DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-17, and 21 are pending in the application. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 13 has overcome the objection to claims 13 and 14 set forth in the previous Non-Final Office action mailed on 03/26/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, applicant contends that Yang fails to teach or suggest “two elevator motors are each independently operable to raise the tray carrier to at least approximate alignment with the designated tray storage location and, as a function of feedback from the support sensors, to adjust a tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the storage stack”. Yang teaches independently controlled lift actuators that adjust angular orientation of a supported platform to achieve a level condition based on sensor feedback (para. [0054]-[0056]).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., purposefully adjusting a tilt of the tray carrier allowing flexible alignment (not just leveling)) is not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argued that the combination of Beransky in view of Smith and Yang would frustrate the purpose of Beransky, because the purposeful tilting of the elevator would cause at least one of the rollers to disengage and separate from the column rail. This argument is not persuasive because it is assuming on a modification (i.e. purposeful tilting of the elevator) that is neither thought nor relied upon by the rejection. Yang is cited for teaching independently controlled lift actuators that adjust angular orientation of a supported platform to achieve a level condition based on sensor feedback. The independent control is used to perform fine adjustment until the platform is level and to maintain that level condition during operation. When incorporated in to the storage system of Beransky in view of Young, the independent control of the two motors would compensate for manufacturing tolerances, unequal loading, structural deflection, and other conditions like wear that would cause the carrier to deviate from a level orientation. Such a closed loop control, rather than frustrating the operation of Beransky, would improve alignment between the tray carrier and storage location as well as facilitating proper engagement of rollers with the column rails. Therefore for at least the forgoing reasons the rejections of claims 1 and 12 are maintained.
Similarly, the Applicant’s arguments presented regarding claims 2, 3, 4, 13, 14, 16, and 17 are found unpersuasive, because they rely on an assumption on a modification that is neither taught nor relied upon by the rejection as discussed regarding claims 1 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beransky et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0291978) in view of Smith (U.S. Patent No. 5915909) and in further view of Yang et al. (Chinese Patent No. 114644305).
Regarding claim 1, Beransky discloses a component storage system (para. [0079], Fig. 7b-7c), comprising:
a storage stack defining discrete tray storage locations spaced vertically along the stack between vertical stack supports (Fig. 7b, Storage stack 7500 defining discrete tray storage locations spaced vertically);
an operator access station comprising a surface adapted to support a movable tray (para. [0080]; Fig. 7b); and
an automated elevator configured to store trays in the storage stack by lifting a tray from the access station surface to an elevation of a designated one of the discrete tray storage locations of the storage stack, and then moving the lifted tray into the designated tray storage location between the vertical stack supports (para. [0076]-[0077]; Fig. 7a, elevator 7610), the automated elevator comprising:
a tray carrier comprising a carrier motor operable to move the tray from the tray carrier into the designated tray storage location once the tray carrier is vertically aligned with the designated tray storage location (para. [0080]; Fig. 7a, tray carrier 7610, carrier motor 7612a),
two elevator motors operable to lift the tray carrier, the elevator motors spaced apart such that each elevator motor is closer to a respective one of the vertical stack supports (Fig. 7a, two elevator motors not labeled in the figure shown next to each vertical support).
Beransky does not disclose two support sensors attached to the tray carrier, each support sensor positioned to be responsive to vertically-spaced features of a respective one of the vertical stack supports;
wherein the two elevator motors are each independently operable to raise the tray carrier to at least approximate alignment with the designated tray storage location and, as a function of feedback from the support sensors, to adjust a tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the storage stack.
Smith discloses a component storage system with two support sensors attached to the tray carrier, each support sensor positioned to be responsive to vertically-spaced features of a respective one of the vertical stack supports (col. 6, lines 40-52; Fig. 6, two support sensors 148 positioned to be responsive to vertically-spaced features 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky and incorporate the teachings in Smith to include two support sensors attached to the tray carrier, each support sensor positioned to be responsive to vertically-spaced features of a respective one of the vertical stack supports to improve the positioning precision of the elevator by accurately locating its position in the movement direction so the elevator can be stopped at a target location with high precision (Smith: col. 6, lines 40-52).
Beransky in view of Smith, further discloses two elevator motors (Beransky: Fig. 7a, two elevator motors not labeled in the figure shown next to each vertical support), which contemplates the need for independent operation of the two motors to raise the tray carrier to at least approximate alignment with the designated tray storage location.
