first four bits are 0111. By searching Table 1, a corresponding index number is 8, a quantity of layers is 2, and TPMI=2.
and wherein each entry of the plurality of entries corresponds to at least one rank and at least one precoding matrix indicator.
Wang [0382]; table 8, (2) In another implementation, a reserved (reserved) entry (entry) in an existing TPMI table is used, and the entry is enabled to indicate the plurality of TPMIs. For example, in Table 8, content indicated by an entry whose index number is 9 is: 1 layer, TPMI=1, and TPMI=3,
Regarding claim 19, An apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor (Wang, Fig. 27, Ref. 1601) configured to implement a method, the processor configured to: receive, by a network device, an uplink transmission, wherein the uplink transmission is based on a precoder,
Wang, Fig. 3 (c )[0310]; (c) Based on the SRI, TRI, and TPMI in the DCI, the UE obtains the precoder and the actual quantity of ranks for the uplink transmission for sending the PUSCH, to send uplink data.
wherein the uplink transmission is based on a precoder, wherein the precoder is based on one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, one or more ranks, and one or more precoding matrix indicators transmitted to the communication device,
Wang [0311]; Specifically, the UE performs operations based on information, such as:
(4) whether a codebook subset (codebook Subset) is coherent (coherent). The UE may determine a table, and the UE selects one row in the table based on a precoding information and number of layers (Precoding information and number of layers) field in the DCI. The row includes a TRI and a TPMI. Then, the UE may determine one codebook (codebook) based on the quantity of SRS ports and the TRI, and then select a specific precoder from the codebook based on the TPMI. A dimension of the precoder is [the quantity of SRS ports in the SRS resource*a quantity of ranks indicated by the TRI], and the UE performs PUSCH transmission based on the precoder.
and wherein one precoding matrix indicator of the one or more precoding matrix indicators indicates a precoding matrix for a rank.
Wang [0322]; The UE selects one row (an index in the table) from the selected TPMI table based on the precoding information and number of layers field in the received DCI, to determine the TRI and the TPMI that are delivered by the TRP. For example, the UE selects a row corresponding to an index number 5 (precoding matrix for rank), and determines that the TRI delivered by the TRP is 1 layer (that is, rank=1) and the TPMI is 4.
Regarding claim 20, The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit, by the network device to the communication device, a first indication having a value that indicates the one or more ranks and the one or more precoding matrix indicators.
Wang [0379]; For example, the UE receives the indication information, and the first four bits are 0111. By searching Table 1, a corresponding index number is 8, a quantity of layers is 2, and TPMI=2. Similarly, by searching Table 5 based on the last three bits 011, a corresponding index number is 3, a corresponding TPMI is 3, and it is already determined, based on the first four bits, that the quantity of layers is 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
was made.
Claim 3, 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of US
2025/0192946 A1 (“Gao”).
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 1, wherein the one SRS resource.
Wang [0453]; For example, the UE configures X SRS resource sets each including a maximum of Y SRS resources, and each SRS resource includes Z SRS ports. X/Y/Z is not limited, that is, a quantity of SRS resource sets/SRS resources/SRS ports is not limited ( eight antenna ports ).
Wang; [0308] A maximum of two SRS resources can be configured for the UE, and at least one SRS resource is configured for the UE.
While Wang teaches the SRS ports are not limited, it does not explicitly teach eight antenna ports.
Gao explicitly teaches eight antenna ports
Gao [0006]; The method includes: [0007] configuring and sending an SRS of 8 antenna ports on one SRS resource, in which the 8 antenna ports are mapped onto same physical resources.
In view of Gao, Wang is modified such that one SRS resource configured with eight antenna
ports.
Wang and Gao are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, configuring the SRS with antenna ports.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary
skill in the art to modify Wang in the manner described above to configure one SRS with eight antenna
ports to measure and estimate the channel quality (Gao[0003]).
Regarding claim 15, The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one SRS resource.
Wang [0453]; For example, the UE configures X SRS resource sets each including a maximum of Y SRS resources, and each SRS resource includes Z SRS ports. X/Y/Z is not limited, that is, a quantity of SRS resource sets/SRS resources/SRS ports is not limited ( eight antenna ports ).
Wang; [0308] A maximum of two SRS resources can be configured for the UE, and at least one SRS resource is configured for the UE.
While Wang teaches the SRS ports are not limited, it does not explicitly teach eight antenna ports.
Gao explicitly teaches eight antenna ports
Gao [0006]; The method includes: [0007] configuring and sending an SRS of 8 antenna ports on one SRS resource, in which the 8 antenna ports are mapped onto same physical resources.
In view of Gao, Wang is modified such that one SRS resource configured with eight antenna
ports.
