DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed on 12/5/2025.
In the Instant Amendment, Claim(s) 1, 5 and 14 has/have been amended; Claim(s) 2-4 and 13 was/were cancelled; Claim(s) 21-38 has/have been added; Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are independent claims. Claims 1, 5-12 and 14-38 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant is arguing in the remarks (page 8) that “The Applicant respectfully traverses the Office's findings in view of claim 1 as amended. The claim requires the limitation of a "an imaging module comprising [...] at least one sensor input/output port," a limitation not taught by any of the prior art of record.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. The Examiner respectfully submits that Thomas’622 does teach An imaging assembly (Figs. 1b, 1g, 2a) comprising: at least one sensor input/output port (para. 0033; “In embodiments with multiple types of sensors 108, the images received from the sensors 108 may be fused in a display where the image from one sensor 108 is visually overlaid with the image from another sensor 108 so both are viewed simultaneously. A non-limiting example of such an architecture may be found in U.S. Pat. No. 10,582,133, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference in their entirety”; Fig. 2 and col. 3 of Pat’133: “The combined image captured by the camera 122 can be wirelessly sent via a camera transmitter 127 to a camera receiver 128, which can send to a transmitter 129 for transmission of the combined image as captured by the camera 122 to another device”) as claimed in claim 1 and Smith does teach An imaging assembly (Figs. 1-4) comprising: at least one sensor input/output port (Fig. 4; para. 0025: “The pins 62 are electrically coupled with the image intensifier tube 34, as indicated at 70, to provide power thereto upon connection of the monocular to a power assembly”) as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, the Applicant is arguing in the remarks (page 9) that “The Applicant has also added claim 21, which features the limitations of the original claim 1 along with an additional limitation of "at least one feature for attaching at least one camera or display to an output of the imaging assembly," a limitation not taught by any of the prior art of record.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. The Examiner respectfully submits that Thomas’622 does teach An imaging assembly (Figs. 1b, 1g, 2a) comprising: at least one feature for attaching at least one camera or display to an output of the imaging assembly (para. 0033; “In embodiments with multiple types of sensors 108, the images received from the sensors 108 may be fused in a display where the image from one sensor 108 is visually overlaid with the image from another sensor 108 so both are viewed simultaneously. A non-limiting example of such an architecture may be found in U.S. Pat. No. 10,582,133, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference in their entirety”; Fig. 2 and col. 3 of Pat’133: “The combined image captured by the camera 122 can be wirelessly sent via a camera transmitter 127 to a camera receiver 128, which can send to a transmitter 129 for transmission of the combined image as captured by the camera 122 to another device”) as claimed in claim 21 and Smith does teach An imaging assembly (Figs. 1-4) comprising: at least one feature for attaching at least one camera or display to an output of the imaging assembly (Fig. 4; para. 0025: “The pins 62 are electrically coupled with the image intensifier tube 34, as indicated at 70, to provide power thereto upon connection of the monocular to a power assembly”) as claimed in claim 21.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 21 regarding Thomas’087 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 depending from itself is an improper claim that renders its features in the claim indefinite. It appears that claim 26 can be amended to be depending from claim 25 (in a similar manner to corresponding claim 7 which is depending from its previous claim 6) for addressing this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-12, 14-25, 27-31 and 33-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas (US 20200363622 A1; hereinafter “Thomas’622”).
Regarding claim 1, Thomas’622 teaches An imaging assembly (Figs. 1b, 1g, 2a) comprising:
an imaging module comprising an image sensor (image sensor 108) within a module housing (the larger tube housing of monocular housing 107) (Fig. 1b; para. 0019) and at least one sensor input/output port (para. 0033; “In embodiments with multiple types of sensors 108, the images received from the sensors 108 may be fused in a display where the image from one sensor 108 is visually overlaid with the image from another sensor 108 so both are viewed simultaneously. A non-limiting example of such an architecture may be found in U.S. Pat. No. 10,582,133, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference in their entirety”; Fig. 2 and col. 3 of Pat’133: “The combined image captured by the camera 122 can be wirelessly sent via a camera transmitter 127 to a camera receiver 128, which can send to a transmitter 129 for transmission of the combined image as captured by the camera 122 to another device”); and
an objective snout (the smaller tube housing of monocular housing 107) connected to the module housing at a proximal end (Figs. 1b, 1g),
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (objective lens barrel 124) (Figs. 1b, 1g; para. 0026).
