DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In pages 8-9, Applicant argues that:
Claim 1, as amended, requires that the first satellite network connection (used for voice) has a lower latency than the second satellite network connection (used for data). Zakaria's disclosure refers to an unrelated "low latency" scenario. The Office Action cites Zakaria at paragraph [0063] to support the disclosure of lower latency. However, that paragraph refers to local routing that bypasses the satellite backhaul entirely: …………
When Zakaria does discuss the backhaul connections, it suggests that routing data traffic to the remote region (the "second geographic region" in claim 1) is what improves latency: "Routing of data traffic to region A may enhance an experience for the end user of the UT by decreasing latency or the like. The enhanced user experience for data services may be because region A has a better Internet infrastructure than region B." Zakaria, 48.
Thus, Zakaria describes a system where the data connection (Region A) is utilized specifically to decrease latency, which is the opposite of the claimed requirement that the first (voice) connection has the lower latency. Because Zakaria fails to disclose a first satellite network connection with a lower latency than the second, it cannot anticipate amended claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reason:
Applicant argues that Zakaria does not disclose the amended limitations of claim 1 because Zakaria allegedly only describes an unrelated low-latency scenario involving local routing, and because Zakaria allegedly does not disclose routing signaling traffic for both satellite network connections over the first satellite network connection. However, the rejection is not based on paragraph [0063] alone. Rather, Zakaria's disclosure, including paragraphs [0057]-[0059], [0063], [0064], and Figs. 4-5, is relied upon as a whole.
As set forth in Zakaria, the satellite backhaul 410 includes VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with VSAT GW B and VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with VSAT GW A. Zakaria further teaches that voice and data traffic are split using a single PGW configuration. See Zakaria, paragraph [0057]. Zakaria also teaches that the PGW 420 is connected to VSAT 1 and VSAT 2 through router 412, and that a traffic classifier included in the PGW differentiates between voice traffic and data traffic. See Zakaria, paragraph [0058].
Zakaria then expressly states that router 412 routes the traffic to the appropriate VSAT depending on the traffic type, with voice traffic being routed to VSAT 1 communicating with VSAT GW B, and data traffic being routed to VSAT 2 communicating with VSAT GW A. See Zakaria, paragraph [0059]. Thus, Zakaria discloses splitting traffic such that a first category of traffic, namely voice traffic, is provided over the first satellite network connection, and a second category of traffic, namely data traffic, is provided over the second satellite network connection.
Applicant's argument regarding latency is also not persuasive. Zakaria expressly identifies the voice communication path as a low-latency path. In particular, Zakaria states that, for a UT-to-UT voice call, voice traffic between UTs is routed locally and the voice traffic for a call between a UT serviced by eNB1 and a UT serviced by eNB2 does not go over the satellite backhaul, and therefore the “latency for such a UT to UT voice call is low”. See Zakaria, paragraph [0063]. This disclosure is consistent with the architecture shown in Figs. 4 and 5, where voice traffic and the signaling needed for voice services are handled through the region B/VSAT l side, while data traffic is separately routed to VSAT 2/VSAT GW A. Zakaria therefore teaches that the voice side of the split communication path is associated with lower latency than the separate data side, which is sufficient to meet the claimed requirement that the first satellite network connection has a lower latency than the second satellite network connection.
Applicant appears to read paragraph [0063] in isolation. However, the cited disclosure should be viewed together with Zakaria's surrounding description of the Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 embodiments. Zakaria is not merely mentioning low latency. Zakaria describes a specific split-traffic backhaul architecture in which voice traffic is classified and routed to VSAT 1/VSAT GW B, while data traffic is classified and routed to VSAT 2/VSAT GW A. See Zakaria, paragraphs [0057]-[0059] and [0064]. The fact that Zakaria explains the low-latency nature of the voice communication in connection with local routing does not remove the express disclosure that the system routes voice traffic through the VSAT 1 side and data traffic through the VSAT 2 side in the same split-backhaul architecture.
