DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
2. The response filed on March 06, 2026 has been entered and made of record.
3. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended.
4. Claims 3 and 14 have been cancelled.
5. Claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
6. The applicant's arguments filed on March 06, 2025 regarding claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims. A response is considered necessary for applicant’s arguments/remarks since the cited references, Yeh in combination with WO’230 and Zhou will continue to be used to meet amended limitations.
Regarding claims 1 and 12 applicant argued that Yeh fails to teach the amended features of the claim i.e. “the first feedback information is related to a reliability indicator of a service, and the reliability indicator of the service comprises one or more of the following: a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the service; a mean opinion score (MOS); a target packet loss rate of the higher layer; or a target frame loss rate of the higher layer” (Applicant, page 9-12, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated March 06, 2026).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
A clear interpretation of the limitation (i.e. the first feedback information is related to a reliability indicator of a service, and the reliability indicator of the service comprises one or more of the following) is that which states the following alternatives:
(a) a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the service;
(b) a mean opinion score (MOS);
(c) a target packet loss rate of the higher layer; or
(d) a target frame loss rate of the higher layer.
According to the claim structure (according to claim language “one or more of the following”), the claim requires only one alternative and in a case that the cited prior art has been disclosed the teaching of only one from the choice, the claim limitation(s) is/are still met. As such, questions are raised about the inconsistencies noted herein and that its respectfully observed applicant’s objective for the claim limitation i.e. further clarification is requested whether the claims are optional in case the cited prior arts only discloses (a) or (b) or (c) or (d).
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
As a support of evidence, Yeh discloses:
“During time period T, for packets belonging to DRB Identity=drbid, M(T,drbid) denotes packet loss rate in the DL, Dloss(T,drbid) denotes the number of lost DL packets (at least partially transmitted but not positively acknowledged) and N(T,drbid) denotes the number of successfully received DL packets (transmitted and positively acknowledged). A similar measurement is also defined for uplink (UL)” (paragraph [0023]).
“In some embodiments, packet loss rate per DRB per UE can be reported from CU to RIC and packet loss rate per logical channel per UE can be reported from DU to RIC. For example, the measurements can be sent over E2 to near-real-time RIC or over O1 to non-real-time RIC as defined in O-RAN” (paragraph [0026]).
“PDCP layer error measurements provide a good indication of whether current bearer configuration can support the target packet loss rate. A simple trigger-based algorithm can be used for reliability enhancement configuration: If the packet loss rate of a DRB exceeds the target packet loss rate for QoS flow(s) mapped to the DRB, RIC can trigger reliability enhancement, such as configuring lower target error rate CQI mapping or packet duplication via dual-connectivity or carrier aggregation. If the packet loss rate of a DRB is below a certain threshold, RIC may deactivate a reliability enhancing scheme currently being used. More advanced algorithms that incorporate historic data can also be used to determine which reliability enhancement scheme should be prioritized based on the current network condition” (paragraph [0030]).
“When packet duplication or bearer split is configured for a DRB, the per DRB packet loss rate can only reflect the aggregated transmission performance from all logical channels serving the DRB. Additional RLC layer packet loss rate measurements provide finer granularity on how reliable individual logical channels are. Based on per logical channel packet loss rate measurement, RIC can adjust RAN configuration, e.g., steering all traffic to one path only, adjust the MCS rate selection target error rate for one of the two paths, etc.” (paragraph [0031]).
“Example 2 includes the system of example 1 and/or some other example(s) herein, wherein the compute server determines reliability enhancement strategy according to measurement reports collected from UE, DU and CU-UP” (paragraph [0113]).
In fact, the rejection is based on the combined system of WO’230, Zhou and Yeh and the references need to be considered as a whole when analyzing whether the references satisfy the claims rational. In this case, WO’230” discloses the first feedback information indicates a channel quality state of a higher layer (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], channel quality based on MAC or RLC layer), there is a first correspondence between the first feedback information and first downlink network coding (NC) code rate information (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], coded packet rate for network coding). In the context of the pending limitation is broadly interpreted to paragraphs [0023], [0026], [0030], [0031], [0113] of cited prior art Yeh as “the reliability indicator of the service comprises one or more of the following: a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the service; a mean opinion score (MOS); a target packet loss rate of the higher layer; or a target frame loss rate of the higher layer”. Accordingly, it is clear that Yeh in combination with WO’230 and Zhou teaches claim limitations.