Regarding claim 5, Thomas’622 teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Thomas’622 teaches wherein the imaging module further comprises an EMI filter (Figs. 1f, 1b; para. 0023; An EMI filter may be part of the flex circuit card 118).
Regarding claim 6, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the module housing comprises at least one pad, wherein the at least one pad comprises conductive plating on an exterior surface of the module housing (Figs. 1f, 1b; paras. 0023-0024).
Regarding claim 8, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the imaging module further comprises at least one image display (paras. 0016, 0033; an image display 131).
Regarding claim 9, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 8, further comprising at least one image amplifier interconnecting the image sensor and the at least one image display (para. 0033; “In embodiments with multiple types of sensors 108, the images received from the sensors 108 may be fused in a display where the image from one sensor 108 is visually overlaid with the image from another sensor 108 so both are viewed simultaneously. A non-limiting example of such an architecture may be found in U.S. Pat. No. 10,582,133, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference in their entirety”; Fig. 2 of Pat’133 show the embodiment where the mirror 106 interconnecting the image tube 110 and the display 104; the mirror 106 combines lights from both the image tube 110 and the display 104; thus, the mirror 106 is considered as an image amplifier).
Regarding claim 10, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, further comprising at least one sealing groove extending around a circumference of an outer surface of the module housing (Fig. 1b; para. 0028; The O-ring glands 132a and 132b are also integral to the monocular housing 107).
Regarding claim 11, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, further comprising at least one ground post extending from an outer surface of the module housing (Figs. 1f, 2c; para. 0031; “ground is made directly to monocular with a spring-biased contact pin 121”).
Regarding claim 12, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the imaging module further comprises at least one power supply (power supply 109) (Fig. 1b; para. 0019).
Regarding claim 14, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the imaging module comprises at least one aperture extending through the module housing (Fig. 1g shows a small through hole in the smaller diameter tube).
Regarding claim 15, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the imaging module comprises at least one motion stop (110) (Fig. 1g).
Regarding claim 16, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the objective snout has a hollow configuration with a sidewall extending between the open distal end and the proximal end (Fig. 1g).
Regarding claim 17, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the objective snout comprises at least one grip retention flange extending around an outer circumference of the objective snout (Fig. 1g shows the same “grip retention flange 121” as shown in the Applicant’s figure 1a).
Regarding claim 18, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 17, further comprising at least one grip retention screw aperture extending through a sidewall of the objective snout (Fig. 1g shows the same “grip retention screw aperture 122” as shown in the Applicant’s figure 1a).
Regarding claim 19, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the objective snout comprises at least one objective focus screw aperture extending through a sidewall of the objective snout (Fig. 1g shows the same “objective focus screw aperture 123” as shown in the Applicant’s figure 1a).
Regarding claim 20, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the objective snout comprises at least one purge aperture extending through a sidewall of the objective snout (Fig. 1g shows the same “purge aperture 124” as shown in the Applicant’s figure 1a).
Regarding claim 21, Thomas’622 teaches An imaging assembly (Figs. 1b, 1g, 2a) comprising:
an imaging module comprising an image sensor (image sensor 108) within a module housing (the larger tube housing of monocular housing 107) (Fig. 1b; para. 0019);
at least one feature for attaching at least one camera or display to an output of the imaging assembly (para. 0033; “In embodiments with multiple types of sensors 108, the images received from the sensors 108 may be fused in a display where the image from one sensor 108 is visually overlaid with the image from another sensor 108 so both are viewed simultaneously. A non-limiting example of such an architecture may be found in U.S. Pat. No. 10,582,133, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference in their entirety”; Fig. 2 and col. 3 of Pat’133: “The combined image captured by the camera 122 can be wirelessly sent via a camera transmitter 127 to a camera receiver 128, which can send to a transmitter 129 for transmission of the combined image as captured by the camera 122 to another device”); and an objective snout (the smaller tube housing of monocular housing 107) connected to the module housing at a proximal end (Figs. 1b, 1g),
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (objective lens barrel 124) (Figs. 1b, 1g; para. 0026).
Regarding claim 22, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 21, wherein the imaging module further comprises at least one flex circuit mounted to the module housing (Figs. 1f, 1b; para. 0023; a flex circuit card 118).