In page 9, Applicant argues that:
Second, Zakaria fails to disclose routing signaling traffic for both connections over the first connection. Amended claim 1 further requires that the signaling traffic for both the first and second satellite network connections is routed over the first satellite network connection.
Zakaria does not disclose that the signaling for the data connection (associated with VSAT 2 and VSAT GW A in a different region in Zakaria) is routed over the first (voice) connection (VSAT 1 and VSAT GW B in Zakaria). Rather, Zakaria's architecture is focused on splitting voice and data such that they are handled by their respective gateways. Zakaria fails to teach the specific consolidation of control-plane signaling traffic for both concurrent backhaul links onto the low-latency first connection as now required by amended claim 1.
For at least these reasons, Zakaria does not anticipate claim 1, nor the claims dependent thereon. The remaining independent claims and their respective dependent claims are unanticipated for similar reasons. Withdrawal of all pending § 102 rejections is respectfully requested.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reason:
In response to Applicant’s above arguments that Zakaria does not disclose routing signaling traffic for both satellite network connections over the first satellite network connection. This argument is not persuasive. Zakaria expressly teaches that signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS, is routed to VSAT 1 because the HSS and IMS are located inside region B. See Zakaria, paragraph [0064]. Zakaria further explains in paragraph [0059] that information and signaling necessary to provide voice services to the UT may be typed as “voice traffic” including IMS and HSS information and signaling, and thus may be routed to VSAT GW B by the router. Zakaria also explains that information and signaling necessary to provide data services, such as the Internet, may be typed as “data traffic.” Thus, Zakaria's router and PGW classifier handle both the voice and data sides of the split backhaul communication, and Zakaria expressly discloses that the control/signaling associated with IMS/HSS is routed over the VSAT 1 path.
Accordingly, Zakaria teaches the claimed routing of signaling traffic over the first satellite network connection. In the disclosed system, VSAT 1/VSAT GW B corresponds to the first satellite network connection, and VSAT 2/VSAT GW A corresponds to the second satellite network connection. Zakaria teaches that traffic is split between these two satellite network connections, with voice traffic routed over VSAT l and data traffic routed over VSAT 2. Zakaria further teaches that signaling between MME/HSS and UTs/IMS is routed to VSAT 1. See Zakaria, paragraph [0064) and Fig. 5. Therefore, Zakaria discloses routing signaling traffic associated with the split communication system over the first satellite network connection.
For these reasons, Applicant's arguments do not overcome the rejection. Zakaria discloses the claimed split backhaul system using concurrent satellite network connections, where voice traffic is routed over VSAT 1/VSAT GW B, data traffic is routed over VSAT 2/VSAT GW A, the voice path is associated with lower latency, and signaling traffic is routed over the VSAT 1 path. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Because claims dependent on claim 1 have not been separately argued with particularity, they remain rejected for the reasons previously set forth. The rejection is therefore made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-12, 14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zakaria (US 20180205639, hereinafter “Zakaria”).
