DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed 6/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/18/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the obtaining unit and inspecting unit must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Include antecedent basis for “obtaining unit” as claimed in claim 5. The closest element described in the specification appears to be the obtaining function 444.
Include antecedent basis for “inspecting unit” as claimed in claim 8. The closest elements described in the specification appear to be either the inspection container or inspecting step.
Include antecedent basis for “test-purpose specimen” as claimed in claim 8. The closest element described in the specification appears to be the cell specimen S’ as it is described as an example of an inspection-purpose specimen.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
It appears all instances of “the processing circuitry is configured” in claims 2-7 intend to further limit functionality of the processing circuitry. Examiner suggests amending each instance of the phrase of note to read the processing circuitry is further configured to clarify that each limitation further limits the processing circuitry function.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a holding unit…configured to hold the biological specimen in such a manner that a position thereof in the culture chamber is movable” in claim 1, lines 4-6;
interpreted to be a Petri dish, evidenced by p. 5, lines 18-20 in the written disclosure and Fig. 2 in the drawings.
“a gas supply unit configured to supply gas from an outside to an inside of the culture chamber” in claim 4, lines 26-27;
interpreted to be a rotating fan, evidenced by p. 9, lines 9-10.
“an exhaust unit configured to exhaust gas from the inside to the outside of the culture chamber” in claim 5, lines 28-29;
interpreted to be a rotating fan, evidenced by p. 9, lines 14-15 in the written disclosure.
“an obtaining unit configured to obtain a sensing result from the sensor” in claim 5, lines 6-7.
“an inspecting unit configured to inspect the test-purpose specimen” in claim 8, lines 27-28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear if the obtaining unit is a physical element as this appears inconsistent with the specification disclosure (MPEP § 2173.03). One of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised as to what the obtaining unit is because the specification dated 12/08/2023 does not provide antecedent basis for the claimed obtaining unit and the closest element in the specification appears to be the obtaining function (pg. 14, lines 25-26 in the specification). The obtaining function is described as a function of the processing circuitry (pg. 11, lines 5-13; Fig. 1 in the drawings filed 12/08/2023). For examination on the merits, the limitation obtaining unit will be interpreted as the obtaining function as described in the specification.
Claims 6 and 7 are similarly rejected as they depend upon rejected claim 5.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “wherein the sensor is provided for the holding unit” renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “is provided for” leaves an ordinary skilled artisan unapprised to what the claimed relationship between the sensor and the holding unit is, and the specification filed 12/08/2023 provides no further information. The closest reference to the sensor as claimed in specification is a placement sensor configured to detect placement of any of the culture containers (pg. 4, lines 5-13). For examination on the merits, the phrase “is provided for” will be interpreted as an intended use of the sensor.
Claim limitations “an obtaining unit” and “an inspecting unit” in claims 5 and 8, respectively, each invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The written disclosure fails to describe any structure in particular capable of obtaining a sensing result from the sensor or inspecting the test-purpose specimen. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For examination on the merits, the obtaining unit will be interpreted as any structure(s) capable of obtaining a sensing result from the sensor and the inspecting unit will be interpreted as any structure(s) capable of inspecting the test-purpose specimen.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions of obtaining a sensing result from the sensor or inspecting the test-purpose specimen. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed functions because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takagi et al. (JP 2008054690 A) (hereinafter referred to as Takagi, English machine translation provided, see PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Takagi discloses a cell culture apparatus ([Overview], automatic cell-culturing device) comprising:
a culture chamber in which a biological specimen is cultured ([0027], “incubator unit 14 is a space for culturing cells”; Fig. 1, incubator unit 14);
a holding unit provided in the culture chamber ([0027] discloses Petri dishes inside incubator units; Fig. 3, Petri dishes 34 inside incubator unit 14); and
processing circuitry ([0037], controller 23; Fig. 1) configured to control the holding unit so as to move the position of the biological specimen within the culture chamber, in a culture period for culturing the biological specimen ([0037], controller controls an operation to move Petri dishes).
The limitation “configured to hold the biological specimen in such a manner that a position thereof in the culture chamber is movable” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed holding unit and does not differentiate the claimed holding unit from the prior art holding unit because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). Nonetheless, Takagi teaches that the prior art holding unit is capable of holding a biological specimen in such a manner that a position thereof in the culture chamber is movable ([0037]).