However, Beransky in view of Smith, does not disclose the two elevator motors are each independently operable as a function of feedback from the support sensors, to adjust a tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the storage stack.
Yang discloses two elevator motors are each independently operable to raise the tray carrier to at least approximate alignment with the designated tray storage location and, as a function of feedback from the support sensors, to adjust a tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the storage stack (para. [0054]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky in view of Smith, and incorporate the teachings in Yang where the motors are each independently operable to raise the tray carrier to at least approximate alignment with the designated tray storage location and, as a function of feedback from the support sensors, to adjust a tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the storage stack to improve the correct positioning and alignment of the elevator in relation to the storage racks and facilitate a smooth loading and unloading process, which would otherwise be problematic if there is tilt or unevenness in the elevator with respect to the storage stack and/or designated storage location (Yang: para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang discloses all limitations of claim 1. Yang further discloses a controller configured to receive information from the two support sensors, the controller configured to control, based on the information received from the two support sensors, the two elevator motors to adjust the tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the vertically-spaced features, aligning the tray carrier with the designated tray storage location (para. [0054]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang, and further configure the controller to receive information from the two support sensors, the controller configured to control, based on the information received from the two support sensors, the two elevator motors to adjust the tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the vertically-spaced features, aligning the tray carrier with the designated tray storage location to improve the correct positioning and alignment of the elevator in relation to the storage racks and facilitate a smooth loading and unloading process, which would otherwise be problematic if there is tilt or unevenness in the elevator (Yang: para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang, discloses all limitations of claim 1. Beransky further discloses an automated elevator is configured to retrieve a selected tray from the storage stack by extracting the selected tray from its respective tray storage location and moving the selected tray to the operator access station wherein extracting the selected tray comprises moving the tray carrier to at least approximate alignment with the tray storage location (Beransky: para. [0077]-[0078]).
Yang further discloses adjusting, as a function of feedback from the support sensors, the tilt of the tray carrier to level the tray carrier with respect to the respective tray storage location, and then pulling the selected tray onto a support surface of the tray carrier (Yang; para. [0054]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang, to adjust as a function of feedback from the support sensors, the tilt of the tray carrier to level the tray carrier with respect to the respective tray storage location, and then pulling the selected tray unto a support surface of the tray carrier improve the correct positioning and alignment of the elevator in relation to the storage racks and facilitate a smooth loading and unloading process, which would otherwise be problematic if there is tilt or unevenness in the elevator (Yang: para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang, discloses all limitations of claim 1. Beransky, further discloses the automated elevator further comprises two belts each engaged with and configured to be driven by a respective one of the two elevator motors, each of the two belts attached to a respective end of the tray carrier to selectively raise each of the ends independently from each other (Figs. 7a and 7b).
However, Beransky does not disclose adjusting the tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the storage stack.
Yang discloses adjusting the tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the storage stack (para. [0054]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang, and incorporate the teachings in Yang of adjusting the tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the storage stack to improve the correct positioning and alignment of the elevator in relation to the storage racks and facilitate a smooth loading and unloading process, which would otherwise be problematic if there is tilt or unevenness or tilt in the elevator (Yang: para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang, discloses all limitations of claim 1. Smith further discloses the vertically-spaced features comprise a plurality of pairs of visual features, each pair associated with one of the discrete tray storage locations and detectable by the two support sensors (col. 6, lines 40-52; Fig. 6, two support sensors 148 positioned to be responsive to vertically-spaced features 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang and incorporate the teachings in Smith to include a plurality of pairs of visual features, each pair associated with one of the discrete tray storage locations and detectable by the two support sensors to improve the positioning precision of the elevator by accurately locating its position in the movement direction so he elevator can be stopped at a target location with high precision (Smith: col. 6, lines 40-52).