Regarding claim 23, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 22, wherein the at least one flex circuit comprises at least one pad (Figs. 1f, 1b; paras. 0023-0024).
Regarding claim 24, Thomas’622 teaches everything as claimed in claim 22. In addition, Thomas’622 teaches wherein the at least one flex circuit comprises an EMI filter (Figs. 1f, 1b; para. 0023; An EMI filter may be part of the flex circuit card 118).
Regarding claim 25, Thomas’622 teaches the assembly of claim 21, wherein the module housing comprises at least one pad, wherein the at least one pad comprises conductive plating on an exterior surface of the module housing (Figs. 1f, 1b; paras. 0023-0024).
Regarding claims 27-38, claims 27-31 and 33-38 reciting features corresponding to claims 8-12 and 15-20 are also rejected for the same reasons, respectively.
At least Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 14, 21, 25-26 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al (US 20080007826 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches An imaging assembly (Figs. 1-4) comprising:
an imaging module (12) comprising an image sensor (image intensifier tube 34) within a module housing (Figs. 1, 4; para. 0024) and at least one sensor input/output port (Fig. 4; para. 0025: “The pins 62 are electrically coupled with the image intensifier tube 34, as indicated at 70, to provide power thereto upon connection of the monocular to a power assembly”); and
an objective snout (11) connected to the module housing at a proximal end (Figs. 1-4),
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Smith teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the module housing comprises at least one pad, wherein the at least one pad comprises conductive plating on an exterior surface of the module housing (Fig. 4; para. 0025: “The contact interface 60 includes a plurality of pins 62 configured for engagement with corresponding pins on a power assembly”).
Regarding claim 7, Smith teaches the assembly of claim 6, wherein the module housing comprises a non-conductive polymer material (Fig. 4; para. 0021: “The tube body 14, objective lens knob 16, and focus knob 18 are preferably manufactured from molded plastic, metal or composite materials, but may be manufactured utilizing other processes and other materials”).
Regarding claim 14, Smith teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the imaging module comprises at least one aperture (64) extending through the module housing (Fig. 4; paras. 0025-0026).
Regarding claim 21, Smith teaches An imaging assembly (Figs. 1-4) comprising:
an imaging module (12) comprising an image sensor image intensifier tube 34) within a module housing (Figs. 1, 4; para. 0024);
at least one feature for attaching at least one camera or display to an output of the imaging assembly (Fig. 4; para. 0025: “The pins 62 are electrically coupled with the image intensifier tube 34, as indicated at 70, to provide power thereto upon connection of the monocular to a power assembly”); and an objective snout (11) connected to the module housing at a proximal end (Figs. 1-4),
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 25-26, claims 25-26 reciting features corresponding to claims 6-7 are also rejected for the same reasons above, respectively.
Regarding claim 32, Smith teaches the assembly of claim 21, wherein the imaging module comprises at least one power supply aperture (64) extending through the module housing (Fig. 4; para. 0025: “The contact interface 60 includes a plurality of pins 62 configured for engagement with corresponding pins on a power assembly”).
At least Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHENDEROVITCH (US 20240027758 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CHENDEROVITCH teaches An imaging assembly (Figs. 1, 4) comprising:
an imaging module (10) comprising an image sensor (24) within a module housing (Figs. 1, 8) and at least one sensor input/output port (Fig. 8; para. 0029: “a lens for a camera 24 at a second or opposite end, and can also have an input (video in) connection 26 and output (video out) connection 28 to enable uploading or downloading data or information to the device”); and
an objective snout (14) connected to the module housing at a proximal end (Figs. 1, 8),
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (Figs. 1, 8, 12).
Regarding claim 21, CHENDEROVITCH teaches An imaging assembly (Figs. 1, 8) comprising:
an imaging module (10) comprising an image sensor (24) within a module housing (Figs. 1, 8);
at least one feature for attaching at least one camera or display to an output of the imaging assembly (Fig. 8; para. 0029: “a lens for a camera 24 at a second or opposite end, and can also have an input (video in) connection 26 and output (video out) connection 28 to enable uploading or downloading data or information to the device”); and an objective snout (14) connected to the module housing at a proximal end (Figs. 1, 8),
wherein an open distal end of the objective snout is configured to receive an objective lens subassembly (Figs. 1, 8, 12).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637