DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In the Instant Amendment, Claim(s) 1, 21 and 26 has/have been amended; Claim(s) 2-4 and 13 was/were cancelled; Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are independent claims. Claims 1, 5-12 and 14-38 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
The rejection of claim 26 under 35 U.S.C 112(b) is withdrawn because of the amendment as suggested.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant is arguing in the remarks (pages 8-11) that each of Thomas’622, Smith and Chenderovitch does not teach the newly added features in claims 1 and 21.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. The Examiner respectfully submits that claims 1 and 21 still too broad and each of Thomas’622, Smith and Chenderovitch does teach some or all of the newly added features while other new added features not being taught expressly are also being addressed by the new ground rejections additionally and the details can be found respectfully in the rejection sections below.
The Examiner also presented a new 102 rejection anticipated by Tisch et al (US 20150326748 A1) since claims 1 and 21 are still too broad.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show one embodiment that both has “an image amplifier 160 may be interconnected with the image sensor 111 and image display 150 to amplify the sensed image for easier or more perceptible viewing on the image display 150” as described in the specification (para. 0027) and “sensor input/output port 153” (para. 0028; claims 1+8+9).
In the specification, claim 1 reciting “at least one sensor input and output port” is directed to the embodiment of figure 1c showing “sensor input/output port 153” (para. 0028). Claim 9 depending from claim 1 recites “further comprising at least one image amplifier interconnecting the image sensor and the at least one image display” which is directed to the embodiment of figure 1b. The embodiment of figure 1c only shows “sensor input/output port 153”, but does not show “an image amplifier 160 may be interconnected with the image sensor 111 and image display 150 to amplify the sensed image for easier or more perceptible viewing on the image display 150”. Thus, there are no drawing showing an embodiment that both has “an image amplifier 160 may be interconnected with the image sensor 111 and image display 150 to amplify the sensed image for easier or more perceptible viewing on the image display 150” and “sensor input/output port 153” as described in the specification.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The amended claim 1 now includes “at least one sensor input and output port, wherein the at least one sensor input and output port is configured to receive information and to transmit information from the image sensor” which is directed to the embodiment of figure 1c showing “sensor input/output port 153” (para. 0028).
Claim 9, depending from claim 1, recites “further comprising at least one image amplifier interconnecting the image sensor and the at least one image display” which is directed to the embodiment of figure 1b (para. 0027: “in the embodiment shown in FIG. 1b, the image display 150 is a phosphor screen for use with a photocathode sensor… One non-limiting example combines the photocathode sensor and phosphor screen as a sealed unit. If necessary, in certain embodiments an image amplifier 160 may be interconnected with the image sensor 111 and image display 150 to amplify the sensed image for easier or more perceptible viewing on the image display 150”). The embodiment of figure 1c only shows “sensor input/output port 153”, but does not show “an image amplifier 160 may be interconnected with the image sensor 111 and image display 150 to amplify the sensed image for easier or more perceptible viewing on the image display 150”. Thus, there are no support for an embodiment that both has “further comprising at least one image amplifier interconnecting the image sensor and the at least one image display” (claim 9) in combination with “at least one sensor input and output port, wherein the at least one sensor input and output port is configured to receive information and to transmit information from the image sensor” (claim 1). Thus, the combination of claim 9 and 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tisch et al (US 20150326748 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tisch teaches An imaging assembly (camera 200) for insertion into an imaging device (waterproof camera housing 100) (Figs. 1-3), the imaging assembly comprising:
an imaging module (Fig. 3) comprising an image sensor (312) within a module housing and at least one sensor input and output port (I/O port 214) (paras. 0033, 0038), wherein the at least one sensor input and output port is configured to receive information and to transmit information from the image sensor (para. 0038: “The I/O port interface 214 may facilitate the camera 200 in receiving or transmitting video or audio information through an I/O port. Examples of I/O ports or interfaces include USB ports”), wherein the module housing is inserted into the imaging device (Figs. 1-3; para. 0019: “the camera housing 100 may comprise a waterproof enclosure that protects a camera from water when used, for example, while surfing or scuba diving”); and
an objective snout (204) connected to the module housing at a proximal end, wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (Figs. 2; paras. 0017, 0030).