Yang further discloses the two elevator motors are configured to raise the tray carrier to a predetermined elevation along the storage stack, and then move, as a function of feedback from the support sensors detecting the pair of visual features, the tray carrier to a final position with respect to the respective pair of visual features (para. [0054]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang, and incorporate the teachings in Yang of driving elevator motors as a function of feedback from the support sensors detecting the pair of visual features, the tray carrier to a final position with respect to the respective pair of visual features to improve the correct positioning and alignment of the elevator in relation to the storage racks and facilitate a smooth loading and unloading process, which would otherwise be problematic if there is tilt or unevenness in the elevator (Yang: para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang, discloses all limitations of claim 1. Yang further discloses each of the two elevator motors is coupled to an encoder, the elevator motors operable to raise the tray carrier based on feedback from the encoder both to raise the tray carrier to at least approximate alignment with the designated tray storage location, and to adjust the tilt of the tray carrier (Yang: para. [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang, and incorporate the teachings in Yang of using encoders coupled to the two elevator motors to improve the positioning precision of the elevator by accurately locating its position in the movement direction so the elevator can be stopped at a target location with high precision (Smith: col. 6, lines 40-52).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang, discloses all limitations of claim 6. Smith further discloses the vertical stack supports comprise two columns of a frame of a vertical storage rack, each of the two columns defining holes and each pair of visual features comprising a pair of holes, each hole of the pair of holes residing on one side of a respective discrete tray storage location and residing at the same elevation (Smith: col. 6, lines 40-52; Fig. 2, columns 22 and 24 and pair of holes on the columns; See also holes 28 on columns in Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang, and incorporate the teachings in Smith of using vertical stack supports comprising two columns of a frame of a vertical storage rack, each of the two columns defining holes and each pair of visual features comprising a pair of holes, each hole of the pair of holes residing on one side of a respective discrete tray storage location and residing at the same elevation to reduce the cost of manufacture, and improve the stability of the elevator during the transfer operation, by allowing the visual features to serve an additional purpose of a locking feature for elevator when it comes to rest at a given location to load or unload a tray.
Regarding to claim 12, Beransky discloses a storage system (para. [0079], Fig. 7b-7c), comprising: a storage stack defining discrete tray storage locations residing between vertical stack supports (Fig. 7b, Storage stack 7500 defining discrete tray storage locations spaced vertically); and
an elevator configured to store trays in the storage stack by moving a tray from an access station of the storage stack to an elevation of a designated one of the discrete tray storage locations of the storage stack, and then moving the lifted tray into the designated tray storage location (para. [0076]-[0077]; Fig. 7a, elevator 7610), the elevator comprising:
a tray carrier comprising a carrier motor operable to move the tray from the tray carrier into the designated tray storage location (para. [0080]; Fig. 7a, tray carrier 7610, carrier motor 4612a), and
two elevator motors operable to lift the tray carrier, the elevator motors spaced apart such that each elevator motor moves a side of the tray carrier that is closer to a respective one of the vertical stack supports (Fig. 7a, two elevators motors not labeled in the figure shown next to each vertical support); the two elevator motors each being independently operable to first raise the tray carrier to a first elevation (Beransky: Fig. 7a, having two elevator motors contemplates the need for independent operation of the two motors to raise the tray carrier to at first elevation).
However, Beransky does not explicitly disclose as a function of feedback from support sensors positioned to be responsive to vertically-spaced features of a respective one of the vertical stack supports, to a second elevation in which the tray carrier is leveled with respect to the designated tray storage location.
Smith discloses a component storage system with two support sensors attached to the tray carrier, each support sensor positioned to be responsive to vertically-spaced features of a respective one of the vertical stack supports (col. 6, lines 40-52; Fig. 6, two support sensors 148 positioned to be responsive to vertically-spaced features 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky and incorporate the teachings in Smith to include two support sensors attached to the tray carrier, each support sensor positioned to be responsive to vertically-spaced features of a respective one of the vertical stack supports to improve the positioning precision of the elevator by accurately locating its position in the movement direction so he elevator can be stopped at a target location with high precision (Smith: col. 6, lines 40-52).
However, Beransky in view of Smith, does not disclose operating the motors as a function of feedback from support sensors to move the tray to a second elevation in which the tray carrier is leveled with respect to the designated tray storage location.
