DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a filter material … wherein, when exhaled breath particles pass through the filter material, the following occurs: when the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent reacts, a positive test for respiratory viral pathogens is indicated by the filter material”. It is unclear how the filter material is indicated since the filter material does not react to the pathogen, rather the pathogen is reactive with the absorptive reagent. Thus, it is suggested that Applicant amend the claims to further clarify what feature is “indicated” when the pathogen reacts.
In addition, Applicant teaches a positive test is indicated by a particular color ([0024] of the Specification) when the respiratory viral pathogens reacts with the binding adsorptive reagent. However, it is unclear how this reaction produces a color. Applicant recites in [0022] that heparin-sepharose or sulfated cellulose are pathogen binding adsorptive reagent used to provide a color indicator when binding to respiratory viral pathogens ([0024-0025] of the Specification). However, heparin-sepharose are not known to change color during reaction (see Farooqui et al., “Purification of Lipases and Phospholipases by Heparin-Sepharose Chromatography”, Lipase and Phospholipase Protocols, Chap. 13, pp 133-144; 1999) as evidenced by the experiments performed on pages 138-139. The color from the experiment of Farooqui is from a dye of toluidine blue reacting with heparin sepharose, not due to reaction from/with heparin-sepharose. Thus, it is unclear how or where the color comes from based on the claimed invention.
Claims 2-9 are rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness issue of the parent claim, claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of copending Application No. 17/895,807 (citations to claims dated 08/25/2022; hereinafter ‘807) in view of Leung (US Patent 8,303,693). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 1, ‘807 teaches (claim 1) a rapid testing mechanism, including:
a filter material positioned to capture exhaled breath particles from a respiratory tract of a mammal (lines 2-3);
wherein at least a portion of the filter material is impregnated with a pathogen binding adsorptive reagent (lines 4-5), wherein the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent is positioned between an internal layer and an external layer of the filter material (it is noted that “filter material includes a pathogen binding adsorptive reagent” of lines 4-5 inherently includes material located between an inner most layer and outermost layer of the filter material); and
wherein, when exhaled breath particles pass through the filter material, the following occurs (lines 7-8):
when the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent reacts, a positive test for respiratory viral pathogens is indicated by the filter material (lines 9-10); and
when the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent does not react, a negative test for respiratory viral pathogens is indicated by the filter material (lines 11-13).
However, ‘807 is silent regarding the rapid testing mechanism including a transparent membrane positioned at the external layer of the filter material; and wherein the positive or negative test indication is visible to the external environment through the transparent membrane.
Leung teaches a filter material positioned to capture the flow of air including a transparent membrane (95; SARAN polyvinylidene chloride are transparent material, typically known as Saran Wrap) positioned at the external layer of the filter material (col. 9, lines 27-48; FIG. 1-2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the transparent membrane as taught by Leung as the outer membrane for the filter material of ‘807 to protect the filter material from exposure to the surroundings (col. 9, lines 27-48; Leung).
With respect to claim 2, ‘807, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1, wherein the transparent membrane is incorporated into the external layer of the filter material (col. 9, lines 27-48; Leung).
With respect to claim 3, ‘807, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1, further including a porous sealed packet containing the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent (claim 6).
With respect to claim 6, ‘807, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1, wherein the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent is a sulfated cellulose membrane (claim 1, lines 5-6).
With respect to claim 7, ‘807, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1, wherein the transparent membrane forms an at least partially non-permeable barrier (col. 9, lines 27-48; Leung), filtering viruses from the external environment.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/895,807 (citations to claims dated 08/25/2022; hereinafter ‘807) in view of Leung (US Patent 8,303,693), and further in view of Martin et al. (US Patent 10,905,903; hereinafter Martin). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 8, ‘807, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1. However, ‘807, as combined with Leung, is silent regarding the rapid test mechanism further including a cover having a closed position and an open position relative to the transparent membrane.