Regarding claim 21, Tisch teaches An imaging assembly (camera 200) for insertion into an imaging device (waterproof camera housing 100) (Figs. 1-3; para. 0019: “the camera housing 100 may comprise a waterproof enclosure that protects a camera from water when used, for example, while surfing or scuba diving”), the imaging assembly comprising:
an imaging module (Fig. 3) comprising an image sensor (312) within a module housing (Figs. 2), wherein the module housing is inserted into the imaging device (Figs. 1-3; para. 0019);
at least one feature for attaching at least one camera or display on an output of the imaging assembly (para. 0038: “The I/O port interface 214 may facilitate the camera 200 in receiving or transmitting video or audio information through an I/O port. Examples of I/O ports or interfaces include USB ports”); and
an objective snout (204) connected to the module housing at a proximal end, wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (Figs. 2; paras. 0017, 0030).
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-12, 14-25, 27-31 and 33-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas (US 20200363622 A1; hereinafter “Thomas’622”).
Regarding claim 1, Thomas’622 teaches An imaging assembly (105) for insertion into an imaging device (104) (Figs. 1b, 1g, 2a; para. 0018: “eyepiece housing 104 that receive the monocular 105”), the imaging assembly comprising:
an imaging module comprising an image sensor (image sensor 108 or/and camera 122) within a module housing (the larger tube housing of monocular housing 107) (Fig. 1b; para. 0019) and at least one sensor input (non-contact receiver 102 for receiving sensor information from thermal sensor 205) and output port (camera transmitter 127 for transmitting sensor information from camera 122), wherein the at least one sensor input and output port is configured to receive information (by non-contact receiver 102) and to transmit information (by camera receiver 128) from the image sensor (para. 0033; “A non-limiting example of such an architecture may be found in U.S. Pat. No. 10,582,133, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference in their entirety”; Figs. 2-3 and col. 3 of Pat’133: “The combined image captured by the camera 122 can be wirelessly sent via a camera transmitter 127 to a camera receiver 128, which can send to a transmitter 129 for transmission of the combined image as captured by the camera 122 to another device”; col. 2, line 66 of Pat’133: “a non-contact receiver 102 for wirelessly receiving a first image (generated externally)” and col. 6, lines 25-35: “For importing imagery into the goggle from (for example) a thermal channel 205, such as a clip-on on thermal imager, the thermal channel 205 has a wireless transmit unit 210 and an electronics card 215. The wireless transmit unit 210 may be placed physically opposite the receiver 102”), wherein the module housing is inserted into the imaging device (Figs. 1b, 1g, 2a; para. 0018: “eyepiece housing 104 that receive the monocular 105”); and
an objective snout (the smaller tube housing of monocular housing 107) connected to the module housing at a proximal end (Figs. 1b, 1g),
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (objective lens barrel 124) (Figs. 1b, 1g; para. 0026).
Regarding claim 5, Thomas’622 teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Thomas’622 teaches wherein the imaging module further comprises an EMI filter (Figs. 1f, 1b; para. 0023; An EMI filter may be part of the flex circuit card 118).
Regarding claim 6, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the module housing comprises at least one pad, wherein the at least one pad comprises conductive plating on an exterior surface of the module housing (Figs. 1f, 1b; paras. 0023-0024).
Regarding claim 8, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the imaging module further comprises at least one image display (paras. 0016, 0033; an image display 131).
Regarding claim 9, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 8, further comprising at least one image amplifier interconnecting the image sensor and the at least one image display (para. 0033; “In embodiments with multiple types of sensors 108, the images received from the sensors 108 may be fused in a display where the image from one sensor 108 is visually overlaid with the image from another sensor 108 so both are viewed simultaneously. A non-limiting example of such an architecture may be found in U.S. Pat. No. 10,582,133, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference in their entirety”; in one interpretation, figs. 2-3 of Pat’133 show the embodiment where the mirror 106 interconnecting the image tube 110 and the display 104; the mirror 106 combines lights from both the image tube 110 and the display 104; thus, the mirror 106 is considered as an image amplifier; or in the alternative interpretation, image amplifier 110 interconnecting the image sensor 131 and the at least one image display 104).