Yang discloses operating the motors as a function of feedback from support sensors to move the tray to a second elevation in which the tray carrier is leveled with respect to the designated tray storage location (para. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky in view of Smith, and incorporate the teachings in Yang of operating the motors as a function of feedback from support sensors to move the tray to a second elevation in which the tray carrier is leveled with respect to the designated tray storage location to improve the correct positioning and alignment of the elevator in relation to the storage racks and facilitate a smooth loading and unloading process, which would otherwise be problematic if there is tilt or unevenness in the elevator (Yang: para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang, discloses all limitations of claim 12. Yang further discloses a controller configured to receive information from the support sensors, the controller configured to control, based on the information received from the support sensors, the two elevator motors to adjust the tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the vertically-spaced features, aligning the tray carrier with the designated tray storage location (para. [0054]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang, and further configure the controller to receive information from the two support sensors, the controller configured to control, based on the information received from the two support sensors, the two elevator motors to adjust the tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the vertically-spaced features, aligning the tray carrier with the designated tray storage location to improve the correct positioning and alignment of the elevator in relation to the storage racks and facilitate a smooth loading and unloading process, which would otherwise be problematic if there is tilt or unevenness in the elevator (Yang: para. [0003]).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beransky et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0291978) in view of Smith (U.S. Patent No. 5915909), in further view of Yang et al. (Chinese Patent No. 114644305) and in further view of Caldeira et al. (U.S. Patent No 12338071).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang disclose all limitations of claim 2. The combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang does not disclose a controller is configured to control the two elevator motors to first raise the tray carrier to a first elevation before the support sensors detect the vertically-spaced features, then to a second elevation in which the support sensors initially detect a point of the vertically-spaced features, and then to a third elevation in which the support sensors are spaced a predetermined vertical distance from the vertically spaced features and the tray carrier is aligned with the designated tray storage location.
Caldeira discloses a controller is configured to control the two elevator motors to first raise the tray carrier to a first elevation before the support sensors detect the vertically-spaced features, then to a second elevation in which the support sensors initially detect a point of the vertically-spaced features, and then to a third elevation in which the support sensors are spaced a predetermined vertical distance from the vertically spaced features and the tray carrier is aligned with the designated tray storage location (col. 6, line 62 to col. 7, line 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang, and incorporate the teaching of Caldeira of moving the elevator to an initial elevation closer to the target location and based on sensor feedback move the elevator to another location to align the tray carrier is with the designated tray storage location to improve the precision or retrieval and storage operations by accounting for factors that affect positioning of the elevator platform relative to the tray storage locations, for example sagging of the tensioned member or deformation of rails (Caldeira: col. 2, lines 56-60).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang disclose all limitations of claim 13. The combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to control the two elevator motors to first raise the tray carrier to a first elevation in which the support sensors initially detect a point of the vertically-spaced features, and then to a second elevation in which the support sensors are spaced a predetermined vertical distance from the vertically spaced features and the tray carrier is aligned with the designated tray storage location.
Caldeira discloses a controller is configured to control the two elevator motors to first raise the tray carrier to a first elevation before the support sensors detect the vertically-spaced features, then to a second elevation in which the support sensors initially detect a point of the vertically-spaced features, and then to a third elevation in which the support sensors are spaced a predetermined vertical distance from the vertically spaced features and the tray carrier is aligned with the designated tray storage location (col. 6, line 62 to col. 7, line 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang, and incorporate the teaching of Caldeira of moving the elevator to an initial elevation closer to the target location and based on sensor feedback move the elevator to another location to align the tray carrier is with the designated tray storage location to improve the precision or retrieval and storage operations by accounting for factors that affect positioning of the elevator platform relative to the tray storage locations, for example sagging of the tensioned member or deformation of rails (Caldeira: col. 2, lines 56-60).
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beransky et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0291978) in view of Smith (U.S. Patent No. 5915909) in further view of Yang et al. (Chinese Patent No. 114644305), and in further view of Michael (German Application Publication No. DE 102018115697).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang, discloses all limitations of claim 1. The combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang does not disclose the access station comprises a camera positioned such that a tray supported on the surface is within a field of view of the camera,
the field of view spanning multiple discrete component storage locations of the tray, the camera configured to generate data representing an image of the tray, from which the system is configured to
(a) identify a component on the tray, and
(b) determine where on the tray the component is located, and wherein the component storage system comprises a machine learning image processing system configured to process the data from the camera and identify, based on a machine learning algorithm, each component on the tray based on a physical characteristic of the component.
