DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 05th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-28 remain pending in the application. Claim 1-8 remain withdrawn as being directed to nonelected Group I. The amendments to the drawings and claims have overcome each and every drawing objection, double patenting rejection, claim objection, and 112(b) rejection previously cited in the Non-Final rejection mailed December 18th, 2025. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 10-13 and 15-17 (as numbered by the Applicant) of the Remarks, filed March 05th, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 9 and 15 under 35 U.S.C 102 and 35 U.S.C 103, respectively, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the argument that Jiang does not disclose a removable insert assembly. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Niknammoghadam et al. (US 20250052479).
Applicant's arguments filed March 05th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pg. 13-14 (as numbered by the Applicant) of the Remarks, “Second, claim 9 requires that "temperature shells from the adjacent unit cells of the plurality of unit cells" are "connected to form a continuous, global temperature shell extending across the plurality of unit cells." The claim thus requires that, at a given temperature level, the temperature shells of adjacent unit cells form a single, structurally continuous enclosure extending across the plurality of unit cells. Jiang et al. does not disclose such a structure. Instead, Jiang et al. teaches that "Direct physical contact between the adjacent radiation shields is not typically essential" (Page 20, lines 9-15), indicating that gaps between adjacent shields may remain. Jiang et al. also teaches that adjacent stages may be separated by a gap and "substantially thermally isolated" so that they may operate at different temperatures (Page 25, lines 11-14), and may even be "anisothermal," with one mixing chamber operating at one temperature and another at a different temperature (Page 33, lines 22-32). Such structures are inconsistent with the claimed continuous, global temperature shell extending across the plurality of unit cells. Furthermore, dependent claim 21 recites that the temperature shells of adjacent unit cells are connected by bridge shields spanning between the adjacent unit cells to form the continuous, global temperature shell. Jiang et al. does not disclose such bridge shields. As noted above, Jiang et al. instead teaches optional plate extension sections joined by expandable joints used where gaps exist between radiation shields of adjacent modules and states that contact between adjacent radiation shields is not required (Page 20, lines 9-15). These extension plates and expandable joints therefore do not disclose or suggest the claimed bridge shields spanning between adjacent unit cells.” However, this argument is not persuasive as Jiang explicitly discloses connecting temperature shells from adjacent unit cells via bridge shields to create a continuous, global temperature shell extending across the plurality of temperature shells as the shield connectors 55 are said to thermally couple adjacent radiation shields, “Direct physical contact between the adjacent radiation shields is not typically essential however shield connectors 55 are preferably provided at each end of each of the radiation shield to enable neighbouring shield extension sections 180 to interlock and preferably thermally couple. The shield connectors 55 may comprise any of interlocking features, a flexible joint, array of holes and bolts or any other suitable fastening means for connecting the shield extension sections 180 (Jiang, Pg. 20, lines 11-17).” See the rejections of claims 9 and 15 below.
Applicant argues on Pg. 14 (as numbered by the Applicant) of the Remarks, “Third, Jiang et al. states that "each module forms a cryogen-free dilution refrigerator" (Page 20, lines 28-31). Jiang et al. does not disclose that a module comprises "at least one retrofitted version of a standard dilution refrigerator." The language "forms" describes original construction of a module, not retrofitting of a "standard dilution refrigerator." Nowhere does Jiang et al. disclose modification of a pre-existing standard dilution refrigerator, nor does Jiang et al. describe structural alteration of a standard unit. Accordingly, Jiang et al. does not disclose the claimed "retrofitted version of a standard dilution refrigerator." However, this argument is not persuasive as Jiang discloses using a common cryogenic refrigerator which at least implies a conventional off the shelf cryogenic refrigerator is used, “The cryogenic refrigerator assembly may comprise a common cryogenic refrigerator, such as a liquid helium refrigeration plant, cooling respective stages of two or more modules within the system. Typically, however, the cryogenic refrigerator assembly is configured so that each said connected module comprises a cryogenic refrigerator thermally coupled to one or more of stages of the module. These cryogenic refrigerators may take a number of forms, including cryocoolers, helium-3 or helium-4 refrigerators and dilution refrigerators, as will be discussed. Each said module may have a cryogenic refrigerator mounted to a stage of the module by a high thermal conductivity connection (Jiang, Pg. 4, lines 7-15)”. Further, this teaching of a common cryogenic refrigerator is reflected by the Applicant’s specification which describes the “at least one retrofitted version of a standard dilution refrigerator” to be “Referring to FIG. 5, each populated cell B, C, or D can comprise a standard, off-the-shelf dilution-refrigerator assembly 502. As currently illustrated, refrigerator 502 is a BlueFors XLD-1000, manufactured by BlueFors Oy of Helsinki, Finland; however, other standard refrigerators may be used (Pg. 13, paragraph 83 of present specification)”. Therefore, the limitation of “at least one retrofitted version of a standard dilution refrigerator” as interpreted in light of the specification simply means a conventional off the shelf dilution-refrigerator. See the rejections of claims 9 and 15 below.