Regarding claim 10, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, further comprising at least one sealing groove extending around a circumference of an outer surface of the module housing (Fig. 1b; para. 0028; The O-ring glands 132a and 132b are also integral to the monocular housing 107).
Regarding claim 11, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, further comprising at least one ground post extending from an outer surface of the module housing (Figs. 1f, 2c; para. 0031; “ground is made directly to monocular with a spring-biased contact pin 121”).
Regarding claim 12, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the imaging module further comprises at least one power supply (power supply 109) (Fig. 1b; para. 0019).
Regarding claim 14, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the imaging module comprises at least one aperture extending through the module housing (Fig. 1g shows a small through hole in the smaller diameter tube).
Regarding claim 15, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the imaging module comprises at least one motion stop (110) (Fig. 1g).
Regarding claim 16, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the objective snout has a hollow configuration with a sidewall extending between the open distal end and the proximal end (Fig. 1g).
Regarding claim 17, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the objective snout comprises at least one grip retention flange extending around an outer circumference of the objective snout (Fig. 1g shows the same “grip retention flange 121” as shown in the Applicant’s figure 1a).
Regarding claim 18, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 17, further comprising at least one grip retention screw aperture extending through a sidewall of the objective snout (Fig. 1g shows the same “grip retention screw aperture 122” as shown in the Applicant’s figure 1a).
Regarding claim 19, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the objective snout comprises at least one objective focus screw aperture extending through a sidewall of the objective snout (Fig. 1g shows the same “objective focus screw aperture 123” as shown in the Applicant’s figure 1a).
Regarding claim 20, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the objective snout comprises at least one purge aperture extending through a sidewall of the objective snout (Fig. 1g shows the same “purge aperture 124” as shown in the Applicant’s figure 1a).
Regarding claim 21, Thomas’622 teaches An imaging assembly (105) for insertion into an imaging device (104) (Figs. 1b, 1g, 2a; para. 0018: “eyepiece housing 104 that receive the monocular 105”), the imaging assembly comprising:
an imaging module comprising an image sensor (image sensor 108) within a module housing (the larger tube housing of monocular housing 107) (Fig. 1b; para. 0019), wherein the module housing is inserted into the imaging device (Figs. 1b, 1g, 2a; para. 0018: “eyepiece housing 104 that receive the monocular 105”);
at least one feature (there must be attaching features for attaching camera 122 or display 104 on the output 126 of the imaging assembly to hold those in place) for attaching at least one camera or display on an output of the imaging assembly (para. 0033; “In embodiments with multiple types of sensors 108, the images received from the sensors 108 may be fused in a display where the image from one sensor 108 is visually overlaid with the image from another sensor 108 so both are viewed simultaneously. A non-limiting example of such an architecture may be found in U.S. Pat. No. 10,582,133, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference in their entirety”; Fig. 2 and col. 3 of Pat’133: “The combined image captured by the camera 122 can be wirelessly sent via a camera transmitter 127 to a camera receiver 128, which can send to a transmitter 129 for transmission of the combined image as captured by the camera 122 to another device”); and an objective snout (the smaller tube housing of monocular housing 107) connected to the module housing at a proximal end (Figs. 1b, 1g),
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (objective lens barrel 124) (Figs. 1b, 1g; para. 0026).
Regarding claim 22, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 21, wherein the imaging module further comprises at least one flex circuit mounted to the module housing (Figs. 1f, 1b; para. 0023; a flex circuit card 118).
Regarding claim 23, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 22, wherein the at least one flex circuit comprises at least one pad (Figs. 1f, 1b; paras. 0023-0024).