Wang and Gao are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, configuring the SRS with antenna ports.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary
skill in the art to modify Wang in the manner described above to configure one SRS with eight antenna
ports to measure and estimate the channel quality (Gao[0003]).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Rahman et al. (US 2022/0039031 A1)( thereafter “Rahman”) in further view of Liu et al. (US 2019/0181939 A1)( hereafter “Liu”) in further view of Jang et al. (US 2024/0121063 A1)(hereafter “Jang”).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches all limitation of claim 6. Wang teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the plurality of entries.
Wang does not teach any one or more of: one or more entries of type one, one or more entries of type two, one or more entries of type three, or one or more entries of type four, wherein each of the type one, the type two, the type three, and the type four is associated with at least one rank and/or at least one precoding matrix indicator.
Rahman teaches any one or more of: one or more entries of type one, one or more entries of type two, one or more entries of type three, or one or more entries of type four,
Rahman, Table 42, G0, Rank 1 TPMI 0 = type one
wherein each of the type one, the type two is associated with at least one rank and/or at least one precoding matrix indicator.
Rahman, Table 42, G0, Rank 1 TPMI 0 = type one
Rahman, Table 42, G 1, Rank 2, TMPI 0,2 = Type two
In view of Rahman, Wang is modified such the entries of the table shows type one and two of
entries with its indicated rank and TPMI.
Wang and Rahman are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, determining the PUSCH based on TPMI and rank.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary
skill in the art to modify Wang in the manner above to include type one and two entries with its
corresponding rank and TPMI to determine the UE capability to transmit PUSCH based on the
different types of entries (Rahman [0107]).
Wang in view of Rahman does not teach the type three is associated with at least one rank and/or at least one precoding matrix indicator.
Liu teaches the type three is associated with at least one rank and/or at least one precoding matrix indicator.
Liu, Table 8, [0022]; 61 Four layers: TPMI = 4 = type three
In view of Liu, Wang is modified such the entries of the table shows type three of entries with its
indicated rank and TPMI.
Wang and Liu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, determining the PUSCH codebook transmission mode.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary
skill in the art to modify Wang in the manner above to include three entries with its indicated
rank and TPMI to determine the quality of transmission of PUSCH based on the different types
of entries (Liu [0003]).
Wang in view of Rahman in view of Liu does not teach the type four is associated with at least one rank and/or at least one precoding matrix indicator.
Jang teaches the type four is associated with at least one rank and/or at least one precoding matrix indicator.
Jang [0538]; The terminal may receive a PDSCH configured by rank 1 to a maximum of rank 8 (Rank 8= type four), that is, configured by one to eight layers by using enhanced DMRS type 1 and enhanced DMRS type 2 described above. Similarly, the terminal may transmit a PUSCH configured by rank 1 to a maximum of rank 8.
In view of Jang, Wang is modified such the entries of the table shows type four of entries with its
indicated rank and TPMI.
Wang and Jang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, PUSCH transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary
skill in the art to modify Wang in the manner above to include type four entries with its
corresponding rank to determine the UE capability to transmit PUSCH based on the different
types of entries (Jang [0008]]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Rahman teaches the limitation of claim 7. Rahman further teaches The method of claim 7, wherein more than one entry with different types correspond to any one or more of: different number of precoding matrix indicators, or different size of precoding matrices corresponding to precoding matrix indicators.
Rahman, Table 42, [0162]; where the TPMI groups are defined in Table 42 and two alternatives (Alt A and Alt B) are shown for the exact mapping. (As it is shown in Table 42, G0 (type 1) and G1 (type 2) have different number and size of precoding matrix indicators)
In view of Rahman, Wang is modified such the entries of the table shows different number of precoding matrix indicators, or different size of precoding matrices corresponding to precoding matrix indicators.
Wang and Rahman are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, determining the PUSCH based on TPMI and rank.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary
skill in the art to modify Wang in the manner above to include type one and two entries with its
corresponding rank and TPMI to determine the UE capability to transmit PUSCH based on the
different types of entries (Rahman [0107]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Rahman teaches the limitation of The method of claim 7. Rahman further teaches wherein an entry of type one indicates one rank and one precoding matrix indicator,
Rahman, Table 42, G0, Rank 1 TPMI 0= type one
wherein an entry of type two indicates two ranks and two precoding matrix indicators,
or wherein an entry of type three indicates four ranks and four precoding matrix indicators.
In view of Rahman, Wang is modified such that an entry of type one indicates one rank and one precoding matrix indicator,
Wang and Rahman are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, determining the PUSCH based on TPMI and rank.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary
skill in the art to modify Wang in the manner above to include type one and two entries with its
corresponding rank and TPMI to determine the UE capability to transmit PUSCH based on the
different types of entries (Rahman [0107]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Yuan et al. (US 12057913 B2 [0052-0053].
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478