Regarding claim 1, Zakaria discloses,
A system (FIG. 3 illustrates a cellular system including a satellite backhaul that separately routes for voice traffic and data traffic over a satellite link) comprising:
a first satellite terminal configured to communicate over a first satellite network connection with a first satellite gateway (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a first geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]);
a second satellite terminal configured to communicate over a second satellite network connection with a second satellite gateway (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a second geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]) ; and
a communication subsystem that is configured to concurrently communicate with the first satellite terminal and the second satellite terminal (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), wherein the communication subsystem is configured to use the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection as backhaul links for one or more wireless base stations (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, Fig. 1, [0048]-[0052] and Fig. 3-5),
wherein the communication subsystem has a communication interface for communication with the one or more wireless base stations (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. [0048]), wherein the communication interface is configured to send and receive traffic for the one or more wireless base stations (in exemplary embodiments, a UT may be serviced by an Enhanced Node B (eNB) in region B. The UT may generate UT traffic that may be split by classification. The voice traffic included in the UT traffic may be sent to a PSTN of region B, [0048]-[0050]), and
wherein the communication subsystem is configured to split the traffic among the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection such that (i) a first category of traffic is provided over the first satellite network connection and (ii) a second category of traffic is provided over the second satellite network connection (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), wherein the communication interface is configured to send and receive voice traffic and data traffic for the one or more wireless base stations (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]);
wherein the first satellite network connection has a lower latency than the second satellite network connection ( For a UT to UT voice call, the voice traffic between UTs is routed locally by the PGW and the voice traffic for a call between a UT serviced by the eNB1 to a UT serviced by the eNB2 does not go over the satellite backhaul (FIG. 4, 410). Hence, the latency for such a UT to UT voice call is low, [0063]); wherein the first category of traffic is voice traffic, such that the communication subsystem is configured to provide voice traffic over the first satellite network connection of the first satellite terminal (The router 412 inspects and routes the traffic to the appropriate VSAT depending on the traffic type. As illustrated in FIG. 4, voice traffic is routed to the VSAT 1 communicating with VSAT GW B. Generally, VSAT 1 and VSAT GW B are disposed in the same region, i.e., region B, [0057]-[0059]); and
wherein the second category of traffic is data traffic, such that the communication subsystem is configured to provide the data traffic over the second satellite network connection of the second satellite terminal (Data traffic is routed to the VSAT 2 communicating with VSAT GW A. Generally, VSAT 2 and VSAT GW A are disposed in the different regions, i.e., region B and region A respectively, [0057]-[0059]); and
wherein splitting backhaul communication among the multiple concurrent satellite network connections comprises routing signaling traffic for the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection over the first satellite network connection (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]).
Regarding claim 3, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication subsystem is configured to exchange, over the first satellite networking connection, signaling messages for setting up or terminating communication sessions (After the UT attaches to the EPC network, the UT registers at operation 514 to the IMS in region B. In exemplary embodiments, the registration at operation 514 may be a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) Registration. After registering, the UT can start Voice over LTE (VoLTE) session or receive VoLTE incoming call., [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 4, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first satellite network connection comprises a satellite link with a first satellite, and the first satellite gateway is located in a first country that is the same country where the base station is located (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]); and wherein the second satellite network connection comprises a satellite link with a second satellite, and the second satellite gateway is located in a second country (The PGW 920 associates a traffic type with the traffic from a UT, the router 912 inspects the traffic type and routes the associated traffic to the appropriate VSAT depending on the traffic type. The voice traffic is routed to the VSAT1 that is communicating with VSAT GW B within a region or country B. Data traffic to the internet is routed to the VSAT2 that is communicating with VSAT GW A in a different country or region A, [0075]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 5, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection comprise different physical network paths, including communication through at least a different frequency band, physical channel, satellite beam, or satellite (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first satellite terminal is a first very small aperture terminal (VSAT) and the second satellite terminal is a second VSAT (see, VSAT1 and VSAT2 in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication subsystem comprises a local core network that is co-located with the first satellite terminal and the second satellite terminal (For this configuration, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located in region B. In exemplary embodiments, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located close to one another. In exemplary embodiments, the associated HSS B 414 and IMS are centralized inside region B, although not necessarily close to the eNB. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 4, region B has two eNBs (eNB1 and eNB2), each associated with an EPC CN (MME, SGW, PGW) and a PCRF, [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication subsystem comprises a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) long-term evolution (LTE) Evolved Packet Core (EPC) or a 3GPP fifth generation (5G) core (5GC) (For this configuration, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located in region B. In exemplary embodiments, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located close to one another. In exemplary embodiments, the associated HSS B 414 and IMS are centralized inside region B, although not necessarily close to the eNB. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 4, region B has two eNBs (eNB1 and eNB2), each associated with an EPC CN (MME, SGW, PGW) and a PCRF, [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication interface comprises at least one of (i) a LTE S1 interface or a (ii) 5G Next Generation (NG) interface (The present teachings allow cellular traffic, for example, from an LTE Evolved Node B (eNB) site, to be routed to different regions with the voice going to one region and data going to another, [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication subsystem comprises: a serving gateway that provides the communication interface for communication with the one or more wireless base stations (The Evolved Packet Core (EPC) Core Network (CN) includes an MME (or MMEs), a Serving Gateway (SGW) and a PDN (Packet Data Network) Gateway (PGW). An Enhanced Node B (eNB) communicates with an MME for signaling and a Serving Gateway (SGW) for user traffic. All User Terminal (UT) traffic goes through the SGW/PGW to its destination [0005]); and a packet gateway that is configured to split voice traffic and data traffic among the satellite network connections (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516, [0064]).