Regarding claim 24, Thomas’622 teaches everything as claimed in claim 22. In addition, Thomas’622 teaches wherein the at least one flex circuit comprises an EMI filter (Figs. 1f, 1b; para. 0023; An EMI filter may be part of the flex circuit card 118).
Regarding claim 25, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 21, wherein the module housing comprises at least one pad, wherein the at least one pad comprises conductive plating on an exterior surface of the module housing (Figs. 1f, 1b; paras. 0023-0024).
Regarding claims 27-38, claims 27-31 and 33-38 reciting features corresponding to claims 8-12 and 15-20 are also rejected for the same reasons, respectively.
At least Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chenderovitch (US 20240027758 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chenderovitch teaches An imaging assembly (10) (Figs. 1, 12) for insertion into an imaging device (14) (Fig 12’s step 4 shows the right end 20 of 10 is inserted into and hidden within the left outer ring of 14), the imaging assembly comprising:
an imaging module (10) comprising an image sensor (24) within a module housing (Figs. 1, 8) and at least one sensor input (26) and output port (28), wherein the at least one sensor input and output port is configured to receive information and to transmit information from the image sensor (Fig. 8; para. 0029: “a lens for a camera 24 at a second or opposite end, and can also have an input (video in) connection 26 and output (video out) connection 28 to enable uploading or downloading data or information to the device”), wherein the module housing is inserted into the imaging device (Fig 12’s step 4 shows the right end 20 of 10 is inserted into and hidden within the left outer ring of 14); and
an objective snout (12) connected to the module housing at a proximal end (Figs. 1, 8),
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (Figs. 1, 8, 12).
Regarding claim 21, Chenderovitch teaches An imaging assembly (10) (Figs. 1, 12) for insertion into an imaging device (14) (Fig 12’s step 4 shows the right end 20 of 10 is inserted into and hidden within the left outer ring of 14), the imaging assembly comprising:
an imaging module (10) comprising an image sensor (24) within a module housing (Figs. 1, 8), wherein the module housing is inserted into the imaging device (Fig 12’s step 4 shows the right end 20 of 10 is inserted into and hidden within the left outer ring of 14);
at least one feature for attaching at least one camera or display on an output of the imaging assembly (Fig. 8; para. 0029: “a lens for a camera 24 at a second or opposite end, and can also have an input (video in) connection 26 and output (video out) connection 28 to enable uploading or downloading data or information to the device”); and an objective snout (12) connected to the module housing at a proximal end (Figs. 1, 8),
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (Figs. 1, 8, 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
At least Claim(s) 1, 6-7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al (US 20080007826 A1) in view of Kim (WO 9515575 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches An imaging assembly (tube body assembly 14) (Figs. 1-4; paras. 0021-0023) for insertion into an imaging device (eyepiece diopter focus knob assembly 18), the imaging assembly comprising:
an imaging module (14) comprising an image sensor (image intensifier tube 34) within a module housing (Figs. 1, 4; para. 0024) and at least one sensor input
an objective snout (11) connected to the module housing at a proximal end (Figs. 1-4),
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (Fig. 4),
but fails to teach
an imaging module comprising an image sensor within a module housing and at least one sensor input and output port, wherein the at least one sensor input and output port is configured to receive information and to transmit information from the image sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kim teaches
an imaging module comprising an image sensor within a module housing and at least one sensor input and output port, wherein the at least one sensor input (power input information through plural power supply conductors 24) and output port (electric current can be extracted from the sensor 10 via a conductor 46) is configured to receive information and to transmit information from the image sensor (Fig. 1; page 8, line 24: “The sensor 10 is shown to be an image intensification tube for a night vision scope 12…an image intensification tube 20. The tube 20 is powered by a conventional image tube power supply 22, connected to the tube 20 by plural power supply conductors 24”; page 10, line 13: “Such an anode, or array of anodes, would produce an electric current indicative of the photon flux incident upon the photocathode 26. This electric current can be extracted from the sensor 10 via a conductor 46, or via a bundle of such conductors connecting to corresponding ones of the plural anodes in the anode array 44”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Kim in Smith to have an imaging module comprising an image sensor within a module housing and at least one sensor input and output port, wherein the at least one sensor input and output port is configured to receive information and to transmit information from the image sensor for providing an improved image intensification tube with the input and output ports so that input power control and output signal extraction are possible yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Smith and Kim teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Smith teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the module housing comprises at least one pad, wherein the at least one pad comprises conductive plating on an exterior surface of the module housing (Fig. 4; para. 0025: “The contact interface 60 includes a plurality of pins 62 configured for engagement with corresponding pins on a power assembly”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Smith and Kim teaches everything as claimed in claim 6. In addition, Smith teaches wherein the module housing comprises a non-conductive polymer material (Fig. 4; para. 0021: “The tube body 14, objective lens knob 16, and focus knob 18 are preferably manufactured from molded plastic, metal or composite materials, but may be manufactured utilizing other processes and other materials”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Smith and Kim teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Smith teaches wherein the imaging module comprises at least one aperture (64) extending through the module housing (Fig. 4; paras. 0025-0026).