Michael discloses a storage device with an access station comprising a camera positioned such that a tray supported on the surface is within a field of view of the camera (para. [0037]-[0038]; Fig. 1; access station 20, camera 26),
the field of view spanning multiple discrete component storage locations of the tray, the camera configured to generate data representing an image of the tray (Fig. 2; field of view spanning multiple discrete component storage locations), from which the system is configured to
(a) identify a component on the tray (para. [0041]), and
(b) determine where on the tray the component is located, and wherein the component storage system comprises a machine learning image processing system configured to process the data from the camera and identify, based on a machine learning algorithm, each component on the tray based on a physical characteristic of the component (paras.[0012], [0042]-[0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang, and incorporate the teachings in Michael of including a camera positioned such that a tray supported on the surface is within a field of view of the camera, the field of view spanning multiple discrete component storage locations of the tray, the camera configured to generate data representing an image of the tray, from which the system is configured to (a) identify a component on the tray, and (b) determine where on the tray the component is located, and wherein the component storage system comprises a machine learning image processing system configured to process the data from the camera and identify, based on a machine learning algorithm, each component on the tray based on a physical characteristic of the component to reduce error in inventory monitoring by automating the detection of items as well as provide operational safety by including a camera near the access station (para. [0008]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang discloses all limitations of claim 12. The combination of Beransky, Smith, and Yang does not disclose the access station comprises a camera positioned such that a tray supported on a surface of the access station is within a field of view of the camera, the field of view spanning multiple discrete component storage locations of the tray, the camera configured to generate data representing an image of the tray, from which the system is configured to (a) identify a component on the tray, and (b) determine where on the tray the component is located, and wherein the storage system comprises a machine learning image processing system configured to process the data from the camera and identify, based on a machine learning algorithm, each component on the tray based on a physical characteristic of the component.
Michael discloses a storage device with an access station comprising a camera positioned such that a tray supported on the surface of the access station is within a field of view of the camera (para. [0037]-[0038]; Fig. 1; access station 20, camera 26),
the field of view spanning multiple discrete component storage locations of the tray, the camera configured to generate data representing an image of the tray (Fig. 2; field of view spanning multiple discrete component storage locations), from which the system is configured to
(a) identify a component on the tray (para. [0041]), and
(b) determine where on the tray the component is located, and wherein the component storage system comprises a machine learning image processing system configured to process the data from the camera and identify, based on a machine learning algorithm, each component on the tray based on a physical characteristic of the component (paras.[0012], [0042]-[0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator of Beransky as modified by Smith and Yang, and incorporate the teachings in Michael of including a camera positioned such that a tray supported on the surface is within a field of view of the camera, the field of view spanning multiple discrete component storage locations of the tray, the camera configured to generate data representing an image of the tray, from which the system is configured to (a) identify a component on the tray, and (b) determine where on the tray the component is located, and wherein the component storage system comprises a machine learning image processing system configured to process the data from the camera and identify, based on a machine learning algorithm, each component on the tray based on a physical characteristic of the component to reduce error in inventory monitoring by automating the detection of items as well as provide operational safety by including a camera near the access station (para. [0008]-[0010]).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caldeira et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12338071) in view of Yang et al. (Chinese Patent No. 114644305).
Regarding claim 16, Caldeira discloses a system, comprising: at least one processing device (col. 6, line 62 to col. 7, line 15; Fig. 1, processing device 86); and
a memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processing device, the memory storing instructions which, when executed, cause the at least one processing device to perform operations comprising (col. 6, line 62 to col. 7, line 15; Fig. 1, memory 88):
receive data from an input device of a component storage assembly (col. 8, lines 17-24),
the component storage assembly comprising a storage stack defining discrete tray storage locations residing between vertical stack supports and an elevator configured to store trays in the storage stack (col. 4, lines 39-56; Fig. 1, storage stack 25, vertical supports 23), the elevator comprising a tray carrier with a carrier motor, two elevator motors operable to lift the tray carrier (col. 5, line 43 to col. 6, line 6; elevator 18; elevator motor 77, tray carrier 70),
a controller configured to control the two elevator motors, and support sensors attached to the tray carrier, each support sensor positioned to be responsive to vertically-spaced features of a respective one of the vertical stack supports (col. 6, lines 46-61; sensors 84 sensing vertically offset rail sidewalls);
determine, based on the data from the input device, a location of a designated one of the discrete tray storage locations of the storage stack in which a tray is to be stored (col. 6, lines 46-61);
transmit, based on the determined location, first instructions to the controller to control the two elevator motors to raise the tray carrier to at least approximate alignment with the designated tray storage location (col. 6, line 62 to col. 7, line 15);
receive, from the support sensors, feedback representing a presence of at least one of the vertically-spaced features (col. 7, lines 16-35);
transmit third instructions to the controller to control the carrier motor to move the tray from the tray carrier into the designated tray storage location (col. 9, lines 4-23).
