Response to Amendment
2. This office action has been issued in response to amendment filed on 10/31/2025. Claims 1- 2, 4-7, 10 and 12-18 have been amended. Claims 21-22 have been added. Claims 3, 8, 9, 11, 19 and 20 have been canceled. Claims 1-2, 4-7,10, 12-18 and 21-22 are pending, of which claims, of which claim 1 and claim 5 are in independent form. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Response to Argument
3. Based on amended independent claim 1 and claim 5, and based on applicant’s arguments, the 101 rejection for claims 1-2, 4-7, 10, 12-18 and 21-22 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-7, 10, 12-18 and 21-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Status of Claims
4. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10, 12-18 and 21-22 are pending, of which claims, of which claim 1 and 5 are in independent form.
The Office's Note:
5. The Office has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim(s), other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art or relied upon by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. Information disclosure statement filed on 10/31/2025, has been reviewed and considered by Examiner.
Claim Objections
7. A> Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: missing “;” in a limitation “wherein the boot check is completed … through the physical USB connection”. Appropriate correction is required.
B> As per Claim 1, line 5, recites “USB” - as acronym is likely to change its meaning over the time, thus, it needs to be spelled out at least once in the claim. Appropriate correction is requested.
C> As per Claim 5, line 5, recites “USB” - as acronym is likely to change its meaning over the time, thus, it needs to be spelled out at least once in the claim. Appropriate correction is requested.
D> As per Claim 12, line 1, recites “The method of claim 9”, but claim 9 has been canceled. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. A> Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “flash firmware to the streaming media device” which is unclear. Which “firmware” was used? Is it the firmware stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium?
B> Claim 6 recites the limitation “the entering”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 1, 5-7, 10, 12-18 and 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parsons (US 20210011824 – hereinafter Parsons), in view of Partee (US 20140187172 – hereinafter Partee – IDS of records), in view of Olson (US 20140187172 – hereinafter Olson) , and further in view of Chiloyan (US 7,043,664 – hereinafter Chiloyan).
Claim 1 is rejected, Parsons teaches a system, comprising:
a computer system including a user interface and a monitor (Parsons, US 20210011824, para [0019], In one embodiment, a disclosed testing system comprises: at least one test computer, a master computer, a robot, and a control system. The test computer drives all the test software and controls the app activity. The master computer communicates with each of the at least one test computer and provides graphic user interface (GUI) for interaction with users. The robot may be a multi-axis robotic system that provides a motion controlled platform with toolbox and/or universal fixture to hold various sizes of mobile devices. The robot may also comprise a robot arm with object manipulation capabilities in addition to other features related to mobile device testing. The control system can comprise a control computer or programmable logic controller, and a compact and modular input/output (I/O) system to drive the robot and onboard I/O modules. Para [0020], An illustrative embodiment of a mobile device testing apparatus 10 is shown in FIG. 1. The methods in the present disclosure can be applied for not only testing mobile devices, but also other electronic devices. The mobile device testing apparatus 10, as shown in FIG. 1, comprises a frame 12, a plurality of device test chambers 16, a plurality of test equipment cabinets 30, a sanity monitor 50, and a user monitor 60 connecting to the master computer. Each of the plurality of device test chambers 16 has a front door 16A and a robot 22 inside the front door 16A for receiving a mobile device for testing.);
a storage medium readable by the computer system and storing an application to interface the computer system and a at least one streaming media device (Parsons, para [0006-0008], a test computer having a processor and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing test software for testing the mobile device; and a user monitor electrically connected to the test computer and configured for providing a result of the testing of the mobile device.); and
a laser scanner to scan a bar code indicating identification data of the at least one streaming media device(Parsons, para [0030], In one embodiment, the system includes a scanner (not shown in FIG. 1) electrically connected to the plurality of test computers and configured for scanning slot numbers corresponding to RF shielded cabinets 14 or device test chambers 16, and scanning serial numbers of mobile devices…. Then, the user monitor 60 may show an instruction or indication to scan a serial number, e.g. an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), of the corresponding mobile device to be tested in the device test chamber, which has the scanned slot number. Following the instruction or indication, the scanner may scan a serial number of the corresponding mobile device to be tested, before it is positioned in the device test chamber for testing. After the scanning of the slot number and the serial number, the scanned serial number is associated with the scanned slot number, such that the system knows that which mobile device is tested in which slot or cabinet.).