At least Claim(s) 21, 25-26 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al (US 20080007826 A1) in view of Chenderovitch (US 20240027758 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Smith teaches An imaging assembly (tube body assembly 14) (Figs. 1-4; paras. 0021-0023) for insertion into an imaging device (eyepiece diopter focus knob assembly 18), the imaging assembly comprising:
an imaging module (14) comprising an image sensor (image intensifier tube 34) within a module housing (Figs. 1, 4; para. 0024), wherein the module housing is inserted into the imaging device (Fig. 4; paras. 0021-0023);
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (Fig. 4),
but fails to teach
at least one feature for attaching at least one camera or display on an output of the imaging assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor Chenderovitch teaches
wherein the module housing (12) is inserted into the imaging device (10) (Figs. 1, 10, 12);
at least one feature (12E) for attaching at least one camera or display on an output of the imaging assembly (12) (Figs. 1, 8, 10, 12; fig. 12 shows from step 3 to step 4 where the right end 12E of assembly 12 is inserted into the left ring 10E of imaging device 10 for attaching a camera 24 or a display 18 on an output of imaging assembly 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Chenderovitch in Smith to have at least one feature for attaching at least one camera or display on an output of the imaging assembly for providing a display-camera device enhancing and improving a conventional night vision device by coupling to the night vision device using the existing coupling mechanisms yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Smith and Chenderovitch teaches everything as claimed in claim 21. In addition, Smith teaches wherein the module housing comprises at least one pad, wherein the at least one pad comprises conductive plating on an exterior surface of the module housing (Fig. 4; para. 0025: “The contact interface 60 includes a plurality of pins 62 configured for engagement with corresponding pins on a power assembly”).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Smith and Chenderovitch teaches everything as claimed in claim 25. In addition, Smith teaches wherein the module housing comprises a non-conductive polymer material (Fig. 4; para. 0021: “The tube body 14, objective lens knob 16, and focus knob 18 are preferably manufactured from molded plastic, metal or composite materials, but may be manufactured utilizing other processes and other materials”).
Regarding claim 32, Smith teaches the assembly of claim 21, wherein the imaging module comprises at least one power supply aperture (64) extending through the module housing (Fig. 4; para. 0025: “The contact interface 60 includes a plurality of pins 62 configured for engagement with corresponding pins on a power assembly”).
Alternative Rejections
Thomas’622 is used above to teach claims 1, 5-6, 8-12, 14-20 above. Moreover, Kim (WO 9515575 A1) can also used in combination with Thomas’622 to expressly teach claim 1 in the same manner as presented above by the combination of Smith and Kim.
Thomas’622 is used above to teach claims 21-25, 27-31 and 33-38 above. Moreover, Chenderovitch (US 20240027758 A1) can also used in combination with Thomas’622 to teach expressly claim 21 in the same manner as presented above by the combination of Smith and Chenderovitch.
Conclusion
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637