The rejections of independent claims 9 and 15 are maintained. The rejections of dependent claims 10-14 and 16-20 are also maintained for at least the reasons described herein. See the rejections of new dependent claims 21-28 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the bridge shields" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the bridge shields" in line 1 to “bridge shields" or adjusting the dependency on claim 23 to depend from claim 21 which provides proper antecedent basis for “the bridge shields”.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the bridge shields" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the bridge shields" in line 1 to “bridge shields" or adjusting the dependency on claim 27 to depend from claim 25 which provides proper antecedent basis for “the bridge shields”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-14, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (WO 2023156801), hereinafter Jiang in view of Niknammoghadam et al. (US 20250052479), hereinafter Niknammoghadam.
Regarding claim 9, Jiang discloses a cryogenic system (Fig. 6; Pg. 16, lines 2-4, A first module 100 for forming part of a cryogenic cooling system according to a first embodiment of the invention will now be discussed with reference to Figures 3-5) comprising:
a plurality of unit cells joined together (Fig. 6, first module 100, second module 150; Pg. 18, lines 12-17, An example is shown in Figures 6 and 7 in which two such modules according to Figures 3-5 are joined together to form an integrated cryogenic cooling system according to the first embodiment. A removable panel is removed from the right side face of a first module 100 and a removable panel is removed from the left side of a second module 150, as shown in Figure 6), wherein each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells comprises:
a frame (Fig. 4, framework 21);
a plurality of nested temperature shells wherein a subset of shells of the plurality of nested temperature shells are at different temperature levels (Fig. 3, heat radiation shields 41-43; Pg. 17, lines 12-28, A nested assembly of heat radiation shields is provided within the module 100, each heat radiation shield being connected to a respective thermal stage and surrounding the lower temperature components. A first heat radiation shield 41 is connected to the PT1 stage 105, a second heat radiation shield 42 is connected to the PT2 stage 106, and a third heat radiation shield 43 is connected to the still stage 107, wherein the second heat radiation shield 42 is arranged between the first heat radiation shield 41 and the third heat radiation shield 43. The first and second heat shields 41, 42 are typically aluminum whereas the third heat shield 43 is typically copper. The heat radiation shields 41-43 are configured to form a closed structure when fully assembled and mounted to the respective thermal stages, and will surround the components of the system that are configured to be cooled to a lower temperature. The heat radiation shields 41-43 have four orthogonal side surfaces, which are configured to fit together. In the present embodiment each side surface of each heat radiation shield comprises two coplanar removable panels for providing external access to the region contained by the heat radiation shield, as shown by Figure 5. Handles are attached to the outside of the side faces for convenience during assembly and disassembly);
at least one retrofitted version of a standard dilution refrigerator (Pg. 4, lines 7-15, The cryogenic refrigerator assembly may comprise a common cryogenic refrigerator, such as a liquid helium refrigeration plant, cooling respective stages of two or more modules within the system. Typically, however, the cryogenic refrigerator assembly is configured so that each said connected module comprises a cryogenic refrigerator thermally coupled to one or more of stages of the module. These cryogenic refrigerators may take a number of forms, including cryocoolers, helium-3 or helium-4 refrigerators and dilution refrigerators, as will be discussed. Each said module may have a cryogenic refrigerator mounted to a stage of the module by a high thermal conductivity connection; Pg. 20, lines 28-31, In the first embodiment of Figure 8 two modules 100, 150 are coupled together that have the same cryogenic refrigerator set-up in each. In particular, each module forms a cryogen-free dilution refrigerator with the PTR and dilution unit being arranged as discussed with reference to Figure 3); and
at least one cryogenic payload located within at least one of the different temperature levels, that is cooled by the at least one retrofitted version of the standard dilution refrigerator, wherein frames from adjacent unit cells of the plurality of unit cells are connected in a vacuum-tight manner at abutting surfaces of the adjacent unit cells, and at each temperature level of the different temperature levels, temperature shells of the plurality of nested temperature shells from the adjacent unit cells of the plurality of unit shells are connected to form a continuous, global temperature shell extending across the plurality of unit cells (Pg. 20, lines 11-17, Direct physical contact between the adjacent radiation shields is not typically essential however shield connectors 55 are preferably provided at each end of each of the radiation shield to enable neighbouring shield extension sections 180 to interlock and preferably thermally couple. The shield connectors 55 may comprise any of interlocking features, a flexible joint, array of holes and bolts or any other suitable fastening means for connecting the shield extension sections 180; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal; Further, the teachings of Jiang at least imply at least one cryogenic payload located within at least one of the temperature levels, that is cooled since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); Moreover, the teachings of Jiang which disclose shield connectors to thermally couple adjected radiation shields at least implies the adjacent unit cells of the plurality of unit shells are connected to form a continuous, global temperature shell extending across the plurality of unit cells since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
However, Jiang does not disclose the plurality of nested temperature shells, the at least one retrofitted version of a standard dilution refrigerator, and the at least one cryogenic payload to be part of an insert assembly disposed within the frame wherein the insert assembly is removable through a top wall of the frame.
Niknammoghadam teaches both hot and cold components of a modular cryogenic cooling system to be part of an insert assembly that is removeable through a top wall of the frame (Fig. 15, body 1503, removable part 1525, dilution refrigerator 1519, first mechanical cooler 1522, second mechanical cooler 1523, top 1502; Pg. 13, paragraph 145, Yet another aspect illustrated in FIG. 15, which aspect can be applied in all other embodiments described herein as well, is the provision of at least some of the cold sources in separately removable inserts. The room-temperature parts of the dilution refrigerator 1519, as well as those of the first and second mechanical coolers 1522 and 1523, are placed on a removable part 1525 of the top 1502. Also the cold stages of said cold sources are attached to removable portions of the respective cold plates. Taken that the dimensioning of such removable portions and the respective apertures is selected right, it may be possible to lift the whole entity consisting of the cold sources and said removable parts out of the cryogenic cooling system or platform for servicing. Additionally, this principle may allow exchanging the whole insert with another insert that may have cold sources of different cooling power, or even cold sources of different technology built in it).