The Office would like to use prior art Partee to further teach limitation
a streaming media device (Partee, US 20140187172, fig. 5 and para [0075-0085], a set-top box);
at least one USB port operably coupled to the computer system and configured to interface with the at least one streaming media device(Partee, para [0053-0055].);
wherein the computer system is configured to automatically(Partee, para [0053-0055].)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Partee into Parsons to test devices. The testing station is utilized for returned, refurbished, repaired, or new network devices to efficiently perform tests and analysis. The quality control is improved and the testing can be performed at quickly with less expense. The user can quickly insert the residential gateways into the nested platform, thus multiple tests for residential gateways can be carried out efficiently and consistently with a high degree of accuracy for residential gateways, and the costs, time and difficulty can be reduced.as suggested by Partee (See abstract and summary).
Parsons and Partee do not explicitly teach
compare a version of the firmware stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium within the computer system to a known latest version of the firmware stored in a database;
determine if the firmware is the most up to date version;
flash firmware to the streaming media device; and
boot check the at least one streaming media device via the USB port;
wherein the boot check is completed by monitoring boot status signals received through the physical USB connection;
However, Olson teaches
compare a version of the firmware stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium within the computer system to a known latest version of the firmware stored in a database(Olson, US 20080052698, fig. 2 and para [0023-0026], At 212, the multimedia management application 106 compares the firmware version of the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 to the firmware version obtained from the firmware database 110. );
determine if the firmware is the most up to date version(Olson, fig. 2 and para [0023-0026], If the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 is up to date, the method terminates at 206.);
flash firmware to the streaming media device(Olson, fig. 2 and para [0030], At 220, the multimedia management application 106 signals the portable media device 102 to apply the firmware update 114A files. Para [0018-0019], In an embodiment, the firmware 108 is stored in a flash ROM (Read Only Memory) of the portable media device 102. While ROM is "read-only memory," flash ROM can be erased and rewritten because it is actually a type of flash memory. The firmware 108 of the portable media device 102 remains the same unless it is updated or upgraded.); and
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Olson into Parsons and Partee to providing a firmware upgrade for a portable media device, where the firmware upgrade includes a version number. The firmware upgrade is associated with an identifier of the portable media device. A computing device is connected to the portable media device for receiving the installed firmware version number and a device identifier from the portable media device. The computing device selectively applies the firmware upgrade to the connected portable media device.as suggested by Olson (See abstract and summary). The Office notes Olson also teaches
at least one USB port operably coupled to the computer system and configured to interface with the at least one streaming media device(Olson, fig. 1 and para [0014], Portable media devices 102 are often connected to a personal computing device 104 through a USB connection and managed by a multimedia management application 106 executing on the personal computing device 104. Fig. 2 and para [0021].);
wherein the computer system is configured to automatically(Olson, para [0004]. Fig. 2 and para [0021].):
Parsons, Partee and Olson do not explicitly teach
boot check the at least one streaming media device via the USB port;
wherein the boot check is completed by monitoring boot status signals received through the physical USB connection;
However, Chiloyan teaches
boot check the at least one streaming media device via the USB port (Chiloyan, US 7,043,664, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, The electronic device also needs a processor or circuit for detecting the status of the firmware. A process is added to the boot code of the device firmware to check whether any portion of the device firmware is corrupt or superseded by a later version. The process preferably performs a check function on the existing firmware and compares the function result with an expected value.);
wherein the boot check is completed by monitoring boot status signals received through the physical USB connection(Chiloyan, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, Based on the comparison, the boot code stores a status indication of the firmware. When the electronic device is coupled to a host device, the electronic device reports the status of the firmware to the host. Communication between the electronic device and the host device may occur in any fashion, such as over a bus, network, or wireless communication channel.);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Chiloyan into Parsons, Partee and Olson to replace of portion of firmware stored in rewritable nonvolatile memory e.g. electrically erasable programmable ROM (EEPROM) of electronic device e.g. peripheral device, peer device, network device and portable consumer device such as digital camera, printer, scanner, personal digital assistant (PDA), programmable remote control, asymmetric digital subscriber line (ADSL) modem and wireless access point as suggested by Chiloyan (See abstract and summary).