The limitation “configured to control the holding unit so as to move the position of the biological specimen within the culture chamber, in a culture period for culturing the biological specimen” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed processing circuitry and does not differentiate the claimed processing circuitry from the prior art processing circuitry because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). Nonetheless, Takagi teaches that the prior art processing circuitry can control the holding unit so as to move the position of the biological specimen within the culture chamber, in a culture period for culturing the biological specimen ([0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Takagi discloses the cell culture apparatus according to claim 1.
The limitation “configured to adjust an environment in the culture chamber” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed processing circuitry and does not differentiate the claimed processing circuitry from the prior art processing circuitry because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). Nonetheless, Takagi teaches that the prior art processing circuitry is capable of adjusting an environment in the culture chamber ([0034]-[0035], controller 23 controls sealing doors and shutters). I.e., the controller of Takagi can adjust an environment in the culture chamber by opening or closing the sealing door.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Takagi or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Takagi in view of Yong et al. (CN 111321072 A) (hereinafter referred to as Yong, English machine translation provided, see PTO-892).
Regarding claim 3, Takagi discloses the cell culture apparatus according to claim 2, wherein, as the environment, the processing circuitry is configured to adjust at least one selected from among temperature, humidity, and carbon dioxide concentration in the culture chamber, as set forth above. I.e., the controller of Takagi can adjust temperature, humidity, or carbon dioxide concentration by opening or closing the sealing door.
Alternatively, Yong teaches it is known in the art of incubators to use a PLC, i.e., processing circuitry, to control temperature and carbon dioxide concentration in an incubator, i.e., a culture chamber ([0019] and [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure Takagi’s processing circuitry to control temperature and carbon dioxide as Yong teaches such a configuration is well known in the art. The prior art processing circuitry would predictably be capable of controlling temperature and carbon dioxide concentration within the culture chamber absent clear evidence to the contrary and absent a showing of unexpected results.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi in view of Yong.
Regarding claim 4, Takagi discloses the cell culture apparatus according to claim 2.
Takagi discloses further wherein the cell culture apparatus comprises a gas supply unit ([0027], pipe 14a connected to incubators 14).
Takagi is silent to an exhaust unit configured to exhaust gas from the inside to the outside of the culture chamber and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to adjust the environment by adjusting at least one selected from between a supply amount of the gas from the gas supply unit and an exhaust amount from the gas from the exhaust unit.
However, Yong discloses a cell culture chamber, i.e., a cell culture apparatus, comprising an exhaust fan, i.e., an exhaust unit ([0037] discloses the fans are part of the cell culture chamber; Fig. 9, exhaust fans 213. The exhaust fans are used to circulate carbon dioxide and ensure uniform carbon dioxide concentration and humidity ([0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell culture apparatus of Takagi to further comprise an exhaust unit, as Yong teaches that such a modification would circulate carbon dioxide and ensure uniform carbon dioxide concentration and humidity.
The limitation “configured to supply gas from an outside to an inside of the culture chamber” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed gas supply unit and does not differentiate the claimed gas supply unit from the prior art gas supply unit because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). Nonetheless, Takagi of the prior art combination teaches that the pipe, i.e., the gas supply unit, is capable of supplying a gas from an outside to an inside of the culture chamber (Takagi, [0027], “a pipe 14a for supplying carbon dioxide gas…is connected to each of the incubators 14”).
The limitation “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to adjust the environment by adjusting at least one selected from between a supply amount of the gas from the gas supply unit and an exhaust amount from the gas from the exhaust unit” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed processing circuitry and does not differentiate the claimed processing circuitry from the prior art processing circuitry because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). Nonetheless, Yong of the prior art combination teaches that a PLC, i.e., processing circuitry is capable of adjusting at least a supply amount and an exhaust amount (Yong, [0019], “the carbon dioxide injection pipe…and the exhaust fan are controlled by a PLC”). That is, if the processing circuitry can control the carbon dioxide injection pipe, carbon dioxide sensor, and the exhaust fan, it would be capable of adjusting a supply or an exhaust amount.
