DETAILED ACTION
This non-final action is responsive to amendment filed on 01/21/2026. Claims 1-24 are pending, with claims 1 and 13 being independent.
Priority
This application claims the benefit of and priority to Indian Provisional Application No. 202221075243, filed on December 23, 2022, and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/443,891 filed on February 7, 2023.
Response to Arguments
Claims Objections
Objections have been withdrawn in view of amended claim.
35 U.S.C. § 101 Rejections
Rejections have been withdrawn in view of amended claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 21-24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
It appears that claims 21-24 are canceled without showing any their status.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 13-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeyakumar et al. (US 2020/0389486, published Dec. 10, 2020).
As per claim 1, Jeyakumar discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by one or more servers, a selection of one or more messages from a plurality of messages identified as threats (Jeyakumar Fig. 15A and par. 151-154, At a high level, the threat detection platform can be designed to perform various tasks including: Ingestion of threat intelligence from different types of sources such as: Inferred IOCs based on statistics of previously-seen attacks (e.g., the number of good or bad emails sent from the same source IP address));
identifying, by the one or more servers based at least on the one or more messages, one or more candidate blocklist entries (BLEs) (Jeyakumar Fig. 15A and par. 151-154, At a high level, the threat detection platform can be designed to perform various tasks including: Ingestion of threat intelligence from different types of sources such as: Inferred IOCs [candidate BLEs] based on statistics of previously-seen attacks (e.g., the number of good or bad emails sent from the same source IP address));
determining, by the one or more servers based at least on the more or more candidate BLEs, a recommendation of one or more BLEs to add to a blocklist (Jeyakumar par. 157, Embodiments of the threat detection platform may also be designed to permit enabling/disabling of IOCs on a per-enterprise basis; Jeyakumar Fig. 15B and par. 178, the interface may allow the enterprise to readily sort IOCs by severity level so that those IOCs representing the largest threat [recommendation of BLEs] can be dealt with); and
adding, by the one or more servers, the one or more BLEs to the blocklist (Jeyakumar par. 157, an enterprise may upload a list of IOCs to the threat detection platform that should be used specifically when examining their emails), wherein the blocklist is used by an email system to block messages that match at least the one or more BLEs on the blocklist (Jeyakumar par. 157, an enterprise may upload a list of IOCs to the threat detection platform that should be used specifically when examining their emails… Thus, the threat detection platform could be designed to flag those emails determined to be malicious).
As per claim 2, Jeyakumar discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, by the one or more servers, the plurality of messages from a threat detection system (Jeyakumar Fig. 15A and par. 151-154, At a high level, the threat detection platform can be designed to perform various tasks including: Ingestion of threat intelligence from different types of sources such as: Inferred IOCs based on statistics of previously-seen attacks (e.g., the number of good or bad emails sent from the same source IP address)).
As per claim 3, Jeyakumar discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising adding, by the threat detection system, a label to the one or more messages to identify potential threats in the one or more messages (Jeyakumar Fig. 15A and par. 151-154, At a high level, the threat detection platform can be designed to perform various tasks including: Ingestion of threat intelligence from different types of sources such as: Inferred IOCs based on statistics of previously-seen attacks (e.g., the number of good or bad emails sent from the same source IP address)).
As per claim 5, Jeyakumar discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining, by the one or more servers, the recommendation of the one or more BLEs to add to the blocklist according to a BLE characteristic type of a plurality of BLE characteristic types (Jeyakumar Fig. 15B and par. 178, the interface may allow the enterprise to readily sort IOCs by severity level so that those IOCs representing the largest threat [recommendation of BLEs] can be dealt with).
As per claim 6, Jeyakumar discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising providing, by the one or more servers, a user interface to an administrator to select a confidence level for which to block messages similar to the plurality of messages identified as threats (see Jeyakumar Fig. 15B, the interface selecting confidence level).
As per claim 7, Jeyakumar discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising determining, by the one or more servers, the recommendation of the one or more BLEs based at least on the selected confidence level (Jeyakumar par. 157, Embodiments of the threat detection platform may also be designed to permit enabling/disabling of IOCs on a per-enterprise basis; Jeyakumar Fig. 15B and par. 170-178, A schema may be employed to ensure that threat intelligence is accounted for in a consistent manner. For a given IOC, the scheme may indicate… A severity… A confidence metric… the interface may allow the enterprise to readily sort IOCs by severity level so that those IOCs representing the largest threat [recommendation of BLEs] can be dealt with).
As per claim 9, Jeyakumar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the blocklist is a private blocklist (Jeyakumar par. 157, Embodiments of the threat detection platform may also be designed to permit enabling/disabling of IOCs on a per-enterprise basis. For example, an enterprise may upload a list of IOCs to the threat detection platform that should be used specifically when examining their emails).