Regarding claim 11, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication subsystem comprises: a mobility management entity configured to manage access to network connections by user equipment (see, MME in Fig. 4); and a policy and charging rules function that is configured to perform data flow detection, policy enforcement, and charging for network resource use (see, PCRF in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Zakaria discloses,
A method comprising:
establishing multiple concurrent satellite network connections (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), the satellite networking connections comprising (i) a first satellite network connection involving a first satellite gateway (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a first geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]), and (ii) a second satellite network connection involving a second satellite gateway located (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a second geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]);
communicating with one or more wireless base stations to send traffic to and receive traffic from the one or more wireless base stations (in exemplary embodiments, a UT may be serviced by an Enhanced Node B (eNB) in region B. The UT may generate UT traffic that may be split by classification. The voice traffic included in the UT traffic may be sent to a PSTN of region B, [0048]-[0050]); and
splitting backhaul communication among the multiple concurrent satellite network connections to route different categories of traffic for the one or more wireless base stations over different satellite network connections (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), including (i) routing traffic that is in a first category to the first satellite network connection, and (ii) routing traffic that is in a second category to the second satellite network connection (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]);
wherein the first category of traffic is voice traffic, such that the communication subsystem is configured to provide voice traffic over the first satellite network connection (The router 412 inspects and routes the traffic to the appropriate VSAT depending on the traffic type. As illustrated in FIG. 4, voice traffic is routed to the VSAT 1 communicating with VSAT GW B. Generally, VSAT 1 and VSAT GW B are disposed in the same region, i.e., region B, [0057]-[0059]); and
wherein the second category of traffic is data traffic, such that the data traffic over the second satellite network connection (Data traffic is routed to the VSAT 2 communicating with VSAT GW A. Generally, VSAT 2 and VSAT GW A are disposed in the different regions, i.e., region B and region A respectively, [0057]-[0059]); and
splitting backhaul communication among the multiple concurrent satellite network connections comprises routing signaling traffic for the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection over the first satellite network connection (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]).
Regarding claim 14, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first geographic region is a first country, and wherein the second geographic region is a second country that is different from the first country; wherein the one or more wireless base stations are located in the first country; wherein the first category comprises voice traffic, such that the voice traffic is routed over the first satellite network connection involving the first satellite gateway that is located in the first country (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]); and wherein the second satellite network connection comprises a satellite link with a second satellite, and the second satellite gateway is located in a second country (The PGW 920 associates a traffic type with the traffic from a UT, the router 912 inspects the traffic type and routes the associated traffic to the appropriate VSAT depending on the traffic type. The voice traffic is routed to the VSAT1 that is communicating with VSAT GW B within a region or country B. Data traffic to the internet is routed to the VSAT2 that is communicating with VSAT GW A in a different country or region A, [0075]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 16, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first satellite network connection comprises a satellite link with a first satellite, and the first satellite gateway is located in a first country that is the same country where the base stations are located (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]); and wherein the second satellite network connection comprises a satellite link with a second satellite, and the second satellite gateway is located in a second country (The PGW 920 associates a traffic type with the traffic from a UT, the router 912 inspects the traffic type and routes the associated traffic to the appropriate VSAT depending on the traffic type. The voice traffic is routed to the VSAT1 that is communicating with VSAT GW B within a region or country B. Data traffic to the internet is routed to the VSAT2 that is communicating with VSAT GW A in a different country or region A, [0075]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 17, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection comprise different physical network paths, including communication through at least a different frequency band, physical channel, satellite beam, or satellite (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]).