Martin teaches a mask including a filter material (12) and a cover (14) having a closed position and an open position (col. 4, line 56 to col. 5, line 28; FIG. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the cover of Martin to the rapid testing mechanism as taught by ‘807, as combined with Leung, to release increased pressure inside the mask (col. 4, line 56 to col. 5, line 28; Martin). Thus, the combination of ‘807, as combined with Leung and Martin, would teach a cover (14; Martin) having a closed position and an open position (col. 4, line 56 to col. 5, line 28; FIG. 1; Martin) relative to the transparent membrane (95; Leung).
Claims 1, 3-5, and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-7 of copending Application No. 17/500,126 (citations to claims dated 05/13/2022; hereinafter ‘126) in view of Leung (US Patent 8,303,693). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 1, ‘126 teaches (claim 1) a rapid testing mechanism, including:
a filter material positioned to capture exhaled breath particles from a respiratory tract of a mammal (lines 3-4);
wherein at least a portion of the filter material is impregnated with a pathogen binding adsorptive reagent (lines 5-6), wherein the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent is positioned between an internal layer and an external layer of the filter material (it is noted that “filter material is impregnated with a heparin sepharose pathogen binding adsorptive reagent” of lines 5-6 inherently includes material located between an inner most layer and outermost layer of the filter material); and
wherein, when exhaled breath particles pass through the filter material, the following occurs (lines 7-8):
when the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent reacts, a positive test for respiratory viral pathogens is indicated by the filter material (lines 9-10); and
when the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent does not react, a negative test for respiratory viral pathogens is indicated by the filter material (lines 11-12).
However, ‘126 is silent regarding the rapid testing mechanism including a transparent membrane positioned at the external layer of the filter material; and wherein the positive or negative test indication is visible to the external environment through the transparent membrane.
Leung teaches a filter material positioned to capture the flow of air including a transparent membrane (95; SARAN polyvinylidene chloride are transparent material, typically known as Saran Wrap) positioned at the external layer of the filter material (col. 9, lines 27-48; FIG. 1-2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the transparent membrane as taught by Leung as the outer membrane for the filter material of ‘126 to protect the filter material from exposure to the surroundings (col. 9, lines 27-48; Leung).
With respect to claim 3, ‘126, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1, further including a porous sealed packet containing the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent (claim 5).
With respect to claim 4, ‘126, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 3, wherein the porous sealed packet is positioned between two layers of multiple layers of the filter material (claim 6).
With respect to claim 5, ‘126, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1, wherein the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent is heparin Sepharose (claim 1, lines 5-6).
With respect to claim 9, ‘126, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1, including a method of testing for a plurality of different viruses using the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1 (claim 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels (US Publication 2021/0321903; IDS dated 02/08/2024 USPub Cite No. 11) in view of Leung (US Patent 8,303,693).
With regards to claim 1, Daniels teaches a rapid testing mechanism, including:
a filter material (including mask/ EBC collector; FIG. 85) positioned to capture exhaled breath particles from a respiratory tract of a mammal ([0199]);
wherein at least a portion of the filter material is impregnated with a pathogen binding adsorptive reagent ([0203]), wherein the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent (located at biosensor) is positioned between an internal layer and an external layer of the filter material (Fig. 85); and
wherein, when exhaled breath particles pass through the filter material, the following occurs:
when the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent reacts, a positive test for respiratory viral pathogens is indicated by the filter material ([0203]; FIG. 149); and
when the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent does not react, a negative test for respiratory viral pathogens is indicated by the filter material ([0206]; FIG. 148).
However, Daniels is silent regarding the rapid testing mechanism including a transparent membrane positioned at the external layer of the filter material; wherein the positive or negative test indication is visible to the external environment through the transparent membrane.