Therefore, in view of above, while Applicant’s remarks and arguments have been considered, they are not persuasive. The dependent claims 2, 4-11, 13, 15-20 are not patentable according to the solid prior art teachings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 11, 12, 13, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/000230 A1, hereinafter “WO’230” in view of ZHOU et al. (US 2021/0328711 A1), hereinafter “Zhou” in view of Yeh et al. (US 2021/0377116 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of provisional application number 63/066,777 field on August 17, 2020), hereinafter “Yeh”.
Regarding claim 1, WO’230 discloses an apparatus (Figs 5-6, coded packet determination for network coding), comprising at least one processor and a memory (Fig.2, illustrating an example base station in communication with a UE in a wireless network in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure), storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
receiving first feedback information from a receive end (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], MAC HARQ info from UE), wherein the first feedback information indicates a channel quality state of a higher layer (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], channel quality based on MAC or RLC layer), the higher layer is higher than a physical layer, there is a first correspondence between the first feedback information and first downlink network coding (NC) code rate information (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], coded packet rate 625 for network coding), and the higher layer has an NC function (Fig. 6, paragraph [0061], code packet rate 625 for network coding based on channel quality 620 and RLC-layer NACK information 615); and
determining the first downlink NC code rate information (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], coded packet rate 625 for network coding) based on the first feedback information and the first correspondence (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], higher coded packet rate when the channel quality indicates a relatively good channel quality or lower coded packet rate when the channel quality indicates a relatively poor channel quality).
WO’230 does not explicitly disclose “a quantity of coded packets or redundant packets generated by performing network coding processing on to-be-sent downlink data by the higher layer is determined using the first downlink NC code rate information, and the coded packets comprise a redundant packet and a system packet corresponding to an original data packet for generating the redundant packet”.
However, Zhou from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses a quantity of coded packets or redundant packets generated by performing network coding processing on to-be-sent downlink data by the higher layer is determined using the first downlink NC code rate information (Figs.5, 10, paragraphs [0062]-[0063], [0116], [0170], coding rate (at 1010), at 1022, the transmitter may increase the coding rate at which to encode data packets based on at least one of: (1) the quantity of encoded packets used by the receiver for recovery of the one data packet being less than the number of encoded packets generated from encoding one data packet at the coding rate prior to increase; and/or (2) the feedback indicating the recovery of at least one data packet by the receiver has successfully completed), and the coded packets comprise a redundant packet and a system packet (Fig.5, paragraphs [0110], [0116], [0133], NC layer 513 of the transmitter 502 may encode the K uncoded subpackets 544 to generate encoded packets 546, the number of which may be equal to N) corresponding to an original data packet for generating the redundant packet (Fig.5, paragraphs [0110], [0116], [0133], for example, the NC layer 513 may encode redundant data from the K uncoded subpackets 544, with the degree of redundancy being a function of a coding rate at which data is encoded).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “a quantity of coded packets or redundant packets generated by performing network coding processing on to-be-sent downlink data by the higher layer is determined using the first downlink NC code rate information, and the coded packets comprise a redundant packet and a system packet corresponding to an original data packet for generating the redundant packet” as taught by Zhou, in the system of WO’230, so that it would provide generating feedback based on decoding encoded packets to recover the original data frequently include interference, blockages, noise, or other elements tending to degrade signal transmission (Zhou, paragraph [0006]).
Neither WO’230 nor Zhou explicitly discloses “the first feedback information is related to a reliability indicator of a service, and the reliability indicator of the service comprises one or more of the following: a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the service; a mean opinion score (MOS); a target packet loss rate of the higher layer; or a target frame loss rate of the higher layer”.