Jiang fails to teach the plurality of nested temperature shells, the at least one retrofitted version of a standard dilution refrigerator, and the at least one cryogenic payload to be part of an insert assembly disposed within the frame wherein the insert assembly is removable through a top wall of the frame, however Niknammoghadam teaches that it is a known method in the art of modular cryogenic cooling systems to include both hot and cold components of a modular cryogenic cooling system to be part of an insert assembly that is removeable through a top wall of the frame. This is strong evidence that modifying Jiang as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. lifting the whole entity consisting of the cold sources and said removable parts out of the cryogenic cooling system or platform for servicing (Niknammoghadam, Pg. 13, paragraph 145)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang by Niknammoghadam and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of lifting the whole entity consisting of the cold sources and said removable parts out of the cryogenic cooling system or platform for servicing (Niknammoghadam, Pg. 13, paragraph 145).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 9 above), wherein each frame comprises an O-ring placed in an O-ring groove cut into a left face of the frame or a right face of the frame, and wherein the frames from the adjacent unit cells of the plurality of unit cells are connected in a vacuum-tight manner by compressing the O-ring between the abutting surfaces (Jiang, Fig. 11, housing connector 220; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal; Further, “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP § 2113-I.).
Regarding claim 11, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 9 above), wherein a unit cell of the plurality of unit cells is capable of being horizontally removed from or inserted into the plurality of joined unit cells (Jiang, Pg. 20, lines 18-20, Although only two modules are coupled together in the first embodiment, it will be appreciated that any number of modules could be connected together to increase the size of the system).
Regarding claim 12, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 9 above), further comprising at each end of the plurality of unit cells:
an end frame, wherein a plurality of frames and end frames together form a vacuum-tight vessel (See annotated Fig. 7 of Jiang below, end frame A; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal); and
an end cap for the global temperature shell at each end of the plurality of unit cells, wherein the global temperature shell and end caps form a closed, radiation-resistant thermal enclosure (See annotated Fig. 7 of Jiang below, end cap B; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal).
Annotated Fig. 7 of Jiang
Regarding claim 13, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the plurality of unit cells are joined together by interleaving the unit cells of the plurality of unit cells containing the O-ring in the left face with the unit cells of the plurality of unit cells containing the O-ring in the right face (Pg. 1, lines 12-24, An example is shown in Figures 6 and 7 in which two such modules according to Figures 3-5 are joined together to form an integrated cryogenic cooling system according to the first embodiment. A removable panel is removed from the right side face of a first module 100 and a removable panel is removed from the left side of a second module 150, as shown in Figure 6. The first and second modules 100, 150 are then arranged so that the right side face of the first module 100 abuts against the left side face of the second module 150. The framework 21 for the first and second modules comprises housing connectors 120 comprising a flange on the exterior of the housing 110 and a sealing member arranged around the outside of the area for the removable panel. A said flange on the right side of the first module 100 is arranged fit to a said flange on the left side of the second module 150 by fastening members, such as bolts, coupling the flanges together; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal).
Regarding claim 14, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above), further comprising on each frame of the plurality of unit cells:
a set of front flanges, wherein the O-ring is compressed by threaded fasteners on the set of front flanges (Pg. 1, lines 12-24, An example is shown in Figures 6 and 7 in which two such modules according to Figures 3-5 are joined together to form an integrated cryogenic cooling system according to the first embodiment. A removable panel is removed from the right side face of a first module 100 and a removable panel is removed from the left side of a second module 150, as shown in Figure 6. The first and second modules 100, 150 are then arranged so that the right side face of the first module 100 abuts against the left side face of the second module 150. The framework 21 for the first and second modules comprises housing connectors 120 comprising a flange on the exterior of the housing 110 and a sealing member arranged around the outside of the area for the removable panel. A said flange on the right side of the first module 100 is arranged fit to a said flange on the left side of the second module 150 by fastening members, such as bolts, coupling the flanges together; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal).
