DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 02/02/2026. The objections to the Drawings have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Claims 5, 7-9, and 11 are cancelled. The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) regarding claim 12 and 14 have been withdrawn in light of the amendments. The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) regarding claim 10 have been maintained. Accordingly, claims 1-4,6,10,12-20 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
§ 112(b)
Claim 10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1 and Claim 10, the recitation of amended claim 1 and claim 10 “the direction change valve” lacks antecedent basis.
Therefore, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For examination purposes, the recitation “the direction change valve” is interpreted as - - a direction change valve - - for clarity.
Further Regarding Claim 10, the recitation of “the valve coupled to the one surface” and “the valve coupled to the other surface…” lack antecedent basis.
In particular, the recitation “valves which are coupled to one surface and the other surface of the manifold plate…” implies a plurality of valves and it is unclear which valve from which surface is being referred to in the claim. Therefore, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For examination purposes, the recitation “valves which are coupled to one surface and another surface of the manifold plate and expand the fluid or control a flow direction of the fluid, wherein the valve coupled to the one surface of the manifold plate communicates with the valve coupled to the other surface of the manifold plate so that the fluid flowing out of the valve coupled to the one surface directly flows into the valve coupled to the other surface” has been interpreted as - - valves which are coupled to one surface and another surface of the manifold plate and expand the fluid or control a flow direction of the fluid, wherein a valve coupled to the one surface of the manifold plate communicates with a valve coupled to the other surface of the manifold plate so that the fluid flowing out of the valve coupled to the one surface directly flows into the valve coupled to the other surface - - for clarity.
Further regarding Claim 10, the recitation of the amended claim 10 “wherein the valve is coupled only to the first plate and the second plate…” is unclear.
In particular, it is unclear to which valve is “the valve” which is coupled only to the first plate and the second plate. Therefore, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For examination purposes, in light of Applicant remarks page 13, the recitation “wherein the valve is coupled only to the first plate and the second plate…” is interpreted as - - wherein the valves are coupled only to the first plate and the second plate - - for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US20250222738A1) in view of (CN112128426A), hereinafter Zhejiang ‘426.
Regarding Claim 1, Xu teaches a thermal management fluid module for a vehicle [integrated module 5 for vehicle 200, Figure 14; 0067], comprising:
a manifold plate [flow channel plate 5A, Figure 16], in which a fluid passage is formed in one surface of the manifold plate [where multiple grooves 511a are formed in first plate body 511, Figure 17; 0122], and the fluid passage is formed along one passage layer [between first plate body 511 and second plate body 512; 0122]; and
a valve [a valve of throttle valve group 52 or a valve of control group 53, Figure 16] which is coupled to another surface of the manifold plate [first flow channel plate 5a; 0070; 0086] and expands a fluid [where throttle valve group 52 includes throttles for pressure reduction; 0076; where control valve group 53 includes expansion valves; 0070], wherein the valve is disposed on a layer different from the passage layer of the fluid passage and communicates with the fluid passage [where grooves 511a define external refrigerant flow channels; 0122; where the throttle valve group 52 can throttle and reduce the pressure of the refrigerant flowing through the channel plate 5A; 0086]
wherein the valve is coupled to a valve seating part [valve seats 511b, Figure 17; valve cavities; 0133] formed on the layer above the passage layer on the one surface of the manifold plate [where corresponding valve seats 511b are on a top layer of first plate body 511 and grooves are below first plate body 511, Figure 17 and Figure 18; 0129; where throttle valve group 52 are arranged in the multiple valve cavities; 0133;0134].
Xu does not teach wherein an inlet hole through which the coolant flowing through the fluid passage flows is formed in a bottom surface of the valve seating part; and wherein an outlet hole through which the coolant flowing into a direction change valve outflows is formed in a side surface of the valve seating part.