However, Yeh from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the first feedback information is related to a reliability indicator of a service, and the reliability indicator of the service comprises one or more of the following: a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the service; a mean opinion score (MOS); a target packet loss rate of the higher layer; or a target frame loss rate of the higher layer (paragraphs [0023]-[0024], [0048], [0030], [0113], PDCP layer packet loss measurements are useful for evaluating whether current configuration is sufficient to support the target packet loss rate for QoS flows mapped to the DRB being measured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first feedback information is related to a reliability indicator of a service, and the reliability indicator of the service comprises one or more of the following: a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the service; a mean opinion score (MOS); a target packet loss rate of the higher layer; or a target frame loss rate of the higher layer” as taught by Yeh, in the combined system of WO’230 and Zhou, so that it would provide support a cloud/edge server to configure reliability enhancement for a disaggregated and cloud-native network (Yeh, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, WO’230 discloses the first feedback information is related to a first measurement result; and the first measurement result comprises one or more of the following: a decoding state of the receive end that corresponds to network coding, wherein the decoding state indicates a success rate and/or a failure rate of decoding corresponding to network coding in a period of time (Fig. 6, paragraph [0058], for example, the MAC/PHY HARQ information may indicate results of decoding MAC/PHY layer packets and sequence numbers of the MAC/PHY layer packets; the results may include HARQ information, such as information indicating NACKs for erroneous MAC/PHY layer packets and sequence numbers associated with the erroneous MAC/PHY layer packets; the BS 110 may determine a channel quality or a coded packet rate based at least in part on the MAC/PHY HARQ information 610, as described in more detail in connection with reference numbers 620 and 625).
Regarding claim 4, WO’230 in view of Zhou and Yeh disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Zhou further discloses the first downlink NC code rate information indicates a ratio of a quantity of original data packets to a total quantity of data packets, wherein the total quantity of data packets is a sum of the quantity of original data packets and a quantity of redundant packets corresponding to the original data packet (paragraphs [0110], [0114], [0154]-[0156], [0194], data packet into a number K of subpackets and a number N of encoded packets from K subpackets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first downlink NC code rate information indicates a ratio of a quantity of original data packets to a total quantity of data packets, wherein the total quantity of data packets is a sum of the quantity of original data packets and a quantity of redundant packets corresponding to the original data packet” as taught by Zhou, in the system of WO’230, so that it would provide reducing data loss to recover the original data from the encoded data related to Network coding mechanism (Zhou, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, WO’230 in view of Zhou and Yeh disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Zhou further discloses the first feedback information is control information of the higher layer or control information of the physical layer (Fig. 5, paragraph [0116], feedback may include information from one or more of the PDCP layer 522, the NC layer 523, the RLC layer 524).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first feedback information is control information of the higher layer or control information of the physical layer” as taught by Zhou, in the combined system of WO’230 and Yeh, so that it would provide generating feedback based on decoding encoded packets to recover the original data frequently include interference, blockages, noise, or other elements tending to degrade signal transmission (Zhou, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 11, WO’230 in view of Zhou and Yeh disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Zhou further discloses receiving second feedback information from the receive end (Figs. 5, 10, paragraphs [0062]-[0063], [0116], [0170], feedback that recovery of the original data packet has successfully completed), wherein the second feedback information indicates one or more of the following:
a quantity of coded packets that are further required by the receive end for correct decoding, a quantity of coded packets that are correctly received by the receive end, or a success or a failure of decoding performed by the receive end corresponding to network coding (Figs. 5, 10, paragraphs [0062]-[0063], [0116], [0170], quantity of encoded packets to recover original data packet); and
adjusting the first downlink NC code rate information based on the second feedback information to determine second downlink NC code rate information, wherein a quantity of coded packets or redundant packets generated by performing the network coding processing on the to-be-sent downlink data by the higher layer is determined using the second downlink NC code rate information (Figs. 5, 10, paragraphs [0062]-[0063], [0116], [0170], feedback upon which a coding rate can be based may include any information explicitly or implicitly indicating a quantity of packets used for recovery of a data packet by the receiver 504 and/or indicating that recovery of a data packet is complete (whether successful or unsuccessful)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receiving second feedback information from the receive end, wherein the second feedback information indicates one or more of the following: a quantity of coded packets that are further required by the receive end for correct decoding, a quantity of coded packets that are correctly received by the receive end, or a success or a failure of decoding performed by the receive end corresponding to network coding; and adjusting the first downlink NC code rate information based on the second feedback information to determine second downlink NC code rate information, wherein a quantity of coded packets or redundant packets generated by performing the network coding processing on the to-be-sent downlink data by the higher layer is determined using the second downlink NC code rate information” as taught by Zhou, in the combined system of WO’230 and Yeh, so that it would provide reducing data loss to recover the original data from the encoded data related to Network coding mechanism (Zhou, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 12, WO’230 discloses an apparatus (Figs 5-6, coded packet determination for network coding), comprising at least one processor and a memory (Fig.2, illustrating an example base station in communication with a UE in a wireless network in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure), storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
determining first feedback information (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], MAC HARQ info), wherein the first feedback information indicates a channel quality state of a higher layer (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], channel quality based on MAC or RLC layer), the higher layer is higher than a physical layer, and the higher layer has a network coding function (Fig. 6, paragraph [0061], code packet rate 625 for network coding based on channel quality 620 and RLC-layer NACK information 615); and
sending the first feedback information to a transmit end (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], sending MAC HARQ info), wherein the first feedback information is used to determine first downlink network coding (NC) code rate information of the transmit end, there is a first correspondence between the first feedback information and the first downlink NC code rate information (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], higher coded packet rate when the channel quality indicates a relatively good channel quality or lower coded packet rate when the channel quality indicates a relatively poor channel quality), the higher layer of the transmit end uses the first downlink NC code rate information to determine a quantity of coded packets or redundant packets generated by performing network coding processing on to-be-sent downlink data (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0058], [0060]-[0061], coded packet rate).