Regarding claim 21, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 9 above), wherein the temperature shells of the adjacent unit cells are connected at each temperature level by bridge shields spanning between the adjacent unit cells to form the continuous, global temperature shell (Jiang, Fig. 8, shield connectors 55; Pg. 20, lines 11-17, Direct physical contact between the adjacent radiation shields is not typically essential however shield connectors 55 are preferably provided at each end of each of the radiation shield to enable neighbouring shield extension sections 180 to interlock and preferably thermally couple. The shield connectors 55 may comprise any of interlocking features, a flexible joint, array of holes and bolts or any other suitable fastening means for connecting the shield extension sections 180; Further, the teachings of Jiang which disclose shield connectors to thermally couple adjected radiation shields at least implies the adjacent unit cells of the plurality of unit shells are connected to form a continuous, global temperature shell extending across the plurality of unit cells since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 24, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 9 above), wherein a top of the frame comprises a skylight cutout through which the insert assembly is removable (Niknammoghadam, Pg. 13, paragraph 145, Yet another aspect illustrated in FIG. 15, which aspect can be applied in all other embodiments described herein as well, is the provision of at least some of the cold sources in separately removable inserts. The room-temperature parts of the dilution refrigerator 1519, as well as those of the first and second mechanical coolers 1522 and 1523, are placed on a removable part 1525 of the top 1502. Also the cold stages of said cold sources are attached to removable portions of the respective cold plates. Taken that the dimensioning of such removable portions and the respective apertures is selected right, it may be possible to lift the whole entity consisting of the cold sources and said removable parts out of the cryogenic cooling system or platform for servicing. Additionally, this principle may allow exchanging the whole insert with another insert that may have cold sources of different cooling power, or even cold sources of different technology built in it; Further, a skylight cutout is at least implied as it is created by the absence of the removable part 1525 since Pg. 13, paragraph 145, Yet another aspect illustrated in FIG. 15, which aspect can be applied in all other embodiments described herein as well, is the provision of at least some of the cold sources in separately removable inserts. The room-temperature parts of the dilution refrigerator 1519, as well as those of the first and second mechanical coolers 1522 and 1523, are placed on a removable part 1525 of the top 1502. Also the cold stages of said cold sources are attached to removable portions of the respective cold plates. Taken that the dimensioning of such removable portions and the respective apertures is selected right, it may be possible to lift the whole entity consisting of the cold sources and said removable parts out of the cryogenic cooling system or platform for servicing. Additionally, this principle may allow exchanging the whole insert with another insert that may have cold sources of different cooling power, or even cold sources of different technology built in it).
Claims 15-20, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (WO 2023156801), hereinafter Jiang in view of Becerikli et al. (WO 2018208248), hereinafter Becerikli and Niknammoghadam et al. (US 20250052479), hereinafter Niknammoghadam.
Regarding claim 15, Jiang discloses a cryogenic system (Fig. 6; Pg. 16, lines 2-4, A first module 100 for forming part of a cryogenic cooling system according to a first embodiment of the invention will now be discussed with reference to Figures 3-5) comprising:
a plurality of unit cells joined together (Fig. 6, first module 100, second module 150; Pg. 18, lines 12-17, An example is shown in Figures 6 and 7 in which two such modules according to Figures 3-5 are joined together to form an integrated cryogenic cooling system according to the first embodiment. A removable panel is removed from the right side face of a first module 100 and a removable panel is removed from the left side of a second module 150, as shown in Figure 6), wherein each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells comprises:
a frame assembly comprising at least one door that forms a vacuum-tight seal when closed (Fig. 4, framework 21; Fig. 10, removable panel 135; Pg. 21, lines 21-26, A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings);
a plurality of nested temperature shells wherein a subset of shells are at different temperature levels (Fig. 3, heat radiation shields 41-43; Pg. 17, lines 12-28, A nested assembly of heat radiation shields is provided within the module 100, each heat radiation shield being connected to a respective thermal stage and surrounding the lower temperature components. A first heat radiation shield 41 is connected to the PT1 stage 105, a second heat radiation shield 42 is connected to the PT2 stage 106, and a third heat radiation shield 43 is connected to the still stage 107, wherein the second heat radiation shield 42 is arranged between the first heat radiation shield 41 and the third heat radiation shield 43. The first and second heat shields 41, 42 are typically aluminum whereas the third heat shield 43 is typically copper. The heat radiation shields 41-43 are configured to form a closed structure when fully assembled and mounted to the respective thermal stages, and will surround the components of the system that are configured to be cooled to a lower temperature. The heat radiation shields 41-43 have four orthogonal side surfaces, which are configured to fit together. In the present embodiment each side surface of each heat radiation shield comprises two coplanar removable panels for providing external access to the region contained by the heat radiation shield, as shown by Figure 5. Handles are attached to the outside of the side faces for convenience during assembly and disassembly);
at least one retrofitted version of a standard dilution refrigerator (Pg. 4, lines 7-15, The cryogenic refrigerator assembly may comprise a common cryogenic refrigerator, such as a liquid helium refrigeration plant, cooling respective stages of two or more modules within the system. Typically, however, the cryogenic refrigerator assembly is configured so that each said connected module comprises a cryogenic refrigerator thermally coupled to one or more of stages of the module. These cryogenic refrigerators may take a number of forms, including cryocoolers, helium-3 or helium-4 refrigerators and dilution refrigerators, as will be discussed. Each said module may have a cryogenic refrigerator mounted to a stage of the module by a high thermal conductivity connection; Pg. 20, lines 28-31, In the first embodiment of Figure 8 two modules 100, 150 are coupled together that have the same cryogenic refrigerator set-up in each. In particular, each module forms a cryogen-free dilution refrigerator with the PTR and dilution unit being arranged as discussed with reference to Figure 3); and
at least one cryogenic payload located within at least one of the temperature levels, that is cooled by the at least one retrofitted version of the standard dilution refrigerator, wherein frames from adjacent unit cells of the plurality of unit cells are connected in a vacuum-tight manner at abutting surfaces of the adjacent unit cells of the plurality of unit cells, and at each temperature level, temperature shells from the adjacent unit cells of the plurality of unit cells are connected to form a continuous, global temperature shell extending across the plurality of unit cells (20, lines 11-17, Direct physical contact between the adjacent radiation shields is not typically essential however shield connectors 55 are preferably provided at each end of each of the radiation shield to enable neighbouring shield extension sections 180 to interlock and preferably thermally couple. The shield connectors 55 may comprise any of interlocking features, a flexible joint, array of holes and bolts or any other suitable fastening means for connecting the shield extension sections 180; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal; Further, the teachings of Jiang at least imply at least one cryogenic payload located within at least one of the temperature levels, that is cooled since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); Moreover, the teachings of Jiang which disclose shield connectors to thermally couple adjected radiation shields at least implies the adjacent unit cells of the plurality of unit shells are connected to form a continuous, global temperature shell extending across the plurality of unit cells since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
However, Jiang does not explicitly disclose the plurality of unit cells to be trapezoidal.