Regarding claim 19, Zakaria discloses,
wherein splitting the backhaul communication is performed by a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) long-term evolution (LTE) Evolved Packet Core (EPC) or a 3GPP fifth generation (5G) core (5GC) (For this configuration, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located in region B. In exemplary embodiments, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located close to one another. In exemplary embodiments, the associated HSS B 414 and IMS are centralized inside region B, although not necessarily close to the eNB. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 4, region B has two eNBs (eNB1 and eNB2), each associated with an EPC CN (MME, SGW, PGW) and a PCRF, [0057]).
Regarding claim 20, Zakaria discloses,
One or more non-transitory machine-readable media storing instructions that are operable, when executed by one or more processors of one or more communication devices, to cause the one or more communication devices to perform operations comprising:
establishing multiple concurrent satellite network connections (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), the satellite networking connections comprising (i) a first satellite network connection involving a first satellite gateway (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a first geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]), and (ii) a second satellite network connection involving a second satellite gateway located (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a second geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]); wherein
wherein the first satellite network connection has a lower latency than the second satellite network connection ( For a UT to UT voice call, the voice traffic between UTs is routed locally by the PGW and the voice traffic for a call between a UT serviced by the eNB1 to a UT serviced by the eNB2 does not go over the satellite backhaul (FIG. 4, 410). Hence, the latency for such a UT to UT voice call is low, [0063]);
communicating with one or more wireless base stations to send traffic to and receive traffic from the one or more wireless base stations (in exemplary embodiments, a UT may be serviced by an Enhanced Node B (eNB) in region B. The UT may generate UT traffic that may be split by classification. The voice traffic included in the UT traffic may be sent to a PSTN of region B, [0048]-[0050]); and
splitting backhaul communication among the multiple concurrent satellite network connections to route different categories of traffic for the one or more wireless base stations over different satellite network connections (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), including (i) routing traffic that is in a first category to the first satellite network connection, and (ii) routing traffic that is in a second category to the second satellite network connection (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), wherein:
wherein the first category of traffic is voice traffic, such that the communication subsystem is configured to provide voice traffic over the first satellite network connection (The router 412 inspects and routes the traffic to the appropriate VSAT depending on the traffic type. As illustrated in FIG. 4, voice traffic is routed to the VSAT 1 communicating with VSAT GW B. Generally, VSAT 1 and VSAT GW B are disposed in the same region, i.e., region B, [0057]-[0059]); and
wherein the second category of traffic is data traffic, such that the data traffic over the second satellite network connection (Data traffic is routed to the VSAT 2 communicating with VSAT GW A. Generally, VSAT 2 and VSAT GW A are disposed in the different regions, i.e., region B and region A respectively, [0057]-[0059]); and
splitting backhaul communication among the multiple concurrent satellite network connections comprises routing signaling traffic for the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection over the first satellite network connection (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
WO 2024011070: The method involves installing a security gateway between a core network and a set of broadband base stations located at a periphery of the core network. A virtual layer 2 overlay network is created for interconnecting the base stations. A local layer 3 protocol is activated between the security gateway and the network, and a sensor protocol e.g. bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) protocol, between the gateway and a remote mobile network is activated.
US 20230096165: This application provides a non-terrestrial network (non-terrestrial network, NTN) communication method and an apparatus, to resolve the following problem: When performing a delay-sensitive communication service, UE may select a cell covered by a satellite since the UE cannot distinguish between a cell covered by a terrestrial base station and the cell covered by the satellite. The method includes: A first network device determines cell type information of a cell covered by a second network device.
US 20220312301: The method involves receiving a request for an application service by a network device. Information pertaining to a satellite network and a radio access network is analyzed by the network device, where the information includes satellite connectivity between a satellite and a ground station, and satellite routing information. One of uplink connection or downlink connection is selected by the network device based on the analyzing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641