Claim 5 is rejected, Parsons teaches a method, comprising:
scanning, using a laser barcode scanner, a serial number from a physical label affixed to a streaming media device into a computer system(Parsons, para [0030], In one embodiment, the system includes a scanner (not shown in FIG. 1) electrically connected to the plurality of test computers and configured for scanning slot numbers corresponding to RF shielded cabinets 14 or device test chambers 16, and scanning serial numbers of mobile devices…. Then, the user monitor 60 may show an instruction or indication to scan a serial number, e.g. an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), of the corresponding mobile device to be tested in the device test chamber, which has the scanned slot number. Following the instruction or indication, the scanner may scan a serial number of the corresponding mobile device to be tested, before it is positioned in the device test chamber for testing. After the scanning of the slot number and the serial number, the scanned serial number is associated with the scanned slot number, such that the system knows that which mobile device is tested in which slot or cabinet.);
connecting the streaming media device to the computer system via a physical USB cable to a USB hub that is communicatively coupled to the computer system (Parsons, para [0029-0030], Each test computer is also connected to the same Wi-Fi network. In one embodiment, each test computer has a processor and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing test software for testing a mobile device positioned in a RF shielded cabinet 14 corresponding to the test computer. The mobile device is wirelessly connected to the test computer, e.g. via the wireless router, and has a test application installed thereon corresponding to the test software. The robot 22 may be configured for performing interaction and manipulation of the mobile device in cooperation with the test application and the test software during the testing.);
Parsons does not explicitly teach
reading, via the USB connection, a serial number of the streaming media device and comparing it to the scanned serial number to validate the identity of the streaming media device;
flashing firmware and boot checking the streaming media device using a custom software application stored on anon-transitory computer-readable medium within the computer system;
wherein performing the flashing firmware to the streaming media device includes, prior to flashing new firmware to the streaming media device, comparing a version of the firmware stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium within the computer system to a known latest version of the firmware stored in a database; verifying that the streaming media device boots properly by monitoring boot status signals received through the physical USB connection;
automatically recording a result of the flashing firmware and the boot checking into a database of the computer system;
However, Partee teaches
a streaming media device (Partee, US 20140187172, fig. 5 and para [0075-0085], a set-top box);
reading, via the USB connection, a serial number of the streaming media device and comparing it to the scanned serial number to validate the identity of the streaming media device (Partee, para [0065-0068 and 103].).
automatically recording a result of the flashing firmware and the boot checking into a database of the computer system(Partee, para [0031], [0037-0039] and [0062-0063]. Para [0051], storing test results.)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Partee into Parsons to test devices. The testing station is utilized for returned, refurbished, repaired, or new network devices to efficiently perform tests and analysis. The quality control is improved and the testing can be performed at quickly with less expense. The user can quickly insert the residential gateways into the nested platform, thus multiple tests for residential gateways can be carried out efficiently and consistently with a high degree of accuracy for residential gateways, and the costs, time and difficulty can be reduced.as suggested by Partee (See abstract and summary).
Parsons and Partee do not explicitly teach
flashing firmware and boot checking the streaming media device using a custom software application stored on anon-transitory computer-readable medium within the computer system;
wherein performing the flashing firmware to the streaming media device includes, prior to flashing new firmware to the streaming media device, comparing a version of the firmware stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium within the computer system to a known latest version of the firmware stored in a database; verifying that the streaming media device boots properly by monitoring boot status signals received through the physical USB connection;
However, Olson teaches
flashing firmware using a custom software application stored on anon-transitory computer-readable medium within the computer system(Olson, fig. 2 and para [0030], At 220, the multimedia management application 106 signals the portable media device 102 to apply the firmware update 114A files. Para [0018-0019], In an embodiment, the firmware 108 is stored in a flash ROM (Read Only Memory) of the portable media device 102. While ROM is "read-only memory," flash ROM can be erased and rewritten because it is actually a type of flash memory. The firmware 108 of the portable media device 102 remains the same unless it is updated or upgraded.)