Becerikli teaches the plurality of unit cells to be trapezoidal (Fig. 4a of Becerikli depicts a plurality of unit cells to be trapezoidal).
Jiang fails to teach the plurality of unit cells to be trapezoidal, however Becerikli teaches that it is a known method in the art of scalable refrigeration systems to include trapezoidal unit cells. This is strong evidence that modifying Jiang as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. reducing the overall footprint of joined structures). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang by Becerikli and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of reducing the overall footprint of joined structures.
However, Jiang does not disclose the at least one temperature shell suspended from the set of refrigerator flanges, the at least one retrofitted version of a standard dilution refrigerator, and the at least one cryogenic payload to be part of an insert assembly disposed within the frame wherein the insert assembly is removable through a top wall of the frame.
Niknammoghadam teaches both hot and cold components of a modular cryogenic cooling system to be part of an insert assembly that is removeable through a top wall of the frame (Fig. 15, body 1503, removable part 1525, dilution refrigerator 1519, first mechanical cooler 1522, second mechanical cooler 1523, top 1502; Pg. 13, paragraph 145, Yet another aspect illustrated in FIG. 15, which aspect can be applied in all other embodiments described herein as well, is the provision of at least some of the cold sources in separately removable inserts. The room-temperature parts of the dilution refrigerator 1519, as well as those of the first and second mechanical coolers 1522 and 1523, are placed on a removable part 1525 of the top 1502. Also the cold stages of said cold sources are attached to removable portions of the respective cold plates. Taken that the dimensioning of such removable portions and the respective apertures is selected right, it may be possible to lift the whole entity consisting of the cold sources and said removable parts out of the cryogenic cooling system or platform for servicing. Additionally, this principle may allow exchanging the whole insert with another insert that may have cold sources of different cooling power, or even cold sources of different technology built in it).
Jiang as modified fails to teach the at least one temperature shell suspended from the set of refrigerator flanges, the at least one retrofitted version of a standard dilution refrigerator, and the at least one cryogenic payload to be part of an insert assembly disposed within the frame wherein the insert assembly is removable through a top wall of the frame, however Niknammoghadam teaches that it is a known method in the art of modular cryogenic cooling systems to include both hot and cold components of a modular cryogenic cooling system to be part of an insert assembly that is removeable through a top wall of the frame. This is strong evidence that modifying Jiang as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. lifting the whole entity consisting of the cold sources and said removable parts out of the cryogenic cooling system or platform for servicing (Niknammoghadam, Pg. 13, paragraph 145)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang as modified by Niknammoghadam and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of lifting the whole entity consisting of the cold sources and said removable parts out of the cryogenic cooling system or platform for servicing (Niknammoghadam, Pg. 13, paragraph 145).
Regarding claim 16, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above), wherein each frame comprises an O-ring placed in an O-ring groove cut into a left face of the frame or a right face of the frame, and wherein the frames from the adjacent trapezoidal unit cells of the plurality of trapezoidal unit cells are connected in a vacuum-tight manner by compressing the O-ring between the abutting surfaces (Jiang, Fig. 11, housing connector 220; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal; Further, “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP § 2113-I.).
Regarding claim 17, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above), wherein a trapezoidal unit cell of the plurality of trapezoidal unit cells is capable of being horizontally removed from or inserted into the plurality of joined trapezoidal unit cells (Jiang, Pg. 20, lines 18-20, Although only two modules are coupled together in the first embodiment, it will be appreciated that any number of modules could be connected together to increase the size of the system).
Regarding claim 18, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above), further comprising at each end of the plurality of trapezoidal unit cells
an end frame, wherein a plurality of frames and end frames together form a vacuum-tight vessel (See annotated Fig. 7 of Jiang below, end frame A; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal); and
an end cap for the global temperature shell at each end of the plurality of trapezoidal unit cells, wherein the global temperature shell and end caps form a closed, radiation-resistant thermal enclosure (See annotated Fig. 7 of Jiang below, end cap B; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal).