Leung teaches a filter material positioned to capture the flow of air including a transparent membrane (95; SARAN polyvinylidene chloride are transparent material, typically known as Saran Wrap) positioned at the external layer of the filter material (col. 9, lines 27-48; FIG. 1-2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the transparent membrane as taught by Leung as the outer membrane for the filter material of Daniels to protect the filter material from exposure to the surroundings (col. 9, lines 27-48; Leung).
With respect to claim 2, Daniels, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1, wherein the transparent membrane is incorporated into the external layer of the filter material (col. 9, lines 27-48; Leung).
With respect to claim 3, Daniels, as combined with Leung, teaches (citations to Daniels unless specified otherwise) the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1, further including a porous sealed packet (see biosensor) containing the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent (FIG. 85).
With respect to claim 4, Daniels, as combined with Leung, teaches (citations to Daniels unless specified otherwise) rapid testing mechanism of claim 3, wherein the porous sealed packet (see biosensor) is positioned between two layers of multiple layers of the filter material (FIG. 85 showing biosensor located within multiple layers).
With respect to claim 7, Daniels, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1, wherein the transparent membrane forms an at least partially non-permeable barrier (col. 9, lines 27-48; Leung), filtering viruses from the external environment.
With respect to claim 9, Daniels, as combined with Leung, teaches (citations to Daniels unless specified otherwise) the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1, including a method of testing for a plurality of different viruses ([0198, 0236, 0269]) using the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels (US Publication 2021/0321903; IDS dated 02/08/2024 USPub Cite No. 11) in view of Leung (US Patent 8,303,693), and further in view of Chen et al. (US Publication 2023/0157573; hereinafter Chen).
With respect to claim 5, Daniels, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1. However, Daniels, as combined with Leung, is silent regarding wherein the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent is heparin sepharose.
Chen teaches a method and device for analyzing organics in exhaled breath (abstract) wherein the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent is heparin Sepharose ([0056]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace one known type of pathogen binding adsorptive reagent such as those taught by Daniels, as combined with Leung, with another known type of pathogen binding adsorptive reagent as taught by Chen with reasonable expectation of capturing virus particles from exhaled breath ([0056]; Chen).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels (US Publication 2021/0321903; IDS dated 02/08/2024 USPub Cite No. 11) in view of Leung (US Patent 8,303,693), and further in view of Guder et al. (US Publication 2017/0356899; IDS dated 02/08/2024 USPub Cite No. 3; hereinafter Guder).
With regards to claim 6, Daniels, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1. However, Daniels, as combined with Leung, is silent regarding wherein the pathogen binding adsorptive reagent is a sulfated cellulose membrane.
Guder teaches a sensor used in a mask ([0098]) comprising a pathogen binding adsorptive reagent ([0090]), which is a sulfated ([0095]) cellulose membrane ([0035, 0087]; FIG. 1, 14A-B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace one known type of sensor as taught by Daniels, as combined with Leung, with another type of sensor as taught by Guder to provide a stronger signal for detection of vapor or gas of interest ([0095, 0097]; Guder).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels (US Publication 2021/0321903; IDS dated 02/08/2024 USPub Cite No. 11) in view of Leung (US Patent 8,303,693), and further in view of Martin et al. (US Patent 10,905,903; hereinafter Martin).
With respect to claim 8, Daniels, as combined with Leung, teaches the rapid testing mechanism of claim 1. However, Daniels, as combined with Leung, is silent regarding the rapid test mechanism further including a cover having a closed position and an open position relative to the transparent membrane.
Martin teaches a mask including a filter material (12) and a cover (14) having a closed position and an open position (col. 4, line 56 to col. 5, line 28; FIG. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the cover of Martin to the rapid testing mechanism as taught by Daniels, as combined with Leung, to release increased pressure inside the mask (col. 4, line 56 to col. 5, line 28; Martin). Thus, the combination of Daniels, as combined with Leung and Martin, would teach a cover (14; Martin) having a closed position and an open position (col. 4, line 56 to col. 5, line 28; FIG. 1; Martin) relative to the transparent membrane (95; Leung).
Conclusion
/QXN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853