WO’230 does not explicitly disclose “the coded packets comprise a redundant packet and a system packet corresponding to an original data packet for generating the redundant packet”.
However, Zhou from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the coded packets comprise a redundant packet and a system packet corresponding to an original data packet for generating the redundant packet (Fig.5, paragraphs [0110], [0116], [0133], for example, the NC layer 513 may encode redundant data from the K uncoded subpackets 544, with the degree of redundancy being a function of a coding rate at which data is encoded).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the coded packets comprise a redundant packet and a system packet corresponding to an original data packet for generating the redundant packet” as taught by Zhou, in the system of WO’230, so that it would provide generating feedback based on decoding encoded packets to recover the original data frequently include interference, blockages, noise, or other elements tending to degrade signal transmission (Zhou, paragraph [0006]).
Neither WO’230 nor Zhou explicitly discloses “the first feedback information is related to a reliability indicator of a service, and the reliability indicator of the service comprises one or more of the following: a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the service; a mean opinion score (MOS); a target packet loss rate of the higher layer; or a target frame loss rate of the higher layer”.
However, Yeh from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the first feedback information is related to a reliability indicator of a service, and the reliability indicator of the service comprises one or more of the following: a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the service; a mean opinion score (MOS); a target packet loss rate of the higher layer; or a target frame loss rate of the higher layer (paragraphs [0023]-[0024], [0048], [0030], [0113], PDCP layer packet loss measurements are useful for evaluating whether current configuration is sufficient to support the target packet loss rate for QoS flows mapped to the DRB being measured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first feedback information is related to a reliability indicator of a service, and the reliability indicator of the service comprises one or more of the following: a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the service; a mean opinion score (MOS); a target packet loss rate of the higher layer; or a target frame loss rate of the higher layer” as taught by Yeh, in the combined system of WO’230 and Zhou, so that it would provide support a cloud/edge server to configure reliability enhancement for a disaggregated and cloud-native network (Yeh, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
9. Claims 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/000230 A1, hereinafter “WO’230” in view of ZHOU et al. (US 2021/0328711 A1), hereinafter “Zhou” in view of Yeh et al. (US 2021/0377116 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of provisional application number 63/066,777 field on August 17, 2020), hereinafter “Yeh” in view of Hosseini et al. (US 2019/0036585 A1), hereinafter “Hosseini”.
Regarding claim 5, WO’230 in view of Zhou and Yeh disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Neither WO’230 nor Zhou nor Yeh explicitly discloses “the first feedback information is one of a plurality of indexes, the first downlink NC code rate information is one of a plurality of pieces of downlink NC code rate information, the first correspondence is one of a plurality of correspondences between the plurality of indexes and the plurality of pieces of downlink NC code rate information, one of the plurality of indexes corresponds to one or more of the plurality of pieces of downlink NC code rate information, and one of the plurality of pieces of downlink NC code rate information comprises one or more parameters related to a downlink NC code rate”.