Annotated Fig. 7 of Jiang
Regarding claim 19, Jiang discloses the cryogenic system of claim 16 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 16 above), wherein the plurality of trapezoidal unit cells of the plurality of trapezoidal unit cells are joined together by interleaving the trapezoidal unit cells based on position of the O-ring (Jiang, Pg. 1, lines 12-24, An example is shown in Figures 6 and 7 in which two such modules according to Figures 3-5 are joined together to form an integrated cryogenic cooling system according to the first embodiment. A removable panel is removed from the right side face of a first module 100 and a removable panel is removed from the left side of a second module 150, as shown in Figure 6. The first and second modules 100, 150 are then arranged so that the right side face of the first module 100 abuts against the left side face of the second module 150. The framework 21 for the first and second modules comprises housing connectors 120 comprising a flange on the exterior of the housing 110 and a sealing member arranged around the outside of the area for the removable panel. A said flange on the right side of the first module 100 is arranged fit to a said flange on the left side of the second module 150 by fastening members, such as bolts, coupling the flanges together; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal), such that wide ends of a trapezoidal unit cell are placed next to narrow ends of adjacent trapezoidal unit cells of the plurality of trapezoidal unit cells (Fig. 4a of Becerikli depict wide ends of the trapezoidal units 20 to be placed next to narrow ends of adjacent trapezoidal units 20 and would maintain this arrangement when modified as described herein). Further, the rejection of claim 19 is the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 20, Jiang as modified discloses the system of claim 16 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 16 above), further comprising on each frame of the plurality of trapezoidal unit cells:
a set of front flanges, wherein the O-ring is compressed by threaded fasteners on the set of front flanges (Jiang, Pg. 1, lines 12-24, An example is shown in Figures 6 and 7 in which two such modules according to Figures 3-5 are joined together to form an integrated cryogenic cooling system according to the first embodiment. A removable panel is removed from the right side face of a first module 100 and a removable panel is removed from the left side of a second module 150, as shown in Figure 6. The first and second modules 100, 150 are then arranged so that the right side face of the first module 100 abuts against the left side face of the second module 150. The framework 21 for the first and second modules comprises housing connectors 120 comprising a flange on the exterior of the housing 110 and a sealing member arranged around the outside of the area for the removable panel. A said flange on the right side of the first module 100 is arranged fit to a said flange on the left side of the second module 150 by fastening members, such as bolts, coupling the flanges together; Pg. 21, lines 14-30, Figures 10 and 11 show perspective views of the first module 200 from the second embodiment. Similar to the first embodiment, a housing connector 220 is provided on each of the two opposing side faces for connecting the module 200 directly onto an adjacent module. The housing connector 220 comprises a sealing member 220 surrounded by an array of bolts and holes. In this embodiment the housing connector on the right side face of the first module 200 is configured to connect to a corresponding housing connector on the left side face of the second module 250. A removable panel 135 may be fitted to each housing on the left and right side faces by bolts in order to enclose the internal volume for the module 200 and facilitate independent operation of the module 200. The removable panel 135 is removed to allow for the connection of the module 200 to one or more adjacent modules. The sealing member 220 enables a vacuum-tight seal to be made between the connected housings. In this embodiment the sealing member 220 comprises an O-ring groove and an O-ring on the right side face of the first module 200, which is configured to engage with an O-ring seal provided on the left side face of second module 250. However other types of sealing members could be used, such as a knife-edge gasket seal).
Regarding claim 25, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above), wherein the temperature shells of the adjacent unit cells are connected at each temperature level by bridge shields spanning between the adjacent unit cells to form the continuous, global temperature shell (Jiang, Fig. 8, shield connectors 55; Pg. 20, lines 11-17, Direct physical contact between the adjacent radiation shields is not typically essential however shield connectors 55 are preferably provided at each end of each of the radiation shield to enable neighbouring shield extension sections 180 to interlock and preferably thermally couple. The shield connectors 55 may comprise any of interlocking features, a flexible joint, array of holes and bolts or any other suitable fastening means for connecting the shield extension sections 180; Further, the teachings of Jiang which disclose shield connectors to thermally couple adjected radiation shields at least implies the adjacent unit cells of the plurality of unit shells are connected to form a continuous, global temperature shell extending across the plurality of unit cells since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 28, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above), wherein a top of the frame comprises a skylight cutout through which the insert assembly is removable (Niknammoghadam, Pg. 13, paragraph 145, Yet another aspect illustrated in FIG. 15, which aspect can be applied in all other embodiments described herein as well, is the provision of at least some of the cold sources in separately removable inserts. The room-temperature parts of the dilution refrigerator 1519, as well as those of the first and second mechanical coolers 1522 and 1523, are placed on a removable part 1525 of the top 1502. Also the cold stages of said cold sources are attached to removable portions of the respective cold plates. Taken that the dimensioning of such removable portions and the respective apertures is selected right, it may be possible to lift the whole entity consisting of the cold sources and said removable parts out of the cryogenic cooling system or platform for servicing. Additionally, this principle may allow exchanging the whole insert with another insert that may have cold sources of different cooling power, or even cold sources of different technology built in it; Further, a skylight cutout is at least implied as it is created by the absence of the removable part 1525 since Pg. 13, paragraph 145, Yet another aspect illustrated in FIG. 15, which aspect can be applied in all other embodiments described herein as well, is the provision of at least some of the cold sources in separately removable inserts. The room-temperature parts of the dilution refrigerator 1519, as well as those of the first and second mechanical coolers 1522 and 1523, are placed on a removable part 1525 of the top 1502. Also the cold stages of said cold sources are attached to removable portions of the respective cold plates. Taken that the dimensioning of such removable portions and the respective apertures is selected right, it may be possible to lift the whole entity consisting of the cold sources and said removable parts out of the cryogenic cooling system or platform for servicing. Additionally, this principle may allow exchanging the whole insert with another insert that may have cold sources of different cooling power, or even cold sources of different technology built in it).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Niknammoghadam as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Thompson et al. (US 20250230954), hereinafter Thompson.
