DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zakaria (US 20180205639, hereinafter “Zakaria”).
Regarding claim 1, Zakaria discloses,
A system (FIG. 3 illustrates a cellular system including a satellite backhaul that separately routes for voice traffic and data traffic over a satellite link) comprising:
a first satellite terminal configured to communicate over a first satellite network connection with a first satellite gateway (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a first geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]);
a second satellite terminal configured to communicate over a second satellite network connection with a second satellite gateway (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a second geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]) ; and
a communication subsystem that is configured to concurrently communicate with the first satellite terminal and the second satellite terminal (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), wherein the communication subsystem is configured to use the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection as backhaul links for one or more wireless base stations (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, Fig. 1, [0048]-[0052] and Fig. 3-5),
wherein the communication subsystem has a communication interface for communication with the one or more wireless base stations (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. [0048]), wherein the communication interface is configured to send and receive traffic for the one or more wireless base stations (in exemplary embodiments, a UT may be serviced by an Enhanced Node B (eNB) in region B. The UT may generate UT traffic that may be split by classification. The voice traffic included in the UT traffic may be sent to a PSTN of region B, [0048]-[0050]), and
wherein the communication subsystem is configured to split the traffic among the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection such that (i) a first category of traffic is provided over the first satellite network connection and (ii) a second category of traffic is provided over the second satellite network connection (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]).
Regarding claim 2, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication interface is configured to send and receive voice traffic and data traffic for the one or more wireless base stations (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]);
wherein the first satellite network connection has a lower latency than the second satellite network connection ( For a UT to UT voice call, the voice traffic between UTs is routed locally by the PGW and the voice traffic for a call between a UT serviced by the eNB1 to a UT serviced by the eNB2 does not go over the satellite backhaul (FIG. 4, 410). Hence, the latency for such a UT to UT voice call is low, [0063]); wherein the first category of traffic is voice traffic, such that the communication subsystem is configured to provide voice traffic over the first satellite network connection of the first satellite terminal (The router 412 inspects and routes the traffic to the appropriate VSAT depending on the traffic type. As illustrated in FIG. 4, voice traffic is routed to the VSAT 1 communicating with VSAT GW B. Generally, VSAT 1 and VSAT GW B are disposed in the same region, i.e., region B, [0057]-[0059]); and
wherein the second category of traffic is data traffic, such that the communication subsystem is configured to provide the data traffic over the second satellite network connection of the second satellite terminal (Data traffic is routed to the VSAT 2 communicating with VSAT GW A. Generally, VSAT 2 and VSAT GW A are disposed in the different regions, i.e., region B and region A respectively, [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication subsystem is configured to exchange, over the first satellite networking connection, signaling messages for setting up or terminating communication sessions (After the UT attaches to the EPC network, the UT registers at operation 514 to the IMS in region B. In exemplary embodiments, the registration at operation 514 may be a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) Registration. After registering, the UT can start Voice over LTE (VoLTE) session or receive VoLTE incoming call., [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 4, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first satellite network connection comprises a satellite link with a first satellite, and the first satellite gateway is located in a first country that is the same country where the base station is located (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]); and wherein the second satellite network connection comprises a satellite link with a second satellite, and the second satellite gateway is located in a second country (The PGW 920 associates a traffic type with the traffic from a UT, the router 912 inspects the traffic type and routes the associated traffic to the appropriate VSAT depending on the traffic type. The voice traffic is routed to the VSAT1 that is communicating with VSAT GW B within a region or country B. Data traffic to the internet is routed to the VSAT2 that is communicating with VSAT GW A in a different country or region A, [0075]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 5, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection comprise different physical network paths, including communication through at least a different frequency band, physical channel, satellite beam, or satellite (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first satellite terminal is a first very small aperture terminal (VSAT) and the second satellite terminal is a second VSAT (see, VSAT1 and VSAT2 in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication subsystem comprises a local core network that is co-located with the first satellite terminal and the second satellite terminal (For this configuration, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located in region B. In exemplary embodiments, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located close to one another. In exemplary embodiments, the associated HSS B 414 and IMS are centralized inside region B, although not necessarily close to the eNB. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 4, region B has two eNBs (eNB1 and eNB2), each associated with an EPC CN (MME, SGW, PGW) and a PCRF, [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication subsystem comprises a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) long-term evolution (LTE) Evolved Packet Core (EPC) or a 3GPP fifth generation (5G) core (5GC) (For this configuration, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located in region B. In exemplary embodiments, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located close to one another. In exemplary embodiments, the associated HSS B 414 and IMS are centralized inside region B, although not necessarily close to the eNB. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 4, region B has two eNBs (eNB1 and eNB2), each associated with an EPC CN (MME, SGW, PGW) and a PCRF, [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication interface comprises at least one of (i) a LTE S1 interface or a (ii) 5G Next Generation (NG) interface (The present teachings allow cellular traffic, for example, from an LTE Evolved Node B (eNB) site, to be routed to different regions with the voice going to one region and data going to another, [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication subsystem comprises: a serving gateway that provides the communication interface for communication with the one or more wireless base stations (The Evolved Packet Core (EPC) Core Network (CN) includes an MME (or MMEs), a Serving Gateway (SGW) and a PDN (Packet Data Network) Gateway (PGW). An Enhanced Node B (eNB) communicates with an MME for signaling and a Serving Gateway (SGW) for user traffic. All User Terminal (UT) traffic goes through the SGW/PGW to its destination [0005]); and a packet gateway that is configured to split voice traffic and data traffic among the satellite network connections (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516, [0064]).
Regarding claim 11, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the communication subsystem comprises: a mobility management entity configured to manage access to network connections by user equipment (see, MME in Fig. 4); and a policy and charging rules function that is configured to perform data flow detection, policy enforcement, and charging for network resource use (see, PCRF in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Zakaria discloses,
A method comprising:
establishing multiple concurrent satellite network connections (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), the satellite networking connections comprising (i) a first satellite network connection involving a first satellite gateway (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a first geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]), and (ii) a second satellite network connection involving a second satellite gateway located (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a second geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]);
communicating with one or more wireless base stations to send traffic to and receive traffic from the one or more wireless base stations (in exemplary embodiments, a UT may be serviced by an Enhanced Node B (eNB) in region B. The UT may generate UT traffic that may be split by classification. The voice traffic included in the UT traffic may be sent to a PSTN of region B, [0048]-[0050]); and
splitting backhaul communication among the multiple concurrent satellite network connections to route different categories of traffic for the one or more wireless base stations over different satellite network connections (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), including (i) routing traffic that is in a first category to the first satellite network connection, and (ii) routing traffic that is in a second category to the second satellite network connection (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]).
Regarding claim 13, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first satellite network connection has a lower latency than the second satellite network connection ( For a UT to UT voice call, the voice traffic between UTs is routed locally by the PGW and the voice traffic for a call between a UT serviced by the eNB1 to a UT serviced by the eNB2 does not go over the satellite backhaul (FIG. 4, 410). Hence, the latency for such a UT to UT voice call is low, [0063]).
Regarding claim 14, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first geographic region is a first country, and wherein the second geographic region is a second country that is different from the first country; wherein the one or more wireless base stations are located in the first country; wherein the first category comprises voice traffic, such that the voice traffic is routed over the first satellite network connection involving the first satellite gateway that is located in the first country (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]); and wherein the second satellite network connection comprises a satellite link with a second satellite, and the second satellite gateway is located in a second country (The PGW 920 associates a traffic type with the traffic from a UT, the router 912 inspects the traffic type and routes the associated traffic to the appropriate VSAT depending on the traffic type. The voice traffic is routed to the VSAT1 that is communicating with VSAT GW B within a region or country B. Data traffic to the internet is routed to the VSAT2 that is communicating with VSAT GW A in a different country or region A, [0075]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 15, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the different categories of traffic are different quality of service classes (voice traffic may be routed locally within a first region to avoid a long distance or international billing charge and data traffic may be routed to a second region different than the first region. The second region may have a more robust Internet infrastructure or maybe closer to data centers providing services over the internet. In exemplary embodiments, a region may be a country, a state or province, a legal jurisdiction or the like, [0036]).