wherein performing the flashing firmware to the streaming media device includes, prior to flashing new firmware to the streaming media device, comparing a version of the firmware stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium within the computer system to a known latest version of the firmware stored in a database (Olson, fig. 2 and para [0023-0026], At 212, the multimedia management application 106 compares the firmware version of the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 to the firmware version obtained from the firmware database 110… If the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 is up to date, the method terminates at 206);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Olson into Parsons and Partee to providing a firmware upgrade for a portable media device, where the firmware upgrade includes a version number. The firmware upgrade is associated with an identifier of the portable media device. A computing device is connected to the portable media device for receiving the installed firmware version number and a device identifier from the portable media device. The computing device selectively applies the firmware upgrade to the connected portable media device.as suggested by Olson (See abstract and summary). The Office notes Olson also teaches
connecting the streaming media device to the computer system via a physical USB cable to a USB hub that is communicatively coupled to the computer system (Olson, fig. 1 and para [0014], Portable media devices 102 are often connected to a personal computing device 104 through a USB connection and managed by a multimedia management application 106 executing on the personal computing device 104. Fig. 2 and para [0021].);
Parsons Partee and Olson do not explicitly teach
boot checking the streaming media device;
verifying that the streaming media device boots properly by monitoring boot status signals received through the physical USB connection;
However, Chiloyan teaches
boot check the at least one streaming media device via the USB port (Chiloyan, US 7,043,664, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, The electronic device also needs a processor or circuit for detecting the status of the firmware. A process is added to the boot code of the device firmware to check whether any portion of the device firmware is corrupt or superseded by a later version. The process preferably performs a check function on the existing firmware and compares the function result with an expected value.);
verifying that the streaming media device boots properly by monitoring boot status signals received through the physical USB connection (Chiloyan, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, Based on the comparison, the boot code stores a status indication of the firmware. When the electronic device is coupled to a host device, the electronic device reports the status of the firmware to the host. Communication between the electronic device and the host device may occur in any fashion, such as over a bus, network, or wireless communication channel.);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Chiloyan into Parsons, Partee and Olson to replace of portion of firmware stored in rewritable nonvolatile memory e.g. electrically erasable programmable ROM (EEPROM) of electronic device e.g. peripheral device, peer device, network device and portable consumer device such as digital camera, printer, scanner, personal digital assistant (PDA), programmable remote control, asymmetric digital subscriber line (ADSL) modem and wireless access point as suggested by Chiloyan (See abstract and summary).
Claim 6 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, wherein the entering of the serial number of the streaming media device includes scanning, using the laser barcode scanner, a bar code affixed on the streaming media device(Parsons, para [0030], In one embodiment, the system includes a scanner (not shown in FIG. 1) electrically connected to the plurality of test computers and configured for scanning slot numbers corresponding to RF shielded cabinets 14 or device test chambers 16, and scanning serial numbers of mobile devices…. Then, the user monitor 60 may show an instruction or indication to scan a serial number, e.g. an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), of the corresponding mobile device to be tested in the device test chamber, which has the scanned slot number. Following the instruction or indication, the scanner may scan a serial number of the corresponding mobile device to be tested, before it is positioned in the device test chamber for testing. After the scanning of the slot number and the serial number, the scanned serial number is associated with the scanned slot number, such that the system knows that which mobile device is tested in which slot or cabinet.).
Claim 7 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, further comprising automatically detecting the streaming media device by the computer system and the custom software application, via a physical USB connection between the streaming media device and a USB hub communicatively coupled to the computer system (Partee, para [0088] – automatic detection. Olson, fig. 1 and para [0014], Portable media devices 102 are often connected to a personal computing device 104 through a USB connection and managed by a multimedia management application 106 executing on the personal computing device 104. Fig. 2 and para [0021].).
Claim 10 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, wherein performing the flashing firmware to the streaming media device includes transmitting commands via the physical USB connection to set access flags on the streaming media device to place the streaming media device into a diagnostic mode(Partee, para [115 and 137-138]. Chiloyan, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, Based on the comparison, the boot code stores a status indication of the firmware. When the electronic device is coupled to a host device, the electronic device reports the status of the firmware to the host. Communication between the electronic device and the host device may occur in any fashion, such as over a bus, network, or wireless communication channel.).