Regarding claim 22, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 9 above).
However, Jiang as modified does not disclose wherein the insert assembly comprises a set of removable custom flanges affixed to corresponding refrigerator flanges of the at least one retrofitted version of the standard dilution refrigerator.
Thompson teaches wherein the insert assembly comprises a set of removable custom flanges affixed to corresponding refrigerator flanges of the at least one retrofitted version of the standard dilution refrigerator (Fig. 7A, removeable dilution insert 540, detachable plates 540a, 540b, 540c, stages 108d, 108e, 108f; Pg. 11, paragraph 166-167, The inventors have additionally recognized and appreciated that the user experience may be improved by allowing users to easily swap parts in and out of the dilution refrigerator 100 (e.g., for maintenance, to change the characteristics of the dilution refrigerator 100, and/or to upgrade the dilution refrigerator 100 as technological innovations are developed). The inventors have accordingly developed a swappable dilution insert that is easily removed and replaced. FIG. 7A shows illustrative components of a removable dilution insert 540 for the dilution refrigerator 100 of FIG. 3, in accordance with some embodiments described herein. In some embodiments, the removable dilution insert 540 includes detachable plates 540a, 540b, 540c removably coupled to thermal stages 108d, 108e, and 108f, respectively. As shown in the example of FIG. 7A, the detachable plates 540a, 540b, and 540c may be removably coupled using mechanical fasteners (e.g., bolts and/or screws). In some embodiments, the removable dilution insert 540 further includes detachable connections 540d above the still (e.g., flanges) and to the condensing line 102a to further simplify replacement of the removable dilution insert 540).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cryogenic system of Jiang as modified wherein the insert assembly comprises a set of removable custom flanges affixed to corresponding refrigerator flanges of the at least one retrofitted version of the standard dilution refrigerator as taught by Thompson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the user experience by allowing users to easily swap parts in and out of the dilution refrigerator (Thompson, Pg. 11, paragraph 166).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Niknammoghadam as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Gaffet et al. (US 20240159450), hereinafter Gaffet.
Regarding claim 23, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 9 above), wherein the bridge shields comprise at least one top-bridge shield wherein the at least one top-bridge shield overlaps thermal flanges of the corresponding temperature shells of the adjacent unit cells (Jiang, Fig. 13, labyrinth structure 265, expandable joint 266; Pg. 23, lines 6-23, The underside of the first and second extension plates 206a, 206b are joined together by an expandable joint 266 comprising soft braids of high thermal conductivity, for example made of copper. The expandable joint 266 allows good heat conduction between the neighbouring PT1 stages 205, 205' and relative movement between the stages, such as may occur during thermal cycling. A labyrinth structure 265 is provided to assist with radiative shielding in the region between the ends of the two extension plates 260a, 260b. The labyrinth structure 265 is formed by a downward pointing lip on the end of the first extension plate 260a which is arranged inside an upward pointing lip on the adjacent end of the second extension plate 260b. Additional light absorbing material may be applied to the interface between the two lips inside the labyrinth structure 265 to further assist with the heat shielding. The labyrinth structure 266 allows for relative movement between the first and second extension plates 206a, 206b, which may result in the lips coming into mutual contact. Other means for connecting adjacent thermal stages are envisaged including by using interlocking or interleaved parts that unroll when the connected stages contract, maintaining physical (and preferably also thermal) contact between the stages).
However, Jiang as modified does not disclose wherein the bridge shields comprise a first set of side-bridge shields and a second set of side-bridge shields, wherein the first set of side-bridge shields or the second set of side-bridge shields overlap lateral shields of corresponding temperature shells of the adjacent unit cells.
Gaffet teaches wherein the bridge shields comprise a first set of side-bridge shields and a second set of side-bridge shields, wherein the first set of side-bridge shields or the second set of side-bridge shields overlap lateral shields of corresponding temperature shells (Fig. 7, system 1, enclosure 10, wall 11, plate 83, plate 93; Pg. 6, paragraph 123, FIG. 7, the plate 83 is bolted directly to the wall 11 and there is no sealed connection between the plate 83 and the flap 87 (no tube 80). The plate 83 has no internal thread 84 in order to retain a tight closure of the wall 11 by the plate 83. Similarly, the plate 93 is bolted directly to the wall 11 and there is no sealed connection between the plate 93 and the flap 97 (no tube 90). The plate 93 has no internal thread 94 in order to retain a tight closure of the wall 11 by the plate 93).
Jiang as modified fails to teach wherein the bridge shields comprise a first set of side-bridge shields and a second set of side-bridge shields, wherein the first set of side-bridge shields or the second set of side-bridge shields overlap lateral shields of corresponding temperature shells of the adjacent unit cells, however Gaffet teaches that it is a known method in the art of modular cryogenic cooling system to include wherein the bridge shields comprise a first set of side-bridge shields and a second set of side-bridge shields, wherein the first set of side-bridge shields or the second set of side-bridge shields overlap lateral shields of corresponding temperature shells. This is strong evidence that modifying Jiang as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. placing adjacent temperature shells in thermal communication to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang as modified by Gaffet and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of placing adjacent temperature shells in thermal communication to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Becerikli and Niknammoghadam as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Thompson et al. (US 20250230954), hereinafter Thompson.