Caldeira does not disclose two elevator motors operable to lift the tray carrier or transmit, based on the sensor feedback, second instructions to the controller to control the two elevator motors to adjust a tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the respective features. However, Caldeira discloses sensing measuring the angle of inclination of the elevator platform relative the horizontal using one or more inclinometers, as well as the need for a corrective action when inclination is detected (col. 7, line 58 to col. 8, line 12).
Yang discloses a storage system with two elevator motors operable to lift the tray carrier or transmit, based on the sensor feedback, instructions to the controller to control the two elevator motors to adjust a tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the respective features (para. [0053]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator controller of Caldeira and incorporate the teachings in Yang of using two elevator motors operable to lift the tray carrier and transmit, based on the sensor feedback, instructions to the controller to control the two elevator motors to adjust a tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the respective features to improve the correct positioning and alignment of the elevator in relation to the storage racks by automatically taking the corrective action that would otherwise have necessitated the need to interrupt operation to perform corrective actions (col. 7, line 58 to col. 8, line 12).
Regarding claim 17, Caldeira discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a system comprising one or more computers in one or more locations, data from an input device of a component storage assembly (col. 6, line 62 to col. 7, line 15; Fig. 1, processing device 86), the component storage assembly comprising a storage stack comprising an operator access station and defining discrete tray storage locations residing between vertical stack supports and an elevator configured to store trays from the operator access station in the storage stack (col. 4, lines 39-56; Fig. 1, storage stack 25, vertical supports 23), the elevator comprising a tray carrier with a carrier motor (col. 5, lines 43-65; tray carrier 70),
a controller configured to control the two elevator motors, and support sensors attached to the tray carrier, each support sensor positioned to be responsive to vertically-spaced features of a respective one of the vertical stack supports (col. 6, line 62 to col. 7, line 15; Fig. 1, processing device 86);
determining, by the system and based on the data from the input device, a location of a designated one of the discrete tray storage locations of the storage stack in which a tray is to be stored (col. 6, lines 46-61);
transmitting, by the system and based on the determined location, first instructions to the controller to control the two elevator motors to raise the tray carrier to at least approximate alignment with the designated tray storage location, the tray carrier supporting the tray (col. 6, line 62 to col. 7, line 15);
receiving, by the system and from the support sensors, feedback representing a presence of respective features of the vertically-spaced features (col. 7, lines 16-35); and
transmitting, by the system, third instructions to the controller to control the carrier motor to move the tray from the tray carrier into the designated tray storage location (col. 9, lines 4-23).
Caldeira does not disclose two elevator motors operable to lift the tray carrier or transmitting, based on the sensor feedback, second instructions to the controller to control the two elevator motors to adjust a tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the respective features. However, Caldeira discloses sensing measuring the angle of inclination of the elevator platform relative the horizontal using one or more inclinometers, as well as the need for a corrective action when inclination is detected (col. 7, line 58 to col. 8, line 12).
Yang discloses a storage system with two elevator motors operable to lift the tray carrier or transmit, based on the sensor feedback, instructions to the controller to control the two elevator motors to adjust a tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the respective features (para. [0053]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elevator controller of Caldeira and incorporate the teachings in Yang of using two elevator motors operable to lift the tray carrier and transmit, based on the sensor feedback, instructions to the controller to control the two elevator motors to adjust a tilt of the tray carrier to level the lifted tray with respect to the respective features to improve the correct positioning and alignment of the elevator in relation to the storage racks by automatically taking the corrective action that would otherwise have necessitated the need to interrupt operation to perform corrective actions (col. 7, line 58 to col. 8, line 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 21 is allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art of made of record are Beransky et al. (US 2019/0291978), Smith (US 5915909), and Yang et al. (CN 114644305).
None of the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, teach or suggest a component storage system, with two carrier motors operable to move a plurality of tabs that engage a respective side of the tray to load the tray on the tray carrier or offload the tray from the tray carrier, and two tab sensors attached to the tray carrier, each tab sensor positioned to be responsive to the presence of a respective one of the tabs, the component storage system configured to determine, based on feedback from the tab sensors, whether a tray is on or off the tray carrier in addition to the other limitations of claim 21.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655