Claims 13-15 and 17-19 do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 1-3, 5-7 respectively. As such, claims 13-15 and 17-19 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1-3, 5-7, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeyakumar et al. (US 2020/0389486, published Dec. 10, 2020) and Acton et al. (US 10,587,551, published Mar.10,2020).
As per claim 4, Jeyakumar discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising receiving, by the one or more servers, the selection of the one or more messages from an administrator via a user interface.
Acton teaches:
receiving the selection of the one or more messages from an administrator via a user interface (Acton 19:9-11, Agents and administrators may be empowered to sort and select message threads based on tags).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jeyakumar with the teaching of Acton for receiving, by the one or more servers, the selection of the one or more messages from an administrator via a user interface. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of allowing administrators to select desired messages to target specific threat.
Claim 16 does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 4. As such, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeyakumar et al. (US 2020/0389486, published Dec. 10, 2020) and Thomas et al. (US 2016/0191465, published Jun. 30, 2016).
As per claim 8, Jeyakumar discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising determining, by the one or more servers, a recommendation of a Time-To-Live (TTL) for each of the one or more BLEs.
Thomas teaches:
determining a recommendation of a Time-To-Live (TTL) for each of the one or more BLEs (Thomas par. 250, The threat management facility 1002 may provide a reputation score 1024 and a time to live 1026 for a particular IOC 1006).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jeyakumar with the teaching of Thomas for determining, by the one or more servers, a recommendation of a Time-To-Live (TTL) for each of the one or more BLEs. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of ensuring that information that will remain relevant over time.
Claim 20 does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 8. As such, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeyakumar et al. (US 2020/0389486, published Dec. 10, 2020) and Sanjeev et al. (US 2015/0074802, published Mar. 12, 2015).
As per claim 10, Jeyakumar discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising private blocklists of multiple organizations (Jeyakumar par. 157, Embodiments of the threat detection platform may also be designed to permit enabling/disabling of IOCs on a per-enterprise basis. For example, an enterprise may upload a list of IOCs to the threat detection platform that should be used specifically when examining their emails).
Jeyakumar does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, by the one or more processors, a global blocklist of one or more BLEs identified by a security services provider that aggregates private blocklists.
Sanjeev teaches:
receiving, by the one or more processors, a global blocklist of one or more BLEs identified by a security services provider that aggregates private blocklists (Sanjeev par. 70, messaging center device 230 may receive blacklist information from a set of user devices 210 (e.g., first blacklist information from a first user device 210-1, second blacklist information from a second user device 210-2, etc.), and may aggregate the blacklist information. In some implementations, messaging center device 210 may analyze the aggregated blacklist information to determine global blacklist information for user devices 210 (e.g., all or a subset of user devices 210 associated with messaging center device 230)).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jeyakumar with the teaching of Sanjeev for receiving, by the one or more processors, a global blacklist of one or more BLEs identified by a security services provider that aggregates private blacklists of multiple organizations. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of enhancing detection accuracy, speed, and coverage.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeyakumar et al. (US 2020/0389486, published Dec. 10, 2020) and Baptist et al. (US 2017/0031760, published Feb. 2, 2017).
As per claim 11, Jeyakumar discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising providing, by the one or more processors, a priority indicator to each of the one or more BLEs, the priority indicator indicating an order for which each of the one or more BLEs are to be added to the blocklist used by the email system.
Baptist teaches:
providing, by the one or more processors, a priority indicator to each of the one or more integrity check algorithms, the priority indicator indicating an order for which each of the one or more integrity check algorithms are executed (Baptist par. 36, generate a plurality of priority levels corresponding to each of the plurality of integrity check algorithms, where the plurality of integrity check algorithms are executed in an order based on the plurality of priority levels).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jeyakumar with the teaching of Baptist to incorporate priority levels for providing, by the one or more processors, a priority indicator to each of the one or more BLEs, the priority indicator indicating an order for which each of the one or more BLEs are to be added to the blocklist used by the email system. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of prioritizing those IOCs representing the largest threat.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because none of the prior art of record either taken by itself or in any combination teaches all limitations as currently presented in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10904266 B1; System And Method For Verifying The Identity Of Email Senders To Improve Email Security Within An Organization
This invention relates generally to the field of email communications and more specifically to a new and useful method for verifying the identity of email senders in the field of email communications.
US 20230171212 A1; Computerized System For Analysis Of Vertices And Edges Of An Electronic Messaging System
This system is directed to a computerized system for the analysis of transmitted electronic information from a sender to a recipient including the analysis of electronic messaging, edge values, confidence values, and recommended and automated message actions and events.
US 12309176 B2; Message Compliance Scanning And Processing System
The disclosure relate to identifying electronic messages, using machine learning, that may be excluded from further message compliance scanning and/or review.
/KHANG DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492