However, Hosseini from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the first feedback information is one of a plurality of indexes, the first downlink NC code rate information is one of a plurality of pieces of downlink NC code rate information, the first correspondence is one of a plurality of correspondences between the plurality of indexes and the plurality of pieces of downlink NC code rate information, one of the plurality of indexes corresponds to one or more of the plurality of pieces of downlink NC code rate information, and one of the plurality of pieces of downlink NC code rate information comprises one or more parameters related to a downlink NC code rate (Fig.4, paragraphs [0082], [0118], [0128]-[0129], code rate index table 435 to determine a code rate correspond to the received code rate index; base station 205 may determine that the channel quality feedback data includes a NACK for data previously transmitted to the UE 215 via the subband, where the data was encoded using a first code rate; base station 205 may encode the data using a second code rate that differs from the first code rate, and transmit the data encoded using the second code rate via the subband to UE 215).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first feedback information is one of a plurality of indexes, the first downlink NC code rate information is one of a plurality of pieces of downlink NC code rate information, the first correspondence is one of a plurality of correspondences between the plurality of indexes and the plurality of pieces of downlink NC code rate information, one of the plurality of indexes corresponds to one or more of the plurality of pieces of downlink NC code rate information, and one of the plurality of pieces of downlink” as taught by Hosseini, in the combined system of WO’230, Zhou and Yeh, so that it would provide dedicated channel state information reporting for a control channel to improve reliability and efficiency in wireless communication system (Hosseini, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, WO’230 in view of Zhou and Yeh disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Neither WO’230 nor Zhou nor Yeh explicitly discloses “one or more of the following parameters are determined using the first feedback information: a size of a network coding packet; a coding depth, a convolution depth, or a sliding window size of network coding; or a size of a finite field”.
However, Hosseini from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses one or more of the following parameters are determined using the first feedback information: a size of a network coding packet; a coding depth, a convolution depth, or a sliding window size of network coding; or a size of a finite field (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0114], [0121], code rate index table 435 including a code rate index column 440, a modulation (scheme) column 445, a code rate column 450, an aggregation level column 455, and a payload size column 460).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “one or more of the following parameters are determined using the first feedback information: a size of a network coding packet; a coding depth, a convolution depth, or a sliding window size of network coding; or a size of a finite field” as taught by Hosseini, in the combined system of WO’230, Zhou and Yeh, so that it would provide dedicated channel state information reporting for a control channel to improve reliability and efficiency in wireless communication system (Hosseini, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 8, WO’230 in view of Zhou and Yeh disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Neither WO’230 nor Zhou nor Yeh explicitly discloses “the first feedback information is control information of the physical layer”.
However, Hosseini from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the first feedback information is control information of the physical layer (paragraphs [0118], [0133], block error rate for a control channel, for each payload size of the one or more DCI formats of the subband).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first feedback information is control information of the physical layer” as taught by Hosseini, in the combined system of WO’230, Zhou and Yeh, so that it would provide dedicated channel state information reporting for a control channel to improve reliability and efficiency in wireless communication system (Hosseini, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, WO’230 in view of Zhou, Yeh and Hosseini disclose the apparatus according to claim 8.
Hosseini further discloses the first feedback information further indicates first downlink modulation scheme information and/or first downlink physical-layer code rate information of the physical layer, the first downlink modulation scheme information is used by the physical layer to determine a modulation scheme of the to-be-sent downlink data, and the first downlink physical-layer code rate information is used by the physical layer to determine a physical-layer code rate of the to-be-sent downlink data (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0121], [0128], modulation scheme column 445; upon receiving the channel quality feedback data, base station 205 may transmit a control channel transmission in the subband using a modulation and coding scheme selected based on the channel quality feedback data received from UE 215).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first feedback information further indicates first downlink modulation scheme information and/or first downlink physical-layer code rate information of the physical layer, the first downlink modulation scheme information is used by the physical layer to determine a modulation scheme of the to-be-sent downlink data, and the first downlink physical-layer code rate information is used by the physical layer to determine a physical-layer code rate of the to-be-sent downlink data” as taught by Hosseini, in the combined system of WO’230, Zhou and Yeh, so that it would provide dedicated channel state information reporting for a control channel to improve reliability and efficiency in wireless communication system (Hosseini, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, WO’230 in view of Zhou, Yeh and Hosseini disclose the apparatus according to claim 8.
Hosseini further discloses the first feedback information is related to a target block error rate (TBLER) of the physical layer (paragraphs [0118], [0133], upon identifying the payload size of the one or more DCI formats and the SINR of the subband, the UE may determine a code rate and/or aggregation level to meet a predefined reliability parameter, e.g., block error rate for a control channel, for each payload size of the one or more DCI formats of the subband; the UE may generate channel quality feedback data including the determined code rate for each of the one or more DCI formats; UE may transmit the channel quality feedback data to base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first feedback information is related to a target block error rate (TBLER) of the physical layer” as taught by Hosseini, in the combined system of WO’230 and Zhou, so that it would provide dedicated channel state information reporting for a control channel to improve reliability and efficiency in wireless communication system (Hosseini, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 9.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SITHU KO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414