However, Zhejiang ‘426 teaches a ball valve for thermal management systems [0002] where a first inlet hole [first connection port 1, Figure 3] through which the coolant flowing through the fluid passage flows [where fluid enters conducting channel 5200 at first connection port 1, Figure 3; 0048] is formed in a bottom surface of the first valve seating part [first valve seat 6100, Figure 3]; and a first outlet hole [connection port 3, Figure 3] through which the coolant flowing into the direction change valve [ball valve 10, Figure 1] outflows is formed in a side surface of the first valve seating part [where flow channel 300 from conducting channel 5200 connects to flow channel 500 at connection port 3, Figure 3; 0048] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique of inlet and outlet hole placement to a known device that was ready for improvement, where it can be understood that the positions of the portions of the first main path A to the second branch path C that are internal flow channels 511 c in the corresponding sub-flow channels can be set according to actual needs, 0126 of Xu, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., providing an easy to manufacture valve for thermal management [Zhejiang ‘426,0004-0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Xu where a first inlet hole through which the coolant flowing through the fluid passage flows is formed in a bottom surface of the first valve seating part; and a first outlet hole through which the coolant flowing into the direction change valve outflows is formed in a side surface of the first valve seating part in view of the teachings of Zhejiang ‘426 where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., providing an easy to manufacture valve for thermal management [Zhejiang ‘426,0004-0006].
Regarding Claim 2, Xu, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the valve [a valve of throttle valve group 52 or a valve of control group 53, Figure 16] is disposed in a layer [a top surface of a first flow channel plate 5a; 0086;0095] above the passage layer of the fluid passage [where grooves are below first plate body 511, Figure 18 and Figure 21; 0122].
Regarding Claim 3, Xu, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where a heat exchanger [first heat exchanger 6, Figure 13] which is coupled to the manifold plate [at flow channel plate 5B, Figure 13] and exchanges heat between a coolant and cooling water [where refrigerant enters the corresponding flow channel to exchange heat with the water side; 0183, Figure 4].
Regarding Claim 4, Xu, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3, and further teaches wherein the valve [valve 524 in throttle valve group 52, Figure 8] is at the coolant flowing out of the heat exchanger [where valve 524 in throttle valve group 52 depressurizes fluid flowing out of first heat exchanger 6 in a battery heating and refrigeration mode, Figure 8;0120; and where fluid flows to valve 537 at outlet of heat exchanger 6 during a battery heating and heating mode, Figure 5; 0183] and does not teach wherein the valve is a direction change valve which controls a flow direction of the coolant flowing out of the heat exchanger.
However, Zhejiang ‘426 teaches a ball valve for thermal management systems [0002] where a direction change valve [where valve includes a throttling channel 5100 and a conducting channel 5200, Figure 3 and Figure 4] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying the substitution of known elements, valve 537 and throttling valve 524, for another, a single ball valve, and yield predictable results, i.e., providing ease of manufacturing and minimizing the number of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the valve is a direction change valve which controls a flow direction of the coolant flowing out of the heat exchanger in view of the teachings of Zhejiang ‘426 where the substitution of two elements for another would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing ease of manufacturing and minimizing the number of parts.
Regarding Claim 6, Xu, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where a flange part [fixing piece 516, Figure 33] is provided on the direction change valve [refer to Xu in view of Zheijiang ‘426 in claim 1 above; where Zheijiang ‘426 teaches a ball valve including a throttling channel 5100 and a conducting channel 5200, Figure 3 and Figure 4]; and the flange part is fastened to a valve fastening part formed on an upper end of the first valve seating part [where fixing piece 516 is sleeved onto the electronic expansion valve and is snap fit to the upper surface of flow channel plate 5A to stably install electronic expansion valve, Figure 33; 0157-0159].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 10, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Zhen et al. (CN217319971U), Gill (US20230235832A1) and Xu (US20250222738A1), where Zhen teaches a manifold plate including a first plate and a second plate, a first flow channel plate α and second flow channel plate β, including a first plate but does not teach a main plate, wherein the manifold plate includes: a main plate; a first plate which is coupled to one surface of the main plate and in which a passage through which the fluid flows is formed; and a second plate which is coupled to the other surface of the main plate and in which a passage through which the fluid flows is formed, wherein a communication hole for passage communication between the valves coupled to the first plate and the second plate is formed in the main plate, and wherein the valve is coupled only to the first plate and the second plate. Gill teaches a multi-port thermal module but does not teach where wherein the valves are coupled only to the first plate and the second plate, where valves, at sleeves 142, are coupled to the central housing 12, Figure 4. Xu teaches an integrated module including a main plate, 512, for a vehicle but not wherein a communication hole for passage communication between the valves coupled to the first plate and the second plate is formed in the main plate.
Therefore, it would not be obvious to modify the technique of the prior art structures to have the apparatus as claimed without improper hindsight and independent claim 10 with dependent claims therefrom are considered allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding amended claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Xu (US20250222738A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to claim 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 10 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763