The claimed gas supply unit is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (see Claim Interpretation section above). The corresponding prior art element performs the function specified in the claim, is not precluded by any explicit definition provided in the specification for an equivalent, and is an equivalent of the means- (or step-) plus-function limitations. Examiner finds that the prior art elements are equivalent to the limitations of note because of at least one of the following reasons:
The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification.
There are insubstantial differences between the prior art element and the corresponding element disclosed in the specification.
In particular, the prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Therefore, the prior art combination pipe is prima facie equivalent to the claimed gas supply unit (MPEP § 2183).
Regarding claim 5, Takagi discloses the cell culture apparatus according to claim 2.
Takagi is silent to a sensor and an obtaining unit.
However, Yong discloses a cell culture chamber, i.e., a cell culture apparatus, comprising a sensor ([0013] discloses a carbon dioxide sensor and temperature sensor). The sensors are used to monitor temperature and carbon dioxide concentration within the incubator ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell culture apparatus of Takagi to further comprise a sensor for the purpose of monitoring one of an internal temperature or carbon dioxide concentration within the cell culture apparatus, as taught by Yong.
The limitation “configured to detect an index related to the environment in the culture chamber” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed sensor and does not differentiate the claimed sensor from the prior art sensor because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). Nonetheless, the prior art sensor is taught to achieve the claimed intended use, as described above.
The limitation “an obtaining unit configured to obtain a sensing result from the sensor” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed processing circuitry and does not differentiate the claimed processing circuitry from the prior art processing circuitry because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The prior art processing circuitry as described above would be fully capable of achieving the claimed intended use because Yong teaches that controllers, i.e., the processing circuitry, can be configured to communicate and receive signals from sensors ([0020]).
The limitation “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to adjust the environment on a basis of the obtained sensing result” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed processing circuitry and does not differentiate the claimed processing circuitry from the prior art processing circuitry because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The prior art processing circuitry as described above would be fully capable of achieving the claimed intended use because Yong teaches that controllers, i.e., the processing circuitry, can be configured to adjust temperature or carbon dioxide concentration using signals received from sensors ([0020]).
Note: claim 5 contains limitations or language that has been interpreted according to Examiner’s understanding, see Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112(b) section above.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art combination teaches the cell culture apparatus according to claim 5.
The limitation “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to adjust a moving speed of the holding unit on the basis of the obtained sensing result” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed processing circuitry and does not differentiate the claimed processing circuitry from the prior art processing circuitry because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The prior art processing circuitry would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art structure is substantially identical to the claimed structure absent clear evidence to the contrary and absent a showing of unexpected results (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
Regarding claim 7, the prior art combination teaches the cell culture apparatus according to claim 5.
The limitation “wherein the sensor is provided for the holding unit” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed sensor and does not differentiate the claimed sensor from the prior art sensor because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The prior art sensor would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art structure is substantially identical to the claimed structure absent clear evidence to the contrary and absent a showing of unexpected results (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
The limitation “configured to move a position of the sensor within the culture chamber, together with the biological specimen” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed processing circuitry and does not differentiate the claimed processing circuitry from the prior art processing circuitry because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi in view of Zhou et al. (CN 113174322 A) (hereinafter referred to as Zhou, English machine translation provided, see PTO-892).
Regarding claim 8, Takagi discloses the cell culture apparatus according to claim 1.
Takagi is silent to a test-purpose specimen or an inspecting unit.
However, Zhou in the art of sterility testing teaches it is known in the art to use bacterial solutions, i.e., test-purpose specimen ([0050] discloses bacterial strains) in an incubator, i.e., a cell culture apparatus ([0054]). The bacterial solution used to test sterility (p. 11-12). Zhou also discloses it is known in the art to detect, i.e., inspect, growth of the bacterial solution using a color-changing gel, i.e., an inspecting unit ([n0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell culture apparatus of Takagi to place a test-purpose specimen in the culture chamber and for the cell culture apparatus to further comprise an inspecting unit as such a modification would allow users to test sterility.
The limitation “configured to inspect the test-purpose specimen” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed inspecting unit and does not differentiate the claimed inspecting unit from the prior art inspecting unit because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). Nonetheless, Zhou teaches that the prior art inspecting unit is capable of completing the claimed intended use, as described above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Golway et al. (US 2020/0010792 A1) discloses a modular storage unit for incubation of specimens.
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799