Claim 12 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 9, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 9, further comprising comparing a version of the firmware retrieved from the streaming media device via the USB connection to a version of the firmware previously flashed to the streaming media device(Olson, fig. 2 and para [0023-0026], At 212, the multimedia management application 106 compares the firmware version of the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 to the firmware version obtained from the firmware database 110. Partee, para [0072, 108 and 138].).
Claim 13 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 10, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 10, further comprising transmitting commands via the physical USB connection to reset access flags on the streaming media device to restrict access to the streaming media device(Partee, para [157-158]. Partee, para [0160], authorized).
Claim 14 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, wherein connecting the streaming media device includes physically connecting one to sixteen streaming media devices via USB cables to the USB hub communicatively coupled to the computer system (Partee, para [181 and 191]. Chiloyan, column 6, line 21-42, ADSL modem 54a communicates with the host computer via a direct USB connection. Specifically, ASIC 60 communicates with a USB line interface 80 and USB port 82, which is coupled to I/O device interface 46 (shown in FIG. 1).).
Claim 15 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 14, wherein the flashing firmware and boot checking of the one to sixteen streaming media devices is performed simultaneously via the USB hub to each of the one to sixteen streaming media devices physically connected to the computer system(Tupman, para [0002-0003], Firmware refers to software that controls the operation of a portable electronic device, including for example, applications implemented on the device, device specific functions (e.g., telephony and media player functions), the device interface, and the underlying operating system. Firmware is stored in the device and may be updated by "flashing" or replacing the stored firmware with a firmware update. Firmware updates may be used, for example, to fix "bugs" in the software or add additional functionality to the device. Para [0008-0010], firmware updates. Partee, para [0072, 108 and 138].).
Claim 16 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, wherein the computer system includes a monitor displaying a graphical user interface showing a status of the method for the streaming media device(Partee, para [0092, 143 and 150]. Partee, figs. 9 and para [0091], graphical user interface 900.).
Claim 17 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 14, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 14, wherein the computer system includes a monitor displaying a graphical user interface showing a status of the method for each of the one to sixteen streaming media devices(Partee, para [0092, 143 and 150]. Partee, figs. 9 and para [0091], graphical user interface 900.).
Claim 18 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the method of claim 5, wherein the automatically recording the result includes saving a data record including a model and the serial number of the streaming media device, a version of the flashed firmware, and verification that the streaming media device booted properly(Partee, para [0065, 0095, 108 and 157].).
Claim 21 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the system of claim 1, further comprising:
a graphical user interface (GUI) shown on the monitor (Partee, figs. 9 and para [0091], graphical user interface 900);
Wherein the GUI displays (Paratee, figs. 9 and para [0091-0092]):
a listing of process steps for corresponding to each streaming media device, a listing of error codes, a device status corresponding to each streaming media device, and a clickable process start button corresponding to each streaming media device (Partee, figs. 9 and para [0091-0096], The graphical user interface 900 may display tests results, such as pass, fail or reasons for failing. In one embodiment, the tests may include boot-up, internal, video, audio, remote control, Ethernet, HPNA, memory (e.g. hard drive and flash), and LED and button tests. Detailed parametric date in file form may be available for determining root cause, process capability index, and other quality metrics for reporting. In some cases, portions of the tests may be performed automatically with other tests being performed based on manual user selections. For example, the user interface 900 may prompt the user to push buttons on each of the residential gateways or a remote control to perform the necessary testing.).
10. Claim 2, 4 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parsons (US 20210011824 – hereinafter Parsons), in view of Partee (US Olson, US 20080052698 – hereinafter Partee – IDS of records), in view of Olson (US 20140187172 – hereinafter Olson) , in view of Chiloyan (US 7,043,664 – hereinafter Chiloyan) and further in view of Fischer (US 20180115733– hereinafter Fischer – IDS of records).
With respect to claim 2, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan do not explicitly teach all limitations of claim 2.