Regarding claim 26, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above).
However, Jiang as modified does not disclose wherein the insert assembly comprises a set of removable custom flanges affixed to corresponding refrigerator flanges of the at least one retrofitted version of the standard dilution refrigerator.
Thompson teaches wherein the insert assembly comprises a set of removable custom flanges affixed to corresponding refrigerator flanges of the at least one retrofitted version of the standard dilution refrigerator (Fig. 7A, removeable dilution insert 540, detachable plates 540a, 540b, 540c, stages 108d, 108e, 108f; Pg. 11, paragraph 166-167, The inventors have additionally recognized and appreciated that the user experience may be improved by allowing users to easily swap parts in and out of the dilution refrigerator 100 (e.g., for maintenance, to change the characteristics of the dilution refrigerator 100, and/or to upgrade the dilution refrigerator 100 as technological innovations are developed). The inventors have accordingly developed a swappable dilution insert that is easily removed and replaced. FIG. 7A shows illustrative components of a removable dilution insert 540 for the dilution refrigerator 100 of FIG. 3, in accordance with some embodiments described herein. In some embodiments, the removable dilution insert 540 includes detachable plates 540a, 540b, 540c removably coupled to thermal stages 108d, 108e, and 108f, respectively. As shown in the example of FIG. 7A, the detachable plates 540a, 540b, and 540c may be removably coupled using mechanical fasteners (e.g., bolts and/or screws). In some embodiments, the removable dilution insert 540 further includes detachable connections 540d above the still (e.g., flanges) and to the condensing line 102a to further simplify replacement of the removable dilution insert 540).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cryogenic system of Jiang as modified wherein the insert assembly comprises a set of removable custom flanges affixed to corresponding refrigerator flanges of the at least one retrofitted version of the standard dilution refrigerator as taught by Thompson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the user experience by allowing users to easily swap parts in and out of the dilution refrigerator (Thompson, Pg. 11, paragraph 166).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Becerikli and Niknammoghadam as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Gaffet et al. (US 20240159450), hereinafter Gaffet.
Regarding claim 27, Jiang as modified discloses the cryogenic system of claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above), wherein the bridge shields comprise at least one top-bridge shield wherein the at least one top-bridge shield overlaps thermal flanges of the corresponding temperature shells of the adjacent unit cells (Jiang, Fig. 13, labyrinth structure 265, expandable joint 266; Pg. 23, lines 6-23, The underside of the first and second extension plates 206a, 206b are joined together by an expandable joint 266 comprising soft braids of high thermal conductivity, for example made of copper. The expandable joint 266 allows good heat conduction between the neighbouring PT1 stages 205, 205' and relative movement between the stages, such as may occur during thermal cycling. A labyrinth structure 265 is provided to assist with radiative shielding in the region between the ends of the two extension plates 260a, 260b. The labyrinth structure 265 is formed by a downward pointing lip on the end of the first extension plate 260a which is arranged inside an upward pointing lip on the adjacent end of the second extension plate 260b. Additional light absorbing material may be applied to the interface between the two lips inside the labyrinth structure 265 to further assist with the heat shielding. The labyrinth structure 266 allows for relative movement between the first and second extension plates 206a, 206b, which may result in the lips coming into mutual contact. Other means for connecting adjacent thermal stages are envisaged including by using interlocking or interleaved parts that unroll when the connected stages contract, maintaining physical (and preferably also thermal) contact between the stages).
However, Jiang as modified does not disclose wherein the bridge shields comprise a first set of side-bridge shields and a second set of side-bridge shields, wherein the first set of side-bridge shields or the second set of side-bridge shields overlap lateral shields of corresponding temperature shells of the adjacent unit cells.
Gaffet teaches wherein the bridge shields comprise a first set of side-bridge shields and a second set of side-bridge shields, wherein the first set of side-bridge shields or the second set of side-bridge shields overlap lateral shields of corresponding temperature shells (Fig. 7, system 1, enclosure 10, wall 11, plate 83, plate 93; Pg. 6, paragraph 123, FIG. 7, the plate 83 is bolted directly to the wall 11 and there is no sealed connection between the plate 83 and the flap 87 (no tube 80). The plate 83 has no internal thread 84 in order to retain a tight closure of the wall 11 by the plate 83. Similarly, the plate 93 is bolted directly to the wall 11 and there is no sealed connection between the plate 93 and the flap 97 (no tube 90). The plate 93 has no internal thread 94 in order to retain a tight closure of the wall 11 by the plate 93).
Jiang as modified fails to teach wherein the bridge shields comprise a first set of side-bridge shields and a second set of side-bridge shields, wherein the first set of side-bridge shields or the second set of side-bridge shields overlap lateral shields of corresponding temperature shells of the adjacent unit cells, however Gaffet teaches that it is a known method in the art of modular cryogenic cooling system to include wherein the bridge shields comprise a first set of side-bridge shields and a second set of side-bridge shields, wherein the first set of side-bridge shields or the second set of side-bridge shields overlap lateral shields of corresponding temperature shells. This is strong evidence that modifying Jiang as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. placing adjacent temperature shells in thermal communication to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang as modified by Gaffet and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of placing adjacent temperature shells in thermal communication to improve overall system efficiencies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 April 27th, 2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763