Regarding claim 16, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first satellite network connection comprises a satellite link with a first satellite, and the first satellite gateway is located in a first country that is the same country where the base stations are located (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]); and wherein the second satellite network connection comprises a satellite link with a second satellite, and the second satellite gateway is located in a second country (The PGW 920 associates a traffic type with the traffic from a UT, the router 912 inspects the traffic type and routes the associated traffic to the appropriate VSAT depending on the traffic type. The voice traffic is routed to the VSAT1 that is communicating with VSAT GW B within a region or country B. Data traffic to the internet is routed to the VSAT2 that is communicating with VSAT GW A in a different country or region A, [0075]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 17, Zakaria discloses,
wherein the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection comprise different physical network paths, including communication through at least a different frequency band, physical channel, satellite beam, or satellite (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]).
Regarding claim 18, Zakaria discloses,
wherein splitting backhaul communication among the multiple concurrent satellite network connections comprises routing signaling traffic for the first satellite network connection and the second satellite network connection over the first satellite network connection (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]).
Regarding claim 19, Zakaria discloses,
wherein splitting the backhaul communication is performed by a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) long-term evolution (LTE) Evolved Packet Core (EPC) or a 3GPP fifth generation (5G) core (5GC) (For this configuration, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located in region B. In exemplary embodiments, the eNB, MME, SGW, PGW 420, and PCRF are located close to one another. In exemplary embodiments, the associated HSS B 414 and IMS are centralized inside region B, although not necessarily close to the eNB. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 4, region B has two eNBs (eNB1 and eNB2), each associated with an EPC CN (MME, SGW, PGW) and a PCRF, [0057]).
Regarding claim 20, Zakaria discloses,
One or more non-transitory machine-readable media storing instructions that are operable, when executed by one or more processors of one or more communication devices, to cause the one or more communication devices to perform operations comprising:
establishing multiple concurrent satellite network connections (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), the satellite networking connections comprising (i) a first satellite network connection involving a first satellite gateway (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a first geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]), and (ii) a second satellite network connection involving a second satellite gateway located (A cellular system 300 may include a satellite backhaul 310 to provide communication service to an eNB and any UTs being serviced by the eNB. The satellite backhaul 310 may include a VSAT 1 for communicating voice traffic with a VSAT GW B, and a VSAT 2 for communicating data traffic with a VSAT GW A, [0048]-[0052]) located in a second geographic region (region A may be a first country and region B may be a second country different from the first country. In exemplary embodiments, region B may be a rural location in a country while region A may be in the same country, but with a better Internet infrastructure than region B, [0049]);
communicating with one or more wireless base stations to send traffic to and receive traffic from the one or more wireless base stations (in exemplary embodiments, a UT may be serviced by an Enhanced Node B (eNB) in region B. The UT may generate UT traffic that may be split by classification. The voice traffic included in the UT traffic may be sent to a PSTN of region B, [0048]-[0050]); and
splitting backhaul communication among the multiple concurrent satellite network connections to route different categories of traffic for the one or more wireless base stations over different satellite network connections (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]), including (i) routing traffic that is in a first category to the first satellite network connection, and (ii) routing traffic that is in a second category to the second satellite network connection (the traffic classifier in the PGW (FIG. 4, 420) splits the UT traffic, and the router (FIG. 4, 412) inspects the traffic and separately routes, at operation 520) the data traffic to VSAT 2 at operation 518 and voice traffic to VSAT 1 at operation 516. Signaling between the MME and the HSS, and between the UTs and the IMS are routed to VSAT 1 since the HSS and the IMS are located inside region B, Fig. 5 and [0064]).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
WO 2024011070: The method involves installing a security gateway between a core network and a set of broadband base stations located at a periphery of the core network. A virtual layer 2 overlay network is created for interconnecting the base stations. A local layer 3 protocol is activated between the security gateway and the network, and a sensor protocol e.g. bidirectional forwarding detection (BFD) protocol, between the gateway and a remote mobile network is activated.
US 20230096165: This application provides a non-terrestrial network (non-terrestrial network, NTN) communication method and an apparatus, to resolve the following problem: When performing a delay-sensitive communication service, UE may select a cell covered by a satellite since the UE cannot distinguish between a cell covered by a terrestrial base station and the cell covered by the satellite. The method includes: A first network device determines cell type information of a cell covered by a second network device.
US 20220312301: The method involves receiving a request for an application service by a network device. Information pertaining to a satellite network and a radio access network is analyzed by the network device, where the information includes satellite connectivity between a satellite and a ground station, and satellite routing information. One of uplink connection or downlink connection is selected by the network device based on the analyzing.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641