However, Fisher teaches
Claim 2 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Parsons Partee, Olson, Chiloyan and Fisher teach the system of claim 1, further comprising a USB hub connected to the at least one USB port configured to connect one to sixteen streaming media devices to the computer system; wherein, the USB hub includes more USB ports that that of the at least one USB port (Fischer, US 20180115733, para [0125], The serial bus interface 808 generally provides a serial connection for the media stick 800. The serial bus interface 808 may be a USB™ interface with support for a USB™ 2.0 hub. The serial bus interface 808 may provide a power connection for the media stick 800.).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Fisher into Parsons and Partee to interface between a source media device, a destination media device and wireless speakers.as suggested by Fisher (See abstract and summary).
Claim 4 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 2, Parsons Partee, Olson, Chiloyan and Fisher teach the system of claim 2 that automatically performs detecting, validating, flashing, boot checking, and recording data when clearing and updating the one to sixteen streaming media device(s) simultaneously(Chiloyan, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, Based on the comparison, the boot code stores a status indication of the firmware. When the electronic device is coupled to a host device, the electronic device reports the status of the firmware to the host. Communication between the electronic device and the host device may occur in any fashion, such as over a bus, network, or wireless communication channel. Partee, para [0031], [0037-0039], para [0053-0055] - boot-up tests and [0062-0063]. Para [0051], storing test results.).
Claim 22 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 2, Parsons Partee, Olson and Chiloyan teach the system of claim 2, further comprising: wherein, the computer system, by running the application, automatically(Olson, para [0004]. Fig. 2 and para [0021].):
detects the at least one streaming media device after the streaming media device has been connected to the USB hub, compares the identification data scanned by the laser scanner to the serial number of the at least on streaming media device(Partee, para [0065-0068 and 103].).;
validates the current firmware of at least one streaming media device prior to flashing firmware (Olson, para [0026], At 211, the multimedia management application 106 stores the date the request to the firmware database 110 was sent. In an embodiment, the date of the last request sent to the firmware database 110 is stored in a device table in a media library of a multimedia management application 106. At 212, the multimedia management application 106 compares the firmware version of the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 to the firmware version obtained from the firmware database 110. The firmware upgrade is selectively applied to the connected portable media device 102 as a function of the firmware upgrade version number obtained from the firmware database 110 and the installed firmware version number. If the firmware 108 installed on the portable media device 102 is up to date, the method terminates at 206. If the firmware version installed on the portable media device 102 is out of date, the multimedia management application 106 initiates a download of the firmware update 114A from the servers 116A at 214);
flashes firmware to the streaming media device only if a serial number of the at least one streaming media device matches that of the scanned identification data and the firmware validation fails, validates the firmware flashed to the streaming media device (Olson, fig. 2 and para [0030], At 220, the multimedia management application 106 signals the portable media device 102 to apply the firmware update 114A files. Para [0018-0019], In an embodiment, the firmware 108 is stored in a flash ROM (Read Only Memory) of the portable media device 102. While ROM is "read-only memory," flash ROM can be erased and rewritten because it is actually a type of flash memory. The firmware 108 of the portable media device 102 remains the same unless it is updated or upgraded.),
verifies that the streaming media device boots properly after flashing the firmware(Chiloyan, column 2, line 46 to column 3, line 7, Based on the comparison, the boot code stores a status indication of the firmware. When the electronic device is coupled to a host device, the electronic device reports the status of the firmware to the host. Communication between the electronic device and the host device may occur in any fashion, such as over a bus, network, or wireless communication channel.), and
records a result of running the application (Partee, figs. 9 and para [0091-0096], The graphical user interface 900 may display tests results, such as pass, fail or reasons for failing. In one embodiment, the tests may include boot-up, internal, video, audio, remote control, Ethernet, HPNA, memory (e.g. hard drive and flash), and LED and button tests. Detailed parametric date in file form may be available for determining root cause, process capability index, and other quality metrics for reporting. In some cases, portions of the tests may be performed automatically with other tests being performed based on manual user selections. For example, the user interface 900 may prompt the user to push buttons on each of the residential gateways or a remote control to perform the necessary testing.).
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY KHUONG T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199